Re: The official tropical weather thread 2018

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 19th, 2018, 4:26 pm

Trincity on the eastbound- confirmed this is a pic from today lol

1a0b7929-6936-4a10-b230-14bdd445b47a.jpg

Postby meccalli » October 19th, 2018, 4:28 pm

meccalli wrote:Rain coming either way, particularly tuesday and thursday into friday. Most likely flooding.

Can't say I didn't give you guys the heads up lol.

Saw some current flood vids here.
https://www.facebook.com/TTWeatherCenter/

Postby bluefete » October 19th, 2018, 4:33 pm

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/flood-up ... efb9aa489b

All 14 Dis­as­ter Man­age­ment Units re­main on high alert and con­tin­ue to as­sist peo­ple who may be trapped in their homes due to flood­ing or land­slides.

Ear­li­er to­day, field of­fi­cers from the re­spec­tive DMUs vis­it­ed crit­i­cal ar­eas that were re­port­ed­ly af­fect­ed fol­low­ing wide­spread flood­ing of sev­er­al rivers stretch­ing from Matelot in the north­east to Ma­yaro, to con­duct dam­age as­sess­ments and dis­trib­ut­ing re­lief items as quick­ly as pos­si­ble.

Sea­son­al rain­fall oc­ca­sioned by an ac­tive In­ter-Trop­i­cal Con­ver­gence Zone (ITCZ) and a trop­i­cal wave has caused rain­fall to af­fect rough­ly 80 per cent of Trinidad and To­ba­go, a state­ment from the Min­istry of Rur­al De­vel­op­ment and Lo­cal Gov­ern­ment said.

Cit­i­zens are kind­ly asked to re­main vig­i­lant and ex­er­cise cau­tion when tra­vers­ing the na­tion’s road­ways, es­pe­cial­ly in low ly­ing ar­eas and moun­tain­ous routes that may be prone to land­slides.

Ar­eas af­fect­ed

* Tumpuna Road lead­ing to San Raphael is flood­ed and cur­rent­ly im­pass­able. Cit­i­zens are asked to seek al­ter­nate routes;

* Land­slides have af­fect­ed the Matu­ra Road;

* Grande Riv­iere Riv­er and Shark Riv­er have breached their banks;

* Plum Mi­tan and Biche is cur­rent­ly flood­ed and im­pass­able to ve­hic­u­lar traf­fic at this time;

* M1 Tasker Road, Broth­ers Set­tle­ment and Garth Road, Williamsville;

* Wood­land, Batchiya Vil­lage, Aquart Vil­lage, Pe­nal Rock Road, Clarke Road, Lowkie Trace and parts of La­choos Road;

* Madrass Road, South­ern Main Road, Ca­roni South­bank Road, Pi­ar­co By­pass Road, En­deav­our Road, Ca­roni Sa­van­nah Road in the Ca­roni area;

* Sun­rise Park, Trinci­ty;

* Kent Street, Williamsville and Bois Jean Jean Main Road, Moru­ga;

* Poole Val­ley, Cu­napo South­ern Main Road, Union Vil­lage, in the Poole Dis­trict;

* Mafek­ing, Na­pari­ma Ma­yaro Main Road in the Ma­yaro Dis­trict;

* Churchill Roo­sevelt High­way be­tween Or­ange Grove Road and O’meara Road, Ari­ma;

* St. He­le­na By-Pass Road is cur­rent­ly im­pass­able

* EMR in the vicin­i­ty of the De­ten­tion Cen­tre and Thomas Trace, Arou­ca
Last edited by bluefete on October 19th, 2018, 4:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 19th, 2018, 4:33 pm

Postby nervewrecker » October 19th, 2018, 4:54 pm

Penal earlier.

Clarke road junction and in the back by chackra security.

Donno what wrong with school children. They seeing road under water and wanna chillax on the side and cuss cars when they causing waves. Let car drivers be intimidated, play stoosh and hydrolock and shiz. I going through, allyuh should have better sense. Didnt mean to cause such big waves but when cuss start to fly, take a bath for being dotish. ImageImageImageImage

Postby bluefete » October 19th, 2018, 5:04 pm

Major, major flooding in the east. Valencia, Sangre Grande, Matura.

Police are helping people to move out of their flooded homes.

Postby toyolink » October 19th, 2018, 5:04 pm

Well caroni basin seems to be high risk and the Southern T'dad getting the new norm since about 4 years now.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 19th, 2018, 5:27 pm

road by the airport

1c59fd54-55fe-4a62-8fe9-915d62d972c8.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 19th, 2018, 6:12 pm

Riverine flood alert raised to Red level

Screenshot 2018-10-19 at 6.10.40 PM.jpg

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 19th, 2018, 6:22 pm

Here what going on right now, you see where I living in Piarco

We literally dead. :lol: I never seen flood this high and powerful, I nearly get loss away in the current yes lol if allyuh see this eh

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 19th, 2018, 6:40 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Here what going on right now, you see where I living in Piarco

We literally dead. :lol: I never seen flood this high and powerful, I nearly get loss away in the current yes lol if allyuh see this eh

no pics of video?

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » October 19th, 2018, 6:42 pm

Take video and post if u swimming na man.

I wonder if we red and ready. Imagine people stranded waiting on transport they could have use the buses to clear up some spots but then again we ain't even prepared for nothing.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 19th, 2018, 6:48 pm

David Attenborough voice: "And here we see the migration of wild dasheen as they scamper across the road to find a mate"

Postby Chimera » October 19th, 2018, 6:50 pm

wtf even the dasheen getting out of it

matix

Postby matix » October 19th, 2018, 6:56 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:David Attenborough voice: "And here we see the migration of wild dasheen as they scamper across the road to find a mate"

Postby pugboy » October 19th, 2018, 6:56 pm

So fitz putting on boots tomorrow

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 19th, 2018, 7:01 pm

can't really see anything in the night to take a video, it eh swimming high but the current dread and water deep the deepest I ever seen. If yuh fall down by the road yuh dead no joke you need super human strength to move through the water. It is quite something

J453

Postby J453 » October 19th, 2018, 7:06 pm

Heavy rains force shutdown of water treatment plants. Citizens are being asked to manage their water supplies as heavy rainfall over the past 24 hours has led to the shutdown of a number of water treatments plants across North Trinidad.

The Water and Sewerage Authority (WASA) said persistent rains have led to various issues at these facilities including turbid river conditions, clogged intake screens and power failure.

The affected facilities include the Caroni Water Treatment Plant where production has been reduced from 75 million gallons daily (mgd) to 55 mgd, while operation was stopped at the Tompire, Matura, Hollis, Aripo, Quare, Guanapo, Caura, Luengo & Naranjo and Acono WTPs.

Areas affected include those supplied by the Caroni WTP - Santa Cruz, Belmont, Morvant, Cascade, St. James, Cocorite, Kelly, Caroni, Chaguanas, Longdenville, Couva, Carapichaima, Claxton Bay, Gasparillo, Marabella, Pleasantville, San Fernando, La Romaine, South Oropuche, Siparia, Debe, Penal and La Brea and those supplied by other facilities including Toco, Salybia, Valencia, parts of Arima, El Dorado, Tacarigua, Maracas - St. Joseph, among others.

WASA said the affected facilities are expected to return to service when conditions normalise at these locations.

Customers are advised to manage their water use efficiently, as it may take up to 24 hours thereafter for their scheduled pipe borne water supply to normalise.

WASA has assured that the water currently being supplied through its distribution system complies with the Guidelines for Drinking Water Quality of the World Health Organisation and is safe for use.

For further information or assistance, customers are asked to contact WASA’s Customer Call Centre toll free at 800-4420/26.

Postby hydroep » October 19th, 2018, 7:11 pm

Flood water veggies for Sunday market yes. The sh!twater go make it taste a li'l sweeter...:|
Last edited by hydroep on October 19th, 2018, 7:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 19th, 2018, 7:13 pm

yeah time to stay away from vegetables for a while. Last time Leptospirosis kill a few people down south

Postby sMASH » October 19th, 2018, 7:18 pm

hydroep wrote:Flood water veggies for Sunday market yes. The sh!twater go make it taste a li'l sweeter...:|
The last time dasheen Bush get bathe in flood water, ah man get charge and had to pay a 600

Postby redmanjp » October 19th, 2018, 7:20 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Riverine flood alert raised to Red level

Screenshot 2018-10-19 at 6.10.40 PM.jpg

Wait nuh, is until next week Friday it expected to last ? This is serious HAARP level weather here!

Postby pugboy » October 19th, 2018, 7:22 pm

Leptospirosis is easy to catch but also an easy pathogen to avoid with basic hygiene procedures and basic soap will kill it
No fancy chemicals required.

All should educate themselves

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:yeah time to stay away from vegetables for a while. Last time Leptospirosis kill a few people down south

Postby redmanjp » October 19th, 2018, 7:27 pm

bluefete wrote:Major, major flooding in the east. Valencia, Sangre Grande, Matura.

Police are helping people to move out of their flooded homes.

At red level they should be deploying Fire officers!

V2NR 3.0

The official tropical weather thread 2018

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 19th, 2018, 7:27 pm

Citi:

That's south woman break yuh hear bad bad bad

Postby Gladiator » October 19th, 2018, 7:30 pm

In first world countries the armed forces would be out assisting citizens and helping in relief efforts.... What does our regiment do?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 19th, 2018, 7:44 pm

Gladiator wrote:In first world countries the armed forces would be out assisting citizens and helping in relief efforts.... What does our regiment do?
Sleep

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 19th, 2018, 7:52 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
Gladiator wrote:In first world countries the armed forces would be out assisting citizens and helping in relief efforts.... What does our regiment do?
Sleep

Eat

Postby redmanjp » October 19th, 2018, 7:55 pm

Im currently in POS, is City Gate flooded?

Hadda travel

Postby bluefete » October 19th, 2018, 8:03 pm

Acquaintance who left work at 2:30 p.m. now reach home at 7:45 p.m.. She was travelling.