rfari wrote:Good work by the police. Now they should detain all members of the gangs under these men to avert any power struggle to fill the void.
bluespeed wrote:rfari wrote:Good work by the police. Now they should detain all members of the gangs under these men to avert any power struggle to fill the void.
the majority have been detained already...... the plan is to work from the tail to the head, we all want to see the last man standing.
Two gang leaders hiding out at the exclusive Hyatt Regency Hotel in Port-of-Spain were arrested yesterday morning by police under the anti-gang legislation.
The two men ages 36 and 31, along with a 22-year-old woman checked into the hotel on Tuesday and stored large sums of cash and jewelry in safes provided in the hotel room suites.
The men reportedly were staying on a day to day basis and paid US$250 (TT$1,600) per day.
Guardian.co.tt wrote:A total of 462 persons have been arrested in this week’s state of emergency operations, including two persons described as two of T&T’s “biggest gang leaders”, who were arrested at the Hyatt Hotel, Port-of-Spain, yesterday morning. The two had booked into the hotel’s US$1,600 (TT$9,600) a night presidential suite since last Sunday when the state of emergency was announced, a Government spokesman confirmed. The spokesman said the location of the persons became known after they engaged numerous call girls during the week. The two, along with a female gang member, were arrested yesterday by security forces in the operation “Disrupt and Dismantle Gangs”, which has been mounted since the state of emergency began. Government yesterday described it as a “major breakthrough” in operations.
At yesterday’s daily media briefing at the National Security Ministry, Port-of-Spain, Minister John Sandy said among the multiple arrests of the last 24 hours, were two “notorious” gang leaders. Sandy said a third gang leader, who fled to Tobago, also was arrested. He said even though people were migrating to other areas, security forces also had those covered. On whether a national threat from criminals was still imminent, Attorney General Anand Ramlogan said: “Unless and until violent crime was reduced, the state of emergency is one that is bearing fruit.” Police Commissioner Dwayne Gibbs gave the cumulative total of 462 detainees for the week. Gibbs said this included 190 gang leaders in the operation “to disrupt and dismantle gangs”.
Gibbs said the last 24-hour operation figure had netted 147 more people. Of this number 75 were related to gangs. Gibbs also noted eight others (involved in homicides), 21 (drug-related offences) four (curfew-breaking), one (firearm-related offences), 19 (serious offences), four (outstanding warrants) and 150 rounds of ammunition seized. While Gibbs declined details of the Hyatt arrests, a Government spokesman said the two persons arrested yesterday were from one of the biggest gangs in T&T. They said the unit was involved in drug-trafficking and gun-running and had ties extending to North and South America. The gang is based in east Port-of-Spain/Laventille, they added.
A spokesman involved in yesterday’s arrests said the gang members were among a number who had checked into the hotel last weekend and were “coming and going.” They said orders were placed at “some of the finest restaurants for champagne and food” during the persons’ stay. The spokesman said those arrested included a female gang member, listed in the gang’s “corporate structure” as the gang’s “public relations officer”, earning a salary of $35,000 monthly. At yesterday’s media briefing, Ramlogan said the perception of gangs should not be confined to places like Nelson Street or “The Plannings”.
Ramlogan added: “You’ll be shocked at where some of them are housed and the extent of the luxury in which they live. Check their bank accounts, the carat of gold they wear, the amount of house they buy in cash and the number of girlfriends they ‘minding.’ “They have four and five residences and they move from place to place. “He said local studies show dominant gangs have a leader and sub-commanders and also had “cells”. Some often overwhelmed some gangs by violence, bringing in guns to recruit youths. Ramlogan added: “The cash they get from crime, some are used to establish dance halls and nightclubs. They promote fetes and concerts, bringing in foreign artistes, and make millions. They sponsor community activities like basketball tournaments.
“Some form legitimate businesses and promise jobs. They don’t wear a jacket and tie but they have more money than the man in jacket and tie,” Ramlogan added. He said casinos had reported that they earned $600,000 to $700,00 nightly from gang members. Ramlogan said the gangs’ structure was copied from American counterparts and some had a “board of directors” in their big business operations. Gibbs said police had to sort through all the people and evidence obtained, so far, “so who’s who in the zoo will take a little work,” he added. “So far we are seeing successes. During the time of the state of emergency there has been some crime but to a limited extent and we intend to continue dismantling the gangs,” Gibbs said.
~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/HYATT_HIDEOUT-128515563.html
HYATT HIDEOUT
2 'big fish' from Sea Lots arrested at Waterfront hotel
By Akile Simon
Story Created: Aug 27, 2011 at 12:53 AM ECT
Story Updated: Aug 27, 2011 at 12:53 AM ECT
POLICE yesterday swooped down on the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Port of Spain and arrested two men they say are leaders of well-known criminal gangs in Sea Lots, Port of Spain.
The men, and a 26-year-old San Juan woman, who has been identified as the men's secretary, were arrested by officers of the Port of Spain CID and the Criminal Intelligence Unit (CIU) headed by Snr Supt Glen Hackett and John Martinez.
Guests and hotel employees looked on in shock as the three were led out of the hotel in handcuffs and into two waiting police vehicles.
Up to late yesterday, they were at the Port of Spain CID being questioned by CIU, CID and Homicide investigators. Their attorneys also quickly arrived at the CID office and spoke with them.
The men, ages 31 and 36, are said to be the leaders of the Pioneer and Production Drive Sea Lots gangs. One of the men, police said, also has an address at Third Street in Maraval.
At the time of their arrests, National Security Minister Brigadier John Sandy was in a room called Regency Six of the same hotel, delivering the feature address at the Commonwealth Regulatory Workshop on "Caribbean Countries and Global Financial Regulation".
Sandy, police sources said, was unaware of the activities taking place on the 16th and 22nd floors of the hotel, where the suspects were arrested.
Speaking at yesterday's daily news briefing regarding operations undertaken under the state of emergency, Sandy said police had detained three known gang members, one in Tobago. He, however, did not state where the other two suspects were held.
But, when the Express questioned Commissioner of Police Dwayne Gibbs on the arrest of the suspects at the Hyatt Regency, he said he had no knowledge of where the two men were detained, but was aware of the arrest of the third gang leader in Tobago.
He said, "I'm not sure what you are alluding to at this point. I say that because we have many operations going on throughout Trinidad and Tobago, and if there was something at the Hyatt, I have not received anything," Gibbs said.
Attorney General Anand Ramlogan, in an earlier statement at the news briefing, said the public would be shocked to know some of the areas where police had detained gang leaders. He said yesterday's arrest is a clear indication that they were actually going behind the big fish.
He said, "The scope and dominance of the gangs, picking upon the theme from yesterday, you would have heard from the Honourable Minister of National Security, we are not at liberty to disclose where we are picking up some of them, but I want to assure you, it is not only in Nelson Street and the Plannings. You will be shocked to know where some of them are actually housed, and the extent of the luxury in which they live.
"...I'm not at liberty to disclose the exact locations where we are penetrating and picking up the gang leaders, but, as I indicated before, we are not exactly confined to the Plannings and some of the areas where you see the media parading before the public, and it's definitely not consistent and very difficult to reconcile the perception that we are not going after the big men, we are going after the small men," Ramlogan said.
However, police sources yesterday confirmed they arrested the suspects at rooms 1601 and 2001 around 11.30 a.m. Police said CID officers, led by Sgts Mervyn Edwards, Andrew John Andy Wallace, and including PCs Anderson Roberts, Nikruma Porter, Rickey Babwa, Nobel Smith and WPC Claudia Cabie, raided the suspects' hotel rooms and seized $16,000.
Officers said they also found premium drinks which included Johnny Walker Blue, Moet, Bailey's and Harvey's Bristol Cream. Officers also stated that the suspects, who often exchanged rooms, had initially checked in on August 23, two days after Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar announced a state of emergency in the country.
The suspects, police said, had also checked in at the hotel in company with five women, who left on Thursday, and other women were expected to take their place yesterday. Police said they received information that the men had also been ordering food from a fine dining restaurant and had even thrown a curfew party at their rooms earlier this week.
Records from the hotel, police said, indicated that the suspects had been paying for their stay by cash on a daily basis—in excess of $900 per night. Before police moved in on the hotel, police said the suspects were spotted liming, eating, drinking and smoking in their verandah. Police said the suspects will be charged under the Anti-Gang laws and taken before a Port of Spain magistrate next week.
bluespeed wrote:rfari wrote:Good work by the police. Now they should detain all members of the gangs under these men to avert any power struggle to fill the void.
the majority have been detained already...... the plan is to work from the tail to the head, we all want to see the last man standing.
hustla_ambition101 wrote:You people gotta realize that most of them who behaving like that are beneficiaries of proceeds of crime, police preventing them from going out and robbing people to go and shop in POS to deck out their bastard children in "brands"
rfari wrote:hustla_ambition101 wrote:You people gotta realize that most of them who behaving like that are beneficiaries of proceeds of crime, police preventing them from going out and robbing people to go and shop in POS to deck out their bastard children in "brands"
As you mention that, it would be good to see a long term solution to crime by helping these single parent moms that depended on the income of the drug and gun trade by teaching them proper parenting and 'entrepreneural spirit'. Because with all the pickney dey have, we could find ourselves in a similar situation to now, 10-15 years down the road.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Newsday said TT$1,600 a night, Guardian said US$1,600 a night and Express say TT$900 per night
so which is it?
Habit7 wrote:I hope the incarceration of these "big fish" will cause a drop in crime. Manning wined and dined them in Crowne Plaza asking them the have a truce. Months later they all died in young age but crime slowly decreased.
We need not just to tackle the distributors but we need to sure up our porous border and track the finances of the drug trade. It is problem all the southern states of the US have to deal with, far less us.
rfari wrote:True. I agree 100%. But these programmes that the government runs are not serving its true purpose. URP is suppose to be a temporary 'helpme' from what I understand but most people treat it as a career. CEPEP is suppose to be a start-up for micro business man/women but its turning into another urp. Proper implementation of these programmes is needed and most of all proper discipline from the participants. U cyar tell me that you comfortable holding up a stone barrier while a wacker man cut the side of the road and u wouldn't even invest in a cheap ass wacker to start ur own sh.it. Tht's just pure laziness.