Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby Rovin » February 15th, 2022, 12:24 pm

though not really food even snacks like local corn curls & cheese sticks gone from $4 to 5

fleckin $5 for a half bag of air

doh even talk about lays & other imported such brands : an expensive bag of air ...

Postby Chimera » February 15th, 2022, 12:42 pm

Rovin wrote:though not really food even snacks like local corn curls & cheese sticks gone from $4 to 5

fleckin $5 for a half bag of air

doh even talk about lays & other imported such brands : an expensive bag of air ...
That aside, all the snacks really getting smaller and smaller. Lunch, catch, chocolate digestive etc....shrinking every year
Screenshot_20220215-124144_Chrome.jpg

Postby Dizzy28 » February 15th, 2022, 1:19 pm

^ Yip I buy the multipack Sunshine Snacks bag and the Ole pack is overall 1/2 the size than previously. The zoomers pack shrink and the zoomers themselves also smaller.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 15th, 2022, 1:29 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:^ Yip I buy the multipack Sunshine Snacks bag and the Ole pack is overall 1/2 the size than previously. The zoomers pack shrink and the zoomers themselves also smaller.

I think those "mixed packs" have a different production line. Retail snacks seem larger. Would explain why retail snacks are 3-4 dollars each but the mixed packs are 20 pks for $20 or $25

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » February 15th, 2022, 1:37 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:^ Yip I buy the multipack Sunshine Snacks bag and the Ole pack is overall 1/2 the size than previously. The zoomers pack shrink and the zoomers themselves also smaller.

I think those "mixed packs" have a different production line. Retail snacks seem larger. Would explain why retail snacks are 3-4 dollars each but the mixed packs are 20 pks for $20 or $25

The coconuts in the backyard prices haven't changed. Still very free.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 15th, 2022, 1:38 pm

^ The other items such as potato chips, cheese balls and corn curls were in smaller packs but previously the Zoomers and Ole in the multipack were the normal sizes you buy individually

Postby Rovin » February 15th, 2022, 1:39 pm

apart from d "reason" bags contain air to prevent oxidization another "reason" they say is to cushion d products from breakage during shipping\handling

if both is d reasons then how come stacked canister of chips like pringles or lays have very little air in it ...

Postby Dizzy28 » February 15th, 2022, 1:45 pm

Rovin wrote:apart from d "reason" bags contain air to prevent oxidization another "reason" they say is to cushion d products from breakage during shipping\handling

if both is d reasons then how come stacked canister of chips like pringles or lays have very little air in it ...

Pringles and the Lays Stax are not chips..they are potato based crisps with lots of other added ingredients. Those things are processed and extruded with sufficient thickness and density to stack and package they way they are.

You can't do that with potato chips made from potatoes

Postby Chimera » February 15th, 2022, 1:45 pm

The stacked canisters protect them much more from breakage as well as it has nitrogen all around.

Things like caramel popcorn that are much harder to break usually have very full packs

Postby timelapse » February 15th, 2022, 2:12 pm

FrankChag wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

The coconuts in the backyard prices haven't changed. Still very free.
Someone that gets it
Men does be bumping their gum about 1% and still getting them richer

Postby RedVEVO » February 16th, 2022, 1:08 am

DMan7 wrote:Ahh yes Pricesmart the 1% grocery.

PriceSmart NOT the 1% grocery .

The grapes, coffee , pizza, the big screen 85 inches , toilet paper, dog chow are ALL competitively priced .

You have an incorrect perception or your card expired or Duane refuses to give you a BJ .

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 16th, 2022, 9:21 am

RedVEVO wrote:

The grapes, coffee , pizza, the big screen 85 inches , toilet paper, dog chow are ALL competitively priced .

You have an incorrect perception or your card expired or Duane refuses to give you a BJ .

Yup, still some good value in annual membership.

Their fresh produce is usually failure though - at least in chaguanas. Super short shelf life, I prefer to get fresh stuff in the Couva Market.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 16th, 2022, 9:28 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Yup, still some good value in annual membership.

Their fresh produce is usually failure though - at least in chaguanas. Super short shelf life, I prefer to get fresh stuff in the Couva Market.

I only keep a card because its costs me nothing as its a secondary card on my FiL's business account. Its the one where you get cash back on applicable purchases and the cash back pays the card fees every year.

In recent years lots of PM food items can be had for cheaper especially in the sales at groceries even the supposedly expensive ones like Massy. For example at Xmas time it was cheaper to buy Swiss ketchup in Massy than buying by the case in PM and earlier in the year Nescafe Gold was sold for almost a month at prices cheaper than PM as well.

Certain items they are still king buts in more on the non-food side of things.

Postby Redman » February 17th, 2022, 7:16 am

Coffee prices spiking on the ICE, look pressure

Postby hover11 » February 17th, 2022, 7:42 am

Redman wrote:Coffee prices spiking on the ICE, look pressure
Small thing men will rush to spend 100 dollars on Starbucks then complain when the government raise taxes

Postby Redman » February 17th, 2022, 8:08 am

Allyuh spend plenty time with other people inside your heads

Postby pugboy » February 17th, 2022, 8:23 am

ent

Redman wrote:Allyuh spend plenty time with other people inside your heads

Postby timelapse » February 17th, 2022, 10:02 am

Was that an inception by Redman?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 17th, 2022, 3:40 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

The face that you feel the need to be defensive about my post just proves my point.

dogg

Postby dogg » February 17th, 2022, 4:15 pm

DMan7 wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

The face that you feel the need to be defensive about my post just proves my point.

If saving money on essentials makes me a one-percenter, I taking it with a hop and skip.

Does buying fowl at a pluck shop instead of a supermarket also make me a one-percenter?

Postby RedVEVO » February 18th, 2022, 3:01 pm

dogg wrote:
DMan7 wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

If saving money on essentials makes me a one-percenter, I taking it with a hop and skip.

Does buying fowl at a pluck shop instead of a supermarket also make me a one-percenter?

You are correct :wink: PriceSmart has great deals in comparison to other club type retail outlets.

Peeps have sunk so so so so low ( or maybe income low ) that PriceSmart is NOW the enemy .

No one is defensive about posts lil pup - they just have a different view :drinking:

Pluck fresh chicken is much better than supermarket chilled or fresh chickadee !

So if that makes you 1% peeps ..

Just do it !

Live your life !

Postby bluefete » February 18th, 2022, 4:29 pm

So a box of white Crix was $40.00 in the factory BEFORE the removal of VAT in November 2021.

When the VAT was removed the price went to $34.00 a box.

In January 2022, when the price of flour was increased by NFM, the price of a box of CRIX went back to $40.00

I smelling profiteering somewhere.

Postby st7 » February 18th, 2022, 5:46 pm

Redman wrote:Allyuh spend plenty time with other people inside your heads

iz a sufferer habit

Postby zoom rader » February 18th, 2022, 7:25 pm

bluefete wrote:So a box of white Crix was $40.00 in the factory BEFORE the removal of VAT in November 2021.

When the VAT was removed the price went to $34.00 a box.

In January 2022, when the price of flour was increased by NFM, the price of a box of CRIX went back to $40.00

I smelling profiteering somewhere.
1% logic

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » February 18th, 2022, 11:12 pm

the frog already in the boiling water so why not

Postby MaxPower » February 18th, 2022, 11:54 pm

zoom rader wrote:1% logic

The leaders.

Postby timelapse » February 19th, 2022, 9:36 am

Max's role models.He forget the prophet and only studying profit

Postby hover11 » February 19th, 2022, 9:40 am

timelapse wrote:Max's role models.He forget the prophet and only studying profit
But I thought Max was a 1 percent

Postby zoom rader » February 19th, 2022, 10:30 am

hover11 wrote:
timelapse wrote:Max's role models.He forget the prophet and only studying profit
No,

They view Max as a lil Kool Lee boy.

Postby Redman » February 19th, 2022, 10:38 am

hover11 wrote:
No,

They view Max as a lil Kool Lee boy.

Max is Chinese?