Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby nervewrecker » November 22nd, 2013, 7:06 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Nice

too bad nothing on my nexus 4 yet

Got it already. Hardly even use the phone so only the call menu, some icons and colors I notice differences in so far.

Postby M_2NR » November 22nd, 2013, 7:52 pm

ismithx wrote:
M_2NR wrote:
ismithx wrote:^^ turn off location reporting in google settings, turn off location services in device settings

see previous posts. That off long time. It was actually a new wakelock to update the cards apparently. i took off all cards now

actually this is a better fix, keep your cards, lose the auto-updates to them but still get your battery life

10x bai
did this also.

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » November 22nd, 2013, 8:28 pm

Anyone else extremely disappointed by the 4.3 update for the note 2??? I honestly think it's pathetic and Samsung given the time they had could have done much much more

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 22nd, 2013, 8:50 pm

Mr.Bollywood wrote:Anyone else extremely disappointed by the 4.3 update for the note 2??? I honestly think it's pathetic and Samsung given the time they had could have done much much more

hopefully Samsung putting their money where their mouth is fixes that...

Samsung admits its software needs improving, commits half of R&D workforce

Samsung admitted it needs to work on software, an area it's "not as good" at as hardware. Samsung vice chairman & CEO Kwon Oh-hyun compares the company's software efforts to the World Series-winning Boston Red Sox's pitching performance. Kwon notes the Red Sox led the pack in batting this year, but were only an average pitching team. His conclusion? "Even though we're doing the software business, we're not as good as we are in hardware." The Red Sox still won the World Series, though, with the implication being that Samsung is "winning" at technology right now.

It's true that software imperfections have yet to hamper Samsung's march to global dominance. 2013 has seen the Korean company post consecutive profit records and improve its marketshare in key areas, including strengthening its grip on the number-one spot in the smartphone market. That said, Samsung isn't taking any chances; Kwon says that half of his Research and Development (R&D) workforce is focused on software, and the efforts to improve software are likely to grow moving forward. Given the company is currently spending over $3 billion per quarter on R&D, that represents a colossal investment in software.

Company president Lee Sang-hoon reaffirms Samsung's focus on getting software right. "Industry-wide tech development is shifting from hardware to software." Lee says the company's recent efforts to acquire fresh talent from startups — including the establishment of overseas R&D centers — are an effort to "address region-specific needs."

http://www.theverge.com/2013/11/6/50719 ... investment

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 22nd, 2013, 10:26 pm

Postby S_2NR » November 22nd, 2013, 11:45 pm

Still deciding if I like kit kat white vs the blue of jellybean..

Postby nervewrecker » November 23rd, 2013, 12:00 am

S_2NR wrote:Still deciding if I like kit kat white vs the blue of jellybean..

You made that clock widget?

I liking the white so far. Not too keen on the new call menu though

Postby S_2NR » November 23rd, 2013, 12:12 am

That is beautiful widgets pro with a clock and weather theme from their themes market.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » November 23rd, 2013, 9:18 am

Cynogenmod Adroid OS guru needed ! Did update to Android 4.3.1 Cynogenmod 10.2 . Ketchin meh nen nen installing google apps/gapps from Google Play Store and even Android Market .

X-Axis

Postby X-Axis » November 23rd, 2013, 10:26 am

Picasso wrote:Cynogenmod Adroid OS guru needed ! Did update to Android 4.3.1 Cynogenmod 10.2 . Ketchin meh nen nen installing google apps/gapps from Google Play Store and even Android Market .
U gotta install the gapps package for Cyanogenmod 10.2

Postby honda hoe » November 23rd, 2013, 11:01 am

Its annoying now that when u drop internet signal u don't know it cuz the bar is always transparent

Postby maj. tom » November 23rd, 2013, 11:43 am

That's why cyanogenmod uses the blue color bars to show connection to Google. You can download a CM10 theme from Playstore to replace the current system theme.

BrandoHD

Postby BrandoHD » November 23rd, 2013, 9:19 pm

honda hoe wrote:Its annoying now that when u drop internet signal u don't know it cuz the bar is always transparent

Google engineers decided to move it to the quick settings tiles instead, apparently it was confusing for Android noobs, or something like that, now a lack of connection to Google services is represented by orange/brown.

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » November 24th, 2013, 11:41 am

Asphalt 8 free on google play, if anybody interested.

Postby Trini Hookah » November 24th, 2013, 12:43 pm

bassotronics wrote:Asphalt 8 free on google play, if anybody interested.

For some time now

Postby Ted_v2 » November 24th, 2013, 2:30 pm

will download

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 26th, 2013, 8:28 pm

huge mistake on my part

I saw the option to upgrade Nexus 4 to kit kat 4.4

so I touched update and let it do its thing automatically now its bricked. Stuck on Finishing Boot for like half an hour now. I heard its cause I had next launcher installed and thats what caused it.

Should have stuck with 4.3 but I was too greedy :(

I following this to hope it works

https://support.google.com/nexus/answer/2936226?hl=en
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on November 26th, 2013, 8:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby S_2NR » November 26th, 2013, 8:30 pm

i hope you have a cwm backup

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 26th, 2013, 8:35 pm

nah I dont have anything I am screwed LOL

Postby S_2NR » November 26th, 2013, 8:40 pm

is it booting? can you get to recovery?
doing a factory reset most likely would not work if sheit corrupt.
u would have to get a factory image for 4.4 for nexus 4, get it on phone and flash.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 26th, 2013, 8:41 pm

it just stuck on booting. With the kit kat boot animation

dunno what to do now.

All I did was just hit update and look what happen.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 26th, 2013, 9:08 pm

ok so apparently just like that I force it to shut down and then turn it back on again plugged into the pc hoping it could atleast access the sd card from the boot loop

surprise surprise it start up and its in 4.4 kit kat now.

Perhaps it was stuck on finishing boot and then when forced closed I probably didn't wait long enough for the boot to happen

Also I went into safe mode and tried to restore to factory setting and it wiped all user data which ultimately wiped the next launcher which is the reason people are saying its bricked.

So I am guessing since it wipe all user data by force, nothing is creating an issue now and thats why it finally booted.

I wonder if its corrupt in anyway and will it hamper performance etc? seems to work really fast

Premera

WTK : Choice between S3, S4, HTC, Xperia etc etc

Postby Premera » November 27th, 2013, 7:52 am

To the techies on tuner I am in the market for an upgraded android phone.

Was kinda settled with the s3 or s4 ( not the active version tho ) but hearing some good reviews about the HTC, LG and Experia latest releases.

What are your views / recommendations on the basis that :

1. I use my phone a lot daily for calls, work emails etc.
2. I use it a few times daily for facebook, whatsapp etc.
3. Not into mobile games etc.
4. Takes a lot of pics with my son so wanna get a good quality camera and video recording phone.
5. Looking overall for a durable phone, long battery life, updated android, fast processor etc etc.

Thanks in advance.

Re: WTK : Choice between S3, S4, HTC, Xperia etc etc

Postby r3iXmann » November 27th, 2013, 8:52 am

if you aren't a power user, then you don't really need anything too fancy. i'd get the s3 or a htc one x (not the one)

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » November 27th, 2013, 8:55 am

S3... Should run you around $2k - $2500 max...

want2liqur

Postby want2liqur » November 27th, 2013, 9:33 am

Have a note 2 and apparently it has sds and its just going into download mode but not booting....are there any fixes to this or can anyone fix the emmc chip?

jusme

Postby jusme » November 27th, 2013, 11:06 am

S4 for the camera

Premera

Postby Premera » November 27th, 2013, 11:53 am

thanks all.....gonna narrow it down to s3 or htc one

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » November 27th, 2013, 12:28 pm

Z1 for camera, waterproof, looks and best of all.. Not a 'me 2' :)

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 27th, 2013, 12:34 pm

Reixman is correct get the HTC one X or S3

But if you buying the S3 get the i9300 dont buy the T mobile one.

Get the international i9300 you wont regret it.