Sound Systems Discussion, please read first post

Would you support a local P.A. System / DJ Forum???

Yes
88%
No
12%

Total votes: 167

westaudio

Re: P.A. Systems, DJ Systems, Pro audio men.....

Postby westaudio » October 29th, 2014, 11:55 am

2 QSC MX 2000 $4000 for one
1 QSC PLX 2402 $2500
AND MORE AMPS
CALL 3075742
Last edited by westaudio on November 10th, 2014, 8:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby SmokeyGTi » November 1st, 2014, 9:31 pm

Fellers what power amp do you suggest I get that puts out 1000wrms @4ohms?
Using this for some single 18 passive sub's.
Looking for best bang for buck here.

kaylex

Postby kaylex » November 2nd, 2014, 9:46 am

question..

have two gvx gemini 18 subs... Dont really like the rs series .. and how they sound for tops...

what do you guys suggest..??

also thinking of getting a processor to drive these things ... what you suggest.. bang for buck /???

marvin23

Postby marvin23 » November 3rd, 2014, 7:55 am

hey man, i agree with u on the gemini rs......passed through a pair...they barely pulled through even as monitors...

for tops to match those subs (had one of those also)...i suggest a pair of the behringer b215d (about 6000 for the pair)...these are exceptional performers for the price. if your budget is higher, you cant go wrong with the new jbl eon 615 (around 9k for a pair)...this is just my opinion.

here's a link provided by cet (located in maritime plaza, barataria)..http://myemail.constantcontact.com/Powe ... bU...(this version is a bit old though)

as for processors..i dont have much experience with those...however my cousin has a dbx driverack on a pair of jbl g2's and it really makes those old g2s shine.......

Postby SmokeyGTi » November 10th, 2014, 8:21 am

Kaylex, you can get the dbx driverack px,
it's among the cheapest of the driverack series while still giving you dbx quality sound. they are marketed towards those with powered speakers.
someone has one for sale in the miscellaneous section for $1800.

guys i'm in the market for some passive tops, i have about 400wrms at 8 ohms or 600wrms at 4 ohms to play with. they need to be loud, looking to highpass them at about 90-100hz. message me if you got.

message me if you have anything.

Postby SmokeyGTi » November 14th, 2014, 8:23 am

update: also looking for a 4 space rack case

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 18th, 2014, 9:04 pm

Fellas I need some help urgently. I need to move some heavy speaker boxes without handles and heavy amps. They are located In hilly area inaccessible to vehicles. Shortish walk then up a hill where vehicle is parked. Looking for ideas that will make this process easier with limited manpower. Thanks in advance.

Postby X_Factor » November 18th, 2014, 9:34 pm

scrap the amp rack, carry an amp at a time...especially if the rack has 5000vz.....pain!

as for the boxes, all you need is 4 fellas...each grab a corner and that should be easyish

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 18th, 2014, 9:57 pm

Looking like Il definitely have to scrap the rack. Trying to make up something to make griping the boxes easier

Postby gt4tified » November 19th, 2014, 8:27 am

Where locally can I get a pair of Shure M44-7 cartridges with needles to buy?

Postby X_Factor » November 19th, 2014, 11:21 am

try balroops

DJ

Postby DJ » November 19th, 2014, 4:25 pm

racedriverpro wrote:Fellas I need some help urgently. I need to move some heavy speaker boxes without handles and heavy amps. They are located In hilly area inaccessible to vehicles. Shortish walk then up a hill where vehicle is parked. Looking for ideas that will make this process easier with limited manpower. Thanks in advance.

Jeez man, it must have a track or something? How did it get there? Can't a trolley work to bring out the equipment?

By the way, de hell ah man doing with all that music in a place 'inaccessible' to vehicles? Helicopter bring it? How it have Electricity there? the T&TEC helicopter? And water?

Oh on a more serious note, maybe you could also try taking the speakers out the box so they will be much lighter.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 19th, 2014, 5:33 pm

^^yea it have a narrow track the boxes were built and assembled where they stand loaded with single jbl 2226. It ain't impossible just trying to make the move and return easier.

nesha1717

Postby nesha1717 » November 20th, 2014, 5:53 pm

Advice on a backyard system: I initially considered gemini rs415 & gvx 18" sub but after reading some threads no way. Then I considered a ev zlx115p alone. Then thought of a Yorkville nx750p alone. Then I heard an ev zlx 12" alone, nice and clean but lack some lows. Then I heard the jbl prx735, wowwww. All in one package for 9K. The ev etx35p is also 9k. The jbl prx725 is also 9k. Which is the best? Are these good prices? Should I consider a 1 X 1 instead of the three way full range? Advantage/Disadvantage? What's a good 1 X 1 combination? Where have good prices? Thanks!

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 20th, 2014, 5:56 pm

JBL or Yorkville. Rent a amp dealers for jbl usually have good prices. 1x1 gives better quality.

westaudio

Postby westaudio » November 21st, 2014, 1:50 am

Have a wharfedale pro 1800 going for $2200

DJ

Postby DJ » November 21st, 2014, 1:34 pm

nesha1717 wrote:Advice on a backyard system: I initially considered gemini rs415 & gvx 18" sub but after reading some threads no way. Then I considered a ev zlx115p alone. Then thought of a Yorkville nx750p alone. Then I heard an ev zlx 12" alone, nice and clean but lack some lows. Then I heard the jbl prx735, wowwww. All in one package for 9K. The ev etx35p is also 9k. The jbl prx725 is also 9k. Which is the best? Are these good prices? Should I consider a 1 X 1 instead of the three way full range? Advantage/Disadvantage? What's a good 1 X 1 combination? Where have good prices? Thanks!

If there was any 'best' system out there, everyone would have had it. It all boils down to the following criteria:
1) Budget
2) Size constraints? (Transport / mobility issues?)
3) Application (DJ, PA, or both?)
4) How long you plan to keep it? (some cheap systems sound good, but does not last, and parts difficult to get)

You need to do the work and tailor a system for your own taste and requirements.

The best 1X1 combination I heard was a Bose setup. Absolutely phenomenal. I could never afford that though.

Reddis

Postby Reddis » November 21st, 2014, 2:19 pm

DJ wrote:
nesha1717 wrote:Advice on a backyard system: I initially considered gemini rs415 & gvx 18" sub but after reading some threads no way. Then I considered a ev zlx115p alone. Then thought of a Yorkville nx750p alone. Then I heard an ev zlx 12" alone, nice and clean but lack some lows. Then I heard the jbl prx735, wowwww. All in one package for 9K. The ev etx35p is also 9k. The jbl prx725 is also 9k. Which is the best? Are these good prices? Should I consider a 1 X 1 instead of the three way full range? Advantage/Disadvantage? What's a good 1 X 1 combination? Where have good prices? Thanks!

If there was any 'best' system out there, everyone would have had it. It all boils down to the following criteria:
1) Budget
2) Size constraints? (Transport / mobility issues?)
3) Application (DJ, PA, or both?)
4) How long you plan to keep it? (some cheap systems sound good, but does not last, and parts difficult to get)

You need to do the work and tailor a system for your own taste and requirements.

The best 1X1 combination I heard was a Bose setup. Absolutely phenomenal. I could never afford that though.

Another factor could be what type of venue (indoor or outdoor).
I think Bose is definitely top of the line in performance.Heard them a few times in indoor applications and they were great, but they are very expensive.
JBL and Yorkville are two very good buys.
I prefer the yorkville because of the power and they can work in both indoor and outdoor applications

nesha1717

Postby nesha1717 » November 21st, 2014, 5:39 pm

Thanks for the responses! 1X1 for sure. JBL for me, Yorkville too pricey. Budget 10K.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 21st, 2014, 5:43 pm

^^ cool. Btw u wud be able to get an indoor demo of the jbls at rent a amp.

trishala

Postby trishala » November 21st, 2014, 5:59 pm

I have a pair of Denon hs5500 players for sale
$5000.00 for the pair

Message me if u interested

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 24th, 2014, 11:50 pm

Anybody familiar with American audio V-01 plus series amplifiers? I have a 2001 and one of the fans doesn't switch on. I opened up the amp and confirmed that the fan is working by switching it with the other....

kaylex

Postby kaylex » November 25th, 2014, 7:08 am

I need some tops for XMAS?? what you guys suggest?
I dont like RS - gemini and I heard the Behringers is la la. Budget is 6 k .. what you suggest

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » November 25th, 2014, 11:17 am

kaylex wrote:I need some tops for XMAS?? what you guys suggest?
I dont like RS - gemini and I heard the Behringers is la la. Budget is 6 k .. what you suggest

which behringer are you refering to? cause the B215D is one of the best bang for buck self powered tops you can find. The newer boxes with the built in players an bluetooth however is a waste of time!

Kasey

Postby Kasey » November 25th, 2014, 10:24 pm

cressida_override wrote:
kaylex wrote:I need some tops for XMAS?? what you guys suggest?

which behringer are you refering to? cause the B215D is one of the best bang for buck self powered tops you can find. The newer boxes with the built in players an bluetooth however is a waste of time!

I agree. For a budget of 6k, the Behringer are the best u'll get. Gemini, and all the followers is a waste. I think the sound stream that steves brings down sounds ok too eh, but I have not done a side by side comparison to the behringers cause I don't know anyone personally who has the boxes

Black_Primera

Postby Black_Primera » November 25th, 2014, 10:58 pm

What about the upgraded mackie thumps (2014)...they have been getting great reviews, so too the Alto Professional TS115A, made by numark i believe...Of course the behringer b115. This is going just from reviews. U might have to speak to someone who owns them or go listen them yourself.

http://www.samash.com/thump15-1000w-15-active-pa-loudspeaker-single-mthump15x-p
http://www.amazon.com/Alto-Professional-TS115A-Loudspeaker-Built-In/dp/B005FUWTRC
http://www.amazon.com/Behringer-B115MP3-BEHRINGER-EUROLIVE/dp/B007KZQMZU/ref=sr_1_3?s=musical-instruments&ie=UTF8&qid=1416970579&sr=1-3&keywords=b115&pebp=1416970622815

All are around 3k locally..

Talibansound

Postby Talibansound » November 29th, 2014, 2:02 am

Cool thread you guys have going here.. Read almost all pages so far ..have a small system looking for some tips in the djing aspect of things .. Using pioneer ddjsx .. Can't seem to get my timing right .. This is what I have so far jus started it off late last year ....
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1417240942.627766.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1417240831.366075.jpg

Talibansound

Postby Talibansound » November 29th, 2014, 2:09 am

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1417241196.827226.jpg

This is what I have power wise topp pro for subs,cs400 for ten inch high mids,peavey 1200 for 15 inch low mids and sound barrier sba1300 for highs..

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 29th, 2014, 2:18 am

Talibansound wrote:Cool thread you guys have going here.. Read almost all pages so far ..have a small system looking for some tips in the djing aspect of things .. Using pioneer ddjsx .. Can't seem to get my timing right .. This is what I have so far jus started it off late last year ....

just keep practicing man

you have a good controller there

to practice timing and stuff I just loop a random beat , then set cue points to stuff like instruments/vocals and I try to make a song

Talibansound

Postby Talibansound » November 29th, 2014, 2:38 am

Did couple parties , a wedding...didn't do bad !! But got to get it better....think I play songs a bit too long..!varies on type doh ... I usually go on what the crowd wants, rather than focus in what I actually practiced and put into crates ..So all an all changing from soca to cuntney to old soca to dancehall becomes very hard for me ... But thanks for the advise so far...