COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 308 cases, 8 deaths, 161 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby redmanjp » August 12th, 2020, 3:31 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:There's someone at my workplace who reported to us last week that she went out on a lime with a friend. After the lime, the friend found out he was exposed to someone who has covid 19. They called the hotline and friend was advised to quarantine and my coworker was told to go to work as normal. The person was told by mgt to stay home.

Now we hear that the friend started having symptoms and got tested 5 days ago but is still waiting on a result. If we had allowed our coworker to return to work, isn't it possible she could have spread the virus at my workplace? Shouldn't the reasonable course of action here be to quarantine and see if symptoms develop?

depends on how many days before his symptoms she was with him- now that he has symptoms she should stay home and call back the covid hotline and tell them

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 308 cases, 8 deaths, 161 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » August 12th, 2020, 3:41 pm

pugboy wrote:yeah but our moh and cmo only dealing eith ppl who showing actual symptoms

they don’t care if you may have been exposed and in the midst of becoming a live positive case

that is their official policy

The first part is true. If you're coming in without saying you've been exposed to someone and show no symptoms you won't be tested. Testing is being overwhelmed (good job prepping for this MoH) so I understand their position.

It wasn't fine months ago when lots of people suspected they were exposed but didn't have recent travel history or exposure to a +ve case. During the lockdowns they should have been begging people to randomly come in for testing to see if it was asymptomatically present.

Right now though, if you are part of the contact tracing web you will most likely be tested. I know 3 person who were tested right now (all negative so far, still waiting on one more result).

Postby pugboy » August 12th, 2020, 3:53 pm

if testing is overwhelmed and it seems to be a good few days lag then we might as well not bother testing for direct contact tracing purposes because in that space of time the spread is real and you cannot depend on the person themselves to take self quarantine action.

bill gates pointed this out earlier this week.

Postby redmanjp » August 12th, 2020, 3:59 pm

pugboy wrote:if testing is overwhelmed and it seems to be a good few days lag then we might as well not bother testing for direct contact tracing purposes because in that space of time the spread is real and you cannot depend on the person themselves to take self quarantine action.

is either they stop home quarantine and put them in state quarantine like ian alleyne- or use something like gps bracelets

because at home u will likely infect other household members who will all take up bed space in caura/couva once they test +ve
Last edited by redmanjp on August 12th, 2020, 4:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » August 12th, 2020, 4:06 pm

not so easy

for example if a positive case worked in a bank
imagine the large number of coworkers to lock into quarantine

redmanjp wrote:
pugboy wrote:if testing is overwhelmed and it seems to be a good few days lag then we might as well not bother testing for direct contact tracing purposes because in that space of time the spread is real and you cannot depend on the person themselves to take self quarantine action.

is either they stop home quarantine and put them in state quarantine like ian alleyne- or use something like gps bracelets

Postby redmanjp » August 12th, 2020, 4:08 pm

pugboy wrote:not so easy

for example if a positive case worked in a bank
imagine the large number of coworkers to lock into quarantine

redmanjp wrote:

in that case perhaps just close contacts? they take duration of exposure as well as if no masks were worn into consideration

or like i said get some gps trackers- and enforce d law! that lady who leave home to go quite tobago should be charged- the quarantine letter from the CMOH i got said you must stay at home or u are subject to fine & imprisonment!

TTPS as well as airport officers should have a list of all those who in home quarantine to check against ppl who on d road or trying to board a flight. ppl need to understand this is not a joke.
Last edited by redmanjp on August 12th, 2020, 4:16 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby pete » August 12th, 2020, 4:13 pm

Once you submit a sample you have to sign the quarantine letter?

Postby redmanjp » August 12th, 2020, 4:16 pm

pete wrote:Once you submit a sample you have to sign the quarantine letter?

i didn't get tested so i doh know what procedure there is for that- i just asked the CMOH to send me a letter via email so i can forward it to my boss. I only sign it when i print it for HR- not to give to the CMOH.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » August 12th, 2020, 5:23 pm

redmanjp wrote:ppl need to understand this is not a joke.

Which ppl Sir? Unfortunately, the 9th person to 'officially' die of covid19 will be saving alot of trinis lives.

"Nah nah, this ting serious now...."

It wasn't serious when the 8 ppl dead tho... steups.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » August 12th, 2020, 5:26 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Shakes how safe you feel it is to go tobago

Since last year me and about 20 people book to go crown point for 4 days....

I trying to convince them to cancel but no luck

You spelt New Zealand wrong...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 12th, 2020, 5:47 pm

So im gonna take my time and describe the experience of a good good friend and this covid thing. My friend's father had the symptoms, called the hotline they told him they would come to him (they came 2 days after the call). Started feeling worse so there was no other choice but to go to the p.o.s hospital...this is where is gets fcked up.

Went into p.o.s.g.h... waited about 12hrs outside and got a bed for about a day and the nurse came after to say they need that bed for someone so take a chair.

My padna ready to go private but cant because of the regulations. So, they waited an entire day on the chair until the results came back positive. According to my boy, the symptoms are DRED!!!!!

My friend, his wife, mother and 6 year old son are now in quarantine and symptoms are already showing....From where I get my info

I suggest that you all go back to your own methods of lockdown. Its that simple

Postby bluefete » August 12th, 2020, 5:48 pm

Some tun tun just sprayed up Diamond Vale Government Primary School with Covid-19 and New World Order graffitti.

Video to follow unless a tuner gets it before me.

Gary sleeping orrr?

Postby sMASH » August 12th, 2020, 6:15 pm

covid 19, to those that are severely affected by it, its nasty. it essentially creates sores in the lungs, the alveoli. this reduces ur ability to exchange gases. to fight it, ur body ramps up the immune system, and causes the lungs to be inflamed. this also reduces the ability to exchange air. ur body senses that, and increases breathing motion. ur lungs takes in the air, but the air exchange surfaces are compromised. the term in the medical stories is 'tiring out'. ur breathing so much, u just tire out. that is why they wanted to ventilators, to help breathing, and gas exchange. but it barely works, its just the procedure.
this is where the hydroxycloroquine coudl was thought to help. it woudlnt cure the covid, but when ur lungs reach this stage, the hcq stifles the body's immune response to generate the inflammation, and thus allow more surface area for gas exchange. it woudl not work before, and can harm u, but at this stage, it could play a positive role.

so eventually u die cause ur lungs and heart get tired, not enough oxygen... thts why some cardiac deaths might have been covid too. and not testing the bodies, might have allowed those numbers to go up.

i was saying that a lot of old people died from march till may, suddenly. but because no travel history, they would not have been tested.

it dont have much u can do to counter covid, except boost ur body to fight viruses. the mortality will be 3%, 80% will have very mild symptoms if any. those that fall in between those figures.... would have gone through hell.

but, even if u come out, when they scan ur lungs, u see dead spots. those spots would be the healed scars after wards. spots that willnot be have the ability to exchange gas as before. so even if u can take in the same volume of air, the amount of gas exchange will be reduced.

and it dont only affect ur lungs, it can affect the heart and other organs too. its just to the degree of severity.

Postby paid_influencer » August 12th, 2020, 6:20 pm

thanks for the heads up shakes.

things reach a new level now based on that

Postby maj. tom » August 12th, 2020, 6:27 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:So im gonna take my time and describe the experience of a good good friend and this covid thing. My friend's father had the symptoms, called the hotline they told him they would come to him (they came 2 days after the call). Started feeling worse so there was no other choice but to go to the p.o.s hospital...this is where is gets fcked up.

Went into p.o.s.g.h... waited about 12hrs outside and got a bed for about a day and the nurse came after to say they need that bed for someone so take a chair.

My padna ready to go private but cant because of the regulations. So, they waited an entire day on the chair until the results came back positive. According to my boy, the symptoms are DRED!!!!!

My friend, his wife, mother and 6 year old son are now in quarantine and symptoms are already showing....From where I get my info

I done say that if i get it, i gonna dead in my own bed. Me eh telling nobody a damned thing how i feeling sick. I am NOT going to be herded and treated so disgustingly by our health system to my last day. I have had at least 3 experiences as a patient in these hospitals, and i have seen countless people waiting and suffering in many public health institutions. I know exactly what that treatment is like, so i prefer to die with some dignity on my terms.

Postby Chimera » August 12th, 2020, 6:28 pm

Who taking care of you though? You gonna make family members without training and ppe do that?

Postby redmanjp » August 12th, 2020, 6:34 pm

ah next batch
Last edited by redmanjp on August 12th, 2020, 6:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby maj. tom » August 12th, 2020, 6:35 pm

umm... it was 300 yesterday.
WTF.

Postby paid_influencer » August 12th, 2020, 6:36 pm

I was planning a quarantine room in my house. Logistically it is hard - you need access to food, water, bathroom, power, internet, etc, away from any other members of the household. Unless you have a spare room (most don't), your other household members are f**ked.

what shakes say there making me go into full planning mode from tomorrow. What goes around comes around, especially in a pandemic.

Postby redmanjp » August 12th, 2020, 6:58 pm

paid_influencer wrote:I was planning a quarantine room in my house. Logistically it is hard - you need access to food, water, bathroom, power, internet, etc, away from any other members of the household. Unless you have a spare room (most don't), your other household members are f**ked.

what shakes say there making me go into full planning mode from tomorrow. What goes around comes around, especially in a pandemic.

back in march/april i had experienced some stomach issues after a coworker revealed she may have had contact with an imported case.

I cleared a space in my bedroom and put a bottle of water, cup, crix, peanut butter (what else u go eat without a fridge in your bedroom) and a container. i ate breakfast and dinner from that for a few days well- only venturing into the kitchen for lunch and when i did that i wore a mask and washed my hands before touching anything.

then for the past 14 days when i was a secondary contact of another case but had no symptoms i just wore a mask and washed hands but ate stuff normally from the kitchen.

in both instances i would sanitize any faucet handles with bleach after using- if i brushed my teeth i would have to sanitize the whole sink with bleach as saliva contains a lot of virus and you are spitting out that when u brush teeth. also sanitize the toilet after having a bowel movement because apparently corona is in faeces too- make sure and put the lid down b4 flushing as the flush will produce aerosols and anyone using the bathroom afterwards breathing in that!

So basically stay away from everyone as far as possible (eat by yourself), wear a mask if you are in any shared space like a kitchen and sanitize stuff u touch.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 12th, 2020, 7:08 pm

My friend's dad is at couva. Lungs are swollen and is on an oxygen tank. It hurts when he tries to speak but he is a fighter.

Again I am TELLING YOU ALL...dont be fooled by the "soft" reporting at those conferences. The lines for testing are ridiculous and the number of persons just walking in at the health centers with symptoms are worse

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 12th, 2020, 7:11 pm

326? Too early for post election covid results. Wonder where these new cases come from. Lol MoH and CMO hiding them numbers. Also keep in mind people thats 326 cases given tests of maybe less than 1 per cent of the population of tnt.

Postby redmanjp » August 12th, 2020, 7:12 pm

i was wondering if to go get tested as i had headaches and a brief & very slight stuffy nose, but i usually have headaches and sinus symptoms so it's hard to know the difference- then hearing about those lines- if i go and i don't have covid, i might actually get infected from someone in the line while waiting- i wish they had drive through testing- maybe private labs better?

Postby paid_influencer » August 12th, 2020, 7:13 pm

that is good info redmanjp.

also keep in my you may be sick - coughing, vomiting mucus, headache, muscle pain, short of breath. so wearing a mask or sanitizing might not practical.

also you should keep a supply of disposable N95 or surgical masks for yourself or others in your household. The masks also need to be handled and disposed of separately.

going to start that quarantine room project tomorrow. I encourage all of you to do the same
Last edited by paid_influencer on August 12th, 2020, 7:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » August 12th, 2020, 7:14 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:My friend's dad is at couva. Lungs are swollen and is on an oxygen tank. It hurts when he tries to speak but he is a fighter.

Again I am TELLING YOU ALL...dont be fooled by the "soft" reporting at those conferences. The lines for testing are ridiculous and the number of persons just walking in at the health centers with symptoms are worse

is he in HCU or ICU?

Postby redmanjp » August 12th, 2020, 7:18 pm

paid_influencer wrote:that is good info redmanjp.

also keep in my you may be sick - coughing, vomiting mucus, headache, muscle pain, short of breath. so wearing a mask or sanitizing might not practical.

also you should keep a supply of disposable N95 or surgical masks for yourself or others in your household. The masks also need to be handled and disposed of separately.

going to start that quarantine room project tomorrow. I encourage all of you to do the same

the mask is for when u have to go into a shared space where others may venture into- but this should be minimal and only when necessary- keep to yourself otherwise.

I think CDC has some guidelines about home quarantine and keeping family members safe.

Postby redmanjp » August 12th, 2020, 7:32 pm

so the CMO say a spike coming- so 326 is not a spike? so what does he consider a spike? 500? 1000?

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 12th, 2020, 7:55 pm

This has been happening in sfgh as well. Personally know of a couple instances where the same scenario played off
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:So im gonna take my time and describe the experience of a good good friend and this covid thing. My friend's father had the symptoms, called the hotline they told him they would come to him (they came 2 days after the call). Started feeling worse so there was no other choice but to go to the p.o.s hospital...this is where is gets fcked up.

Postby pugboy » August 12th, 2020, 8:32 pm

the curve gonna bend backwards

redmanjp wrote:so the CMO say a spike coming- so 326 is not a spike? so what does he consider a spike? 500? 1000?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 12th, 2020, 8:36 pm

pugboy wrote:the curve gonna bend backwards

redmanjp wrote:so the CMO say a spike coming- so 326 is not a spike? so what does he consider a spike? 500? 1000?

Exponential growth bro. Places that experienced a spike with similar populations to ours have seen 500-1000s cases a day.

Our testing can't keep up but they can go up to 100 a day.