Low Carb\Low Cal\Healthier Food\Healthier Lifestyle Thread

Dohplaydat

Re: Covid 19 vs lifestyle/health

Postby Dohplaydat » December 21st, 2021, 11:06 am

nismotrinidappa wrote:With this new world situation and lockdowns last year and Netflix and popcorn laziness has kicked in.
I decided to start back running in order to remain healthy. I already believe this mask wearing is slowly stifling our lungs and wanted to strengthen them back. I dont smoke or drink. I can easily hold my breath underwater for more than a minute easily.i used to run 5k and 15k years ago and hoping to regain that level of fitness. I am starting with a 1/2 mile run and slowly want to build to a 2 mile run every day. I ran the half mile in 5.20 minutes and was slightly disappointed but happy that I didnt stop but kept the pace. Hoping to reach up to a 5 minute mile eventually.
For those into cycling running lifting etc how have you managed during this pandemic. ?
Food wise during the lockdown was only home cooked food. Eating more but losing weight. When fast food reopened the lbs returned. So it's back to using air fryer and checking the carbs.
Christmas this year is going to be quiet at home with lots of books to read.
How are you coping?

Honestly, I used to be a regular gym goer (talking 3-5 times. a week) for years prior. At my peak for Carnival 2020 I was 180lbs and probably 10% body fat. I rarely did much cardio in those years, but was fit enough to run a savannah without stopping (just barely).

When gyms closed I stopped working out and realized during that time how mentally lazy/foggy I became, and how much less energy I had during the day.

I got some selectech dumbells from a friend and also began running around my compound.

I still go gym but now I still run 1-2 times a week.

I've definitely lost some muscle mass though most people say it doesn't show, it's been so easy to maintain a BF level of 10-12% even when consuming close to 3k calories a day. Running is amazing, I can easily run 3 to 4 laps around the savannah now, but I usually stick to 2.

My pace around the QP Savannah isn't that fast, about 6:30 mins a KM, but I can do a full lap now at 5:30 mins/km which is pretty damn good! fittest I ever was as I approach my late 30s.

As for diet, I don't stick to anything strict, I don't prevent myself from eating junk, eat out at least 3 times a week, but other than that I cook a lot. Mostly chicken, but beef or pork now and then. Diet isn't strict, but it is balanced, with veges and small salads every meal.

I never realized how much having muscle allows u to eat more liberally as it boosts your metabolism so much.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 21st, 2021, 11:08 am

I was running and riding 2-3 times per week before lockdowns and then I bought an (expensive) trainer so I focused on low impact indoor training 4-5 days per week.
I really miss running tho. More like jogging at my pace, but it was nice to do outside and keep the HR pumping.

Postby redmanjp » December 21st, 2021, 3:56 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I was running and riding 2-3 times per week before lockdowns and then I bought an (expensive) trainer so I focused on low impact indoor training 4-5 days per week.
I really miss running tho. More like jogging at my pace, but it was nice to do outside and keep the HR pumping.

just wanted to know are we exempted from wearing masks while doing individual (not group) outdoor exercise? it does make it difficult when you are breathing rapidly

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » December 21st, 2021, 5:51 pm

Yea I got fed up of inside. Ran outside 11pm was so refreshing

Postby Kenjo » December 21st, 2021, 5:54 pm

redmanjp wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:I was running and riding 2-3 times per week before lockdowns and then I bought an (expensive) trainer so I focused on low impact indoor training 4-5 days per week.

just wanted to know are we exempted from wearing masks while doing individual (not group) outdoor exercise? it does make it difficult when you are breathing rapidly

How often you really bouncing up olive , just hang it down your chin .outdoor transmission is negligible

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 21st, 2021, 7:32 pm

redmanjp wrote:

I use the sleeve type thing that covers your neck and face. It’s less restrictive than a mask but it’s only for legal purposes. Where I run has little to no pedestrians at all passing by. Cars, cows and pothongs.

I think you can use the sport shield face cover and get away with it

Postby j.o.e » December 21st, 2021, 7:37 pm

I keep a mask in my pocket when I go running. No one is around, unlikely to bounce up police, but I have one on me just to avoid the old talk on the off chance I encounter police or have to speak to someone.

Postby alfa » December 21st, 2021, 7:44 pm

Used to run a eight minute mile and 12 min 45 sec mile and a half but dropped off bad. Working hard to get back the 8 minute mile. Have to lose a ten pounds first but after xmas, too much black cake and pastel available atm :lol:

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 21st, 2021, 7:55 pm

Men working real hard to die healthy yes. :lol:

Whereas men not doing anything and dying unhealthy, in the end we all heading in the same place,

Postby timelapse » December 21st, 2021, 8:23 pm

DMan7 wrote:Men working real hard to die healthy yes.

Whereas men not doing anything and dying unhealthy, in the end we all heading in the same place,
No we're not.Lord Spaghetti will take me to Pastastan in his flying colander.
Ramen.

nismotrinidappa

Re: Low Carb\Low Cal\Healthier Food\Healthier Lifestyle Thread

Postby nismotrinidappa » January 5th, 2022, 12:59 pm

Went superpharm. Saw jump ropes and bought 1. Insane results this week. It's a serious piece of cardio. Calves hurt like hell though.

Postby redmanjp » January 5th, 2022, 2:53 pm

j.o.e wrote:I keep a mask in my pocket when I go running. No one is around, unlikely to bounce up police, but I have one on me just to avoid the old talk on the off chance I encounter police or have to speak to someone.

they really need to amend the law based on science- like if i walking not just outdoors but on a lonely street more than 50 feet (while 6 feet apart is safe) away from the nearest person i shouldn't have to wear it. in the US and other countries they mostly have indoor mask mandates.

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » January 5th, 2022, 4:01 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:Went superpharm. Saw jump ropes and bought 1. Insane results this week. It's a serious piece of cardio. Calves hurt like hell though.
Doing a new exercise is a putting on a new pair of shoes you have break it in at first for it to get comfortable. I always try to have a rope at hand so I won't have any excuses not to do my daily cardio.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » January 5th, 2022, 9:17 pm

You do it daily?

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » January 6th, 2022, 5:12 am

nismotrinidappa wrote:You do it daily?
Yes, 5ks and hill sprints twice a week, rope on the three remainding days or if something comes up and I cant run.

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » January 6th, 2022, 11:51 am

Just putting my 2c here.

Reached a sticking point with diet and training.

Paid money and met with a dietitian.

Basically I had to give up milk and dairy in general.

Best life choice I’ve made in awhile.

Pack milk really eh healthy at all.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » January 7th, 2022, 8:38 am

Animal Pak wrote:Just putting my 2c here.

How much does a dietitian visit cost?

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » January 7th, 2022, 10:32 am

You still have 4g92 inside?

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » January 7th, 2022, 1:25 pm

Musical Doc wrote:

How much does a dietitian visit cost?

I shopped around locally. Was disappointed in my options.

So I went international. 200CAD a session. Ask all yuh questions up front. Don’t waste that time yo

Zalos

Postby Zalos » January 7th, 2022, 3:30 pm

How different did you feel?