PNM in Gov't (2020-2025)

Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby j.o.e » June 7th, 2024, 9:18 am

greggle71 wrote:I think families should get a detailed invoice for public healthcare when receiving services from public hospitals. Not for payment purposes but to show the real cost of what you incur for healthcare when you walk or are wheeled into any public hospital where you walk out without literally spending a cent.

My mom suffered a stroke recently and between the ambulance, blood and radiology testing, warding, medicine and attendant medical care my bill could easily be over 150k if I went private.

Yes my mother paid health surcharge all her working life but it wasn’t the first time she’s been hospitalized so on aggregate she has benefited from the state. But the psyche of seeing the cost and knowing it’s a cost you’re benefitting from will be good for the citizenry.

Agreed. Over a lifetime it’s easily a 7 figure bill for some people. It’s a benefit that should be appreciated and not taken lightly.
Recently had a family member do a procedure in a private place in St Joseph (name withheld)
First time going there for me but I was surprised how mediocre the facility was based on how well recommended it is. Just shows even with high fees it’s expensive to maintain these places.

Postby MaxPower » June 7th, 2024, 9:24 am

Public healthcare workers need to understand that the citizens PAY taxes and are the reason they have a job and the healthcare facility is operational.

Treat the citizens with some blasted respect and humanity when they seek their entitled medical attention.

Postby aaron17 » June 7th, 2024, 12:55 pm

FORMER MINISTER PREDICTS HARD TIMES AHEAD

As Inspecter Alexander said in ChristMustlist video interview...let we have carnival everyday and it gonna have less crime since it does be the lowest those 2 days.

https://www.tv6tnt.com/news/7pmnews/former-minister-predicts-hard-times-ahead/article_f375675e-23a3-11ef-9c28-ab0a2101cbec.html?utm_campaign=blox&utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=social

shaneelal

Re: Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby shaneelal » June 8th, 2024, 5:29 am

As the gov't badly needs to raise revenue, Minister of Finance mentioned asset sales. Any idea what those may be?
Would now be the best time to sell gov't ownership of companies such as CAL, NFM and TSTT ? They may look to sell assets to obtain USD. Doubt they'll sell FCB and RFHL shares as prices have dropped.

“When this significant shortfall is added to the initially estimated budget deficit of TT$5 billion for 2024, even with additional one-off revenues from asset sales, the country’s deficit for 2024 is now expected to be as high as TT$9 billion.”
https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 141f0.html

Imbert said Government has been very successful in all its international bond undertakings, “and we’re going for another international bond shortly, as in order to maintain credibility in the world, you must continue presenting yourself to the large international banks and major investors.”
https://guardian.co.tt/news/colm-reveal ... 29b7eae6f0

Postby zoom rader » June 8th, 2024, 8:40 am

shaneelal wrote:As the gov't badly needs to raise revenue, Minister of Finance mentioned asset sales. Any idea what those may be?
Would now be the best time to sell gov't ownership of companies such as CAL, NFM and TSTT ? They may look to sell assets to obtain USD. Doubt they'll sell FCB and RFHL shares as prices have dropped.

“When this significant shortfall is added to the initially estimated budget deficit of TT$5 billion for 2024, even with additional one-off revenues from asset sales, the country’s deficit for 2024 is now expected to be as high as TT$9 billion.”
https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 141f0.html

Imbert said Government has been very successful in all its international bond undertakings, “and we’re going for another international bond shortly, as in order to maintain credibility in the world, you must continue presenting yourself to the large international banks and major investors.”
https://guardian.co.tt/news/colm-reveal ... 29b7eae6f0
Why does the PNM say the "county fall short"?

I never knew that lal in the rum shop and kwame using herbs as meds run this country.

PNM always blame the citizens for their fall short

Then again i blame the citizens for been stupid

Postby zoom rader » June 8th, 2024, 12:09 pm

PNM Victory 2025

What a jackarse country
Screenshot_20240608_110844_Instagram.jpg

Postby paid_influencer » June 8th, 2024, 3:47 pm

greggle71 wrote:I think families should get a detailed invoice for public healthcare when receiving services from public hospitals. Not for payment purposes but to show the real cost of what you incur for healthcare when you walk or are wheeled into any public hospital where you walk out without literally spending a cent.

My mom suffered a stroke recently and between the ambulance, blood and radiology testing, warding, medicine and attendant medical care my bill could easily be over 150k if I went private.

Yes my mother paid health surcharge all her working life but it wasn’t the first time she’s been hospitalized so on aggregate she has benefited from the state. But the psyche of seeing the cost and knowing it’s a cost you’re benefitting from will be good for the citizenry.

a terrible idea. the worst neoliberal impulses wrapped up and presented in one really bad idea.

Healthcare is a human right. Providing health care is a basic function of the government, along with providing education, housing and food. The costs should never be individualised because public healthcare is fundamentally a communal endeavour.

Training of doctors begins in primary school, for example. How would you bill that what is the code

Postby pugboy » June 8th, 2024, 4:26 pm

hope you never have a scheduled life saving procedure cancelled due to your tax paid operating theatre still being used by some bullet riddled gangster or illegal immigrant

Postby paid_influencer » June 8th, 2024, 4:39 pm

you know what gets me started. islanders don't really grasp how our society is set up.

A company that exists in the society enjoys all the benefits of the society - an educated work force, a healthy workforce, etc. A company extracts the value of labour to generate the goods or services it produces.

Now there are three players_

the company
the worker
the society

the worker receives a wage,
the society receives taxes,

in the form of corporate tax, vat, paye, etc, to build infrastructure and sustain the population (including things like healthcare, education, housing, etc).

something like healthcare is a society-level function. when you indidivudalize the bill, you compare it to the worker's wages. which is only a small part of the value created by the worker to the society over his or her lifetime

Postby pugboy » June 8th, 2024, 4:46 pm

you are correct however that “society” you are talking about is not equitable based on your description

it is said that at least 30-40% of public hospital births are illegal venes, a birth is a very resource expensive thing
if you are saying we must support other international “societys”
then you should say that

likewise gang related injuries take up a large proportion of pos general ae for some reason or another
can’t confirm if those gangsters pay taxes though

paid_influencer wrote:you know what gets me started. islanders don't really grasp how our society is set up.

A company that exists in the society enjoys all the benefits of the society - an educated work force, a healthy workforce, etc. A company extracts the value of labour to generate the goods or services it produces.

the company
the worker
the society

in the form of corporate tax, vat, paye, etc, to build infrastructure and sustain the population (including things like healthcare, education, housing, etc).

something like healthcare is a society-level function. when you indidivudalize the bill, you compare it to the worker's wages. which is only a small part of the value created by the worker to the society over his or her lifetime

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » June 8th, 2024, 8:29 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

a terrible idea. the worst neoliberal impulses wrapped up and presented in one really bad idea.

Healthcare is a human right. Providing health care is a basic function of the government, along with providing education, housing and food. The costs should never be individualised because public healthcare is fundamentally a communal endeavour.

Training of doctors begins in primary school, for example. How would you bill that what is the code

The cost of providing health care is a burden we all bear, the healthcare itself it’s administered by government agencies and carried out by government and contracted employees.

Nothing in this life is free and everything costs something, nothing I have said suggested that our or any government shouldn’t address the basic needs of society but ask anyone if they willing to pay double the health surcharge to continue the “free healthcare” it will be a different trumpet coming from the masses.

My perspective comes from actually paying a large medical bill and then subsequently benefiting from the current healthcare system and realizing how oversubscribed our state systems are where literally every ward in every public hospital is full and every A&E department has persons queued up waiting for ward beds, every hospital pharmacy dispensary is like a crowd waiting to get in the oval to see West Indies in the 80s. I ask myself, do people even appreciate how these services are paid for? Maybe they should, they should know even if they aren’t required to pay.

It probably won’t ever happen so much ado about nothing. Btw I enjoy the elevated level of debate, we don’t have to agree and we will always have our perspectives shaped by our unique experiences

Postby j.o.e » June 9th, 2024, 5:37 am

pugboy wrote:you are correct however that “society” you are talking about is not equitable based on your description

it is said that at least 30-40% of public hospital births are illegal venes, a birth is a very resource expensive thing
if you are saying we must support other international “societys”
then you should say that

likewise gang related injuries take up a large proportion of pos general ae for some reason or another
can’t confirm if those gangsters pay taxes though

paid_influencer wrote:you know what gets me started. islanders don't really grasp how our society is set up.

the company
the worker
the society

I find that 30-40% stat very hard to believe. Vennies are breeders but still we don’t have enough for me to believe that stat.

Postby pugboy » June 9th, 2024, 5:47 am

i don’t mind the provision of govt provided healthcare but the mere fact of the inequitable use should be addressed
venes come here to have babies as a priority since they not getting that level of medical over there

Re: PNM In Gov't

Postby zoom rader » June 9th, 2024, 10:24 am

Where is the PNM bloggers Habit7 & wing to defend the PNM crime plan.

Are they still waiting on bills, its kams fault or unc in a mess

Postby alfa » June 9th, 2024, 10:36 am

Habit seems to have taken a much welcomed hiatus until the PNM youth league renews his data plan

Postby The_Honourable » June 9th, 2024, 11:41 am

With the half-truths and propaganda Habit spread multiple times per day over the past few weeks, he deserves a raise from balisier house. The top up card and hop hop kids pack not cutting it

Postby pugboy » June 9th, 2024, 12:03 pm

he must be on a beat with foster the peeple
upraising them youths and ting with all kind of programs for self improvement and learning to swim i. the community swimming pools

Postby alfa » June 9th, 2024, 12:31 pm

pugboy wrote:he must be on a beat with foster the peeple
upraising them youths and ting with all kind of programs for self improvement and learning to swim i. the community swimming pools

Foster suing the state for leaking his 'top secret file' about his investigation to the UNC. Should be interesting to see

wing

Postby wing » June 9th, 2024, 12:44 pm

zoom rader wrote:Where is the PNM bloggers Habit7 & wing to defend the PNM crime plan.

You forget to say paid bloggers. Unlike you and your rainbow squad that gets paid with Barry seeds.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 9th, 2024, 1:04 pm

Pnm logic 2024: tourists being beaten and robbed in the capital (that not making the country look bad)

One man showed the world the true state of t&t: lock him up, he making us look bad.

Postby zoom rader » June 9th, 2024, 2:47 pm

wing wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Where is the PNM bloggers Habit7 & wing to defend the PNM crime plan.

You forget to say paid bloggers. Unlike you and your rainbow squad that gets paid with Barry seeds.
You seem to like Barry,

Its ok dude, people will accept ur alternative lifestyle.

Just dont become a pedo in the PNM

wing

Postby wing » June 10th, 2024, 3:15 pm

wing wrote:

You seem to like Barry,

Actually the pedos are rampant in your UNC. Explain why Kamla and Barry were against raising the marriage age. You really showing your rainbow tendencies lately.

Screenshot_2024-06-10-15-13-19-269_com.android.chrome-edit.jpg

Postby pugboy » June 10th, 2024, 4:34 pm

allyuh need to help a brother out

https://www.facebook.com/share/p/NcGLpcasXFb1eVAZ/?

Postby MaxPower » June 10th, 2024, 4:38 pm

That photo depressing

Postby zoom rader » June 10th, 2024, 11:37 pm

wing wrote:
wing wrote:

You seem to like Barry,

Actually the pedos are rampant in your UNC. Explain why Kamla and Barry were against raising the marriage age. You really showing your rainbow tendencies lately.

Screenshot_2024-06-10-15-13-19-269_com.android.chrome-edit.jpg
Its ok bro we know u on the other side.

Embrace your alternative lifestyle

Postby maj. tom » June 11th, 2024, 8:14 am

Purported Cabinet note to increase VAT...Kamla presents ‘proof’
https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/purported-cabinet-note-to-increase-vat-kamla-presents-proof/article_652fea2a-2793-11ef-92ba-cfd8762b2ec7.html

Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar last evening presented what she called “proof” via a purported Cabinet note to substantiate her claim that the Government considered an increase in Value Added Tax (VAT) to raise revenue.

At the Parliament sitting last Friday during debate on the mid-year budget review which saw an increase in the 2024 budget by $2.3 billion, the former prime minister asked whether the Government proposed to increase VAT (currently at 12.5%) and also impose other measures to generate revenue.

She said then she had documentary proof to back up her words.

In his parliamentary contribution last Friday, the Prime Minister rubbished Persad-Bissessar’s claims.

He said: ”Where did the Opposition Leader get that from? I can tell you without fear of contradiction, nowhere in the corridors of this Government that I lead is VAT increase a discussion. Nowhere.”

Last night, Persad-Bissessar said she does not engage in “fraud” or “fake documents”, adding that she had documentary evidence of the proposal to increase VAT.

She said the note, dated May 21, 2024, stated that submitted for the consideration of Cabinet were:

I. The Supplementary Appropriation in the aggregate sum of $2,328,099,600 to fund urgent and critical Recurrent and Capital Expenditure to September 30, 2024

II. The proposed timetable for the passage of the Bill through both Houses of Parliament.

She drew particular reference to page 23, point number 47 which states: “Notwithstanding the need to increase FY24’s expenditure by TT$1,383.0 (sic) to ensure the delivery of the aforementioned essential services to the citizens of Trinidad and Tobago, government is mindful of the possible effect of such disbursement, and its impact on the economy. As such additional appropriate measures will be taken to ensure that there is no divergence from its existing prudent fiscal management. As a consequence, further revenue generating measures are under consideration and may be instituted at a later date (Appendix IV refers). In addition, the government will take the necessary steps to seek an increase in its overdraft facility at the Central Bank from 20% to 25% of annual revenue.”

Persad-Bissessar then turned to appendix four of the Cabinet note which listed the proposed revenue-generating measures which included a VAT increase:

Appendix four states:

“1. Expenditure earned on Exempt Income: $75 million

2. New Tax Bracket for High Income Individuals: $90 million

3. New Tax Brackets for Commercial Banks: $86 million

4. Introduction of a Tier Taxation System

a. Corporation Tax — Petrochemical Companies: $65 million

5. Presumptive Taxation: $90 million

6. Tax Amnesty: $800 million

7. Revised Penalties to ensure Compliance with the Board of Inland

Revenue: $20 million

8. Tax Administration: Recruit 100 short-term officers. Conduct a series of compliance exercises to generate immediate tax revenue. $350 million

9. VAT Rate Amendment: For every 1% increase in the VAT Rate $560 million VAT revenue is estimated to be earned.

NB: An increase in the VAT rate to 15% can result in an additional revenue of $1.4 billion in revenue earned annually once properly administered.

10. Income Tax: For every 1% increase in the Income Tax

Rate $240 million in revenue is estimated to be mobilised annually.

11. Corporation Tax: For every 1% increase in the Corp Tax Rate $216 million in revenue is estimated to be mobilized per annum.

12. Business Levy: Currently the rate of Business levy is 0.6% of sales/revenue. For every 0.1% increase in Business Levy $100 million in revenue is mobilised per annum.

13. New Drug Application Fee: It is proposed to increase the new drug application fee from $750 to $5,000 to harmonise the current fee with the regional market fee.

14. Potential revenue from the adjustment of the electricity tariff rate. At the stage of RIC. Estimated revenue unknown at this time.

TOTAL ESTIMATED REVENUE $2.713 BILLION”

Persad-Bissessar said further that Finance Minister Colm Imbert’s affidavit which was submitted to the court in the matter with respect to the Trinidad and Tobago Revenue Authority (TTRA) also supports what she said with respect to the measures to raise revenue.

She said extracts of Imbert’s affidavit which warned about a reduction in expenditure unless tax revenues are increased- and the potential reduction in support and free services provided by the Government.

wing

Postby wing » June 11th, 2024, 8:54 am

Stupid Kamla. She should have let them implement the increase. She would have had another axe the tax ammo for elections. Then reduce it when she's PM. But like a typical stupid woman, running she mouth without thinking.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » June 11th, 2024, 9:25 am

wing wrote:Stupid Kamla. She should have let them implement the increase. She would have had another axe the tax ammo for elections. Then reduce it when she's PM. But like a typical stupid woman, running she mouth without thinking.

People will be very happy to pay more tax once it's under a black govt

Postby Habit7 » June 11th, 2024, 4:11 pm

The_Honourable wrote:With the half-truths and propaganda Habit spread multiple times per day over the past few weeks, he deserves a raise from balisier house. The top up card and hop hop kids pack not cutting it

Half truths and propaganda like what?

Postby pugboy » June 11th, 2024, 4:28 pm

like how rowlee does not interfere with ful application process while a video of him saying he controls how many are approved exists

welcome back btw