***THE FARMERS CHED***

Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby Chimera » October 23rd, 2015, 5:15 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:Is there a market locally for papaya?

Yea but you make alot more selling retail. I planted 600 trees about 2 years ago...picked alot but i personally didnt have time to go market or sell retail. End up having to sell at $1 a lb.to someome who came and picked it.

Postby Chimera » October 23rd, 2015, 5:20 pm

One thing pointman....if you planting papaya,make sure you leave space so that you could drive atleast down the middle of the whole field.....toting out 50 lb boxes of pawpaw is no fun at all

Postby X_Factor » October 23rd, 2015, 5:35 pm

now should be a decent time to plant pawpaw providing the land doesnt flood as u will get the rain on and off....it will be a pain water them all.....also Invest in a mist blower if u dont have one already

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » October 23rd, 2015, 6:20 pm

What is the best price for papaya seeds?

STUD 101

Postby STUD 101 » October 23rd, 2015, 6:21 pm

Thanks for the info. Does the same apply for lemons?

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » October 23rd, 2015, 6:31 pm

We have 2 acre plot and instead of selling it and letting it go to waste, we are deciding to make use of it.
I was thinking cocoa, papaya and some bananas/plantains.

Postby Chimera » October 23rd, 2015, 6:36 pm

Its like $200 for a tray of 128 or $300 for a pack of seeds

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » October 23rd, 2015, 7:44 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Its like $200 for a tray of 128 or $300 for a pack of seeds

ABA, I was offered $500 which I find was too high.

Thanks.

Postby Chimera » October 23rd, 2015, 8:07 pm

Depends on the type but last year i paid 300 for a pack of red lady seeds from southern chemicals. You would realize that alot of peoples trees fall down with the weight of the pawpaw..i was told thats when people set seedlings in trays....pawpaw sends out a long tap root and it curls up and is underdeveloped in a tray.

Its why some.people.prefer to.set their seeds in styrofoam cups....more space for initial rooting

Postby Chimera » October 23rd, 2015, 8:20 pm

Check asasco in bocal road for seedlings

York

Postby York » October 23rd, 2015, 10:31 pm

Have heard that papaya is not that easy and prone to diseases. Anyone with experience to share? Also, about the market, is it for processing like pepper sauce or sale to vege marts/supermarkets?

How long have you had the plantain crop? Any problem with black sigatoka or moko disease. I had plantain for a couple of years but didn't have a borer problem. Anyone has suckers to sell?

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » October 23rd, 2015, 10:38 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Depends on the type but last year i paid 300 for a pack of red lady seeds from southern chemicals. You would realize that alot of peoples trees fall down with the weight of the pawpaw..i was told thats when people set seedlings in trays....pawpaw sends out a long tap root and it curls up and is underdeveloped in a tray.

Its why some.people.prefer to.set their seeds in styrofoam cups....more space for initial rooting

Where is Southern Chemicals located?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 23rd, 2015, 11:40 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:We have 2 acre plot and instead of selling it and letting it go to waste, we are deciding to make use of it.
I was thinking cocoa, papaya and some bananas/plantains.

Don't plant Cocoa, one of the worst ideas even if Trini Cocoa is supposed to be number 1 in the world. There is a lot of trouble aswell as politics involved in it that you won't want to deal with, so I was told by someone on tuner anyways.

But what I saying also is Cocoa need shade you have to plant shade trees, wait for it to get big before you can even think of planting the Cocoa then the work involved harvesting it. I feel only way to make sense with that is if you own like 50 acres etc. Better to plant short crop and make money, if you want a great idea for long term crop.

Plant the whole 2 acre in Coconut Trees, Right now I planting 1 acre and a 1/4 in Coconut. Some of the nuts I planting are very large as big as a basketball. See if you can get your hands on plants like that they are called Bolee nuts.

Postby Chimera » October 24th, 2015, 6:02 am

Pointman-IA wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:Depends on the type but last year i paid 300 for a pack of red lady seeds from southern chemicals. You would realize that alot of peoples trees fall down with the weight of the pawpaw..i was told thats when people set seedlings in trays....pawpaw sends out a long tap root and it curls up and is underdeveloped in a tray.

Where is Southern Chemicals located?

Ramsaran street, opposite the license office in chaguanas

Postby X_Factor » October 24th, 2015, 6:22 am

with the high prices of seasonings and i cant see it dropping before christmas
chive is a nice quick flip if u have flat land with easy access to water
gonna check around for a 5 crate today and hope i get lucky
Celery will make some money as well but needs more care but wont be ready to harvest for christmas

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 24th, 2015, 6:30 am

how men dealing with them ridiculous vegetable prices?

Postby Chimera » October 24th, 2015, 9:05 am

the farmers smiling

celery is $50 to $70 a wholesale bundle right now

but thats usual price around divali and christmas

ent last year cucumber was about $500 a bag?

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » October 24th, 2015, 9:56 am

Tuners.

Your advise again.

I want to put up a perimeter fence to keep squatters off the land.

I have seen ppl use branches from a particular tree and use this to support the wire.

One of my brothers had suggested using pvc and pouring concrete into it.

What are your thoughts on this?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 24th, 2015, 10:44 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:the farmers smiling

celery is $50 to $70 a wholesale bundle right now

but thats usual price around divali and christmas

ent last year cucumber was about $500 a bag?

$500-$700

STUD 101

Postby STUD 101 » October 24th, 2015, 10:46 am

York wrote:Have heard that papaya is not that easy and prone to diseases. Anyone with experience to share? Also, about the market, is it for processing like pepper sauce or sale to vege marts/supermarkets?

How long have you had the plantain crop? Any problem with black sigatoka or moko disease. I had plantain for a couple of years but didn't have a borer problem. Anyone has suckers to sell?

This is my third year is just a few 200 plants, want to do another 200 next year so I not selling suckers right now. Borer and predial larceny big problems lack of reliable labour too. No problems with black sigatoka or moko.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 24th, 2015, 10:51 am

^Pointman, thats a good idea because to pass through barb wire easy just bolt cutter or a small cutter but say you have a type of tree with deadly picker plant right through then you have a lot more cutting to do, it makes it difficult. But I think concrete post and wire alone should stop them since is not thief but squatters.

Here is what to do, go hardware and buy BRC wire the ones they use to cast concrete flooring with, then paint it in rust proof paint else those wire rust real quickly. Its only $400 a roll of 100 Feet for that wire its way cheaper than the normal chainlink and its stronger also. And its much harder to cut than barbwire. Then use same concrete post as you was thinking about, and you should be good to go. Put up signs on the fence "trespassers will be prosecuted"

STUD 101

Postby STUD 101 » October 24th, 2015, 11:01 am

Anyone know what this is? Saw him snacking on the leaves of my lime tree.
1445698845396.jpg

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 24th, 2015, 11:02 am

STUD 101 wrote:
York wrote:Have heard that papaya is not that easy and prone to diseases. Anyone with experience to share? Also, about the market, is it for processing like pepper sauce or sale to vege marts/supermarkets?

This is my third year is just a few 200 plants, want to do another 200 next year so I not selling suckers right now. Borer and predial larceny big problems lack of reliable labour too. No problems with black sigatoka or moko.

I would say predial larceny is the biggest problem in Agriculture and bigger than labor. According to Trinidad chamber of commerce we lose $11.2 million US Dollars a year in theft of agriculture livestock and crops. Not far from me broad daylight a ban of thieves pull up with a B11 and started tossing goat and sheep in the back and front seat of the car. so that just goes to show you if they can thief sheep and goat with a b11 sunny what else won't they do?

All the government had to do was make it Easy for farmers to have access to Guns, and fix the law so that once a farmer shoot dead a thief on his farm there will be no issues with charging him, judges and their liberal jackassness about how the thief is human too and he have rights and all this dotishness.

Postby Chimera » October 24th, 2015, 11:02 am

yeah pointman and contact us in 10 years when you finish unroll and put up the first roll of brc fence fire.....

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 24th, 2015, 11:08 am

And when he unroll it he has to paint it with a pain brush, then roll it back up then unroll it when he reach the land. LOL

But one thing is certain it makes for a damn strong wire, chain link will cut with a pliers and just turn 1 link and the whole thing comes apart. BRC need boltcutter and each link has to cut, plus its less than half the price of chainlink. Has its benefits if you willing to sacrifice time and want to save money.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » October 24th, 2015, 12:00 pm

Is better I spray paint the BRC.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 24th, 2015, 12:24 pm

If you can get rust proof spray paint sure or a strong spray paint cause that BRC does rust real quick once water hit it.

Anyone here knows how much money I could get from 1 bed of cucumber? say 100 trees in a bed

Postby Chimera » October 24th, 2015, 12:56 pm

Pointman dont take on that brc advice eh....

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 24th, 2015, 1:02 pm

^ depends on he budget ABA.

To fence 2 acres of land or more in Chainlink you talking over what $10,000? A hundred feet of chainlink is about $1200 vs BRC which is $400, plus whatever the price of paint, Another solution is to plant a type of thick picker like plant in a straight line to mimick a wall. Which IMO would last longer than both wires.

Postby X_Factor » October 24th, 2015, 2:45 pm

fence the land and plant bodi!!
thats real bodi to pick!