Re: Petrotrin refinery to shut down

Postby Ben_spanna » September 14th, 2018, 12:42 pm

SO fake oil really pays off !?!

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » September 14th, 2018, 4:56 pm

Joshie23 wrote:Spoken like a typical Trinidadian. I understand the animosity towards the OWTU, but we quarreled about the worker's salaries at length and breadth. Now, they've put forth a proposal and the talk continues. This is why politicians do what they want because we never know what we want.

Misunderstanding like a typical trini. I not begrudging their salaries bossman, is the contrarian nature of public and industrial relations i talking about.

Postby The_Honourable » September 14th, 2018, 7:36 pm

The energy minister is denying that the Oilfield Workers Trade Union proposed a pay cut for Petrotrin employees.

This was revealed as the opposition questioned whether the government was considering the suggestion.

But in the Senate this afternoon, Minister Franklin Khan described the idea of a pay cut as "flimsy at best."

Also in the Senate, the labour minister confirms retrenchment at TCL.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » September 14th, 2018, 7:58 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
Joshie23 wrote:Spoken like a typical Trinidadian. I understand the animosity towards the OWTU, but we quarreled about the worker's salaries at length and breadth. Now, they've put forth a proposal and the talk continues. This is why politicians do what they want because we never know what we want.

Misunderstanding like a typical trini. I not begrudging their salaries bossman, is the contrarian nature of public and industrial relations i talking about.

I spoke to the salary, because that's where the employee contribution is going to be coming from. I understood you perfectly. Contrarian, fine, but I was highlighting the fact that you apparently had as big a problem with the suggestion, as you would have had, if no suggestion was put forth. So the contrarian nature is on both sides, friend.

Postby hydroep » September 14th, 2018, 8:12 pm

A valid concern about any lease arrangement is this: If the OWTU makes a further mess of things, at the end of the contract's term who becomes responsible for the company's debt? The State (and by extension taxpayers)?

I think that's why the Government prefers the "pay, take it and go; just pay we taxes" approach, they'll be off the hook for any such occurrence.

Postby nervewrecker » September 14th, 2018, 9:23 pm

vaiostation wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:
Except the maximum age to get into service commission for a low end permanent government job is 23, and you need to apply 1-2 years before that to even hope to get through.

They have the contract counterpart to clerks which is the building operations assistant (BOA I) which is 14 sick, no casual, 20 vacation per annum. Along with that you get as with all contract govt positions: no health insurance, no pensionable service, no job security, and no sight of a contract until the day the contract supposedly ends.
Nobody I know ever apply and never get through.
Plus you dont need any kinda qualifications for that job. You need at least 5 cxc to work kfc so technically you need to be more qualified to work kfc or cut cane than you need to be to get a work in the public service.

Your mileage may vary, i know rell people who apply and never get call. People with cape, without cape, with degrees and so on.

And yes we know is a basic, functionally unskilled office job, nobody said otherwise

Strange, I also know plenty people who applied and never got through. I also know a guy who used a fake cxc certificate and gt, got caught and then promptly fired, then rehired about two months after being fired, and de guy still working there till today. Oh petro...

Men go deny it, cause they really covering their own asses, but most people know the truth.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/article-6.2.444167.d0850075dc
Call name.

It ain't making any sense calling man name. De man does already be on here quite often, so he'd get the picture. Besides, he probably printing out vsep right now anyways. But if ya read de article it gives a basic example of the things that goes on in that company.
You mean yuh talking up yuh ass.

I know it fall in a few people garden on this website...

Call name or throw frame.

Postby nervewrecker » September 14th, 2018, 9:27 pm

hydroep wrote:A valid concern about any lease arrangement is this: If the OWTU makes a further mess of things, at the end of the contract's term who becomes responsible for the company's debt? The State (and by extension taxpayers)?

I think that's why the Government prefers the "pay, take it and go; just pay we taxes" approach, they'll be off the hook for any such occurrence.

With GTL more or less sold (and paid for with petrotrin money to government pardners) and waiting to come on stream the refinery has plenty money to make once it get its upgrades. ULSD can come on stream easy, they just preaching doom and gloom to give it away.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » September 14th, 2018, 9:43 pm

A few years ago, probably no more than 6 or so, Petrotrin was the place to get a job, now..... I remember when I was there former folks told me how good it was that the company was hiring, in hind sight it was just CEPEP for people with degrees or cover/ good PR to bring in the those who they wanted, so when I look back at my time there I can't say it was that great. Not to mention that fact that whenever you introduced yourself as a young employee the reaction was one of surprise as if to say "Why HR send you here?"

True it is sad that the company has to go but at times I just couldn't be moved to care. When I was there I remember a general attitude of wanton waste and self-entitlement, where managers and those in any form of authority saw themselves less like leaders and more like dictators in charge of little internal company fiefdoms and a general employee attitude of not caring.

It is sad that the good ones will probably have to be sunk with the rest.

Also I wonder how many of the good employees are left anyway it was a common thing to hear that the "good ones" often left after about 5-10 years service so they must have been left with quite an aging workforce by now, does anyone have the breakdown of the workforce by age and other such demographics?

With regards to the "false qualifications" I understand why that was a thing, I do remember hearing someone in HR remark that their system isn't as computerized as it should be (if at all) and that they probably couldn't account for persons on the payroll, point to note I do know someone who was phoned by HR after their contract had ended and was told that they did not get his performance appraisal when he did submit it to his then boss.

In light of the recent fraud with regards to the folks who had ghost persons on the payroll in one of the corporations, well I wouldn't doubt if that was going on in "Petro" on a much larger scale if any.

Also another point to consider is the amount of consultants both new and rehired retirees that were brought back at a premium, why the need for so many when you hired young folks and refused/ were unwilling to train them, not to mention the over-staffing of non-technical areas and the under-staffing of technical ones and then dumping overpaid consultants (to do technical consulting work because God forbid they do actual work) who brought questionable results? In this instance is the union right in claiming that the company is understaffed referring to the technical areas?

Postby nervewrecker » September 14th, 2018, 10:03 pm

Petro has a work force in many departments that are out the door. Men going home one after the next. When some heard about this issue they tendered thier resignation. Was in a room with a few and all had papers in hand to submit. They were told that it not accepted though.

With those dinosaurs leaving there is way for new blood to incorporate this century technology. Same thing you mention above about them but not all like that. I know some old men that will be a huge loss to that place when they leave. One has a few months again. Done looking for work elsewhere and he is a damn good worker. Some other country getting a real good employee.

I think someone made a comment that within the next few years the staff numbers will decline severely as men are clocking 60. Some departments have huge age gaps. Some younger ones are a waste eh, dont get me wrong.

Postby nervewrecker » September 14th, 2018, 10:04 pm

Where you worked btw? And what year you finish. If you from production you maybe met me.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » September 15th, 2018, 12:18 am

I was in Drilling and Workover Santa Flora left in 2014.

True about some of the older workers, but they were the guys who were left from the old days, the guys who had training from Tesoro Trintoc/Trintopec, things weren't so bad then.

As a matter of fact they had good training and apprenticeship programmes, they knew how to train people. If Petrotrin ran a programme like that today it would be good.....but....

It is all round a sad affair that this is what is happening to the company.......

Postby teems1 » September 15th, 2018, 1:12 am

nervewrecker wrote:Petro has a work force in many departments that are out the door. Men going home one after the next. When some heard about this issue they tendered thier resignation. Was in a room with a few and all had papers in hand to submit. They were told that it not accepted though.

Why tender your resignation when severance is a few months away?

screwbash

Postby screwbash » September 15th, 2018, 5:42 am

things going to get hard in this country, time for stuart young and the PNM to look after trinidad and tobago citizens and start sending back all the spanish,guyaneese, small islanders,middle eastern,americans and all who was not born in trinidad. a petrotrin man cud at least get a lil wuk in a gas station, but wen yuh look is som small island woman wukin dey or a spanish. allyuh secure trinidad for your children it is your birth right. let dem foreigners go back home otherwise they will make trinidad just like how they make their homeland.

Postby hydroep » September 15th, 2018, 6:31 am

No room for emotion
Petrotrin chairman on shutdown
Carla Bridglal 6 Hrs Ago

THERE’S no emotion when doing business, Petrotrin chairman Wilfred Espinet made clear yesterday, as he gave a breakdown of the scenarios the board had to consider when coming to the decision to shut down the Pointe-a-Pierre refinery.

“I don’t care how emotional you can get about it and how much it impacts on our psyche, the numbers are the numbers and the bankers are going to want their money. And that is the reality,” Espinet told the audience at a forum on the future of the company, hosted by the TT American Chamber of Commerce and held at the Cipriani College of Labour.

The company had three scenarios. One, to let the company continue as is, which would require an overall injection of $25 billion. The other would have the company split into two—Exploration and Production, and Refining and Marketing (the plan the board had submitted to Parliament in February). The third required reducing the workforce and refinancing the company’s debt, but the company would still need $20 billion to pay for the existing bond bullet payments, capital investment and interest payments.

When the board had presented to a joint select committee of Parliament in February, its intent was taking the company into a competitive state. The plan then had suggested splitting the company into two parts, with E&P giving some profitability that could still carry R&M.

That plan changed when the board started getting into the specifics. “The board had no intention of closing down the refinery. When the model started to evolve, the big problem was how to finance the need because the original assessment from Solomon and Associates (the consultants hired to evaluate the viability of the company) did not take financing into consideration,” Espinet said.

The company had considered how to optimize the efficiency, but the next stage that the board had to consider was the cost to run it, he said. In five years, E&P could possibly generate $5 billion in free cash flow; R&M would run a deficit of nearly $8 billion.

“For sure we’ll have pain but the question is what does the board do. Is it that the pain of the people of we are talking about (workers) is greater than the pain that will face the country as a whole?” he said. Espinet said he had seen the union’s proposal and even submitted it for review with the consultants. The plan was, however, deemed not financeable.

“I am very open to somebody coming up with something and say how they can do it. In my own experience I didn’t think it could be done and the bankers we’ve had any interaction with, I don’t know any of them giving an indication of going in that direction either,” he said.

https://newsday.co.tt/2018/09/15/no-room-for-emotion/

Postby hydroep » September 15th, 2018, 6:37 am

OWTU: No salary cut
‘Contribution’ from workers to buy back bonds
Richardson Dhalai 6 Hrs Ago

THE Oilfields Workers Trade Union (OWTU) has distanced itself from a newspaper report which stated the union’s president general Ancel Roget had suggested a 15 percent cut in salaries to enable Petrotrin to pay a US$850 million loan which is due next year.

The union’s education and research officer Ozzi Warwick yesterday said that Roget, in his presentation at the Eastern Credit Union’s La Joya complex on Thursday, stated that workers would buy back the bonds with a salary contribution of up to 15 percent.

Roget said the company’s Pension Fund as well as the Credit Union can make investments in the company. “He was adamant that this contribution should not be viewed as a pay-cut but as a contribution,” Warwick said in a press release.

The union also sought to clarify another issue, this one raised by Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley in which he said government was supporting Petrotrin by citing a document which called for the provision of a government guarantee in favour of Petrotrin for US$56 million.

“For clarification, this request is not for the government to provide any cash but is simply a guarantee so that Petrotrin can obtain a loan from a financial institution to purchase the crude. The prime minister neglected to state that this crude which is approximately 730,000 barrels, is refined to produce products which are sold and that the money received from sales, goes towards payment of the loan borrowed to pay for the crude,” the union said.

The union said this was the “normal arrangement” regarding crude oil shipments to TT as the company would pay for the crude 30 days after receiving it. “However due to the government’s reckless and irresponsible statement regarding their intention to close the refinery suppliers are extremely anxious and are now requesting payment before delivering the crude.

Be assured, the OWTU Proposal, if implemented, will increase the refinery’s margins and assist in improving the refinery’s credit rating so the company would no longer need to obtain government guarantee, the release added.

Postby Redman » September 15th, 2018, 7:50 am

OWTUs plan has gaps-and makes assumptions in pivotal areas.

If the bonds are trading at 14%......its pretty optimistic to think that the union...with no experience in managing a project like this...and being affiliated with the ballzing up of the said refinery up to this point can convince anyone smart enough to have the money....to lend them 2B USD. Much less at prime rates.
Without OWNING the asset.
Or without a GORTT garantee.

He is saying that the workers will put 15% towards the repurchase of bonds.
but the quantity of workers in the new refinery will cut in half...ignoring any downward adjustment in the rate of pay.....thats 15% of 1B TTD per year.....150M per year of repurchases in a 12+B TTD bond issue is irrelevant.
Work out 5% of 2B USD or 12B TTD.
He eh servicing the interest.

The OWTU is 4 years too late in realizing that they need a viable refinery as much as the refinery needs a viable workforce.
They have missed the train in being a proactive partner in this organism that is Petrotrin.

4 years ago they should have negotiated some producing blocks, and equity in the company with board seats.
The Blocks and Eq would spin off dividends into the OWTU pension funds for displaced workers of Petrotrin.
It would have been in surplus all now.
The above in 'exchange' for being pragmatic in the optimization of the operations.

If that or similar overtures were made....we may have had an entirely different outcome.

OWTU would have been the solution instead of the problem....

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » September 15th, 2018, 9:04 am

As espinet said, this is a business. Government has no right running a refinary business. It's there job to make sure infrastructure and critical services are there to supply the population.
Many countries have privatised their refinary business as corruption impacts upon the operating bottom line. Now it will be up to market forced to dictate how and where the work force end up. Which is the way it should be.
In the multi Nationals you can't work like how petrotrin workers have been accustomed. You work long hard and non stop in every different field with requirements way out of your job description.
The refinary assets will be privatised and a fraction of different workers will prob be hired to get it up to an international competitive level.
At the end of the day, this is business and petrotrin needs to be shut down and privatised.

Postby nervewrecker » September 15th, 2018, 10:44 am

Numb3r4 wrote:I was in Drilling and Workover Santa Flora left in 2014.

True about some of the older workers, but they were the guys who were left from the old days, the guys who had training from Tesoro Trintoc/Trintopec, things weren't so bad then.

As a matter of fact they had good training and apprenticeship programmes, they knew how to train people. If Petrotrin ran a programme like that today it would be good.....but....

It is all round a sad affair that this is what is happening to the company.......
So you will know people like ramsey, rabindranath and remey then?
And clive with the white sti (gone sometime as of recent). Iirc rabindranath left early this year also. Last I met him he was counting down the days.

They ran an apprentiship programme recently but it was said (dont quote me) none of them made the cut for what an apprentice was supposed to be when they left.

Anyhew, men have a few weeks again and some a few months. When they hear chaos they apply to leave. That was before they heard about enhanced vsep. Then men start hearing they might go home with nothing and riot was about to begin.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » September 15th, 2018, 4:25 pm

And clive with the white sti (gone sometime as of recent). Iirc rabindranath left early this year also. Last I met him he was counting down the days.

They ran an apprentiship programme recently but it was said (dont quote me) none of them made the cut for what an apprentice was supposed to be when they left.

Anyhew, men have a few weeks again and some a few months. When they hear chaos they apply to leave. That was before they heard about enhanced vsep. Then men start hearing they might go home with nothing and riot was about to begin.
Actually when I was there I spent more time with guys like Moore, Jerome and Sankar, the 2 engineers were guys by the name of Narendra and Rajiv, there was a guy called Donny but he left somewhere between 2012 and 2014. Has was in charge of the well abandonments for the highway project, he was billed as a completions engineer in the drilling and production department and the department was initially run by Hassanali, then it went to Valentine.

Ramsey, Brian and Chandler were still posted to Rig1.

Sugden and a host of other guys were private consultants who were brought back individually to do specific things and they were from Trinmar though, and they were physically absorbed into the office space he was workover operations offshore. Other such cases existed in the production department.

There was also, especially toward the end of my stay, a particular consuting company that operated foreign consultants and such engineering and operational services that got hired. When I left all I ever heard was that they hired even more guys but suposedly they were "experienced" guys from I think either Trinity or Touchstone. I don't know if they were billed as engineers or consultants.

There was some whispering of things getting "real bad" and disagreements between members of the drilling team, but that was what I heard when I left.

Who they hired for that programme was it even advertised?

I can't believe they going home with nothing.....that tough.

I heard that folks would be given 1 month's salary for every year worked, and I guess their contributions however much it is.

lovescience1234

Postby lovescience1234 » September 15th, 2018, 4:49 pm

Owtu denying this and that, govt denying this and that . Word on the ground is that A wll known multnational agree to buy the functioning plants , not the non commissioned & no old refundant process plants but no union allowed, and govt have to take care of the “bullet” loan payments. They will use the assets like a hub for international raw material - oil

Postby nervewrecker » September 15th, 2018, 8:28 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:

Actually when I was there I spent more time with guys like Moore, Jerome and Sankar, the 2 engineers were guys by the name of Narendra and Rajiv, there was a guy called Donny but he left somewhere between 2012 and 2014. Has was in charge of the well abandonments for the highway project, he was billed as a completions engineer in the drilling and production department and the department was initially run by Hassanali, then it went to Valentine.

Sugden and a host of other guys were private consultants who were brought back individually to do specific things and they were from Trinmar though, and they were physically absorbed into the office space he was workover operations offshore. Other such cases existed in the production department.

There was also, especially toward the end of my stay, a particular consuting company that operated foreign consultants and such engineering and operational services that got hired. When I left all I ever heard was that they hired even more guys but suposedly they were "experienced" guys from I think either Trinity or Touchstone. I don't know if they were billed as engineers or consultants.

There was some whispering of things getting "real bad" and disagreements between members of the drilling team, but that was what I heard when I left.

I heard that folks would be given 1 month's salary for every year worked, and I guess their contributions however much it is.
Some names are familiar, not sure all who is who. May really have some consultants of some sort there as there are some containers in the yard with I dont know who in it or what they do.

They always saying things bad but this time it actually bad.

There was some friction about this batch of apprentices and they were to leave with a kthanksbye. Only as it had a lot of vacancies they were absorbed into the system.

There was only talk of men going home with nothing. Talk is 2 months salary btw, not one. When khan and rowley them met opposition after the attempt to send them home with nothing they looking to sweeten the deal and give all man jack, dog, cyat and manicou something to go home with. They want to give away that place bad bad.
Talk is we have oil, lots and lots of it. They just trying to keep it in the ground to start producing when they give it away and say they no longer have to import. So they will be praised as heros and petrotrin men will be forever villified

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » September 15th, 2018, 10:56 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:

Donnie D left and headed out to the Middle East. He was a Petroleum Engineer

P. Sankar is no longer with us. He passed away.

The Drilling and Workover Department was identified as non-core entities in the just concluded Solomon and Associates Workforce Optimisation Study. in other words, it was the recommendation of the study to outsource this service.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » September 15th, 2018, 11:01 pm

Nervewrecker..so you know Rajpaulsingh as well?

Postby nervewrecker » September 15th, 2018, 11:01 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:

The Drilling and Workover Department was identified as non-core entities in the just concluded Solomon and Associates Workforce Optimisation Study. in other words, it was the recommendation of the study to outsource this service.
Oh snap. So thats what khan means by increase the lease. A&V have to drill.

What of electrical, instruments, mechanical and FEM?

You work there btw?

Postby nervewrecker » September 15th, 2018, 11:12 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:Nervewrecker..so you know Rajpaulsingh as well?
Yes, very well. Know him since he had PAG 7272.
Would like to know what became of that car also. He said its in a mess right now. :(

Postby nervewrecker » September 15th, 2018, 11:40 pm

Rahamut tell workers brace for job cuts if refinery close. Lack of business for them.

More job cuts to come

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » September 16th, 2018, 3:58 am

Pointman-IA wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:

Yes quite correct but within the department he was the go to "completions guy", with regards to folks who are no longer with us you can't forget Mr. Moore as well.

I haven't seen that report, sad though.....still though it reases the question if it was deemed a non-core entity how is it the government keeps saying that they will turn the exploration and production sector into something viable?

Is it that they are going to let lease out farm out run it in entirety and just collect the royalties? To be honest I don't really trust the locals in the industry right now.

Is Parenco still operating there, will they be doing anything with the onshore assets?

How are the service companies taking it?

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » September 16th, 2018, 8:56 am

Reported today officially it's the whole refinary and about 3500 people will layed off

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 16th, 2018, 8:58 am

jhonnieblue wrote:Reported today officially it's the whole refinary and about 3500 people will layed off

Its all Petrotrin workers. Not 1700. Not 2500. Not 3500. All. That includes permanent, contract and temporary persons. Think 5000 at least.

Postby gastly369 » September 16th, 2018, 8:58 am

3500 still not the number ...wait for it