bluefete wrote:alfa wrote:What has history done for the descendants of slaves other than tell them everything is a conspiracy by the man to hold a 'brotha' down. (Watch the videos above)The Jews used the holocaust to develop one of the most advanced albeit oppressive nations on earth. USA used 911 to strengthen their military and foster patriotism. They used it as an excuse to go after oil in the middle east as well, which while bad was to their selfish benefit. So I ask again what has history done for the descendants of slaves? That's why I said focus on the present and issues like single parents household and why children from board schools do inherently better than the others without using the rhetoric of slavery have it so
As readers may well be aware, there have been recent calls for the removal of the statue of Christopher Columbus from the place it occupies just east of the Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception. There is no denying the fact that through his voyages of discovery, Columbus inadvertently precipitated untold horrors leading to the genocide of entire peoples, almost total decimation of the entire indigenous population of the Americas and eventually evolving into the transatlantic slave trade, the worst atrocity in human history. Even from the outset, whatever the higher-minded goals of the sailor as he made his historic expeditions west, were tempered with ideas of dominion as evidenced by the deals he struck with the monarchy of Spain for his own benefit since he expected to find an immense store of wealth.
Regardless of the varied opinions surrounding the legacy of Columbus, we as Trinbagonians are not exactly flush with historic monuments and artifacts to allow us the luxury of disposing of those we see as ideologically opposed to what we hold to be acceptable. Moreover, it is not left to us to decide what is ‘good’ or ‘bad’ history since we cannot boast of any great love for researching and documenting our past. Trinidad is also fortunate enough to be one of the few places with a tangible link to Columbus. When he happened upon the island in 1498 (Discovery Day was an annual holiday on August 1stuntil it was replaced by Emancipation Day), he lost an anchor from one of his ships while anchored off Icacos Point during a tidal surge. This relic was rediscovered in 1877 by accident and after a tour of exhibition in several World Fairs, was eventually donated to the Royal Victoria Institute in 1912 by its discoverer, Francois Agostini. The RVI is now the National Museum and Art Gallery and the huge bronze anchor can be seen there still. Part of the misdirected angst against the Columbus monument is possibly due to a complete lack of knowledge about its history. One faux-news online source even pontificated that it was ‘donated by a big shot in the 1990s’. The following is the fact of the matter on how this antiquity came to be.
In the Port-of-Spain of yesteryear, the dead were interred in a patch of muddy ground by the sea. Near the waterfront cemetery was a rickety wooden chapel which served the Catholics of the town. In 1816 construction of the Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception commenced, although the old wooden church continued to be used until 1824 when its severe dereliction began to pose a serious hazard to the safety of worshippers. After the completion of the Cathedral, the old cemetery became a sort of refuse tip and impromptu storage area with rubbish sharing space with old sugar hogsheads, crates, carts, corbeaux and the odd vagrant or two. Meanwhile, Hyppolite Borde, a planter who had immigrated to the island from Martinique as a child in 1810 along with his father and two brothers, had become a very wealthy man indeed. Hyppolyte’s brother Pierre Louis Gustave Borde was a historian and one of the earliest chroniclers in the island. It is perhaps this consciousness of the island’s history as well as innate public-mindedness which prompted Hyppolite to landscape gratis, the land of the old cemetery behind the cathedral and erect a monument o serve as a reminder of explorer, Christopher Columbus who discovered the island in 1498. The memorial, a fountain and bronze statue, was unveiled in 1881 by Governor Sir William A.G Young. A description of the space a few years later (1887) runs thus:
“Columbus Square, to the east of the Roman Catholic Cathedral, is surrounded by an iron palisading. It was laid out and planted with ornamental shrubs by the Corporation, to whom it belongs. The handsome fountain, which was presented by the late Mr. Hypolite Borde, a wealthy cacao proprietor, is surmounted by a bronze statue of one whose memory should be perpetuated in this colony — Christopher Columbus. This statue was unveiled and the Square opened with some ceremony by the late Governor Young in 1881. This end of the town used formerly to be much neglected, but the recent embellishments have greatly improved its appearance, and once a month, on the third Thursday, the Police Band plays at the usual hour, from 5 to 6 P.M.”
We must not run the risk of rewriting history according to our own prejudices or emotions for then we will lose more than we can ever hope to recover.
zoom rader wrote:The police office was charged for killing Mr Brooks.
11 charges
It's serious watch the vid
https://youtu.be/Mnr1CG8tvLc
Redress10 wrote:Alfa
When the jews left europe they essentiay left with their wealth and influences. Jewish history didn't begin with the holocaust. They have always been a powerful and influential group. That didn't stop because of ww2 and Hitler etc. There was no on standing in their way of being a powerful nation when they moved to what is now Israel.
There are black ppl alive today who lived through segregation. That is barely even history. Some even argue that slavery never ended it just evolved hence you have mass incarcerations and judges being paid by prison corporations who are paid by the gov't to imprison people mainly people of african descent. See the pattern here? America's problem is that they have 40 million african americans that they have no purpose for and they can't get rid of.
As much as it is to sit back i TT and discuss american race realities we are not living it. You have no idea what you are talking if you don't understand american history during and after slavery. There were literally massacres of black people and black towns by white people. It is the modern day equivalent of what ISIS was doing a couple years ago. Not to mention jim crow laws, segregation and redlining. There has been a sustained and systematic attack to keep black people at the bottom in America.
Redress10 wrote:Alfa
When the jews left europe they essentiay left with their wealth and influences. Jewish history didn't begin with the holocaust. They have always been a powerful and influential group. That didn't stop because of ww2 and Hitler etc. There was no on standing in their way of being a powerful nation when they moved to what is now Israel.
There are black ppl alive today who lived through segregation. That is barely even history. Some even argue that slavery never ended it just evolved hence you have mass incarcerations and judges being paid by prison corporations who are paid by the gov't to imprison people mainly people of african descent. See the pattern here? America's problem is that they have 40 million african americans that they have no purpose for and they can't get rid of.
As much as it is to sit back i TT and discuss american race realities we are not living it. You have no idea what you are talking if you don't understand american history during and after slavery. There were literally massacres of black people and black towns by white people. It is the modern day equivalent of what ISIS was doing a couple years ago. Not to mention jim crow laws, segregation ans redlining. There has been a sustained and systematic attack to keep black people at the bottom in America.
bluefete wrote:Redress10 wrote:Alfa
As much as it is to sit back i TT and discuss american race realities we are not living it. You have no idea what you are talking if you don't understand american history during and after slavery. There were literally massacres of black people and black towns by white people. It is the modern day equivalent of what ISIS was doing a couple years ago. Not to mention jim crow laws, segregation and redlining. There has been a sustained and systematic attack to keep black people at the bottom in America.
Excellent points. This thread is turning out to be a real education. A pity that MaxieP would not see it that way.
That term 'backfires' is is subjective. Its only applicable if u think America wants to solve the problem.pugboy wrote:it usually backfires somehow
for example isis was born out of the iraqi prisoner camps they left behind and we all know how that turned out.
americas “deliverance” of freedom has never worked and likely never will
Oh lawd Maxbluefete wrote:LOL. I was waiting for you come with something like this.MaxPower wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:bluefete wrote:Redress10 wrote:Alfa
Excellent points. This thread is turning out to be a real education. A pity that MaxieP would not see it that way.
Interesting debate by you guys with good points on both sides.
I do agree that you can't compare blacks to Jews or Muslims. The Jewish wealth influence in Europe or the Ottomans trading power were both attacked strongly by the English/French/Spanish, but they held onto their wealth and identity. Apples to oranges.
By earlier point though is that enough time has passed since racism isn't common, . no laws prevent them from moving up in society and affirmative action is there to help
Blacks in the USA are mostly having a first world problem that isn't specific to just them, it's a consequence of the wealth inequality in America. But even still there are far bigger problems in the US, and by far bigger problems in the world compared to this BLM issue.
zoom rader wrote:Oh lawd Maxbluefete wrote:LOL. I was waiting for you come with something like this.MaxPower wrote:
bluefete wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:bluefete wrote:Redress10 wrote:Alfa
I do agree that you can't compare blacks to Jews or Muslims. The Jewish wealth influence in Europe or the Ottomans trading power were both attacked strongly by the English/French/Spanish, but they held onto their wealth and identity. Apples to oranges.
By earlier point though is that enough time has passed since racism isn't common, . no laws prevent them from moving up in society and affirmative action is there to help
Blacks in the USA are mostly having a first world problem that isn't specific to just them, it's a consequence of the wealth inequality in America. But even still there are far bigger problems in the US, and by far bigger problems in the world compared to this BLM issue.
Affirmative action is both a blessing and a curse. It has allowed people, who do not have the necessary grades, to enter into universities. In other words, they dumbed down the requirements for some and called it affirmative action.
When I was applying to go to university, any school that had "race' or "ethnicity" on the application form was immediately ruled out.
There are no laws to prevent them from moving up and many have indeed done so. However, the system still keeps the majority down.
The strange thing is that if you are from T&T (and not born there), you are more likely to succeed in that system and do very well. I know from experience that once they see your ability for work, they will give you the opportunities.
bluefete wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:bluefete wrote:Redress10 wrote:Alfa
Affirmative action is both a blessing and a curse. It has allowed people, who do not have the necessary grades, to enter into universities. In other words, they dumbed down the requirements for some and called it affirmative action.
When I was applying to go to university, any school that had "race' or "ethnicity" on the application form was immediately ruled out.
There are no laws to prevent them from moving up and many have indeed done so. However, the system still keeps the majority down.
The strange thing is that if you are from T&T (and not born there), you are more likely to succeed in that system and do very well. I know from experience that once they see your ability for work, they will give you the opportunities.
Redress10 wrote:Dohplaydat
Again, unless you are living their realities then you can't speak to their experiences. You can't look at it through our lenses here in TT. We are afforded opportunities and freedoms that other people could only dream of which iw why we take things for granted.
The attack is not on the "poor". That is where you are terribly mistaken. The white lower class is poor but they are still made to feel that they are better than the most accomplished african american. That is why they felt it was easy to disrespect Obama. Remember Trump calling for his birth certificate etc. Colin Kapernick made over 150 million USD yet he was removed from the NFL. Lebron James is worth over 500 million us yet woke up to see the n word spray painted on his gate outside his house. America's race problems are real.
There are successful black people everywhere in the world. Same as any other races. But let us go further than just "success". How are black people successful? Jayz is a "billionaire" and is now considered successful. But before he got to this point, he was also a drug dealer in the projects. Same as 50 Cent and other rappers. Look at what black women need to be in other to sell a couple records to become successful. Look at what Nicki Minaj is and represents. Do you think any of those realities bring dignity to the black community and upliftment? Did you know that record labels will quicker give you a record deal if you portray a negative image rather than positive one? Do you think a white record label will give a white artist a record deal if he sang about shooting up a school or kinder garden? So why is the media always so quick to reward and monetise black negativity?
Also having a couple successful blacks or "tokens" in position is meaningless when you are talking about a population that is almost 40 millon. Where are the young black billionaires to rival the young white billionaires. Being "successful" in white america is going to an Ivy League university and possibly forming a billion dollar company before the age of 21. Being successful in black america is living to see 21 and if possible winning a sports contract so you can move your family out of poverty.
As a group, they are not "behind" any other ethnicities. They are right where they are suppose to be. Remember, America technically only have 2 ethnicities, black and white. Apart from the native americans, every other group apart from whites, african americans are all new immigrants. For centuries the battle has been between white vs black. So you can't compare them to any other group that hasn't been there for centuries. In fact it is this very battle that has made america hospitable and livable for immigrants to come to USA.
What you are not getting at is there isn't a sustained attack against arabs and hispanics. Laws were not written to dehumanise those people. In the case of "arabs" post 911 they had it bad. That is only 19 years of discrimination. Let us also remember that arabs most of the time are first or second generation immigrants who can pack up and leave when they are fed up. They have options. Even a holiday would be suffice at time. African americans have had it bad since they came on slave ships since the 1500s. No one in the US as far as I am aware have ever tied an arab to the back of his car and dragged him for miles because he was "arab". That was a pretty regular thing in the US up until the 1950s etc. The racism is systemic and it is sustained. This is what american racism is.
The whole point about family life is moot because the US govt itself sought many times to destroy the black family unit. It was the US govt that introduced drugs into the black community. It was the us govt that gave black men syphillis etc. This was the actions of a gov't. Not some private entity doing this for profit. The actual US govt. So any attempt to form any kind of community and family structure within those communities have always been met with resistance by the powers that be. The school curriculum in america isn't even that simple. A parent can't just push their children forward. There is alot of predjudice involved as well. Unless the parents are educated and knowledgeable then they wouldn't know where to start with helping their children education wise. Not to mention alot of those parents if they are able to work are working 2-3 jobs to make ends meet.
Everytime they tried to advance they met resistance. Have you never heard of the Tulsa massacre. A black town with its own economy that was burnt to the ground by white supremacist? If 2 or 3 the generations were not thriving, you expect the generations today to be good? People who experienced segregation are only in their sixties today. Put that into perspective. That whole oreo talk being used to describe educated black people is the result of propaganda that stated that black people are not educatable and being better off doing "trades" or sports or something. Again, whole purpose of that was to make it easier for white kids to advance in society by freeing uo school space. Ent black folks used to be proud to go to their schools and be educated all during segregation? There was no talk about oreo etc then. Ent when segregation ended and it became more competitive then black people attendance at higher education started to decrease as well? Coincidence right?
Btw didn't Kams call Rowls an oreo recently?
alfa wrote:This video by Ben Shapiro explains a lot about what you guys are currently debating. Hope it clears up misunderstandings
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TBDfMQ27Asw
alfa wrote:This video by Ben Shapiro explains a lot about what you guys are currently debating. Hope it clears up misunderstandings
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TBDfMQ27Asw
Dohplaydat wrote:Redress10 wrote:Dohplaydat
Again, unless you are living their realities then you can't speak to their experiences. You can't look at it through our lenses here in TT. We are afforded opportunities and freedoms that other people could only dream of which iw why we take things for granted.
The attack is not on the "poor". That is where you are terribly mistaken. The white lower class is poor but they are still made to feel that they are better than the most accomplished african american. That is why they felt it was easy to disrespect Obama. Remember Trump calling for his birth certificate etc. Colin Kapernick made over 150 million USD yet he was removed from the NFL. Lebron James is worth over 500 million us yet woke up to see the n word spray painted on his gate outside his house. America's race problems are real.
There are successful black people everywhere in the world. Same as any other races. But let us go further than just "success". How are black people successful? Jayz is a "billionaire" and is now considered successful. But before he got to this point, he was also a drug dealer in the projects. Same as 50 Cent and other rappers. Look at what black women need to be in other to sell a couple records to become successful. Look at what Nicki Minaj is and represents. Do you think any of those realities bring dignity to the black community and upliftment? Did you know that record labels will quicker give you a record deal if you portray a negative image rather than positive one? Do you think a white record label will give a white artist a record deal if he sang about shooting up a school or kinder garden? So why is the media always so quick to reward and monetise black negativity?
Also having a couple successful blacks or "tokens" in position is meaningless when you are talking about a population that is almost 40 millon. Where are the young black billionaires to rival the young white billionaires. Being "successful" in white america is going to an Ivy League university and possibly forming a billion dollar company before the age of 21. Being successful in black america is living to see 21 and if possible winning a sports contract so you can move your family out of poverty.
As a group, they are not "behind" any other ethnicities. They are right where they are suppose to be. Remember, America technically only have 2 ethnicities, black and white. Apart from the native americans, every other group apart from whites, african americans are all new immigrants. For centuries the battle has been between white vs black. So you can't compare them to any other group that hasn't been there for centuries. In fact it is this very battle that has made america hospitable and livable for immigrants to come to USA.
What you are not getting at is there isn't a sustained attack against arabs and hispanics. Laws were not written to dehumanise those people. In the case of "arabs" post 911 they had it bad. That is only 19 years of discrimination. Let us also remember that arabs most of the time are first or second generation immigrants who can pack up and leave when they are fed up. They have options. Even a holiday would be suffice at time. African americans have had it bad since they came on slave ships since the 1500s. No one in the US as far as I am aware have ever tied an arab to the back of his car and dragged him for miles because he was "arab". That was a pretty regular thing in the US up until the 1950s etc. The racism is systemic and it is sustained. This is what american racism is.
The whole point about family life is moot because the US govt itself sought many times to destroy the black family unit. It was the US govt that introduced drugs into the black community. It was the us govt that gave black men syphillis etc. This was the actions of a gov't. (Great point - History again)Not some private entity doing this for profit. The actual US govt. So any attempt to form any kind of community and family structure within those communities have always been met with resistance by the powers that be. The school curriculum in america isn't even that simple. A parent can't just push their children forward. There is alot of predjudice involved as well. Unless the parents are educated and knowledgeable then they wouldn't know where to start with helping their children education wise. Not to mention alot of those parents if they are able to work are working 2-3 jobs to make ends meet.
Everytime they tried to advance they met resistance. Have you never heard of the Tulsa massacre. A black town with its own economy that was burnt to the ground by white supremacist? If 2 or 3 the generations were not thriving, you expect the generations today to be good? People who experienced segregation are only in their sixties today. Put that into perspective. That whole oreo talk being used to describe educated black people is the result of propaganda that stated that black people are not educatable and being better off doing "trades" or sports or something. Again, whole purpose of that was to make it easier for white kids to advance in society by freeing uo school space. Ent black folks used to be proud to go to their schools and be educated all during segregation? There was no talk about oreo etc then. Ent when segregation ended and it became more competitive then black people attendance at higher education started to decrease as well? Coincidence right?
Btw didn't Kams call Rowls an oreo recently?
I know a lot of what you say is true, I've said it before. In 2020, I just do not feel the obstacles are as bad as BLM is making out to be. This isn't a black and white situation (pardon the pun). Tonnes of gray areas here.
I'll leave it at this, it is not 1950 anymore. As much as white supremacists are to blame for black suffrage, blacks have to take some responsibility now too.
Where are the black leaders who want to be positive role models? Aside from Obama and Neil Tyson Degrass I know off very little. (To get there, you need to dig into history. The contributions by the descendants of slaves to the US economic system are not found in the books children use in schools. They are basically whitewashed - I saw what I did there. Some of the greatest technological discoveries were not made by whom the history books say. I will post it separately.)
Resorting to hooliganism, interolance, extremist views and guilting people for being not black will turn people away from supporting them.
Had they resorted to peaceful protests, encourage mask wearing, sharing stories of racism and humanizing their voice BLM would have been far more positive and effective.
I get the rash anger after Floyd's death, but now they're being borderline extremist and baiting Trump. This will just lead to more racism and more polarization.
rspann wrote:Doh be on Burkie nah allyuh . The man doh even have one conviction in his name .