Wayne Kublalsingh Hunger Strike...

Re: Wayne Kublalsingh Hunger Strike...

Postby rollingstock » November 27th, 2012, 10:53 pm

^ ent, can't expect men that have no balls to recognise it when they see it, they have nothing to compare it with, their perception off.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » November 27th, 2012, 11:08 pm

See what I mean man ^ Even tho some you fellas dont support what he doing or the manner in which he doing it, yall can still understand and respect certain aspects of it. Dont get why other ppl have to be like, "Da man shud dead quick yes".... Its so much more than just about the highway IMO. This action taken by him should serve us well in the future when dealing with other similar projects.

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » November 27th, 2012, 11:15 pm

lets hope it doesnt cliche the hunger strike for future projs.

once ppl dont start slitting wrists for cost benefit analyses. or punching themselves. or other atrocities!

Postby pioneer » November 27th, 2012, 11:17 pm

would we get a holiday if he dies?

Postby rfari » November 27th, 2012, 11:33 pm

pioneer wrote:would we get a holiday if he dies?

Nah

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » November 28th, 2012, 1:17 am

rfari wrote:U know it rell funny that people saying that they d'oh understand why kublalsingh wha kill heself and all that crap. Buh when something happen that cause them great displeasure, wha dey does do? Come here and complain, or just whimper into a corner and sulk. Poosies

thaaank uuuuu......although i believe the highway should b built i totaly respect a man 4 standing up for what he believes be it wrong or right....

Postby sMASH » November 28th, 2012, 4:32 am

let me put it this way:

a lot of persons are dissatisfied with ttasa, but the sentiments of those persons have never been on aired on any media of any form for any significant duration.

whether selfish or selfless, attention whoring or awareness raising, his opinion is being broadcasted and heard, whether u like it or not, whether u want to hear it or not.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » November 28th, 2012, 5:08 am

pioneer wrote:would we get a holiday if he dies?

I hope so.

This man and his followers are the biggest fools iv'e ever seen. No other avenue is working, so you decide to "move or or i go kill mehself?
And furthermore, he's even cheating. Who does a hunger strike but takes IV fluids. Take it all the way man, but I'm sure whoever is advising him has told him they'll quicker leave him to die and rot than reroute the highway.

Wayne needs to stop making a mockery of people that do hunger strikes for bigger reasons. I see PNM international has written amnesty international..I have no idea why. The man just not feeding himself; PP/PM/kamla have nothing to do with that.

Postby sMASH » November 28th, 2012, 5:21 am

express wrote: Eight years of victories for Kublalsingh

By Richard Charan richard.charan@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Nov 25, 2012 at 11:59 PM ECT

Story Updated: Nov 25, 2012 at 11:59 PM ECT

FOR those keeping score, its Kublalsingh—five, Governments—zero.

In the eight years since activist and doctor of philosophy Wayne Kublalsingh became a national figure, he has crafted a strategy that led to the implosion of some of the nation's largest industrial projects and drawn the attention of the powerful international environmental movement.

Dragged, pushed around, arrested and carted off by soldiers, security guards and police officers during his crusades, he has been the Gandhi-like symbol of passive resistance. Until last week, when he cursed Health Minister Dr Fuad Khan and walked off when a stand-by ambulance was offered in the event his hunger strike became a medical emergency.

However this ends, Kublalsingh has achieved at least one of his objectives — to bring the nation's attention to the 9.1-kilometre segment of highway that is intended to link Debe to Mon Desir.

Now everyone has an opinion on the issue, on the man, an Oxford-educated part-time UWI lecturer who drives an old Czech-built Skoda Felicia hatchback.

He is disliked by industrialists, considered a pest by ruling politicians and their supporters, and lauded as a messiah by some.

His modus operandi is now familiar—build a protest camp, marshal the media, explain the issues to the communities most likely to be impacted, and then begin the protests.

Use whatever is necessary—walkabouts, grim pamphlets, cottage meetings, human blockades, fasts, prayers, propaganda, rituals, confrontation with construction workers, but also undeniable charisma, and a command of his version of the facts.

His supporters recite his talking points.

And he openly admits to using the media to get the word out and training his supporters how to make the biggest impact when protesting the issue.

Confrontation is necessary. However, violence is not.

As a result, the images of Kublalsingh with his mostly female support base are impossible to turn away from.

And citizens, having never seen anything like this before, are unsure how to react to his picture showing an emaciated frame similar to that of a person in the drought-stricken Sahel or a Nazi concentration camp.

Kublalsingh-led protests stopped the construction of the proposed Alcoa steel smelter in 2005 at Chatham, Cedros.

In the case of the Alcoa smelter project, Kublalsingh convinced many that the plant would destroy a forest, steal miles of coastline, pollute the atmosphere, and compromise the aquifer, a point that the Environmental Management Authority (EMA) used to deny a certificate of environmental clearance (CEC).

The project was shelved.

Around the time of Alcoa, plans were also announced for the building of an industrial island offshore Otaheite in the Gulf of Paria, and for a steel complex to be built in Claxton Bay by India's Essar steel company.

The island plan was never pursued.

Meantime, a five-year-long campaign was launched in Claxton Bay, with a Hindu temple being built on the land designated for the smelter, accompanied by anti-smelter signs and motorcades, vigils and prayers, while residents awaited word from the EMA on whether a CEC would be granted to Essar.

In 2009, Essar pulled up stakes, closed its office at Atlantic Plaza, Couva, and left the country.

At around the same time, a similar protest simmered in La Brea, where residents were warned of the potential heath risks of the Alutrint aluminium smelter to be built on the newly-cleared La Brea Industrial Estate.

The High Court ruled in a lawsuit filed by the anti-smelter lobby that revolved around Kublalsingh and quashed the CEC granted to Alutrint, despite $3.2 billion already being spent on the project, that included the construction of a dedicated power generation plant that now produces excess power the State must pay for.

And in 2010, the EMA denied the National Energy Corporation's application for a CEC that would have allowed for the establishment of an industrial port at Claxton Bay Fishing Port, the main purpose of which was to supply the raw material for Essar.

The decision was based on an objection on the grounds of environmental and social impact, ending that plan despite millions already being spent on the project.

Earlier this year, Kublalsingh claimed victory in the fight by residents living near a proposed chemical plant in Phoenix Park near Couva, after almost a year of protests in which he was accused of vandalism and trespass.

The project has stalled as a result of funding issues, but residents, advised by Kublalsingh on the potential health and environmental impact of the plant, also intend challenging the construction in the court, should it return.

what can be said, haterz gonna hate, but nobody's got nuthin on him.

Postby pioneer » November 28th, 2012, 6:15 am

So you mean after 8 years he eh get ah ministerial wukk yet?

nah man

Postby zoom rader » November 28th, 2012, 7:26 am

kubbys may be a pimp since all of his support are females.

Postby shogun » November 28th, 2012, 8:00 am

cinco wrote:
tr1ad wrote:it's not an obsession i think

he believes in what he stands for

maybe something good can come from this

Hadda agree, even though i don't believe what he stand for and support him, you must admire the man for his conviction.

Hitler believed what he stood for too

And his followers still admire and revere him. As misguided as they are.

Bizzare wrote:there's nothing to admire here. attention whoring for selfish purposes is not admirable.

Well. Isn't this ironic.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » November 28th, 2012, 8:01 am

Soul Collector wrote:See what I mean man ^ Even tho some you fellas dont support what he doing or the manner in which he doing it, yall can still understand and respect certain aspects of it. Dont get why other ppl have to be like, "Da man shud dead quick yes".... Its so much more than just about the highway IMO. This action taken by him should serve us well in the future when dealing with other similar projects.

I agree, time for Burining tyres and protesting in the road is over, i certainly and sincerely hope that places like Morvant and Laventille take a note from the pages of this good man and in the future, stage a massive hunger strike and threaten suicide over the bad road conditions.

Postby dougla_boy » November 28th, 2012, 8:27 am

but all the man want is a proper meeting with the PM....dunno why she cyah give him dat......

but anyways,

[rumourmill] ah hear certain minster/s own a lot of the land that they wanna use.....twas bought before they decided to go with the project.....and that a certain minister holding KPB drinking problem as blackmail so she wouldnt meet with Wayne [/rumourmill]

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 28th, 2012, 8:29 am

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:I agree, time for Burining tyres and protesting in the road is over, i certainly and sincerely hope that places like Morvant and Laventille take a note from the pages of this good man and in the future, stage a massive hunger strike and threaten suicide over the bad road conditions.

hunger strike? kfc go buss dan!!!!

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » November 28th, 2012, 8:36 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:
RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:I agree, time for Burining tyres and protesting in the road is over, i certainly and sincerely hope that places like Morvant and Laventille take a note from the pages of this good man and in the future, stage a massive hunger strike and threaten suicide over the bad road conditions.

hunger strike? kfc go buss dan!!!!

Perfectly fine by me- i dont eat that sh1t anyways

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » November 28th, 2012, 9:37 am

brams112 wrote:How will he die when he hiding and taking drips boi?

"Sipping some diluted orange juice, he broke his 21-day fast. For three weeks, the 73-year-old Indian leader had taken no nourishment except watered citrus juices"

LIFE Magazine 5 Apr 1943

"Dr. Roy explained that Mr. Gandhi took citrus juice with water only"

Source material for a history of the freedom movement in India - Volume 3, Part 7 - Page 316

Postby Rooki3 » November 28th, 2012, 12:05 pm

Ambulance removed

Postby Rooki3 » November 28th, 2012, 12:08 pm

He have a good lookin nurse, sexy lookin piercing

src1983

Postby src1983 » November 28th, 2012, 12:40 pm

Rooki3 wrote:He have a good lookin nurse, sexy lookin piercing

Pic??

Postby rfari » November 28th, 2012, 12:42 pm

*OUTSIDER* wrote:Oh My

:-|

Dais dis here birdie on le right?

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » November 28th, 2012, 1:01 pm

src1983 wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:He have a good lookin nurse, sexy lookin piercing

Pic??

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » November 28th, 2012, 2:05 pm

Who Coming ?? :lol:

Postby tr1ad » November 28th, 2012, 2:06 pm

steups

trinidadian society is where it is indeed

Postby sMASH » November 28th, 2012, 2:17 pm

lol at competition.

soooo de man was on a hunger strike, not a thirsty strike.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » November 28th, 2012, 2:57 pm

Kublalsingh's dad told a friend that was there with the UNC Youth Arm walking and meeting people "if the police wasn't here i woulda cuff u down, I will kill you if anything happen to my son cuz i know who you are".

The threat will be reported

Postby Rooki3 » November 28th, 2012, 3:07 pm

:pwned: hahahah, eet good

Postby MG Man » November 28th, 2012, 3:09 pm

Sumana.00 wrote:Kublalsingh's dad told a friend that was there with the UNC Youth Arm walking and meeting people "if the police wasn't here i woulda cuff u down, I will kill you if anything happen to my son cuz i know who you are".

The threat will be reported

UNC should be reported for being a disgrace to this country

Postby Greypatch » November 28th, 2012, 3:17 pm

saw a tweet that JCC delivers letter to PM proposing a resolution to the impasse with Kublalsingh.

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » November 28th, 2012, 3:57 pm

dougla_boy wrote:but all the man want is a proper meeting with the PM....dunno why she cyah give him dat......

but anyways,

[rumourmill] ah hear certain minster/s own a lot of the land that they wanna use.....twas bought before they decided to go with the project.....and that a certain minister holding KPB drinking problem as blackmail so she wouldnt meet with Wayne [/rumourmill]

That would be the only reason any project has ever been done in T&T , in my opinion. Which lot was it the other day by freeport that was bought by someone for 5mil and resold to govt for 150mil? That would be the case for every project currently planned for south and central, oh and look tobago, same story with THA and rahael. If ministers and govt insiders don't own the property, they're not doing any project there, end of story. Juxtapose that against the people losing property through compulsory acquisition and never being paid for it.