New Trinidad & Tobago $ money polymer notes

Re: Question regarding polymer note

Postby Redman » February 12th, 2020, 6:56 am

Carbon12 wrote:
speedmelter wrote:Why didn’t you ask them to lock you up? Don’t you feel robbed? The gas station cashier is the new entity for validating currency now? You should’ve told the cashier that you’re calling the police to lock her up for her failure to notify them of your “fraud”

Actually a police officer who was present told me to just leave it and I cant do nothing about it. But I actually felt robbed we. I don't know what are my next options?

I would make a report to the ttps, and the officer handled it incorrectly.
As stated the cashier can’t confiscate currency

Postby maj. tom » February 12th, 2020, 7:31 am

Eh nothing you can do boy. Sometimes in life we are faced with such ignorance, and it does hurt you bad.
Let time pass and let it go. I would feel really angry at what happened there. At least you register the experience here for us to learn. They teef yuh money bai. I really eh know what you can do now. Maybe contact the Central Bank and register a complaint, send this thread link in an email and pursue it. I would do this. The Central Bank needs to be aware of two things: that the money does fade with washing and they need to tell the manufacturer to improve it, and that that cashier is a mc!!!!

They stole your money and were completely ignorant about the polymer currency. The Central Bank issued no such notices to any cashiers or the public that a polymer faded bill is counterfeit. They stated that the transparent window is one of the ways to verify it's real. There are also a lot of invisible UV inks which show up with forensic examination. Good counterfeit polymer notes take about 4 or 5 years to show up on the market because they're extremely difficult to make correctly due to the high precision machinery and computer setup required to duplicate it accurately. The transparent window is the way to tell it's authentic.

Everyone else was wrong in that situation. The cashier cannot seize money, who the fk she is the Central Bank Governor? Who give her the authority to seize currency? The police can officially seize it and make a report and give you a copy. They should have just given you the money back and you would verify it in the bank. The printing inks on money doesn't really ever dry zoom rader had said, so if you wash it with detergent they bound to fade a little more than usual. If you leave them in the direct sunlight too for a long time they fade. They also fade and become worn out naturally with time and circulation usage and are replaced. Because the inks are always going to rub off over time.

Postby adnj » February 12th, 2020, 7:55 am

Redman wrote:
Carbon12 wrote:
speedmelter wrote:Why didn’t you ask them to lock you up? Don’t you feel robbed? The gas station cashier is the new entity for validating currency now? You should’ve told the cashier that you’re calling the police to lock her up for her failure to notify them of your “fraud”

Actually a police officer who was present told me to just leave it and I cant do nothing about it. But I actually felt robbed we. I don't know what are my next options?

Banks are required to confiscate counterfeit currency. The bank customer would typically ask for a receipt for the confiscated currency, file a police report and seek remedy through the customer's own insurance policy.

The salient question is, "Who passed the bill to the OP in the first place?"

The fact that the OP didn't mention that leaves me to believe that the post is bullsh;t.

Postby maj. tom » February 12th, 2020, 8:41 am

A bank cashier and a gas station cashier is 2 different thing eh. I eh want to make a statement here and demean people jobs. How yuh telling the man he making this up? Even if this was a counterfeit bill, why he didn't get it back? How he would know who passed him the bill? Yuh eh know if the man does sell fig in the market or is a doctor receiving cash from patients.

Early last year i found an old $100 note from the CHOGM printed run and the gas station attendant took it, told me it was fake then gave me back the bill and said he wanted another that he could verify. It wasn't fake, but he didn't know the bill and returned it. He eh play that he is a bank or the police.

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » February 12th, 2020, 8:54 am

adnj wrote:
Redman wrote:
Carbon12 wrote:

Banks are required to confiscate counterfeit currency. The bank customer would typically ask for a receipt for the confiscated currency, file a police report and seek remedy through the customer's own insurance policy.

The fact that the OP didn't mention that leaves me to believe that the post is bullsh;t.

I actually got the bill from a customer it looked like a genuine polymer note but it was just faded. It is indeed real just the writing is a bit blurred. The cashier even tried to tear it to see if it was paper but it was indeed polymer.
The people were ignorant and I really didnt know what else I could of done. I actually told them I was being robbed and I am going to take this further and shine them on their fb page and tag the central bank as well.
Doh be ignorant and feel it cant happen to u.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » February 12th, 2020, 8:59 am

Staff probably wanted free dinner

Postby gastly369 » February 12th, 2020, 9:05 am

Sooo what station and area...
Carbon12 wrote:
adnj wrote:
Redman wrote:
Carbon12 wrote:

I actually got the bill from a customer it looked like a genuine polymer note but it was just faded. It is indeed real just the writing is a bit blurred. The cashier even tried to tear it to see if it was paper but it was indeed polymer.
The people were ignorant and I really didnt know what else I could of done. I actually told them I was being robbed and I am going to take this further and shine them on their fb page and tag the central bank as well.
Doh be ignorant and feel it cant happen to u.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 12th, 2020, 9:05 am

Probably wise to limit cash transactions to as little as possible for now until this polymer is fully integrated into our systems and psyche. I actually haven't paid cash in a gas station since 2008.

I really only use cash in the market and sporadic here and there type things that pop up.

Postby ronsin1 » February 12th, 2020, 9:14 am

I still have a couple of those notes with me keeping them till the price on Ebay raises right now is about 60 USD
maj. tom wrote:A bank cashier and a gas station cashier is 2 different thing eh. I eh want to make a statement here and demean people jobs. How yuh telling the man he making this up? Even if this was a counterfeit bill, why he didn't get it back? How he would know who passed him the bill? Yuh eh know if the man does sell fig in the market or is a doctor receiving cash from patients.

Early last year i found an old $100 note from the CHOGM printed run and the gas station attendant took it, told me it was fake then gave me back the bill and said he wanted another that he could verify. It wasn't fake, but he didn't know the bill and returned it. He eh play that he is a bank or the police.

killercow

Postby killercow » February 12th, 2020, 9:19 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Probably wise to limit cash transactions to as little as possible for now until this polymer is fully integrated into our systems and psyche. I actually haven't paid cash in a gas station since 2008.

I really only use cash in the market and sporadic here and there type things that pop up.
To me this is common sense. With robberies so prevalent the less cash the better. I pay with card any and everywhere even if the cost is $5.
Plus it's a good habit to have for those who are frugal as it promotes better financial records and tracking of expenditure through bank records / online banking etc.
(Trust me you never know if / when you might need these records but it's always good to have).
This of course in addition to the fact that one does not have the issue of dealing with issues of presenting / receiving counterfeit currency.

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » February 12th, 2020, 9:24 am

The Paleontologist wrote:Did they explain to you why they thought it was counterfeit?

"Police officer told me it was too new to be faded, I told him dats BS, he start to loud me up for my $, i actually stood there in disbelief for a good 10 mins but to no avail they was not giving me back and I wasnt gonna grab back my $100 when he said it wasnt mine anymore with a shotgun strapped on his chest.
P.s. the cashier was a male for the other people in the thread. The convenience store I would say it is sunny at night in cunupia but not delightful just to avoid the name calling for now.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 12th, 2020, 10:17 am

fatboy slim wrote:they thief your money boy :shock:
Man let a gas station police gangster him oui.
But I hear ya. Me eh arguing with armed idiots either

Postby rspann » February 12th, 2020, 10:28 am

Sun Delight? So why you don't say it's the one by Monroe Rd? Let other people say if it happened to them too. They take your hundred that you sweat for and no recourse? Wayyy..... op , Thank God is you and not me yes.

Postby maj. tom » February 12th, 2020, 10:52 am

errr, from OP accounts, i was going to be quite meek too to a man with a shotgun strapped to his chest. $100 eh worth that.

OP i really hope you're following up with a complaint and emails to the Central Bank eh. Because it can't be you alone experienced that.

Postby Rovin » February 12th, 2020, 11:08 am

there was a fb video a couple wks ago claiming that it have fakes even with d polymer & clear window .... i dunno jes saying what i saw

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 12th, 2020, 11:20 am

maj. tom wrote:errr, from OP accounts, i was going to be quite meek too to a man with a shotgun strapped to his chest. $100 eh worth that.

OP i really hope you're following up with a complaint and emails to the Central Bank eh. Because it can't be you alone experienced that.
This

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » February 12th, 2020, 11:21 am

Rovin wrote:there was a fb video a couple wks ago claiming that it have fakes even with d polymer & clear window .... i dunno jes saying what i saw

So I actually had a quite fascinating discovery, will post the video shortly.

Postby maj. tom » February 12th, 2020, 11:32 am

Buy a UV penlight or set up a desk lamp with a UV bulb to do checks if you mainly deal with receiving cash for goods and services.

http://www.trinituner.com/v4//forums/vi ... 0#p9995104

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » February 12th, 2020, 11:53 am

Attached is the video

Postby maj. tom » February 12th, 2020, 11:57 am

The phone camera cannot capture the true UV, but to your eyes those pieces glow fluorescent green.

Postby Redman » February 12th, 2020, 12:09 pm

Carbon12 wrote:Attached is the video

The ink comes off-even without the spray.

Postby Redman » February 12th, 2020, 12:12 pm

Carbon12 wrote:
The Paleontologist wrote:Did they explain to you why they thought it was counterfeit?

"Police officer told me it was too new to be faded, I told him dats BS, he start to loud me up for my $, i actually stood there in disbelief for a good 10 mins but to no avail they was not giving me back and I wasnt gonna grab back my $100 when he said it wasnt mine anymore with a shotgun strapped on his chest.
P.s. the cashier was a male for the other people in the thread. The convenience store I would say it is sunny at night in cunupia but not delightful just to avoid the name calling for now.

The PO is no authority...certainly not to the point of confiscation.
Neither is the cashier.....I know its a tough situation-but I would have taken pics of all involved, and get the TTPS # (which he has to give) and head to make a report.

The 100 might not be worth the hassle but they are not authorized in that manner-how do we know they have turned it in?

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » February 12th, 2020, 12:16 pm

Now spoke to the Snr. Supt of Chaguanas and he said I need to go and collect back my money and they were not supposed to take it.

Postby gastly369 » February 12th, 2020, 1:03 pm

Video it when you go to pickup
Carbon12 wrote:Now spoke to the Snr. Supt of Chaguanas and he said I need to go and collect back my money and they were not supposed to take it.

Postby rspann » February 12th, 2020, 1:36 pm

Op, they find you looking like an isotope , that is why they do you that. You realise that you get the same hundred that the man wipe with the spray?

Postby MaxPower » February 12th, 2020, 2:09 pm

This cashier even trained to spot a counterfeit?

Boi do what u have to do to get your money, dont let them bobolize you.

But Unfortunately, the time and effort you will have to put in to get it back will not be worth the $100.

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » February 12th, 2020, 2:11 pm

rspann wrote:Op, they find you looking like an isotope , that is why they do you that. You realise that you get the same hundred that the man wipe with the spray?

Yea very punny indeed lol but I went back and collected the note, but the reason for not recording is that i wasnt dealing with the same people as last night and these people were helpful, they called they took my name and after talking to the supt. He let me get back the note but advised me to make a statement and not spend it, the note is alot more deteriorated tho.
Screenshot_20200212-141047_Gallery.jpg

Postby maj. tom » February 12th, 2020, 2:22 pm

Email the Central Bank with some photos and they will probably take it and test it to see if it legitimate. If it is, you would get back a fresh $100 note. They should be alerted about this, and if it is real it's bad news for all of us in the future when this money starts to flake off.

Warranty exchange from the mint!!

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » February 12th, 2020, 4:12 pm

PM rollinstock yuh sure to get back d $100 but he troubles yuh have to pay him a $500 after that is respect anytime yuh cross that place again .

VII

Postby VII » February 12th, 2020, 4:57 pm

oops i now see it losing its print like a scratch!!!

That's weird..hmmmm
Last edited by VII on February 13th, 2020, 9:34 am, edited 1 time in total.