Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby timelapse » February 14th, 2022, 5:12 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Lol @ timelapse suggestion.

How much people you know even have a yard to call their own?
Plenty.Point is to grow your own things.
As much as I don't like illegals, every one of the venes over the road by me is growing some kind of food crop, and they renting.
Trinis?We fraid snake, so concrete every mc.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 14th, 2022, 5:53 pm

Bodi prices $10 and the bag even smaller now yes. Waaaaaayz

Postby timelapse » February 14th, 2022, 6:37 pm

DMan7 wrote:Bodi prices $10 and the bag even smaller now yes. Waaaaaayz
I Plant my own.Unaffected

Postby 88sins » February 14th, 2022, 6:37 pm

Planting sufficient coconut to make oil may not be a viable solution for everyone. But that is not to say that you can't produce any kind of food for yourself. There's plenty things we eat that can be grown in containers.
I cannot understand to this day, why people does buy big leaf thyme in the market. It grows from the piece fast and easy, don't have a big extensive root system so can be grown in a small vessel. Yet many don't see the sense of planting even that. Peppers can grow in a bucket or pot, so can eggplant. A half section of 4" pvc 36" long giving you plenty chive and chadon beni.

People prefer the convenience of going out and buying over the idea of putting in the work and growing what they consume.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 14th, 2022, 6:42 pm

timelapse wrote:
DMan7 wrote:Bodi prices $10 and the bag even smaller now yes. Waaaaaayz
I Plant my own.Unaffected

I passing by you for a bag of bodi, make the bag a crockus bag eh.

Postby eliteauto » February 14th, 2022, 7:04 pm

Those sellers playing smart, I saw the drop in price for soybean oil (5L Member's Selection) at PS ( around $86 to $77) in recent weeks, then yesterday it jumped to $92.95, I'm sure that isn't new stock recently imported so they're increasing prices on stock already in house. Profit ftw already decided not to renew my card when it expires

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 14th, 2022, 7:07 pm

Ahh yes Pricesmart the 1% grocery.

Postby Redman » February 14th, 2022, 7:28 pm

88sins wrote:Planting sufficient coconut to make oil may not be a viable solution for everyone. But that is not to say that you can't produce any kind of food for yourself. There's plenty things we eat that can be grown in containers.
I cannot understand to this day, why people does buy big leaf thyme in the market. It grows from the piece fast and easy, don't have a big extensive root system so can be grown in a small vessel. Yet many don't see the sense of planting even that. Peppers can grow in a bucket or pot, so can eggplant. A half section of 4" pvc 36" long giving you plenty chive and chadon beni.

People prefer the convenience of going out and buying over the idea of putting in the work and growing what they consume.

Sure thing.
Grow what you want and deal with the results.

If when it gets too expensive...replace.or do with out.
Gaps exist for a reason.
And markets when left alone, on a whole are pretty good at finding the most efficient way to supply x,y or z.

Agriculture is no different.

Postby timelapse » February 14th, 2022, 7:40 pm

Redman what you not understanding is that people have to eat to live.There is a large percentage of T&T's population that still think that agriculture is backwards thinking.One of these days they will realize that they can't eat concrete,cellphones, sneakers and whatever else they spending the majority of their attention on.
As for the bodi other guy, I only grow enough for my own consumption,as with all the other stuff.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » February 14th, 2022, 8:59 pm

What ppl like Redman and them fail to realise is that food security is a National Security issue. Problem is TT never faced any sort of war or invading force that made it their mission to burn the food supply of the nation as a war tactic. So we grew up very comfortable thinking that imports are normal.

He also fails to consider the numerous historical factors that resulted in TT being inhabited. Show me a developed nation that can't feed itself and I would show you a blue pig. What happens when you simply don't have forex to pay for food imports because you export nothing?

Will the market regulate again? The government was suppose to put a food security plan in place years ago to mitigate against any rise in prices or shortcomings. Why as a country we find it ok to place all of our foof security in countries that we have no control or say over?

Postby paid_influencer » February 14th, 2022, 9:09 pm

giant african snail eating everything tho

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » February 14th, 2022, 9:14 pm

They just eh find a way to thief from Agriculture as yet. That's why interest low in the sector.

Imagine them gone all the way to Tobago on prime tourism land to plant strawberries under cold storage but the basics in agriculture they not even looking at.

Postby paid_influencer » February 14th, 2022, 9:16 pm

strawberry is $89 for a small carton now

big money if you can grow that successfully here

Postby Chimera » February 14th, 2022, 9:33 pm

The people who get the grants and big concessions to plant are people who don't know how to plant.

Caroni green was a recent project that saw millions being wasted. Massive massive racket where the administration staff made out like kings. Ordering millions in chemicals for farmers in the project and then reselling to agri shops .if a farmer request 1 bottle of gramoxone they ordering 10.
2 bag of salt they ordering 20 and selling the extras.

All the farmers in that project got robbed. When it was time to sell produce (because the program promised that all produce would be paid for by the government and then the cost of the supplies deducted) the produce was left to rotten on the ground because the administration staff say they couldn't get it sold.

Real farmers get screwed over with caroni green.

Postby Chimera » February 14th, 2022, 9:35 pm

March 18, 2017:
Minister of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries, Senator the Honourable Clarence Rambharat is today refuting claims by Opposition MP Rudy Indarsingh that the closure of Caroni Green Limited (CGL) is an “attack on workers,” and instead described the decision as the responsible thing to do given the State Company's broken business model and poor performance over the last three years.  Rambharat defended Government’s decision to shutter the company saying Caroni Green Limited - a reboot of the failed Caroni Green Initiative which was created by the People’s Partnership administration in 2013 to rent and cultivate former Caroni Lands - had, like its predecessor, been a financial disaster from day one.
For the 2015 financial year, Caroni Green Limited reported revenues of just $700,000.  That same year, administrative expenses including salaries cost taxpayers $6.7 million. And while the Company's recent report of increased revenues is yet to be verified, by its own admission, administrative expenses for 2016 increased to $8.5 million.
Salaries alone ballooned to $7 million, yet Caroni Green is still without the trained technical staff it needs to pursue its objectives as a national agricultural company.
Since 2015, a year after an Ernst & Young audit uncovered mounting losses amid management and procurement issues at the original Caroni Green Initiative, its successor CGL has produced pepper - and, to a lesser extent, pawpaw and plantain - on 50 acres of former Caroni (1975) Limited lands.  Yet soaring overheads, particularly at its head office, have made CGL uncompetitive.  While domestic farmers produce hot peppers at a much lower cost per pound, Caroni Green has struggled, despite hefty subventions, to grow revenues to cover its costs.
“The need to focus more on farmers and fisherfolk and reduce unacceptable administrative costs is enough to justify wide-ranging restructuring of underperforming State Enterprises in the agriculture sector”, Rambharat said. 
“In cases like Caroni Green, the most prudent thing to do is to close the Company and use that money to help independent farmers.  This is line with what we said we would do and we will do it within the Law and in line with proper industrial relations.”
Technocrats in the Ministry warn of two underlying issues with Caroni Green’s business model.  The first is the inevitability of another taxpayer-funded agriculture enterprise with high staff costs and low revenue.  The second is that Caroni Green, a State Enterprise, competes directly with domestic farmers.
“Caroni Green itself never earned a dollar of foreign exchange”, Rambharat said.  “While some buyers of CGL’s highly subsidised hot peppers may have had some exports, the majority were sold on the local market, stifling smaller farmers.  That model simply cannot work, but I am not surprised that Mr. Lalla wants to hold on to a $45,000 monthly salary to manage 14 employees at the head office.”
CGL CEO Sharma Lalla has called on Government to reconsider its decision, but for Minister Rambharat the potential for a larger crisis is real in light of Government’s shrinking revenues and Caroni Green’s mounting costs.   Rambharat echoed statements by Prime Minister Dr. Keith Rowley at last Thursday’s post-Cabinet press briefing on the impending closure of the State Company.  “Caroni Green was examined by a committee that reviewed all wholly-owned State Enterprises in Trinidad and Tobago, and was recommended for immediate closure”, Rambharat said.  “A Board of Directors approved by the Cabinet under the chairmanship of Jerry Hospedales would work with the Ministry to determine next steps.”
END
For further information, please contact:

Head, Communications and Events,
Ministry of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries
Tel: (868) 622-1221 

Postby Chimera » February 14th, 2022, 9:39 pm

Imagine a government funded program costing 7 to 9mil in admin salaries...but revenue is 700k.

The whole of the caroni green initiative probably needed 2 good staff members to do the project properly.

The admin staff had fleets of brand new navaras to drive around doing nothing.

To supposedly collect supplies and chemicals when the companies were delivering to the farmers anyway

Racket like that .

Knew someone who planted 15 acres with them and lose hundreds of thousands of dollars because he was paying 20 workers per day

The deal with them was that you had to supply your own labor and they would supply everything else.

Thats why you would rarely find any good farmer willing to partner with the government on any project.

The government staff does fhuk up everything

Postby paid_influencer » February 14th, 2022, 10:08 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Imagine a government funded program costing 7 to 9mil in admin salaries...but revenue is 700k.

Postby zoom rader » February 14th, 2022, 10:27 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Imagine a government funded program costing 7 to 9mil in admin salaries...but revenue is 700k.

The whole of the caroni green initiative probably needed 2 good staff members to do the project properly.

The admin staff had fleets of brand new navaras to drive around doing nothing.

To supposedly collect supplies and chemicals when the companies were delivering to the farmers anyway

Racket like that .

Knew someone who planted 15 acres with them and lose hundreds of thousands of dollars because he was paying 20 workers per day

The deal with them was that you had to supply your own labor and they would supply everything else.

Thats why you would rarely find any good farmer willing to partner with the government on any project.

Those farmers are not people inclined for farming.

Remember the red government daily farmers scam. This scam was where ppl that knew nothing about Cows but milked every cent

This was all set up long ago to extract money to party hacks.

I go say it , Trinidad Africans know nothing about farming.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » February 15th, 2022, 4:35 am

expect flour prices to go up again soon and so would rice, beans, cheese etc although the world has moved pass covid and return to normal.

Postby Redman » February 15th, 2022, 7:00 am

Redress10 wrote:What ppl like Redman and them fail to realise is that food security is a National Security issue. Problem is TT never faced any sort of war or invading force that made it their mission to burn the food supply of the nation as a war tactic. So we grew up very comfortable thinking that imports are normal.

He also fails to consider the numerous historical factors that resulted in TT being inhabited. Show me a developed nation that can't feed itself and I would show you a blue pig. What happens when you simply don't have forex to pay for food imports because you export nothing?

Will the market regulate again? The government was suppose to put a food security plan in place years ago to mitigate against any rise in prices or shortcomings. Why as a country we find it ok to place all of our foof security in countries that we have no control or say over?

People like Redman know that a conversation on Coconut oil isn't a treatise on agricultural policy.

Postby pugboy » February 15th, 2022, 7:28 am

it is always a feeding trough for party hacks to eat from
and they not stupid to hire experts who will sell them out

Postby zoom rader » February 15th, 2022, 7:50 am

pugboy wrote:it is always a feeding trough for party hacks to eat from
and they not stupid to hire experts who will sell them out

As I said Trinidad Africans know nutting about farming.

Postby bluefete » February 15th, 2022, 8:45 am

Ferris Wheel owns the largest coconut estate in Trinidad.

Go figure.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 15th, 2022, 8:54 am

Redman wrote:Clearly we dont produce cars,computers and whatever.
There are reasons that we dont.

Them being active here does not mean that they are efficient, cost effective or able to scale up.

On one hand yuh want government to get out of business.
Yet you here wanting govt to impose themselves when it benefits you.

Coconut oil wholesales by the MT, at about $2 USD per liter
or by 200L BBL at about $4 USD per liter.

whats our cost of production???

Those Constance Estates infused coconut oils that CGA produces sells for around $28-30 for a 500ml bottles.

A Trini company has some level of scale which can probably be improved with some more investment but will probably never be Asian level.

Just like cocoa the value prop would be key since scale is out and also maybe using the market agreements TT has.

Postby bluefete » February 15th, 2022, 9:01 am

Redman wrote:Clearly we dont produce cars,computers and whatever.
There are reasons that we dont.

Them being active here does not mean that they are efficient, cost effective or able to scale up.

On one hand yuh want government to get out of business.
Yet you here wanting govt to impose themselves when it benefits you.

Coconut oil wholesales by the MT, at about $2 USD per liter
or by 200L BBL at about $4 USD per liter.

whats our cost of production???

Those Constance Estates infused coconut oils that CGA produces sells for around $28-30 for a 500ml bottles.

A Trini company has some level of scale which can probably be improved with some more investment but will probably never be Asian level.

Just like cocoa the value prop would be key since scale is out and also maybe using the market agreements TT has.

Very true. Niche marketing has enormous scope, if the value prop. is there.

Postby timelapse » February 15th, 2022, 9:23 am

Business idea for free: Romaine lettuce grows well indoors under the same conditions as weed.You can grow about 36 heads of Romain in a 3x3.Imagine on a slightly bigger scale.Sell to the salad folks and you have yourself a niche market.

Postby bluefete » February 15th, 2022, 9:53 am

^^ Nice. But only business minded people will take up that offer.

The rest will continue to buy from the 1% and complain about high prices.

T&T mentality nah. We need a culture change!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby timelapse » February 15th, 2022, 11:04 am

bluefete wrote:^^ Nice. But only business minded people will take up that offer.

They rather skin their bamcee in the air and complain about being raped than to pull up their pants

Postby zoom rader » February 15th, 2022, 11:29 am

bluefete wrote:^^ Nice. But only business minded people will take up that offer.

They are tuned to buy from 1% just as they are programmed to vote bailiser whore house.

Postby Redman » February 15th, 2022, 11:51 am

They are tuned to buy from 1% just as they are programmed to vote bailiser whore house.

Zr this is utter Bulllsheeeeiiit.

The factual reality is that many if not most of the restaurants in Sando (non franchise) are buying direct from farmers already, (this is based on pre covid info)
Veggies, seasoning, provisions, and pretty much everything is sourced as cheaply and directly as possible.
Lettuce is a prime example- we looked at the market in Sando- and farmers were already supplying-really great quality and nicely packaged.

Covid increased the direct to market availability.

Why would any other business in any other area be different?

As I said markets are pretty smart. Thats because the participants are smart-the buyers are looking to balance quality,efficiency and price.

Food places have to reduce costs, many households do the same.

We grow some,buy direct from producers,roadside vendors and grocery if sensible.

while allyuh complaining -farmers figured out how to do it.
Delivered, in bags, sanitized, sensible prices.