THE OFFICIAL TROPICAL WEATHER THREAD 2025

Re: THE OFFICIAL TROPICAL WEATHER THREAD 2023

Postby pugboy » September 15th, 2023, 5:13 am

the only thing that is not a heat sink is greenery

redmanjp wrote:but it has been at the 37C while driving before so still very hot- heat stress hot- the heat island effect of asphalt likely to blame.

Postby pugboy » September 15th, 2023, 5:18 am

the thing with misting is you need to do it early and continuously before the sheets heat up and transfer heat to the trapped air in the ceiling otherwise it wont be as efficient as a ceiling fan sucking out the hot air

air is not a good conductor so misting/cooling a hot roof with hot ceiling air will cool the sheets but take a long time for the trapped ceiling air to cool down as it relies on the water cooled sheets to cool down the air inside via conduction, whilst the air inside was heated up by conduction and mainly radiant transfer

Postby pugboy » September 15th, 2023, 5:44 am

https://newsday.co.tt/2023/09/14/rising ... le-energy/

there is funding available for businesses that into renewable energy ventures against climate change
this is not a bad opportunity for somebody who wants to go into solar attic extractor fan business

the fans from USA cost about $250 upwards to $600
from China the same fans cost $140

not sure if Impsbert have taxes on climate renewable equipment
but if I was a roofer I would seriously look into it

Postby K74T » September 15th, 2023, 10:31 am

FB_IMG_1694788190056.jpg

Hot Spell Warning #1-YELLOW LEVEL

Issuance time (local time) Fri, Sep 15, 2023 10:07 AM

Start date (local time) Fri, Sep 15, 2023 10:20 AM
End date (local time) Fri, Sep 29, 2023 5:00 PM

Description: The Trinidad and Tobago Meteorological Service is warning of extremely hot conditions predominantly over Trinidad and Tobago from the 15th to the 29th of September 2023.

There is a high (80%) probability that temperatures near 34.0 °C or greater are expected to continue roughly over the next two weeks across Trinidad. Warm-to-hot conditions near 32.5 °C or greater are expected to occur across Tobago. In cities, urban and built-up areas, the maximum temperatures are expected to be high (near to or greater than 34.0 °C) and feel-like temperatures particularly when the winds are calm to light will likely to range between 34.0 °C and 44.0 °C.

The hottest time of the day is between 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. High temperatures can be hazardous to health, especially to the elderly, sick adults, and young children. Therefore, a proactive approach to lessen the effects of hot spell conditions should be adopted.

Climatic conditions: Trinidad and Tobago is in its heat season, which runs from May to October. In general, during September months, the islands experience mostly hot sunny periods and warm nights. The winds are generally weak but with occasionally moderate strength coming from the east to southeast with wind speeds of 20-30km/h.

Present climatic conditions: During this September, there are many climatic features working together to promote warmer to hotter days. The winds are calm to light, with fewer cloudy periods which enables greater incoming solar radiation, particularly during the mid-morning to afternoon periods. These climatic features are: 1. A moderately strong El Nino which generally restricts cloud development; 2. A negative phase of the North Atlantic Oscillation (NAO) which encourages weak winds across the Caribbean; 3. A warmer than usual Atlantic Ocean Sea Surface Temperatures (SSTs) east of the Trinidad and Tobago; 4. The apparent local position of the sun at our latitude; 5. Southeasterly flow of wind from the equatorial region.

Instructions: Wear appropriate clothing, stay hydrated at all times, and keep out of direct sunlight to avoid sunburn. Open appropriate windows, vents and doors in your homes to ventilate at times. Please visit metoffice.gov.tt and odpm.gov.tt for additional information.

Area description: Trinidad and Tobago

Postby Rovin » September 15th, 2023, 11:16 am

yesterday was a rel killa yes , everything in my home was feeling heated even d couch too & it looks like today gonna be d same

these days i showering with unheated water cause it already a bit warm from d tanks ...

Postby aaron17 » September 15th, 2023, 11:29 am

Even the door handles and keys feeling hot.

Postby pugboy » September 15th, 2023, 11:33 am

everywhere i used tap water today was very warm

Postby Dizzy28 » September 15th, 2023, 11:35 am

Grateful for the respite from the TT weather.
Screenshot_20230915-113424.jpg

Postby aaron17 » September 15th, 2023, 11:59 am

Uv shades are a must.

Postby redmanjp » September 15th, 2023, 12:10 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Grateful for the respite from the TT weather. Screenshot_20230915-113424.jpg

where this is?

Postby Chimera » September 15th, 2023, 12:28 pm

got my temperature gun a lil while ago so will hit allyuh some numbers over the coming days

i find my living room where the exhaust fan is installed is much much cooler though

the rest of the house is unbearable unless i put on air condition

Postby Dizzy28 » September 15th, 2023, 12:31 pm

NY
redmanjp wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Grateful for the respite from the TT weather. Screenshot_20230915-113424.jpg

where this is?

Postby Dizzy28 » September 15th, 2023, 12:33 pm

Some water sources are acidic. I wonder if repeated use of this method would decrease the useable lifespan of the roof ?
Phone Surgeon wrote:got my temperature gun a lil while ago so will hit allyuh some numbers over the coming days

i find my living room where the exhaust fan is installed is much much cooler though

the rest of the house is unbearable unless i put on air condition

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 15th, 2023, 12:33 pm

The kids in school in classrooms without working fans or no AC must be suffering

Postby redmanjp » September 15th, 2023, 1:04 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:The kids in school in classrooms without working fans or no AC must be suffering

i really hope they not only allowing but encouraging them to hydrate DURING classes, not just breaks or lunchtime - any rules against drinking in classes need to be suspended especially after an official warning from Met Office.

Postby Chimera » September 15th, 2023, 1:18 pm

Lol they have them running laps in hot sun for pe normal normal

Postby redmanjp » September 15th, 2023, 1:22 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Lol they have them running laps in hot sun for pe normal normal

they used to tell students to go outside in d hot sun as punishment :roll:

Postby aaron17 » September 15th, 2023, 1:29 pm

And when rain come...is hell like this intensity. Feels like wasa drop a ton load ah water on yuh ..with the amount ah water they saving . Even the water collecting in yuh bucket.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 15th, 2023, 2:36 pm

edc4c539-b0aa-4688-8080-50130dada277.jpeg

Postby aaron17 » September 15th, 2023, 2:39 pm

35 degrees! I was getting migraine headache and heat sweats after eating lunch. Had to drink alot ah water.

Postby aaron17 » September 15th, 2023, 2:40 pm

Keep extra water and coolant in the car jus in case of u and car overheating.

Postby Chimera » September 15th, 2023, 2:44 pm

i hadda say i real appreciating my full uv tint and G5 all around

inside normal normal

Postby aaron17 » September 15th, 2023, 2:55 pm

Idk if is me buh... these hot days i filling gas more often in my car..

Postby Chimera » September 15th, 2023, 3:06 pm

yuh mus be have ac blasting full 100 non stop

Postby Dave » September 15th, 2023, 3:58 pm

Was waiting to see when someone would speak about your vehicle.
Wash the condenser and radiator to ensure the air can cool at full complement.
aaron17 wrote:Keep extra water and coolant in the car jus in case of u and car overheating.

Postby aaron17 » September 15th, 2023, 4:04 pm

Were the water reservoirs ever low for this year so far? Did we have a hose ban? I did not get the memo.

Postby redmanjp » September 15th, 2023, 4:16 pm

with this heat spell alert i wonder what reading my car giving now.

Postby redmanjp » September 15th, 2023, 4:21 pm

aaron17 wrote:35 degrees! I was getting migraine headache and heat sweats after eating lunch. Had to drink alot ah water.

last year was trying to change a flat tyre but the nut wouldn't come off - stayed out in d sun for over an hour and even though i was drinking water every 20-30 mins i still get a headache and had to drink several glasses more when i came in and take ah cold shower. headache is one of the symptoms of heat stress and if u dont deal with it urgently it can quickly move to heat stroke

later that night the weather person said it was the hottest day for the year

Postby paid_influencer » September 15th, 2023, 5:29 pm

heat ridiculous today. I buy a cold drink today to try to cool down but by the time I ready to drink it, the thing get hot. Not lukewarm eh-- friggin hot. idk what to do now in this heat

Postby pugboy » September 15th, 2023, 5:36 pm

yuh need to use one of those vacuum cooler drinks holder with ice, lasts all day