PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Cross Blood

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Cross Blood » June 26th, 2017, 12:40 pm

Make sure the back of the motherboard isn't grounding off anywhere.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » June 28th, 2017, 6:58 pm

Brio wrote:
fred1266 wrote:
Brio wrote:
SnipeR wrote:
Brio wrote:Need some help tuners my mobo is getting power but when I try to switch on my pc lights come on and switches off immediately...also hearing a rapid ticking sound in the psu help plz

Specs of PSU? Brand, rated power etc. Might very well be an issue with the PSU.

It's a KINGWIN Lazer LZ-1000 1000W Modular 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC W/ 3-Way LED Switch

Also read on a forum that the mobo has problem with certain psu

so the forum saying it the mother board then?

Apparently so.....

I'll try another psu will see hw that goes

any luck bro

Postby nervewrecker » July 5th, 2017, 8:42 pm

Guys, have an rii mini i8 keyboard and an orange light keeps blinking everytime i touch a button on the keyboard. What does that mean?

1800GSRLANCER

Postby 1800GSRLANCER » July 5th, 2017, 9:08 pm

What 8 core am3+ cpu up for sale? Preferably new.

Sent from my LG-H420 using TriniTuner mobile app

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » July 9th, 2017, 10:56 pm

Where to you all get your PC cases?

Only seeing generics around
Looking for something with good air flow

If anyone here has a Corsair air series for sale I'll take it

Postby ismithx » July 9th, 2017, 11:04 pm

we buy online and bring in lol. wizz in town does have a few ok-ish cases tho

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » July 9th, 2017, 11:13 pm

Either you use skybox and pay higher and wait shorter, or seabox and pay less but wait longer.

GRIM

Postby GRIM » July 10th, 2017, 1:10 am

there is a guy in the back of el socorro
he had some decent cases but that was a few months ago
if i remember it was mostly cooler master cases
dont remember the prices tho
this is where he located https://goo.gl/maps/C7jVUu5SGXE2

Brio

Postby Brio » July 10th, 2017, 1:18 am

fred1266 wrote:
Brio wrote:
fred1266 wrote:
Brio wrote:
SnipeR wrote:
Brio wrote:Need some help tuners my mobo is getting power but when I try to switch on my pc lights come on and switches off immediately...also hearing a rapid ticking sound in the psu help plz

Specs of PSU? Brand, rated power etc. Might very well be an issue with the PSU.

It's a KINGWIN Lazer LZ-1000 1000W Modular 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC W/ 3-Way LED Switch

Also read on a forum that the mobo has problem with certain psu

so the forum saying it the mother board then?

Apparently so.....

I'll try another psu will see hw that goes

any luck bro

The psu was the problem
My GPU died also

I'm back up and running again

Looking for a good GPU nw

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » July 10th, 2017, 1:22 am

Thanks
Will decide in the next few days
Seabox is working out to $20usd less than skybox for the same thing

src1983

Postby src1983 » July 11th, 2017, 8:41 am

Can anyone recommend where sells good gaming keyboards (such as corsair, razer etc)??

altec

Postby altec » July 11th, 2017, 12:29 pm

Oh gord!!! my rx480 fried on a stress test with overclock. Anyone have a used one lying around or know where selling? What is a good option for replacement? Why the new cards soooo fackin expensive? I paid approx 220 us for a reference 480 Christmas gone.

whudafxup11

Postby whudafxup11 » July 11th, 2017, 12:33 pm

That sucks it's a terrible time to buy a new gpu. Crypto-currency miners buying all hence the prices and unavailability. Hopefully someone has one lying around. Gl

Postby Spitfir3 » July 11th, 2017, 1:20 pm

hard luck for anybody needing a mid range gpu right now, prices are ridiculous thanks to ethereum mining and greedy sellers

rx 570/580 gtx 1060 hell even the 1070's are horribly inflated, i ended up getting a 1050ti to rally for the time being its honestly a little 1080p beast

Postby meccalli » July 11th, 2017, 2:20 pm

Had to pay 500 for a passive gt510 the other day at supertech, anything else is over 2k.

gencon

Postby gencon » July 11th, 2017, 2:27 pm

Rx 560, gt 1050, or 1050ti is your best bet right now

Postby meccalli » July 11th, 2017, 2:44 pm

Added a side fan and it runs at 65 while playing dota at medium for a few games, so it's not completely useless.

Postby Spitfir3 » July 11th, 2017, 3:57 pm

meccalli wrote:Added a side fan and it runs at 65 while playing dota at medium for a few games, so it's not completely useless.

unless i underestimating that card wouldn't onboard give yuh almost the same results?

Postby ismithx » July 11th, 2017, 7:29 pm

meccalli wrote:Had to pay 500 for a passive gt510 the other day at supertech, anything else is over 2k.

lol don't buy local.

btw ethereum is crashing so just now gfx card prices might be back to normal

Postby meccalli » July 11th, 2017, 7:56 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:
meccalli wrote:Added a side fan and it runs at 65 while playing dota at medium for a few games, so it's not completely useless.

unless i underestimating that card wouldn't onboard give yuh almost the same results?

Doubt it, onboard struggles to run warface whereas the 510 handles it pretty well and stays below 75.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » July 12th, 2017, 2:37 am

I'm going to generalise onboard a bit cause Intel graphics and some AMD Graphics are now packaged on The CPU; in AMD case, an APU.

Current gen "onboard" Graphics from both Intel and AMD can out perform dedicated budget graphics cards to the point where it is considered a waste of money to purchase such.

In Meccali case his onboard graphics might be a few generations older and he seems to be benefiting from the purchase of a budget card.

1800GSRLANCER

Postby 1800GSRLANCER » July 12th, 2017, 8:42 am

Go Evga GeForce graphics cards they are the best in gaming period, with gpu boost 3.0 the card out overclocks, my gtx 1060 superclocked may overclock to 2000mhz out of the box in game 1974mhz mostly depending on the load and because the 10 series cards are pascal based architecture with precision x software you can manually overclock further but thanks to gpu boost i don't overclock unless you want to see figures like only once I tried i hit 2200mhz was unstable though 2168 was fine but I took it off was just to see what the card was capable of.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » July 12th, 2017, 4:28 pm

In my experience all my EVGA cards have failed... They just don't seem to last.
All my Sapphire cards are still going strong but they only deal in the red camp. I also like MSI cards

Postby ismithx » July 12th, 2017, 5:01 pm

On my second EVGA card, I would say in my experience they've given no problem (sold the first one)

Postby meccalli » July 12th, 2017, 5:51 pm

I used xfx cards before, they're still alive and packed down but they run way too hot imo.

1800GSRLANCER

Postby 1800GSRLANCER » July 12th, 2017, 6:06 pm

Some people cards that have fried may have been exposed to static electricity so be very cautious when handling computer parts always touch metal before and during handling to discharge build up, everyone has their preferences but bang for your buck nividia has never failed me and amd processors ill take that for performance not their gpu's not saying they are useless am saying nivida out performs them.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » July 12th, 2017, 6:39 pm

Every generation has their bang for the buck performance King and it has never really remained at one camp

The ones that I can remember are the Nvidia 8800gt and the Radeon hd4770.

1800GSRLANCER

Postby 1800GSRLANCER » July 12th, 2017, 6:55 pm

The computer world expands so rapidly its hard to keep up when you think you have it you don't because newer things dropped

donnysam

Postby donnysam » July 13th, 2017, 9:08 am

kamakazi wrote:In my experience all my EVGA cards have failed... They just don't seem to last.
All my Sapphire cards are still going strong but they only deal in the red camp. I also like MSI cards

never had a problem with evga, on my 3rd (sell and upgrade), used msi but made a switch and never looked back, currently on a 1070ftw and its an absolute monster. Full rgb scheme is a plus.

1800GSRLANCER

Postby 1800GSRLANCER » July 13th, 2017, 9:36 am

My 1060 sc is a monster, 1070 ftw kill off mines dead, 1080ti hang the both of us! Evga for lyfe