Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

BRZ

Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby BRZ » June 3rd, 2016, 9:28 am

rspann wrote:Read the piece that I highlighted above ,and compare to our highways with it's poor design and construction, it's many entrances and exits, sheit people even open their driveways onto the highway and have business places too.

Also our construction and fire and safety Standadrs and codes are So outdated.
Imagine in POS, we have so many businesses that their Doors open Outward directly onto the Sidewalk, and many of those places have NO fire exit.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » June 3rd, 2016, 9:31 am

sMASH wrote:There is no beat up. They used theit calculators and said only snails can use the highways safely. The only argument I can pose is that donkey years now people have been using the same highways at higher speeds quite well, and that the accidents were due to inconsiderate driving, not necessarily the speed.[color=#FF00BF]

[/color]Tnt highways: going nowhere slowly.

true But in that same context it is easier for a driver to take evasive action at a slower speed , also if it cannot be avoided the damage is much less than if they were flying.

Postby pete » June 3rd, 2016, 11:20 am

BRZ wrote:
rspann wrote:Read the piece that I highlighted above ,and compare to our highways with it's poor design and construction, it's many entrances and exits, sheit people even open their driveways onto the highway and have business places too.

Also our construction and fire and safety Standadrs and codes are So outdated.
Imagine in POS, we have so many businesses that their Doors open Outward directly onto the Sidewalk, and many of those places have NO fire exit.

The OSH Act says you have to have your door open outward yet there are buildings where there are security locks and the doors only open inward. Isn't that worse? What happens in an emergency? What our business did was push the doorway inward and it can open in or out but even if it opens out won't protrude much into the sidewalk.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 3rd, 2016, 12:04 pm

BRZ wrote:
sMASH wrote:There is no beat up. They used theit calculators and said only snails can use the highways safely. The only argument I can pose is that donkey years now people have been using the same highways at higher speeds quite well, and that the accidents were due to inconsiderate driving, not necessarily the speed.[color=#FF00BF]

[/color]Tnt highways: going nowhere slowly.

true But in that same context it is easier for a driver to take evasive action at a slower speed , also if it cannot be avoided the damage is much less than if they were flying.

Once or twice high speed evasive action has saved my life on the highway. :mrgreen:

Postby sMASH » June 3rd, 2016, 7:31 pm

^^ me too, and 3 second rule as well

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » June 4th, 2016, 4:05 pm

Could someone explain to me the reason we have a decline in fatal highway accidents? Since, you know, high speed doesn't play a major part in fatal accidents in Trinidad and all... :roll:

Like I said before, y'all could speak for yourselves. You could handle the speed. You could evade at high speeds, but it's NOT just y'all or us on the roadways.

Postby RASC » June 4th, 2016, 4:31 pm

Again... Can't wait for those highway death statistics to come out *Kermit Tea*

Postby zoom rader » June 4th, 2016, 4:45 pm

RASC wrote:Again... Can't wait for those highway death statistics to come out *Kermit Tea*

Meanwhile we are faced with a higher PNM Murder rate statistics .

Postby De Dragon » June 4th, 2016, 5:47 pm

The apologists will comment on everything BUT the crime rate, the stagnant economy and anything that really matters to, and directly affects people. This Government seems well contented with low hanging fruit alone, but alas the dearth of ideas will only allow them that.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 4th, 2016, 10:48 pm

RASC wrote:Again... Can't wait for those highway death statistics to come out *Kermit Tea*

It would make no sense looking just at the death statistics for this short period of time.

To make any convincing argument they hadda come with at least 5 years worth of data and show that the death rate is down this period of time vs previous years. Also factor in when cable barriers were installed and when PP introduced increased police presence on the highways.

This time of year there is usually drop in car accidents. November to March is normally high season for carnage on the roads.

Postby cinco » June 5th, 2016, 1:31 am

My issue with this limit is the random brake tapping that occurs and the right lane dawdlers

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 5th, 2016, 6:45 am

I hate the lane zombies!! They drive slow laging in the right lane ...huge gap!! They refuse to switch lanes or often speeds up and mirrors the speed of an adjacent car making you go around by lane jumping wtf!!
Heavy armored security vehicles are the worst thing on that highway.. 4kers always in Zombie drive mode lane hogging on the far right mashing brakes on you when there is no car in the lane till a football field away!!

Postby sMASH » June 5th, 2016, 10:30 am

The speed wouldn't necessarily cause the accident, but it would determine the severity of the accident when it does occur. But, if we drive more safely, we would cause many accidents any way. And so, we could not be bored on the highway.

TriP

Postby TriP » June 10th, 2016, 11:14 pm

Once u modify yr tyre size yr 80 is different from the speed gun

Postby Morpheus » June 11th, 2016, 9:44 am

TTDF Hilux at 170-180kph around 4am.

I know because I "tried" to keep up. I not doing that in a van. Them brave yes.....

Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby Morpheus » June 11th, 2016, 9:45 am

cinco wrote:My issue with this limit is the random brake tapping that occurs and the right lane dawdlers

Correct

cornfused

Postby cornfused » June 11th, 2016, 10:56 am

Have Mercy of Drivers Trinidad Express Letters 11th June 2016

I am reading that the Police road safety coordinator Brent Batson is proposing a speed-linked tiered system to increase penalties for driving over the speed limit.

There has been overwhelming success in getting drivers to obey the speed limit, on their own despite there still being a few errant ones. The police reported that it issued as many as 577 tickets to errant motorists. So far so good. This is besides the fact, that Batson among others, has admitted to his inconvenience and chagrin at having to drive his pick-up at 65 km/h, an acknowledgement from the Ministry of Works and Transport and the legislative bodies at large that 80 km/h is as old, dating back to 1956 and as antiquated as the child marriage age (12 or 14).

Yet, with similar gusto, the chant goes on ... “it’s the law”. So in 2016, people must drive their Navaras or their Cefiros like they were still in an Austin Cambridge or a Hillman Hunter. How back-in-times are we, Brent? So, apparently, for Mr Batson, Arrive Alive et al, this is not enough, oh no...

Drivers still need more punishment. So the thrust now is to further the stranglehold on drivers — penalise them in tiers for speed. So the one exception who was caught at 157 km/h should be charged a million dollars, have his car impounded. Heck, he should be hanged in the square, if you follow the logic of these people.

Why this fixation with the driving population — who are just sitting ducks? What surprises me is that no one has challenged the fact that an amendment to the law has made it prohibitive to challenge a ticket in court. So again, you just sit there — accept what the machine says, you can’t fight it or challenge it... there is no discretion for going 84 km/h, since the officer’s discretion stops at 81 km/h or 82 km/h, and you cannot go to court. How’s that for fair play?

Has the same approach been taken for other crimes?
Is it that we should go back to donkey carts or should we tie a rope around the car and drag it behind our backs? This new found self-serving self-righteousness among interest groups is really sickening. They are doing no more than pouncing on defenceless drivers.
What is so wrong to argue for the updating of the speed limit first (ever heard of putting the horse in front of the cart? ...or in this context, I can dumb it down to a donkey or a mule?), so everyone can be comfortable?

Have they stopped drivers from using their cellphones? Have they eradicated obscene gestures and fixtures from vehicles, especially public service vehicles? Have they charged people for parking on pavements and stopping on pedestrian crossings?

Why not use some of this wonderful expertise to reduce murders, to find missing people, to prosecute gangs for high-profile killings or find bank robbers and before I forget — any luck on the cybercrime front with regard to those Facebook pranks? Oh no... that would be a waste of time, since we can boast and beat our chests about how many people we found DUI at Caura and Debe or speeding.
Can somebody please have mercy on drivers?

Lystra Marajh
Glencoe

A sensible view from the public .

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » June 11th, 2016, 11:51 am

It will be interesting to see a breakdown of where and what locations/times speed traps was set.
If these who know, has any taken place on the Diego Martin highway or the Audrey Jeffers highway?

Same with the breathalyzer. is there a chart showing a history of where these are carried out
in San- Fernando seems every roads around certain clubs were on lock down every weekend but some how not seeing them again.
Wonder how many breathalyzer traps(days and Time) carried out for people returning for clubs on the Western main road
or for people returning from the Avenue and Tragarete roads

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 11th, 2016, 2:46 pm

Why is it that when people are caught doing the wrong thing they quick to bawl, "why dey eh go and look for murderers". The same murderers they protect when they pretend not to see or hear when murders occurring, unless its a police corning a criminal

Postby eliteauto » June 11th, 2016, 3:00 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:It will be interesting to see a breakdown of where and what locations/times speed traps was set.
If these who know, has any taken place on the Diego Martin highway or the Audrey Jeffers highway?
Same with the breathalyzer. is there a chart showing a history of where these are carried out
in San- Fernando seems every roads around certain clubs were on lock down every weekend but some how not seeing them again.
Wonder how many breathalyzer traps(days and Time) carried out for people returning for clubs on the Western main road
or for people returning from the Avenue and Tragarete roads

The speed gun has been used on the Audrey Jeffers Highway, can't say for Diego. Also breathalysers have been used in roadblocks almost everywhere in Trinidad

Postby Morpheus » June 11th, 2016, 3:07 pm

Speed traps are held by El Socorro both directions at different times.
And the speed camera there might overheat from the continuous flashing it has to do in the wee hours...

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » June 11th, 2016, 3:41 pm

As yuh talk about speed cams. Whats the purpose of it? Collecting data only?

Postby Team Loco » June 11th, 2016, 6:41 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Why is it that when people are caught doing the wrong thing they quick to bawl, "why dey eh go and look for murderers". The same murderers they protect when they pretend not to see or hear when murders occurring, unless its a police corning a criminal

I say the same thing.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 11th, 2016, 9:58 pm

They only make half a mil so far ... so we still have a ways to go before we they consider updating these ancient laws.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 11th, 2016, 10:06 pm

We should have a week of protest where we all drive 30 kph on the highway all day long to protest this dumb 80 kph law. Should shut down the highway and show these bastards that we mean business and who has the power in this country.

should save lives as well, nil more accidents on the highway.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 11th, 2016, 10:49 pm

drchaos wrote:We should have a week of protest where we all drive 30 kph on the highway all day long to protest this dumb 80 kph law. Should shut down the highway and show these bastards that we mean business and who has the power in this country.

Nah.

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » June 11th, 2016, 11:03 pm

Was by vmcott traffic lights. Government procession in progress. Lights broken as per usual. However, why is it that special branch is transporting government officials faster than 80 km? Are they willfully endangering lives? I'm sure many a prado man is capable of doin the same. Aren't we all as citizens bound by the rule of law regardless of position?

Postby rspann » June 11th, 2016, 11:14 pm

Nah ,speed limit is for plebs !

Postby sMASH » June 12th, 2016, 4:30 am

Animal Pak wrote:Was by vmcott traffic lights. Government procession in progress. Lights broken as per usual. However, why is it that special branch is transporting government officials faster than 80 km? Are they willfully endangering lives? I'm sure many a prado man is capable of doin the same. Aren't we all as citizens bound by the rule of law regardless of position?

The same questions were posed earlier, the laws to physics that apply to the citizen do not apply to those with flashing lights. Therefore the hazard of driving above 80kmph is not present when they do it.

All is well citizen, continue to obey your law.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » June 12th, 2016, 4:43 am

drchaos wrote:We should have a week of protest where we all drive 30 kph on the highway all day long to protest this dumb 80 kph law. Should shut down the highway and show these bastards that we mean business and who has the power in this country.

X100%