Re: The official tropical weather thread: TS ISAAC UPDATE pg

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 22nd, 2012, 6:12 am

There is an eerie still this morning though

Postby Hook » August 22nd, 2012, 6:25 am

it won't be anything super duper dread today...today's gloom before dawn felt the same as yesterday's IMO

Postby Hook » August 22nd, 2012, 8:46 am

What do u call a Tropical Storm without eyes?

Isaac

*tee hee hee*

K, so once we start getting westerlies, seas in the gulf gonna get a little choppy, but we're not seeing anything to suggest storm surges. We now starting to see some very mild westerly winds in Piarco.

There's a sigmet out for Isaac BTW. Invest 96L has a 90% chance of development and isn't Joyce yet (or even in our FIR for that matter) so there's no sigmet out for it yet...but soon.

The necessary updates, sigmets,, bulletins etc. will be issued when warranted.

Postby crazybalhead » August 22nd, 2012, 8:47 am

I implore you to turn any rain northwards sir. For your own good. Thank you. You have been warned.

Postby nervewrecker » August 22nd, 2012, 8:51 am

If that storm without eyes had a last name hu..n.............. uuummmmmmm........nevermind.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » August 22nd, 2012, 8:54 am

96L seems to be following suit.
Am i correct in my assumption?

Postby Hook » August 22nd, 2012, 8:59 am

No. There's a pic of the forecasted track on a previous page.

Postby Habit7 » August 22nd, 2012, 9:23 am

Miami going to get though...

stay tuned to 24hr coverage of Wild Tropical Weather

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » August 22nd, 2012, 10:36 am

The wind is picking up in Couva.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 22nd, 2012, 10:45 am

"SIGMET, or Significant Meteorological Information, is a weather advisory that contains meteorological information concerning the safety of all aircraft."

For those who didn't know

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » August 22nd, 2012, 10:52 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:"SIGMET, or Significant Meteorological Information, is a weather advisory that contains meteorological information concerning the safety of all aircraft."

Haha good thing you clarified that, if not somebody on 2nr was going to interpret that as " Trinidad going and get hit by a storm or Tsunami"

Postby Hook » August 22nd, 2012, 10:59 am

eekipoo wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:"SIGMET, or Significant Meteorological Information, is a weather advisory that contains meteorological information concerning the safety of all aircraft."

Haha good thing you clarified that, if not somebody on 2nr was going to interpret that as " Trinidad going and get hit by a storm or Tsunami"

How is that even possible, right after reading the gawddamn information bulletin where it says we aren't?

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » August 22nd, 2012, 11:35 am

Hook wrote:
eekipoo wrote:

How is that even possible, right after reading the gawddamn information bulletin where it says we aren't?

Didn't you all have to release a separate statement recently just to say Trinidad was not going to be hit by a Tsunami or storm even though all the Informational Bulletins that were circulating said that it was not. Wait and watch it going to happen again. Bess you start to type it up from now. :lol:

Postby Hook » August 22nd, 2012, 11:44 am

:lol: boi! we better eh!

anyway, for the weather-savvy ones among us, u can get access to the upper air sounding data here in whatever format is useful to you
http://weather.uwyo.edu/upperair/sounding.html

Now, not that there can sometimes be difficulties with the launch and sometimes it has to be aborted. We had an okay sounding this morning.
The line on the right is temperature and the line on the left is dew pt. depression.
Note the heights where there are inversions (points of stability, though mild in this case) and where the two lines are closest kinda gives a rough indication of how moist the atmosphere is at that level (possibility of cloud formation).

Postby crazybalhead » August 22nd, 2012, 11:53 am

Hook, I'm confused, you mean you actually do something besides smoke cigs and look at drum tutorials on youtube whole day?

Postby Hook » August 22nd, 2012, 11:56 am

:lol: yes...I work hard for the money...however small the money is

Postby nervewrecker » August 22nd, 2012, 12:16 pm

whats the blue units on the y-axis?

above that 10970 mark the lines usually get any closer? I dont really expect much moisture so far up there in most cases.

Postby TRAE » August 22nd, 2012, 12:24 pm

Leaving north like now!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 22nd, 2012, 1:57 pm

getting a little west wind here in Chaguanas

WeatherBug reports winds at Piarco are blowing from the WNW at 14 KM/h with gusts at 19 KM/h

Postby streetbeastINC. » August 22nd, 2012, 2:13 pm

very calm east...Schiquito- mins from manzan..Arima was calm as well jsut came from there.was expecting at least some downpours.

Postby Hook » August 22nd, 2012, 2:15 pm

^^^ I kinda glad we eh gettin' nutn...dunno if Diego could handle a reprise flood

nervewrecker wrote:whats the blue units on the y-axis?

above that 10970 mark the lines usually get any closer? I dont really expect much moisture so far up there in most cases.

oh shux sry...those are heights in millibars or hectopascals...starting from mean sea level
the 10970 etc. is actual height in metres (oh and yeah, not much moisture at those heights)

why I said we got an "okay" sounding is because it terminated early, around 240-something millibars (many times it terminates at pressures in the single digits - in excess of 30,000m/100,000ft), so there's no data up there, no tropopause level etc. and some winds are missing ...hopefully we get really good data 2nite

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » August 22nd, 2012, 3:14 pm

In every office theres an annoying "meteoroligist" as we all know.
Our 1st runner up for the distinguished title, just came into the office holding a copy of the above pic, still saying that " when the top band that by porto reeco right now, turns like all hurricanes do, he sorry for Tobago and the north coast. Diego an dem goin to get it tonight fuh shore shore shore!!!"

F!idiots

Postby rfari » August 22nd, 2012, 3:19 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:Image

In every office theres an annoying "meteoroligist" as we all know.
Our 1st runner up for the distinguished title, just came into the office holding a copy of the above pic, still saying that " when the top band that by porto reeco right now, turns like all hurricanes do, he sorry for Tobago and the north coast. Diego an dem goin to get it tonight fuh shore shore shore!!!"

F!idiots

hey hook. can i haz this screenshot with a met office stamp on it please? bossman say i hadda come rell good to leave office today

Postby Hook » August 22nd, 2012, 3:22 pm

No. It's not our satellite or our image.

It's just hot and cloudy up east anyway. Hardly any rain in Piarco all day.

Postby rfari » August 22nd, 2012, 3:34 pm

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » August 22nd, 2012, 4:02 pm

WUK IYMC

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 22nd, 2012, 4:22 pm

At least today was cool

Postby rfari » August 22nd, 2012, 4:32 pm

:D I cut out. Buh outside hot and humid jed

Postby SR » August 22nd, 2012, 5:29 pm

everybody's weatherman

Postby crazybalhead » August 22nd, 2012, 5:44 pm

Hook wrote:^^^ I kinda glad we eh gettin' nutn...dunno if Diego could handle a reprise flood

nervewrecker wrote:whats the blue units on the y-axis?

oh shux sry...those are heights in millibars or hectopascals...starting from mean sea level
the 10970 etc. is actual height in metres (oh and yeah, not much moisture at those heights)

why I said we got an "okay" sounding is because it terminated early, around 240-something millibars (many times it terminates at pressures in the single digits - in excess of 30,000m/100,000ft), so there's no data up there, no tropopause level etc. and some winds are missing ...hopefully we get really good data 2nite

LOL...WUT???