Digicel 4G/HSPA+ Thread

firstchoicett

Re: DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby firstchoicett » June 1st, 2012, 1:16 pm

ok then no problem will test it in a while.

achillies

Postby achillies » June 1st, 2012, 2:37 pm

firstchoicett wrote:ok then no problem will test it in a while.

Doing a refresh to see a different ISP won't really prove anything, unless someone could outline the exact details of the deal between Digicel and Flow, they bought bandwidth, but who knows what else was bought, what external IP do you have, who does that belong to, what if Digicel can detect when someone is tethering and those users are routed differently, data is capped, so Digicel loses nothing, the user would just reach his cap a lot faster, did Digicel lease any IPs from flow, too much variables for an arbitrary speedtest to determine anything concrete

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 1st, 2012, 2:54 pm

^ I think the only issue here was that given the ping rate and ISP it seemed he was on FLOW and not 4G when he did that test.

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby rfari » June 1st, 2012, 3:20 pm

I was excited about 3/4G but now that its here I'm trying to think of reasons to have it. Will stick to EDGE for the meantime. Happy for you fellas on the hi-speed mobile data highway. Go digicel!

firstchoicett

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby firstchoicett » June 1st, 2012, 8:43 pm

I got 25 MB today when I test 200 meters away from a cell site inside a car . I have the link to . I was not even near to a Flows connection . But the. I got like 7-10 MB .

It's showing up as Digicel Trinidad and Tobago . IP 2XX.XXX.XXX.XXX.

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 1st, 2012, 9:47 pm

firstchoicett wrote:I got 25 MB today when I test 200 meters away from a cell site inside a car . I have the link to . I was not even near to a Flows connection . But the. I got like 7-10 MB .

Lol u gonna exceed your data limit just from doing speed tests.

25 mb?! That ish cray

firstchoicett

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby firstchoicett » June 1st, 2012, 11:22 pm

Nah that limit like it don't want to go down man .

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 2nd, 2012, 7:35 am

rfari wrote:I was excited about 3/4G but now that its here I'm trying to think of reasons to have it. Will stick to EDGE for the meantime. Happy for you fellas on the hi-speed mobile data highway. Go digicel!

EDGE moving faster now, I waiting for my current package to expire then I'll switch, right now there is no plan that rivals freeternity

napster

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby napster » June 2nd, 2012, 12:55 pm

Today I'm testing it again and I find I am getting very high pings .... Anyone else have that problem 2 day ???
200ms plus pings and I was in arouca highway south all over

Postby M_2NR » June 2nd, 2012, 1:07 pm

Please keep yuh post in one na man

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
rfari wrote:I was excited about 3/4G but now that its here I'm trying to think of reasons to have it. Will stick to EDGE for the meantime. Happy for you fellas on the hi-speed mobile data highway. Go digicel!

EDGE moving faster now, I waiting for my current package to expire then I'll switch, right now there is no plan that rivals freeternity

ent! the 99$ one is sweet.

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 2nd, 2012, 3:23 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
firstchoicett wrote:I got 25 MB today when I test 200 meters away from a cell site inside a car . I have the link to . I was not even near to a Flows connection . But the. I got like 7-10 MB .

Lol u gonna exceed your data limit just from doing speed tests.

25 mb?! That ish cray

Especially since the upper limit is 21Mb. :shock:

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 2nd, 2012, 5:37 pm

Though i would share it.

But now i get like 4-9MB at home but when i go out the road closer to the tower i get like 10 mb +

PapaC

Postby PapaC » June 3rd, 2012, 2:14 pm

M_2NR wrote:Please keep yuh post in one na man

Care to share the details?

Postby M_2NR » June 3rd, 2012, 4:39 pm

PapaC wrote:
M_2NR wrote:Please keep yuh post in one na man

Care to share the details?

its a plan from two years ago.
It's expired now. they did a new one last year but 99$ is now a social plan with free calls to the uwi CUG. check uwi digicel for details.

Postby ismithx » June 3rd, 2012, 4:54 pm

you mean the campus plans they had??????

firstchoicett

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby firstchoicett » June 3rd, 2012, 5:03 pm

ismithx wrote:you mean the campus plans they had??????

yea I feel that's it self .

firstchoicett

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby firstchoicett » June 8th, 2012, 7:01 pm

Saw on the papers today Digicel Got the s3 for 5000 prepaid wonder what Coperate price will be .

R-H-D

Postby R-H-D » June 14th, 2012, 7:23 pm

Just warning the prepaid users if you all deactivate your 3G plans from digicel make sure and disable data on your cell otherwise your money will run out automatically. Happened to a couple of people I know one person toped up $300 and it ran out in 2 days. Digicel customer reps were like well uh left on your data thats why. So just a heads up

Postby S_2NR » June 14th, 2012, 8:05 pm

R-H-D wrote:Just warning the prepaid users if you all deactivate your 3G plans from digicel make sure and disable data on your cell otherwise your money will run out automatically. Happened to a couple of people I know one person toped up $300 and it ran out in 2 days. Digicel customer reps were like well uh left on your data thats why. So just a heads up

top up $300?

how stupid, why not just get post paid

R-H-D

Postby R-H-D » June 14th, 2012, 8:17 pm

S_2NR wrote:
R-H-D wrote:Just warning the prepaid users if you all deactivate your 3G plans from digicel make sure and disable data on your cell otherwise your money will run out automatically. Happened to a couple of people I know one person toped up $300 and it ran out in 2 days. Digicel customer reps were like well uh left on your data thats why. So just a heads up

top up $300?

how stupid, why not just get post paid

thats what she topped up with $300 normally that lasts 2 months
how is it stupid? Your comment sounds stupid
Anyhow just want to inform individuals to make sure and turn off your data if you deactivate your 3g plan on a digicel prepaid sim.

Postby S_2NR » June 14th, 2012, 8:21 pm

it would be more cost effective for her to get post paid. but its her money, she can waste it if she wants. :lol:

src1983

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby src1983 » June 14th, 2012, 8:34 pm

But how come the funds run out?

Was she accessing data??

PapaC

Postby PapaC » June 14th, 2012, 8:39 pm

Anybody used the MIFI that Digicel are offering?
And i am wondering about the data cap that it comes with, how fast you think it will run out if you are using multiple devices.

firstchoicett

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby firstchoicett » June 14th, 2012, 8:51 pm

^ I play with it a few times top out at 7mb/2mb and yes it Cap.

Postby Stephon. » June 14th, 2012, 9:10 pm

S_2NR wrote:it would be more cost effective for her to get post paid. but its her money, she can waste it if she wants. :lol:

She wasted it the second she stepped into a Digicel branch.

R-H-D

Postby R-H-D » June 14th, 2012, 9:25 pm

src1983 wrote:

But how come the funds run out?

Was she accessing data??

She was using a Nokia Lumia 800 windows cell and forgot to turn of data after she deactivated her prepaid 1GB plan.
Remember digicel sends the apn settings and it stays on your cell even after you deactivate. The thing that sucks is that she was not using any data services after she topped up and deactivated 4g. However the service reps said the money ran down because she had data turned on. Digicel has an automatic data internet service on prepaid sims once you have the correct APN settings and $$. The thing with Smart phones if you have apps open that require an internet connection it will utilize data. So my point being either turn of data or delete the apn if you deactivate your 4G plan.

firstchoicett

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby firstchoicett » June 15th, 2012, 7:38 am

That same thing happen to me a year ago on my iPhone when I had EDGE I forget to turn it off on my post paid account when I got the bill it was 1000.09 for 5 days I was like wTF I told Digicel they suppose to turn it off completely from account and they refund me the money .

R-H-D

Postby R-H-D » June 15th, 2012, 7:53 am

firstchoicett wrote:That same thing happen to me a year ago on my iPhone when I had EDGE I forget to turn it off on my post paid account when I got the bill it was 1000.09 for 5 days I was like wTF I told Digicel they suppose to turn it off completely from account and they refund me the money .

Prepaid they not refunding a ¢, agree with them but the least Digicel can do is send a notification text to the customer advising to turn data off or also make sure the APN settings deleted, but they only send a text saying to turn off your cell when you deactivate a 4G plan.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 15th, 2012, 9:44 pm

Mine was up a few days ago. Didn't renew it though. Too expensive right now. Awaiting bmobile 4g by end of the year.

Out of the 2GB plan I had like over 1300MB left on the last day. Realized that I just didn't need this but was curious the first time to try it. Worked wonderful though. But too expensive for me right now.

I convinced a few co workers to buy one of them cheap $400 galaxy Y with the 4G plans and experience the android market games and stuff. People that never used a smartphone and internet before and never cared.

Since then they can't do without a smartphone and that internet LOL

firstchoicett

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby firstchoicett » June 15th, 2012, 11:17 pm

I got ah joke to buss on you ...... 3 birds outside 2 Bmobile and 1 Digicel . So the 2 Bmobile birds sitting in the wire but the Digicel bird sitting on nothing but he normal . The Bmobile birds ask " how come you floating Digicel ? Digicel replied " I got WireLess Powered by 4G ............. :-)