THE OFFICIAL TROPICAL WEATHER THREAD 2025

Re: THE OFFICIAL TROPICAL WEATHER THREAD 2023

Postby paid_influencer » September 15th, 2023, 5:38 pm

redmanjp wrote:
aaron17 wrote:35 degrees! I was getting migraine headache and heat sweats after eating lunch. Had to drink alot ah water.

last year was trying to change a flat tyre but the nut wouldn't come off - stayed out in d sun for over an hour and even though i was drinking water every 20-30 mins i still get a headache and had to drink several glasses more when i came in and take ah cold shower. headache is one of the symptoms of heat stress and if u dont deal with it urgently it can quickly move to heat stroke

later that night the weather person said it was the hottest day for the year

the heat does make you feel fatigued too. people does push through fatigue so they can make a dollar but doh play with that scene during a heat advisory. cyar make no dollar when you in hospital or by the creek

Postby Chimera » September 15th, 2023, 5:46 pm

Hadda go back to thermos days

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 15th, 2023, 6:39 pm

Obligatory!

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » September 15th, 2023, 7:12 pm

Pfizer will make masks and vaccines to to solve the problem

Postby nervewrecker » September 15th, 2023, 7:26 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Some water sources are acidic. I wonder if repeated use of this method would decrease the useable lifespan of the roof ?
Phone Surgeon wrote:got my temperature gun a lil while ago so will hit allyuh some numbers over the coming days

i find my living room where the exhaust fan is installed is much much cooler though

the rest of the house is unbearable unless i put on air condition
Rain water is slightly acidic from carbon dioxide dissolved in it.

If be more worried about galvanic corrosion

Postby pugboy » September 15th, 2023, 7:34 pm

check ceiling temps of the various areas relative to where the fan is at diff times

for a whole house you prob need 2 or 3 fans

Phone Surgeon wrote:got my temperature gun a lil while ago so will hit allyuh some numbers over the coming days

i find my living room where the exhaust fan is installed is much much cooler though

Postby goalpost » September 15th, 2023, 10:00 pm

How October and November going to be?

Postby MaxPower » September 15th, 2023, 11:37 pm

goalpost wrote:How October and November going to be?

The great TTMET will advise you accordingly.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » September 15th, 2023, 11:51 pm

Do we really need an organization to tell us that it hot?

Postby Chimera » September 16th, 2023, 5:23 am

pugboy wrote:check ceiling temps of the various areas relative to where the fan is at diff times

Yea I done order a 3300 cfm fan for the bigger part of the house.

By checking ceiling temperature should I just be aiming at the gypsum ceiling or should I open the man hole and check the temp inside?

Postby Chimera » September 16th, 2023, 5:45 am

545 am

Had on the exhaust fan all night

The living room where it is is 26 c

As I move further away to middle of house its 28.4 and opposite end of house its 29.

Keep in mind that my living room doesn't share roof space with the rest of the house as it's part of a renovation

20230916_054210.jpg
20230916_054153.jpg
20230916_054110.jpg

Postby pugboy » September 16th, 2023, 6:00 am

26 is probably ambient temp outside so the fan has done all it could for the night and cant drop temp any lower.

for reference the ceiling temp is probably all that matters since that is what contacting the air inside and affects you closest.

so the hotter section has attic which is sealed off from the cooler section ?

do you have vents under eaves outside which now act as intake for fresh air which is sucked in the attic and blown out by the fan higher up ? that is important, the vents have to be far away and sucking cooler air.
if there are potential places where the fan could be sucking air close to it such as flashings and sheets meeting other sheets nearby then it may suck air from up there whilst hot air stays trapped lower down

Postby adnj » September 16th, 2023, 6:15 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
pugboy wrote:check ceiling temps of the various areas relative to where the fan is at diff times

Yea I done order a 3300 cfm fan for the bigger part of the house.

By checking ceiling temperature should I just be aiming at the gypsum ceiling or should I open the man hole and check the temp inside?

To keep your ceiling cool you will need to size your fan to exchange the air in the enclosed volume below your roof ten times per hour.

Multiply the fan CFM by 1.42 to find the maximum volume that it will serve.

Postby Chimera » September 16th, 2023, 6:41 am

The hotter section is part of the original house. The cooler section is an addition to the house and is walled off straight to the roof and doesn't share ceiling space with it.

Postby Chimera » September 16th, 2023, 6:42 am

Hear na...I have some hydroponics in a barrel....the water in those barrels reaching 40 degrees yes....

The Bamboo Online

Postby The Bamboo Online » September 16th, 2023, 6:43 am

My house has a 100 year old stone roof. I am redoing the insulation up in the attic and In the summer all that stone absorbs heat like crazy and throws it into the attic way past sunset. Without attic fan temps will climb up to 100 degrees fast and will sit there all day and sunsets around 9pm so it sucks. Thank goodness summer was mild here this year with few 90 degrees days while doing the insulation upgrades. But the attic fan was able to bring it back down and keeps heat level in check.

Postby adnj » September 16th, 2023, 6:54 am

The Bamboo Online wrote:My house has a 100 year old stone roof. I am redoing the insulation up in the attic and In the summer all that stone absorbs heat like crazy and throws it into the attic way past sunset. Without attic fan temps will climb up to 100 degrees fast and will sit there all day and sunsets around 9pm so it sucks. Thank goodness summer was mild here this year with few 90 degrees days while doing the insulation upgrades. But the attic fan was able to bring it back down and keeps heat level in check.
Are you talking about a slate roof?

Postby pugboy » September 16th, 2023, 8:18 am

stone/clay tile/concrete roof is pressure, along with walls that getting sun blast

old diamond vale had lot of houses with concrete roof, the trick they used to do was layer clay blocks on top to act as air space insulator

the evidence is pretty clear that an attic fan helps alot,
airconditioning units really designed to be efficient at dropping temps at most 5-8c, say from 30c to cooled 22c
so an increase in ambient temp of 3-4c is very well close to or past the tipping point

i looking forward to getting my attic fan and installing it home, i have one in a shed years now but never bothered for home because of ac but the non ac parts of house is unbearable

The Bamboo Online

Postby The Bamboo Online » September 16th, 2023, 8:41 am

adnj wrote:
The Bamboo Online wrote:My house has a 100 year old stone roof. I am redoing the insulation up in the attic and In the summer all that stone absorbs heat like crazy and throws it into the attic way past sunset. Without attic fan temps will climb up to 100 degrees fast and will sit there all day and sunsets around 9pm so it sucks. Thank goodness summer was mild here this year with few 90 degrees days while doing the insulation upgrades. But the attic fan was able to bring it back down and keeps heat level in check.
Are you talking about a slate roof?

Yes sir….

Postby Chimera » September 16th, 2023, 9:59 am

pugboy wrote:26 is probably ambient temp outside so the fan has done all it could for the night and cant drop temp any lower.

for reference the ceiling temp is probably all that matters since that is what contacting the air inside and affects you closest.

so the hotter section has attic which is sealed off from the cooler section ?

do you have vents under eaves outside which now act as intake for fresh air which is sucked in the attic and blown out by the fan higher up ? that is important, the vents have to be far away and sucking cooler air.
if there are potential places where the fan could be sucking air close to it such as flashings and sheets meeting other sheets nearby then it may suck air from up there whilst hot air stays trapped lower down
The newer part of the house doesn't have underceiling so it has all the galvanize grooves for air to flow in/out

One of my walls has full sun and the other 3 are shaded by garage and the original house.

Postby Chimera » September 16th, 2023, 10:00 am

By underceiling I mean the part outside that stops pigeons and bats from going in. But the wall goes straight up to the galvanize

Postby pugboy » September 16th, 2023, 10:05 am

that will work since that would be lowest part of roof

Postby redmanjp » September 16th, 2023, 11:33 am

33C here I my bedroom. Sure it will reach 34 as that has been the case for at least 3 days in a row.

Even though i like to sleep late on weekends once it reach 32C I cyah sleep anymore
Last edited by redmanjp on September 16th, 2023, 1:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » September 16th, 2023, 1:28 pm

Just measured my ceiling tiles in different places upstairs using a thermometer gun that can measure temps of both humans and objects. Ranges from 36-39.8C.

Postby pugboy » September 16th, 2023, 3:00 pm

i see ppl led down lighters falling apart with the heat

Postby paid_influencer » September 16th, 2023, 3:04 pm

i see everybody posting thermometers so here is mine. reading at 8am this morning
8am_temps_colar_corrected.jpg

Postby Chimera » September 17th, 2023, 1:05 pm

Allyuh wanna put up and bring in a container of radiant barrier and solar attic fans and misters and solar paint
Wha yuh stating

Postby Chimera » September 17th, 2023, 2:21 pm

Two degree difference between part of house that has the exhaust fan and part that doesn't.

20230917_140223.jpg
20230917_140205.jpg

Postby pugboy » September 17th, 2023, 2:44 pm

if you could drop temp a degree or two more would be ideal.
or course you really can’t drop it lower than what ever the ambient temp in shade is, 31-34 these days

Postby Chimera » September 17th, 2023, 2:51 pm

I guess only the misters or reflective paint would help drop it more?