COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 308 cases, 8 deaths, 161 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby goalpost » August 12th, 2020, 9:14 pm

326 not a spike bro. Apparently 10 imported cases was a spike.

Flatten the curve to not overwhelm the health care system has gone out the window.

Is Deyalsingh still our MoH?

ST Auto

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 326 cases, 8 deaths, 179 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby ST Auto » August 12th, 2020, 10:43 pm

It coming
18683345711_status_7c1525d7fda6494a97fd820690713895.jpeg
18683345711_status_7c1525d7fda6494a97fd820690713895.jpeg (40.56 KiB) Viewed 2023 times

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 308 cases, 8 deaths, 161 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby The_Honourable » August 12th, 2020, 10:45 pm

goalpost wrote:326 not a spike bro. Apparently 10 imported cases was a spike.

Flatten the curve to not overwhelm the health care system has gone out the window.

You eh realize dey putting Parasram front and center? If things fail he would be the face?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 12th, 2020, 10:50 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
goalpost wrote:326 not a spike bro. Apparently 10 imported cases was a spike.

You eh realize dey putting Parasram front and center? If things fail he would be the face?

Technically we don't have a MoH but yes they will blame the CMO.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 326 cases, 8 deaths, 179 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby redmanjp » August 12th, 2020, 11:01 pm

but the govt not pressuring him to say we can't shutdown for every spike? he wouldn't have been the one to recommend the first lock down?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 12th, 2020, 11:19 pm

redmanjp wrote:but the govt not pressuring him to say we can't shutdown for every spike? he wouldn't have been the one to recommend the first lock down?

Like I said before, the state scientists insisted on a lockdown when the first unknown source cases were detected. The government didn't agree because of elections. Hence it's now getting out of control when it could have been contained.

Too late now like I said, out healthcare system will soon be overwhelmed.

Stay safe and keep yourself home unless needed

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 13th, 2020, 12:49 am

Somebody UNC person today telling me how this country eh have no covid because how come it has so many cases but the deaths are only at 8.

I kid you not the conspiracy theories are still going strong it seems.

Good thing Kamla never became PM

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » August 13th, 2020, 1:42 am

We were at 100 at the peak of wave 1.. now we're at 179 and going stong.. What's the policy here? Wait and see?
Look at NZ... please?

T&T

New Zealand
source: https://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/N ... _home&s=08

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 13th, 2020, 3:47 am

FrankChag wrote:We were at 100 at the peak of wave 1.. now we're at 179 and going stong.. What's the policy here? Wait and see?
Look at NZ... please?

T&T

New Zealand
source: https://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/N ... _home&s=08

Peak one never truly occurred, we never had a real first wave, at least not one we can attach some numerical meaning too since testing was poorly done early on.

We locked down hard then and it worked. But we clearly don't seem to be doing so now and it's leading to a fast approaching disaster.

I expect hundreds of new cases everyday for the next few months. Good luck to us all.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 13th, 2020, 7:13 am

U eh get ban yet. U and ur idiotic talk
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Somebody UNC person today telling me how this country eh have no covid because how come it has so many cases but the deaths are only at 8.

Postby adnj » August 13th, 2020, 7:28 am

ST Auto wrote:U eh get ban yet. U and ur idiotic talk
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Somebody UNC person today telling me how this country eh have no covid because how come it has so many cases but the deaths are only at 8.

The expected mortality is about 1%. So the exact opposite of what was posted is true; eight fatalities should be accompanied with more than 800 verified cases.

Postby MaxPower » August 13th, 2020, 8:37 am

Wait na,

Why you Trinis not boycotting businesses that dont have “No Mask No Service” signs?

Or no wash sinks or sanitizers?

Or no social distance markers?

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 13th, 2020, 10:16 am

Because there is no vaccine, a lockdown is only a temporary plaster unless we fundamentally change the way we interact and become more responsible (mask/sanitize/distance etc).

Unless we change our behaviour, any time a lockdown is eased there will be a surge in cases. Do you need the government to mandate a lockdown? You can take responsbility for yourselves and your family.

WE NEED TO BE MORE GAWDDMAN RESPONSIBLE

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 13th, 2020, 10:18 am

43 new
117713028_3604347206261728_8288829478689840013_n.jpeg

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 13th, 2020, 10:19 am

Covid not raging
117593667_3604347309595051_3236478479114125873_n.jpeg

Postby bluefete » August 13th, 2020, 10:38 am

They are going to max out just now.

Expect 500 soon.

Postby matr1x » August 13th, 2020, 10:39 am

Looking like the covid was just used to steal he election.....

Postby redmanjp » August 13th, 2020, 10:41 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Because there is no vaccine, a lockdown is only a temporary plaster unless we fundamentally change the way we interact and become more responsible (mask/sanitize/distance etc).

Unless we change our behaviour, any time a lockdown is eased there will be a surge in cases. Do you need the government to mandate a lockdown? You can take responsbility for yourselves and your family.

WE NEED TO BE MORE GAWDDMAN RESPONSIBLE

ppl still have to go to work- so even though u are being responsible if your coworkers aren't wearing masks u still at risk- i just came back from a 2 week quarantine because a coworker had a niece who was a primary contact and also symptomatic. only a lockdown could protect you from that or a work from home arrangement which they are not considering at the moment.

a lockdown in some form with 43 new cases (yeah it's from the past 7 days but we had several other batches the past few days) is warranted. at least bars/dining in should be banned for a few weeks, maybe other businesses for a week or 2. it won't cost billions like the 1st lockdown- that lasted months. New Zealand doing a 3 day lockdown tho a week or 2 might be needed.
Last edited by redmanjp on August 13th, 2020, 10:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » August 13th, 2020, 10:44 am

by weekend hospitals gonna be maxed out

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » August 13th, 2020, 10:45 am

I'm confused by trinis. When we had our first case back in march people started to bawl, panick buying started, etc. Now we have 43 in a day (more cases to come in the 6pm update possibility) and people normal, normal. Like people just desensitize or something.

Postby redmanjp » August 13th, 2020, 10:46 am

23 unknown cases! my goodness! 23 potential new clusters!

Postby redmanjp » August 13th, 2020, 10:49 am

fokhan_96 wrote:I'm confused by trinis. When we had our first case back in march people started to bawl, panick buying started, etc. Now we have 43 in a day (more cases to come in the 6pm update possibility) and people normal, normal. Like people just desensitize or something.

desensitized due to prolonged lockdown and no deaths in a while- i person in ICU and 2 in HCU so that could change anytime

i notice they sending ppl to step down places- i take it they have mild issues so they making room for more serious/high risk cases in the hospital?

originalbling

Postby originalbling » August 13th, 2020, 10:52 am

redmanjp wrote:i was wondering if to go get tested as i had headaches and a brief & very slight stuffy nose, but i usually have headaches and sinus symptoms so it's hard to know the difference- then hearing about those lines- if i go and i don't have covid, i might actually get infected from someone in the line while waiting- i wish they had drive through testing- maybe private labs better?

Maybe you can do a rapid test at a private lab at a cost to you. If its positive then I believe they have a reporting protocol and you would also have to be tested by the govt labs.

I have also reduced unnecessary interactions except for essentials like supermarkets etc. As much as I want to go to a beach and stay away from the crowds , I just not comfortable doing it. Also have cut down on outside food. If I do i try to buy prepackaged sealed stuff. Constant sanitizing and washing of hands when I touch anything in work or elsewhere.
Its tedious but should help to reduce the spread.

Postby pugboy » August 13th, 2020, 10:55 am

yeah it seems they making more step down facilities vs hospital spaces/icu

Postby bluefete » August 13th, 2020, 11:02 am

https://www.yahoo.com/news/chinas-shenz ... 38416.html

Chinese cities find virus in Brazilian chicken wings, Ecuadorian shrimp packaging
Roxanne Liu and David Stanway
ReutersAugust 12, 2020, 8:41 PM AST

By Roxanne Liu and David Stanway

BEIJING/SHANGHAI (Reuters) - Two cities in China have found traces of the new coronavirus in imported frozen food and on food packaging, local authorities said on Thursday, raising fears that contaminated food shipments might cause new outbreaks.

A sample taken from the surface of frozen chicken wings imported into the southern city of Shenzhen from Brazil, as well as samples of outer packaging of frozen Ecuadorian shrimp sold in the northwestern Xian city, have tested positive for the virus, local authorities said on Thursday.

The discoveries came a day after traces of the coronavirus that causes COVID-19 were found on the packaging of frozen shrimp from Ecuador in a city in eastern Anhui province. China has been stepping up screenings at ports amid the concerns over food imports.

Shenzhen's health authorities traced and tested everyone who might have come into contact with potentially contaminated food products, and all results were negative, the city's notice said.

The Brazilian embassy in Beijing did not immediately respond to a request for comment. Reuters could not immediately reach the Ecuadorean embassy in Beijing.

"It is hard to say at which stage the frozen chicken got infected," said a China-based official at a Brazilian meat exporter.

The Shenzhen Epidemic Prevention and Control Headquarters said the public needed to take precautions to reduce infection risks from imported meat and seafood.

The health commission of Shannxi province, where Xian city is located, said authorities are testing people and the surrounding environment connected to the contaminated shrimp products sold in a local market.

In addition to screening all meat and seafood containers coming into major ports in recent months, China has suspended some meat imports from various origins, including Brazil, since mid-June.

The first cluster of COVID-19 cases was linked to the Huanan seafood market in the city of Wuhan. Initial studies suggested the virus originated in animal products on sale at the market.

Li Fengqin, who heads a microbiology lab at the China National Center for Food Safety Risk Assessment told reporters in June the possibility of contaminated frozen food causing new infections could not be ruled out.

Viruses can survive up to two years at temperatures of minus 20 degrees Celsius, but scientists say there is no strong evidence so far the coronavirus that causes COVID-19 can spread via frozen food.

Xinfadi market in China's capital city Beijing, a sprawling food market linked to cluster infections in June, where virus was found on the chopping board on which imported salmons were handled, will be reopened from the weekend.

How the virus entered Xinfadi market in the first place is yet to be determined, the Chinese Center for Disease Control and Prevention said in its latest update of the investigation in July.

(This story has been refiled to change spelling to .. Xian city ..not.. Xi'An)

(Reporting by Roxanne Liu and David Stanway; Additional reporting by Shivani Singh and Naveen Thukral; Editing by Ana Nicolaci da Costa, Tom Hogue and Muralikumar Anantharaman)

Postby redmanjp » August 13th, 2020, 11:27 am

originalbling wrote:
redmanjp wrote:i was wondering if to go get tested as i had headaches and a brief & very slight stuffy nose, but i usually have headaches and sinus symptoms so it's hard to know the difference- then hearing about those lines- if i go and i don't have covid, i might actually get infected from someone in the line while waiting- i wish they had drive through testing- maybe private labs better?

Maybe you can do a rapid test at a private lab at a cost to you. If its positive then I believe they have a reporting protocol and you would also have to be tested by the govt labs.

I have also reduced unnecessary interactions except for essentials like supermarkets etc. As much as I want to go to a beach and stay away from the crowds , I just not comfortable doing it. Also have cut down on outside food. If I do i try to buy prepackaged sealed stuff. Constant sanitizing and washing of hands when I touch anything in work or elsewhere.
Its tedious but should help to reduce the spread.

are your coworkers wearing masks? some places have NO MASKS NO SERVICE but it's like that only applies to visitors- like they feel just because is your coworker they can't infect you- viruses doh work like that.
Last edited by redmanjp on August 13th, 2020, 11:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 13th, 2020, 11:28 am

I doh even know where to begin with my rumours today....facepalm

There are LONG lines of people waiting to be tested in Grande, St.Clair and P.o.s.g.h just to name a few. The figure I actually want to type wrt to the amount of new + positive cases is one when I have to sit and wonder if I should really type it...

Postby redmanjp » August 13th, 2020, 11:33 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I doh even know where to begin with my rumours today....facepalm

There are LONG lines of people waiting to be tested in Grande, St.Clair and P.o.s.g.h just to name a few. The figure I actually want to type wrt to the amount of new + positive cases is one when I have to sit and wonder if I should really type it...

give we d bad news- it go come out at some point anyway- unless it so bad they decide to put in a batch in some box and we hear of another fire set by The Resistance.

Postby aaron17 » August 13th, 2020, 11:40 am

https://streamable.com/3t1jih

hmmm..maybe it will be like ah petrotrin turnaround scenario in the video above.^^

Postby aaron17 » August 13th, 2020, 11:43 am

Possible scenario....

Rowley:"There is no raging virus in trinidad and tobago"
Rowley : 'The widespread of the virus Was Inevitable'
deniers : "move along..nothing to see here"