Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Limerboy

Postby Limerboy » December 15th, 2009, 9:45 am

Postby Razkal » December 15th, 2009, 6:24 pm

GB does NOT import all fish :|

atleast the:
-coloured zebras (pink, yellow, green)
-koi angels
-goldfish (all and every kind)
-discus
-guppies (grass, solids etc etc)
-oscars (albino and tiger)
-hilaries/mollies/platies
-koi
-golden severums
-fighters (all varieties)

are definitely locally bred and supplied to the guy, just to clarify for those shopping under the impression they're taking home "fareign ting" :|

no hate, just clarity...he told me he imports everything as well...even though i have siblings to most of the koi angels that passed through that store and HAD a parent to the discus he has/had in stock...

the cichlids are nice, i know wazir in aranjuez breeds them and has some awesome specimens, so not sure if those in the store were locally acquired as well.

Fishy Biznis imports alot of fish...they're usually great quality, but do yourself a favour and take the contact numbers so you can know AS SOON as they have new specimens and get the best of the lot...

Postby Morpheus » December 19th, 2009, 12:43 pm

Hi guys. Where can I get a fish tank cover complete with lighting made?

The tank is 3' x 1.5'.

Postby Morpheus » December 19th, 2009, 5:04 pm

Morpheus wrote:Hi guys. Where can I get a fish tank cover complete with lighting made?

The tank is 3' x 1.5'.

^^ Anyone?? :?

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » December 19th, 2009, 6:59 pm

Check the Pet Shops in Grand Bazzar and Valpark.
They have hoods with lighting.

Morpheus wrote:
Morpheus wrote:Hi guys. Where can I get a fish tank cover complete with lighting made?

The tank is 3' x 1.5'.

^^ Anyone?? :?

Postby Morpheus » December 19th, 2009, 7:27 pm

^^Thanks a lot rmtuner. Will check Monday

~Street Sleeper~

Postby ~Street Sleeper~ » December 21st, 2009, 11:45 am

Whats the best filter for a planted tank.. approx 300 gals?

corolladude

Postby corolladude » December 21st, 2009, 1:00 pm

ppls i need plants for my new project..... am in south,, anyone can help me out,, ?

kl122

plants!!

Postby kl122 » December 22nd, 2009, 8:48 am

corolladude,

call me, 290-8288 i jus got some really large amazon swords, and many others....

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » January 4th, 2010, 7:10 pm

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 4th, 2010, 7:30 pm

couple of my boys, got some black neons and panda corydoras in with dem, java fern and some giant amazon swords planted.
btw how are the ones in grand bazaar?

Postby foss » January 4th, 2010, 7:39 pm

ppl's i have a 48" x 18" that i resurrecting... thinking either to go with goldfish alone, or pacu.

or to make a community tank... what ur'll recommend for this? what type of fish get along well with each other (don't fight, etc)

welcomed to suggestions

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 4th, 2010, 8:37 pm

pacu will soon out grow the 4', try an amazonian or black water type setups, if u into realistic eco types.

Postby foss » January 4th, 2010, 8:39 pm

well i only know bout ting like oscar, and goldfish, hillary, pacu, angel fish, etc.. tetra's etc...

i thinking if to do a community tank, or just get a couple of one type and put them in

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 4th, 2010, 8:47 pm

well do some research on some tropical aquarium forums, www.ratemyfishtank.com
you will see there are alot of options that go against the common everyday set ups, i.e. loaches, rainbow fish. a natural looking eco type is always best.

Postby UML » January 4th, 2010, 10:02 pm

foss, jus get an arowana......das d bess well after ah lionfish or eel :mrgreen:

btw saltwater men....can u get seahorses? and jellysifes?

:idea:

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 5th, 2010, 12:39 pm

can anyone give a no. for the pet shop in G.B
do they have discuss?
where exactly is the shop located?
thanks!

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » January 5th, 2010, 12:51 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:can anyone give a no. for the pet shop in G.B
do they have discuss?
where exactly is the shop located?
thanks!

They located in the Front next to the THIS IS IT store.
Yes they does have discus but right now Raj have some boss Discus.
Color real good and thing.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 5th, 2010, 12:53 pm

whos this Raj, where is he located?

djblademan

Postby djblademan » January 6th, 2010, 11:19 am

EVERYBODY I"M BACK!
allyuh must be say oh i create this lovley thread & doh post but...i was in abit of medical situations, but im better now & coming back on track!
Happy new Years & merry belated christmas etc!

Halfbreed07, me & you seem to be the only two men who into discus on this thread! I myself looking for some....thas the onyl two you hav? was going to buy some imported blue diamonds but they kinda pricey tho!....where raj really is & wat is ah number for him? seeing he have boss discus, i wa check out....

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 6th, 2010, 11:51 am

chk wazir on boundry road, jus bought 2 turquoise from him.now come from by shiva, he have but not great looking.
Raj on vacation till nex week will fwd no. Wen I back in office

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 6th, 2010, 12:30 pm

EVERYBODY I"M BACK!
allyuh must be say oh i create this lovley thread & doh post but...i was in abit of medical situations, but im better now & coming back on track!

Halfbreed07, me & you seem to be the only two men who into discus on this thread! I myself looking for some....thas the onyl two you hav? was going to buy some imported blue diamonds but they kinda pricey tho!....where raj really is & wat is ah number for him? seeing he have boss discus, i wa check out....

wazir 674-3030, raj 744-8768, shiva 762-1223

right now i have
4 pigieon blood,
4 blue turquoise,
6 huge kois veil tail angels
1 Trinidad Pleco (of course)
3 panda corys
4 local corys
endless firemouth/convict cross breed (tuffies)
endless convicts
3 pothound goldfish
7" oscar

~Street Sleeper~

Postby ~Street Sleeper~ » January 6th, 2010, 12:55 pm

endless firemouth/convict cross breed (tuffies)

pics

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » January 6th, 2010, 1:42 pm

anybody have a number for Chai fish farm ?

plz PM me...thx

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 6th, 2010, 2:01 pm

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » January 6th, 2010, 3:32 pm

djblademan wrote:EVERYBODY I"M BACK!

Nope :lol: I'm rebuilding breeding stock right now. The three I have @ present got "plague" ( :x )....but they are recovering now. 8-)

1NZ-FE Powered

Postby 1NZ-FE Powered » January 6th, 2010, 3:58 pm

With respect to discus, can you post a list of local breeders/sellers and what strains they have?

I am thinking of getting back into the hobby after being out of it for over 10 years. I just started up one of my old tanks with a few orandas just to get re-acquainted, but interested in setting up a few discus tanks with as wide a variety of strains as I can get.

From back in the day, the only folks I remember with discus were

Wazir in Aranguez
Ian in Lange Park (is he still in this?)
Roshan (i think) in Palmiste
Chai

Anyone ever bring in Discus from any of the breeders in the US or SE Asia?

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 6th, 2010, 7:49 pm

Good discus, like the in books are close to impossible to find, although most local suppliers will swear the have real nice fish, but an informed buyer will most disappointed.
The high mortality of discus, coupled with the high price and hastle to import will make it an unlikely option.
Sunil's pet store in endevour has some of the best tourquise I seen loocally, see my pic above.
The fish Dr. from rousillac, although a smart man has the most impressive stock in terms of numbers.
He opens only on a saturday, and has mostly pigeon blood and malboro. He seldom has class fish.
Wazir has class fish now, dey are too big for my needs right now, and so is the price.
Shiva tries his best but as lucky as he is with his breeding methods his stock is not in the class of the parents.
There are a few private breeders I know of, one in cascade, one in santa cruz and one in cocorite, but they are difficult to deal with
and harder to convice them to let you come by them to view ther stock.
My advice is do what I do, hope for the best and expect the worst, when ever u come across a good fish, as rear as it is, buy it one time.
Be patient, plan your tank, be prepared to spen some money in the initial set up, get quality equipment, especilly the heater.
Also do some research on the net, and remember these are delicate fish.
But once u go discus, everything else is just a fish

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » January 6th, 2010, 7:55 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:Good discus, like the in books are close to impossible to find, although most local suppliers will swear the have real nice fish, but an informed buyer will most disappointed.
The high mortality of discus, coupled with the high price and hastle to import will make it an unlikely option.
Sunil's pet store in endevour has some of the best tourquise I seen loocally, see my pic above.
The fish Dr. from rousillac, although a smart man has the most impressive stock in terms of numbers.
He opens only on a saturday, and has mostly pigeon blood and malboro. He seldom has class fish.
Wazir has class fish now, dey are too big for my needs right now, and so is the price.
Shiva tries his best but as lucky as he is with his breeding methods his stock is not in the class of the parents.
There are a few private breeders I know of, one in cascade, one in santa cruz and one in cocorite, but they are difficult to deal with
and harder to convice them to let you come by them to view ther stock.
My advice is do what I do, hope for the best and expect the worst, when ever u come across a good fish, as rear as it is, buy it one time.
Be patient, plan your tank, be prepared to spen some money in the initial set up, get quality equipment, especilly the heater.
Also do some research on the net, and remember these are delicate fish.
But once u go discus, everything else is just a fish

How do you define a class fish?

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 6th, 2010, 8:25 pm

Much like dogs, the pure breed fish will have certain common traits that define a really good breed, what is called a strain.
Cross breeding will only create 'pothound' fish. But local suppliers, because of lack of good stock will tell you that its a snake skin o leopard skin, etc.
If you look at enough photos of the different strains you will know a class fish from a mixbreed.