***The Official 2021 Formula 1 season thread***

ADONI

Re: ***The Official 2019 Formula 1 season thread***

Postby ADONI » June 11th, 2019, 8:10 am

Monk BANzai wrote:
worksux101 wrote:Except analysis by actual racers showed he was merely correcting oversteer again after the rear of his car bumped over the curb and onto the track.
Also, when he got back onto the track he was not side by side with Hamilton yet, and Hamilton put all 4 tyres off the white line thus himself being off the track, so by a technicality he has no right to pass there either. Chainbear or one of those guys did a really good rundown on it.

Its just a farce at the end of the day and F1 pays the price. And we thought post-Bernie things would improve lol

Exactly... Hamilton cudve gone left and left Seb with no choice but to keep right and drag race to the next corner...

But meem no race car jivver...

True boi Monk, guess Lewis made the wrong gamble to go right!

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 11th, 2019, 9:59 am

Vettel returned to the track unsafely, the penalty is just... It is unfortunate that it affected the result for the win of the race; but them's the rules

Wrong gamble to go right... Lol... Its called the racing line for a reason.

Postby teems1 » June 11th, 2019, 9:14 pm

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 30th, 2019, 10:31 am

That Honda and verstappen combo is proper

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 30th, 2019, 4:11 pm

that was a REALLLY good race, especially from Verstappen and Leclerc. Great driving Max!

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » June 30th, 2019, 8:10 pm

Seb 9th to 4th after a 2 stopper, one of which was notched.
Sainz 20th to 8th.

Postby Monk BANzai » June 30th, 2019, 8:35 pm

Screen Shot 2019-06-30 at 8.37.42 PM.png

FINALLY!! GOOD GAWDD!! LET THEM RACE!!!

Mercedes tho...they're never prepared for Austria... i mean... 400-600 meters of coasting to keep the engine temps down? not acceptable....

"Hey Kimi, that was a fun race huh?"
Kimi: "mermermer didn't have the speed mermermer."

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » July 1st, 2019, 4:27 am

There are rules in racing for a reason... You say let them race but when something goes wrong will that song change.

Today was just a small bump; when it then starts happening in every Grand Prix where you nudge the person to get them out of the way if there are no consequences, quite literally "push to pass" every weekend

I also don't want it where they penalize every little infraction. But Drivers will keep doing what they know they can get away with, and strange enough it is verstappen who seems to push those very rules.

It's only when there are consequences do people seem to learn from their actions,
I'm using verstappen as the example here because he is easiest.

Since his incident in Baku he doesn't move as much under braking.
Since his incident in Austin he understands track limits better.
Since his incidents in Brazil, China, he has learned to better judge overtaking attempts

Don't get me wrong, I throughly enjoyed the race, but it would have been better if the overtake was completed without the contact and leaving a cars width.

Postby Monk BANzai » July 2nd, 2019, 2:55 pm

kamakazi wrote:There are rules in racing for a reason... You say let them race but when something goes wrong will that song change.

Today was just a small bump; when it then starts happening in every Grand Prix where you nudge the person to get them out of the way if there are no consequences, quite literally "push to pass" every weekend

I also don't want it where they penalize every little infraction. But Drivers will keep doing what they know they can get away with, and strange enough it is verstappen who seems to push those very rules.

It's only when there are consequences do people seem to learn from their actions,
I'm using verstappen as the example here because he is easiest.

Since his incident in Baku he doesn't move as much under braking.
Since his incident in Austin he understands track limits better.
Since his incidents in Brazil, China, he has learned to better judge overtaking attempts

Don't get me wrong, I throughly enjoyed the race, but it would have been better if the overtake was completed without the contact and leaving a cars width.

we'll agree to disagree there...this ain't scalextric. 20019 cars are not the same size as 2009 cars..yuh hadda muscle yuh way through.

I doh like Max..but what he's been doing (and you're right)...pushing the boundaries of the sport from a legal perspective... The only way you learn is to push...lol years ago Hamilzai crashed out Alonso coming out of the pits!! lolo!! if the stewards did nothing in Canada (which i honestly thought they should've...at least let the place stand and give him a 3 place grid penalty for France..) then we wouldn't be having this in depth discussion...but its a two edged sword.... I follow F2 as hard as I follow F1..and those guys are allowed to race (becuz they have to prove themselves to the F1 God's for a seat)....and muscle their way they do!!!

meanwhile...

Postby Monk BANzai » July 11th, 2019, 3:11 pm

F1'ers playing cricket....

***The Official 2019 Formula 1 season thread***

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 14th, 2019, 10:54 am

Really exciting race at Silverstone but not sure what’s going on with Vettel. This was clearly his fault.

Postby teems1 » July 14th, 2019, 11:18 am

I agree. France was a snooze fest, but Austria and UK were brilliant.

Red Bull vs Ferrari for 30+ laps. Even the 2 Mercs in the opening laps.

Such an ill timed safety car basically handed the victory to Lewis.

Also Vettel again showing he's not great at handling pressure.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 14th, 2019, 12:16 pm

teems1 wrote:I agree. France was a snooze fest, but Austria and UK were brilliant.

Agreed on Austria and UK

Really feeling it for Max this time.

Vettel is a 4 time consecutive world champion, he can handle pressure... maybe not marital pressure though, that's a whole other level lol

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » July 14th, 2019, 12:58 pm

There is this old saying from MotoGP, you slow down when you get married. I think it also resonates here.
:D

Postby teems1 » July 14th, 2019, 3:48 pm

teems1 wrote:I agree. France was a snooze fest, but Austria and UK were brilliant.

Agreed on Austria and UK

Really feeling it for Max this time.

Vettel is a 4 time consecutive world champion, he can handle pressure... maybe not marital pressure though, that's a whole other level lol

Postby Monk BANzai » July 14th, 2019, 6:15 pm

agreed..since last year been saying it... But epic race this was.....Uber talent with Verstappen and Le Clerc for the future... Verstappen is going to be hard to beat in years to come..(i still doh like him..but what a driver he's becoming)...

Hamilton tho... new Silverstone record... Get in there!!!

src1983

Postby src1983 » July 14th, 2019, 8:12 pm

Anyone knows why Riccardo left Redbull. Seems he would have fit in good with the car this year

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » July 14th, 2019, 8:22 pm

While I haven't watched the race in its entirety, Verstappen has to share some of the blame with Vettel for that incident. Verstappen is still moving twice into the braking zone. He starts moving across to take the racing line and then realises that Vettel will pass him if he does that so shuts the door on the inside at which point Vettel has nowhere to go.

edit: that is a bit tough as both drivers were nowhere near the racing line entry for that corner.

That is racing.
Last edited by kamakazi on July 14th, 2019, 11:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby teems1 » July 14th, 2019, 8:28 pm

src1983 wrote:Anyone knows why Riccardo left Redbull. Seems he would have fit in good with the car this year

Tired of being a #2 driver.

Postby pete » July 14th, 2019, 9:35 pm

Funny how the reaction is "vettel is DONE, he must retire now etc"

Max closed the door, he tried to move to the right to get away but was already too close and under braking so as the front wing lost downforce behind max the front wheels locked up and he slid into him.

It does seem like he has lost his enthusiasm tho with the last two qualifying results.

Postby Ben_spanna » July 14th, 2019, 10:42 pm

Vettels head is not in the game, like he has some issues off the track that’s screwing with his racing.....

Postby Monk BANzai » July 15th, 2019, 1:26 am

pete wrote:Funny how the reaction is "vettel is DONE, he must retire now etc"

Max closed the door, he tried to move to the right to get away but was already too close and under braking so as the front wing lost downforce behind max the front wheels locked up and he slid into him.

It does seem like he has lost his enthusiasm tho with the last two qualifying results.

hmmm

https://www.formula1.com/en/video/2019/ ... clash.html

DTAC

Postby DTAC » July 15th, 2019, 9:49 am

teems1 wrote:
src1983 wrote:Anyone knows why Riccardo left Redbull. Seems he would have fit in good with the car this year

Yup. But I'd rather be #2 at the number 3 (equal #2 now I'd say) team than be #1 at a mid level team. He have to be regretting it now.
The only way Ricciardo will see Hamilton, Vetlel, Le Clerc or Verstappen behind him now is when he's being lapped..

Whoever at Renault convinced him to move must have been a Trini because I can't believe the mamaguy he had to swallow to jump from Red Bull Racing.

Postby Monk BANzai » July 15th, 2019, 2:42 pm

DTAC wrote:
teems1 wrote:

Yup. But I'd rather be #2 at the number 3 (equal #2 now I'd say) team than be #1 at a mid level team. He have to be regretting it now.
The only way Ricciardo will see Hamilton, Vetlel, Le Clerc or Verstappen behind him now is when he's being lapped..

Whoever at Renault convinced him to move must have been a Trini because I can't believe the mamaguy he had to swallow to jump from Red Bull Racing.

doh say that...you eh know what the long terms plan has been shared with him to make him siwtch.... the teams have been developing.... same when Hamilzai jumped to Merc.. a "then" losing team.... lets see what next year and 2021 saying.... you might see a fight between Honda and Renault instead of Merc and Ferrari for top seats...

Postby teems1 » July 15th, 2019, 3:49 pm

Renault is losing their only engine customer (McLaren). There are rumours they are switching back to Mercedes next season.
2021 is when the massive changes are being implemented, so I'd expect maybe 1 more year of dominance for Merc. After that it's anyone's guess.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » July 17th, 2019, 2:19 am

Where did you here this...I thought that the maximum number of teams using a particular engine is 3 and Mercedes supplies racing point, themselves and Williams.

Postby Monk BANzai » July 22nd, 2019, 4:57 am

bit of British GT racing at spa.... three wide..

Postby Monk BANzai » July 27th, 2019, 2:34 pm

Zetski

Postby Zetski » July 28th, 2019, 2:55 am

Ben_spanna wrote:Vettels head is not in the game, like he has some issues off the track that’s screwing with his racing.....

that is good news :lol:

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » July 28th, 2019, 4:45 am

I'm truly impressed with the progress of the Honda/red bull/verstappen package.
I can honestly say that they are not very far of the pace of the top teams.