What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

mrtrini45

Re: What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Postby mrtrini45 » April 15th, 2016, 6:58 pm

Too much indians he feel getting true

Postby De Dragon » April 16th, 2016, 1:26 am

mrtrini45 wrote:Race

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160413 ... -selection

Bias in medicine schols selection*
Garcia stands by words:

Published on Apr 13, 2016, 9:46 pm AST
By Ria Taitt
ria.taitt@trinidadexpress.com

Education Minister Anthony Garcia hinted strongly that there was bias in the selection of scholarships to study medicine.
Speaking at a People’s National Movement (PNM) public meeting in Malabar on Tuesday night, Garcia said: “Only today, this evening, we have a committee that was appointed to look at GATE (Government Assistance for Tuition Expenses) in the area of students who access scholarships for medicine. I don’t think I need to tell anybody what happens at the level of our University of the West Indies in the scholarship selection for doctors. I don’t need to spell it out for you, but all of you know what is happening.

Rich coming from the secret scholarship for friends and family Government :lol: :lol:

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 16th, 2016, 5:27 am

Under the last PNM admin there was a serious racial bias to the students awarded the SGU med school schols. Alot of students they hand picked didn't even make it past pre med ... was a total waste of money and time. How come Garcia not talking about that?

Re: RE: Re: Austerity - why are we doing this?

Postby 1UZFE » April 16th, 2016, 8:56 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:How much revenue is lost through improper income tax collection?

We have an entire shadow economy of people who don't pay income tax, yet the entire system is propped up by those that do. It's not that I'm hating on the small entrepreneur. It's the fact that some people who make millions and evade the taxman.

Look at the IRS model, it's very unbiased and they get the business of collection done. We make it too easy to evade with no real repercussions.

Shhhhhh... jus now they wud say u isa unc and a racist.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 16th, 2016, 5:04 pm

Here is a good question: where is the $59billion going???

-Government is not repaying debts to local businesses
-Freezing the salaries of public servants (no increments etc)
-CDAP medication unavailable for the last 4 months
-Many doctors unemployed
-Mt Hope patients are forced vegetarians since they are owing Arawak too much for chicken
-All major infrastructure works appear to be stopped
-Work on faculty of law seems halted
-ministry of Education cut government secondary schools budget by 85%
etc etc etc

59 Billion is nothing to sneeze at... I mean historically this is probably our 4th or 5th highest budget ever - can anyone tell me where the money is going?

Re: RE: Re: Austerity - why are we doing this?

Postby De Dragon » April 16th, 2016, 11:31 pm

1UZFE wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:How much revenue is lost through improper income tax collection?

We have an entire shadow economy of people who don't pay income tax, yet the entire system is propped up by those that do. It's not that I'm hating on the small entrepreneur. It's the fact that some people who make millions and evade the taxman.

Look at the IRS model, it's very unbiased and they get the business of collection done. We make it too easy to evade with no real repercussions.

Shhhhhh... jus now they wud say u isa unc and a racist.

And many of these operate right out in the open, but I suspect that the political backlash from going after the "small man" would be too much.

York

Postby York » April 16th, 2016, 11:38 pm

7% devaluation
7% online tax
7 years of recession?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » April 17th, 2016, 1:00 am

For every person awarded a scholarship they should make their grades public.

That should clear up any misconception about why they were selected.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » April 17th, 2016, 1:02 am

As a matter of fact they should make clear and public what are the criteria for consideration for a scholarship in the first place.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » April 17th, 2016, 1:06 am

The purpose of scholarships is to reward students who have proven that they have achieved a certain level of excellence as a result of their own ability and effort not because of any other reason.

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » April 17th, 2016, 2:25 am

They plan to count murders like Count Dracula

1 hahahah
2 hahahah a
3 hahaahahaha

Postby De Dragon » April 17th, 2016, 6:31 am

Numb3r4 wrote:The purpose of scholarships is to reward students who have proven that they have achieved a certain level of excellence as a result of their own ability and effort not because of any other reason.

Yes, but there has to be a reciprocal arrangement bonding the recipient to service for at least 3 years.

Numb3r4

Re: RE: Re: What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Postby Numb3r4 » April 17th, 2016, 12:30 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:The purpose of scholarships is to reward students who have proven that they have achieved a certain level of excellence as a result of their own ability and effort not because of any other reason.

Yes, but there has to be a reciprocal arrangement bonding the recipient to service for at least 3 years.

Agreed but that lies squarely with the government to put such a system in place. Having achieved the scholarship the graduate will seek to do the next natural thing get a job where he can use his skill.

To be honest why can't it be as easy as placing them within the government system based on their area of qualifications.

But then I know of instances where this would be the worst thing to do to any young graduate ( placing them in the government service).

The problem is we don't really have a system set up to take full advantage of the young educated poplulation that we are producing and that is causing the problems.

All this could have been less of a problem had we spent more time diversifing........

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » April 17th, 2016, 1:38 pm

Also with regards to the economy does anyone know about Minister Imbert looking into banking sector reform?

Postby eliteauto » April 17th, 2016, 1:44 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:

Agreed but that lies squarely with the government to put such a system in place. Having achieved the scholarship the graduate will seek to do the next natural thing get a job where he can use his skill.

To be honest why can't it be as easy as placing them within the government system based on their area of qualifications.

But then I know of instances where this would be the worst thing to do to any young graduate ( placing them in the government service).

The problem is we don't really have a system set up to take full advantage of the young educated poplulation that we are producing and that is causing the problems.

All this could have been less of a problem had we spent more time diversifing........

most of the graduates are expected to serve their time in the service of the Gov't, what needs to be done based on the last 2 lines I bolded is the definition of that service be widened to simply be service in the country so that we can encourage entrepreneurship and innovations based on the sphere of study undertaken

Postby eliteauto » April 17th, 2016, 2:38 pm

mrtrini45 wrote:Race

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160415 ... eaten-suit

Axed SSA directors threaten suit *
Claims of unfair dismissal, ‘racist’ request...

Published on Apr 15, 2016, 1:00 am AST
By Anna Ramdass
anna.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com

Former high-ranking directors of the Strategic Services Agency (SSA) have commenced legal ­action against the State for unfair ­dismissal, with one ex-director claiming he was asked to identify Indians in the agency to fire.
The ex-employees are former director of the agency Bisnath Maharaj, former deputy director Keron Ganpat, former director of intelligence Carlton Dennie, former assistant director of information and communication technology Alonzo Flemming, and former assistant director of administration Seukeran Singh, who were all fired by National Security Minister Edmund Dillon.
The men have retained the services of former attorney general Anand Ramlogan, and five pre-action letters were sent to the Office of the Attorney General on Wednesday with a 21-day deadline to respond before legal action is taken.
The claims total in excess of $6 million.
In the letters, the former directors stated their termination was unjust, claiming they were targets of political victimisation, unfair treatment and discrimination.
Former intelligence director Dennie stated in his letter he was summoned to a meeting by then director Matthew Andrews and asked to assist in weeding out the Indians in the agency.

https://www.facebook.com/Lickle.Jon/pos ... 2248881101

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » April 17th, 2016, 10:34 pm

serious question

how we go abt getting our currency to be internationally accepted?

Postby j.o.e » April 17th, 2016, 10:52 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:serious question

You sure this is a serious question ?

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » April 18th, 2016, 5:16 am

U mad.

Again that was a race we should have never been playing. Do u really think trinidad dollar can become a world reserve currency? U know how much dollars wed have to print for there to be enough to supply the world? And with every print our dollar is devalued.. ie - inflation.

We simply dont have the power, or the resources to even have ever been attempting such. To compete against usa and china and england for global market share? No it doesnt make sense and never made sense to follow in the monetary policy footsteps larger countries who are strategizing on those goals. What we end up with is a weakened currency that gets weaker all the way down to the final stage winner of global dominance.

Instead of these silly, un-thought-out recovery measures, we should have been focussing and should be focussing on increasing the value of our dollar. Not thinning it out to spread through the world. Who will want a worthless dollar? See zimbabwe and the 100 trillion dollar note and the failure of that country.

In trinidad's case, we must focus on quality, not quantity. But here wah i sayin. If imbert dotish enough to remove the subsidy he dotish enough to tread down this road u want to talk about. Because he was dotish enough to mismanage the finances of the country in all his years as finance minister for the pnm and hothing has changed. He hasnt learned any new tricks we dont know already.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 18th, 2016, 6:54 am

ingalook wrote:Here is a good question: where is the $59billion going???

-Many doctors unemployed
-Mt Hope patients are forced vegetarians since they are owing Arawak too much for chicken
etc etc etc

59 Billion is nothing to sneeze at... I mean historically this is probably our 4th or 5th highest budget ever - can anyone tell me where the money is going?

Nobody cares to answer this?

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 18th, 2016, 11:05 am

Where Habit7 and he crew?

Postby Habit7 » April 18th, 2016, 11:23 am

You want me to validate your speculations with an answer? Do your posts only have value when somebody responds to it?

You beat up to your heart's content, I'm sure Colm (an avid viewer if social media) is reading your posts and rethinking life.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 18th, 2016, 11:24 am

So... You don't know where the money is going either then?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 18th, 2016, 11:34 am

bluesclues wrote:

U mad.

Again that was a race we should have never been playing. Do u really think trinidad dollar can become a world reserve currency? U know how much dollars wed have to print for there to be enough to supply the world? And with every print our dollar is devalued.. ie - inflation.

We simply dont have the power, or the resources to even have ever been attempting such. To compete against usa and china and england for global market share? No it doesnt make sense and never made sense to follow in the monetary policy footsteps larger countries who are strategizing on those goals. What we end up with is a weakened currency that gets weaker all the way down to the final stage winner of global dominance.

Instead of these silly, un-thought-out recovery measures, we should have been focussing and should be focussing on increasing the value of our dollar. Not thinning it out to spread through the world. Who will want a worthless dollar? See zimbabwe and the 100 trillion dollar note and the failure of that country.

In trinidad's case, we must focus on quality, not quantity. But here wah i sayin. If imbert dotish enough to remove the subsidy he dotish enough to tread down this road u want to talk about. Because he was dotish enough to mismanage the finances of the country in all his years as finance minister for the pnm and hothing has changed. He hasnt learned any new tricks we dont know already.

How is it that in countries like El Salvador the US Dollar is their official currency? How is something like that possible and could we also do it?

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » April 18th, 2016, 11:48 am

Is that what allyuh want? It sounds like a good idea on the surface.. however.. how do u know our banking on the right currency. What if the USD starts falling and losing its status as a world reserve currency?

Either way you talking about basically giving up our sovereignty and not having any government issued local currency.

But no, if ur thinking what I think our thinking.. no... doing that will not stop the USD drainage just because we trade in USD. We will still be facing the issue of buying more than we selling. It won't solve deficit spending either. Instead, the only currency that we would have to rely on would continually become a smaller pot.

At least with our local currency we can implement programs geared towards increasing its global market value and trade it back and forth for gains. But man its just the ppl at the helm. The decision makers in this country... smh yes. Smh.
Last edited by bluesclues on April 18th, 2016, 11:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 18th, 2016, 11:49 am

ingalook wrote:
ingalook wrote:Here is a good question: where is the $59billion going???

-Many doctors unemployed
etc etc etc

Nobody cares to answer this?

Here Inagalook, go wild with information
a. Recurrent Expenditure
RE as at March 2016
http://www.finance.gov.tt/details-of-es ... penditure/

b. Investment
PSIP (Investment)
http://www.finance.gov.tt/public-sector ... bago-2016/

Between the two you should come up with the expenses. You can put Cliff's notes for the rest of us.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 18th, 2016, 12:08 pm

bluesclues wrote:Is that what allyuh want? It sounds like a good idea on the surface.. however.. how do u know our banking on the right currency. What if the USD starts falling and losing its status as a world reserve currency?

Either way you talking about basically giving up our sovereignty and not having any government issued local currency.

But no, if ur thinking what I think our thinking.. no... doing that will not stop the USD drainage just because we trade in USD. We will still be facing the issue of buying more than we selling. It won't solve deficit spending either. Instead, the only currency that we would have to rely on would continually become a smaller pot.

At least with our local currency we can implement programs geared towards increasing its global market value and trade it back and forth for gains. But man its just the ppl at the helm. The decision makers in this country... smh yes. Smh.

I see yes you are right I did some research, it appears because so much trade is done between the US and El Salvador that it works for them.
The US dollar would never fail though I don't think thats something we would ever have to worry about. The American economy is like 17 trillion everybody else like UK and Germany etc is just a tiny 3 trillion.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » April 18th, 2016, 12:16 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
bluesclues wrote:Is that what allyuh want? It sounds like a good idea on the surface.. however.. how do u know our banking on the right currency. What if the USD starts falling and losing its status as a world reserve currency?

I see yes you are right I did some research, it appears because so much trade is done between the US and El Salvador that it works for them.
The US dollar would never fail though I don't think thats something we would ever have to worry about. The American economy is like 17 trillion everybody else like UK and Germany etc is just a tiny 3 trillion.

No bro.. the american economy is not 17 trillion. Its 18trillion in DEFICIT. 3-5 trillion of which it borrowed from....................

China

Edit: just did a check... I stand corrected. America is no longer in 18 trillion dollar deficit... its in 19.2 trillion dollar deficit. And constantly growing.
http://www.usdebtclock.org

Still think we could tax our way deficit spend and austerity measure our way out of this recession? Which isn't a recession its something I am calling. 'A gloup'.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » April 18th, 2016, 12:30 pm

another thing, I think local banks should expand the its variety of foreign currency, e.g Chinese dollar, so merchants shopping from China won't have to source USD

Miktay

Postby Miktay » April 18th, 2016, 12:56 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:Also with regards to the economy does anyone know about Minister Imbert looking into banking sector reform?

Many ideas being floated. Specifics w/help.