Building a house in Trinidad

urbandilema

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby urbandilema » March 6th, 2017, 4:47 pm

Getting land :.Scotia does take 10 percent nit taking into considzeration legal and valuation and all the frills attached with getting the land..also republic requires 20% down payment for the land you looking to acquire..so technically the land have to have the approvals from tc and the required jazz for buying with them.however I didn't check rbc or ttmf or either fcb..also Scotia home indemnity is built into to loan if u looking for land...

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 6th, 2017, 5:26 pm

Well said Urban and Adnj. I know for one I do not have the time nor the patience to buy land and build. I will surely crack someone with a good 2x4.

Postby rspann » March 6th, 2017, 5:51 pm

Some people rather not build. Me, I making sure I know what under my tiles and paint yes. There are people who build to sell and cut corners, you see it showing up years after. I saw men using 1/4" steel for stirrups, soakaway built with soft stones that melted after use. Plumbing problems ,electrical ,you name it.

carluva

Postby carluva » March 6th, 2017, 9:58 pm

^^ agreed. I built my home and would do it again if i had to. And it would be better cause i have a wealth of knowledge more

Re: RE: Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby adnj » March 7th, 2017, 5:52 am

Now you're talking about the real problem: How can a person demonstrate that the home that they are selling was well built?

No approvals. Improper setback and grade. The wrong steel was used. No termite treatment. No earthquake design. Not enough cement in the mix. Floors aren't level. Plaster too thin. Doorways too small. Passageways too narrow. Wires and pipes are the wrong size. Walls aren't plumb. Poor lighting. Incorrect grounding. Poor drainage. Incorrect waste treatment. No as-built drawings. And the layout makes no sense.

Before the sale of an existing home, a proper home inspection can/will uncover most problems.

If you build it yourself and can't prove that you did it right (and nearly none of the people that I've met can), you may have a house that needs to be drastically discounted to ever sell. If it can even be sold at all.

rspann wrote:Some people rather not build. Me, I making sure I know what under my tiles and paint yes. There are people who build to sell and cut corners, you see it showing up years after. I saw men using 1/4" steel for stirrups, soakaway built with soft stones that melted after use. Plumbing problems ,electrical ,you name it.

Postby De Dragon » March 7th, 2017, 6:44 am

adnj wrote:Now you're talking about the real problem: How can a person demonstrate that the home that they are selling was well built?

No approvals. Improper setback and grade. The wrong steel was used. No termite treatment. No earthquake design. Not enough cement in the mix. Floors aren't level. Plaster too thin. Doorways too small. Passageways too narrow. Wires and pipes are the wrong size. Walls aren't plumb. Poor lighting. Incorrect grounding. Poor drainage. Incorrect waste treatment. No as-built drawings. And the layout makes no sense.

Before the sale of an existing home, a proper home inspection can/will uncover most problems.

If you build it yourself and can't prove that you did it right (and nearly none of the people that I've met can), you may have a house that needs to be drastically discounted to ever sell. If it can even be sold at all.

rspann wrote:Some people rather not build. Me, I making sure I know what under my tiles and paint yes. There are people who build to sell and cut corners, you see it showing up years after. I saw men using 1/4" steel for stirrups, soakaway built with soft stones that melted after use. Plumbing problems ,electrical ,you name it.

Don't assume that, in fact that is the easiest thing to verify. How can you tell how much cement was "enough", or that the plaster was of the desired thickness?

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » March 7th, 2017, 7:33 am

A proper home inspection as pointed out above will only reveal what can be seen, there is no way of telling what size piles were used, foundation depth, floor reinforcement, spacing of supports etc. Even 'As builts' can be falsified. I've seen instances where houses were mass built and the quality control was poor, water for concrete mixing was used from a ravine, honeycomb concrete was covered with plaster, piling to the wrong depth etc. Too many residential contractors out there cut cost even where critical work is being done.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 7th, 2017, 7:35 am

What does "Town and Country" approvals mean for agriculture land ? What do you guys think about this option ? I mean 2 acres is a nice spread. Image

Postby rspann » March 7th, 2017, 7:44 am

lalloboy101 wrote:A proper home inspection as pointed out above will only reveal what can be seen, there is no way of telling what size piles were used, foundation depth, floor reinforcement, spacing of supports etc. Even 'As builts' can be falsified. I've seen instances where houses were mass built and the quality control was poor, water for concrete mixing was used from a ravine, honeycomb concrete was covered with plaster, piling to the wrong depth etc. Too many residential contractors out there cut cost even where critical work is being done.

Unless you have xray vision. 8-)

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 7th, 2017, 7:47 am

rspann wrote:
lalloboy101 wrote:A proper home inspection as pointed out above will only reveal what can be seen, there is no way of telling what size piles were used, foundation depth, floor reinforcement, spacing of supports etc. Even 'As builts' can be falsified. I've seen instances where houses were mass built and the quality control was poor, water for concrete mixing was used from a ravine, honeycomb concrete was covered with plaster, piling to the wrong depth etc. Too many residential contractors out there cut cost even where critical work is being done.

Unless you have xray vision. 8-)

Why all yuh so - almost make me choke on meh sada.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » March 7th, 2017, 9:49 am

V2NR 3.0 wrote:Well said Urban and Adnj. I know for one I do not have the time nor the patience to buy land and build. I will surely crack someone with a good 2x4.

Well I really to get a pc of land that's how I know the stats I've been saving for ah while been hard with everything going up but I try..also I can't buy a house cash if I wanted too as I only qualify for a loan for a certain amount..I. agree with many of uall with the building as I get blank plenty times with hdc so I said I go buy a pc of land and save and do it stage by stage..at the end of the day wifey supporting me and agreeing with my concept

Postby Chimera » March 7th, 2017, 11:51 am

daz a next thing eh

imagine if yuh take a 20 year loan to buy a house and after 2 years....things real start to fall apart

plumbing issues...electrical issues...roof leaking and effing up the ceiling

houses does come with warranty?

blacks

Postby blacks » March 7th, 2017, 10:47 pm

Hey guys not trying to hijack d tread but I'm looking for some tiles dat i ran out of
Place i bought doesn't hv any more of it an wudn't b bringing any more. Checked all other tile stores an no 1 has it

Am looking for about 20 pieces an its 18"x18"

If anyone hv dat no longer using or if dey knows someone who has an is willing to sell dem it wud b greatly appreciated tanx a lot

You pm me or my no. Is 306-1001 Image

Postby nervewrecker » March 8th, 2017, 7:44 am

V2NR 3.0 wrote:What does "Town and Country" approvals mean for agriculture land ? What do you guys think about this option ? I mean 2 acres is a nice spread. Image

They maybe mean lights, water and roads nearby. Afaik if you have all that you can apply and get it converted from agri to residential. And price increases drastically with that.
T&C approvals takes a while to obtain as well.

Its fair price. But putting down the infrastructure can cost a small raise. Profitable in the end if you looking to sell later on.

Postby sMASH » March 8th, 2017, 1:54 pm

I may be mistaken but that could be the Caroni vsep land.
If so, it MAY/MIGHT only be for agricultural purposes because they gave farmworkers residential lots as well.

The agri plots were only allowed a 10' x 10' structure to store tools.

Not sure if they can be given approved for building a house on it.

Just do some research with the Caroni office in the brechen castle office and with the regional corporation in couva to confirm...

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » March 8th, 2017, 7:37 pm

sMASH wrote:I may be mistaken but that could be the Caroni vsep land.
If so, it MAY/MIGHT only be for agricultural purposes because they gave farmworkers residential lots as well.

The agri plots were only allowed a 10' x 10' structure to store tools.

Not sure if they can be given approved for building a house on it.

Just do some research with the Caroni office in the brechen castle office and with the regional corporation in couva to confirm...

I think these lands are too agri for ex vecep caroni workers..I think adb giving loans but for agriculture purpose..I think lease for these are 40 years but I dunno I may be corrected..the residential land is 99 years..but the tuner shud know also you could get land in couva and waterloo side for sale just you gotta look

toscati

Postby toscati » March 11th, 2017, 10:25 am

Hey everyone, can anyone give me the names of reliable home builders in Tobago specifically?
And contact numbers if you have.
Thinking about getting land in Tobago

Postby gt4tified » March 12th, 2017, 3:30 am

Has anyone tried to build a bunker/underground cellar?

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » March 20th, 2017, 7:22 pm

Which order do you think is best: paint first or floors first?

Postby rspann » March 20th, 2017, 7:59 pm

]
lancer3 wrote:Which order do you think is best: paint first or floors first?

I giving you some priceless information for free. When you finish plastering, prepare prime and paint before you do anything else. Ceilings, tiles, cupboards, outside soffits. it's very hard to get grout ,thinset or mortar off bare walls,even if you scrape it it will leave imprints. Scraping off from the paint is easy. Trying to paint walls after ceiling and soffits need taping or else it's a mess. What I do is to put on two coats of paint ,do the ceilings, and soffits and then the tiles . When everything is complete I put on the last coat without going up to the last quarter of an inch to the ceiling, (outside too) there is no need to tape. Paint down to the tiles and then put on the pre-painted skirting, so there is only touching up left on the skirting.
Last edited by rspann on March 20th, 2017, 8:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby adnj » March 20th, 2017, 8:00 pm

If we're talking interiors, level the floors, prime and paint, install flooring, then touch up the walls. When you install carpeting, you paint then carpet.

Postby rspann » March 20th, 2017, 8:10 pm

]If you level the floors without primer on the walls, the slush, or any of the mixture that goes on the bare walls ,is almost impossible to clean easily or properly. It's easy to remove from primer.

Postby pugboy » March 20th, 2017, 8:28 pm

very good advice, esp before doors etc go up

Postby rspann » March 20th, 2017, 8:39 pm

I sometime have to do 40 or 60 doors, I have a guy that ,seals ,spray paint ,install the locks and put up the doors for $100 each.

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » March 20th, 2017, 9:03 pm

rspann wrote:I sometime have to do 40 or 60 doors, I have a guy that ,seals ,spray paint ,install the locks and put up the doors for $100 each.

Thats a rel good price.

carluva

Postby carluva » March 21st, 2017, 5:41 am

rspann wrote:]

I giving you some priceless information for free. When you finish plastering, prepare prime and paint before you do anything else. Ceilings, tiles, cupboards, outside soffits. it's very hard to get grout ,thinset or mortar off bare walls,even if you scrape it it will leave imprints. Scraping off from the paint is easy. Trying to paint walls after ceiling and soffits need taping or else it's a mess. What I do is to put on two coats of paint ,do the ceilings, and soffits and then the tiles . When everything is complete I put on the last coat without going up to the last quarter of an inch to the ceiling, (outside too) there is no need to tape. Paint down to the tiles and then put on the pre-painted skirting, so there is only touching up left on the skirting.

Ditto. Thats what i did. Andwhen all flooring and cupboards were done, did a final top coat.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » March 24th, 2017, 12:50 pm

Spann, send me aa number for a someone that dose gypsum ceiling please.
Thanks.

Postby rspann » March 24th, 2017, 5:05 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Spann, send me aa number for a someone that dose gypsum ceiling please.
Thanks.

Randy Balwant, Randy's Custom Interiors. 685 2949. If you want A-class work at reasonable prices. He has done work for me over ten years ago, and it still like new. Just finished a house ,I'll put some pics tonight.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » March 24th, 2017, 5:18 pm

Question anyone knows how long does it actually take to find out if your land is town and country approved..I went today to request mines and filled the form and did the sketch of my location

Postby nervewrecker » March 24th, 2017, 5:37 pm

To all who ask and all who pm about the contractor, I will get the number next week.