:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 29th, 2013, 10:59 am

[X]~Outlaw wrote:I'd just drill a small hole in the metal backing of the remote to the top and use a chain or key ring to attach it to the key.

X2 duct tape and crazy glue eh make much sence there.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 29th, 2013, 11:16 am

I had that problem and someone made a leather sack for me. With holes for the buttons

Sent from my GT-P3110 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby pioneer » May 6th, 2013, 10:19 pm

Before this thread suffers the same fate as others, aware me on a good 120V jigsaw?

Postby X_Factor » May 6th, 2013, 10:26 pm

i have this one and it works excellent, speed control, 6amps
http://www.amazon.com/Porter-Cable-PC60 ... ds=jig+saw

but most important, get good blades!
the bosch progressors are amazing!

aidan

Postby aidan » May 6th, 2013, 10:55 pm

X_Factor wrote:i have this one and it works excellent, speed control, 6amps
http://www.amazon.com/Porter-Cable-PC60 ... ds=jig+saw

but most important, get good blades!
the bosch progressors are amazing!

I have this same jigsaw! Bought it last year. It works great and the speed control is very good too!

I'm looking for a good quality hose reel. I'm fedup of my hose getting driven over when its left outside. I bought a good one now, but packing up is always a chore. Any recommendations? I want something like this: http://www.amazon.com/Yard-Butler-HT-2EZ-2-Wheeled-175-Foot/dp/B000ZOPXPS/ref=sr_1_14?ie=UTF8&qid=1367893854&sr=8-14&keywords=hose+reel
If I can get one locally that will be great.

Postby pioneer » May 6th, 2013, 11:53 pm

Bhagwansingh's have decent ones...some automatic too

But let me not say more before this thread goes to piss an chit

Postby pugboy » May 7th, 2013, 4:30 am

bosch jigsaws are very good
I have an older one

Postby X_Factor » May 7th, 2013, 7:09 am

Home store in san juan has some really good hose reels

Postby pioneer » May 12th, 2013, 7:52 pm

Anyone wanna aware me on where to get a decent ratcheting crimper locally?

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » May 12th, 2013, 9:30 pm

Pioneer, check modern electrical in marabella or khanico in gasparillo... I know for sure they both have

Postby pioneer » May 12th, 2013, 9:30 pm

Any idea on price?...make ah turn an check nah I from north...

Postby pioneer » May 12th, 2013, 9:33 pm

Also if you can take a pic showing the brand and model?

Thanks

Postby joker » May 12th, 2013, 9:42 pm

Postby X_Factor » May 12th, 2013, 11:40 pm

pios, yuh know u better off gettin it off amazon and skybox, wont cost more than 200 depending on which u choose
i saw one i think in farfan, or tool time and it was atleast 300

Postby javishm » May 12th, 2013, 11:47 pm

check modern electrical in el dorado then

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » May 13th, 2013, 8:35 pm

pios best bet is to buy online and ship ... saw a $20usd crimper for well over $400ttd twas a klein i was like wtf

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » May 19th, 2013, 9:20 pm

Amazon has some deals on Dewalt and Makita for Father's Day. I think I may buy a Dewalt router (had my eyes on the Bosch combo), since it's now $25 off.

Postby Chimera » May 19th, 2013, 11:00 pm

i want a hilti yes, eh really wanna pay new price because I dont need a new one

eyeing some used TE25's on ebay for between 120-$200 US

btw i end up drilling a hole through the remote housing and putting a tie strap. it good now

Postby pioneer » May 20th, 2013, 6:53 pm

Picked this up over the weekend at pricesmark...love the fact it can fold away

http://www.amazon.com/Keter-17182239-Fo ... work+table

Also

When I banned I tend to shop alot to lessen the pain :(

Postby javishm » May 20th, 2013, 7:16 pm

how much u paid for the table saw?

Postby pioneer » May 20th, 2013, 9:29 pm

my bad...$3200 via Raptor

Table was $550 but going quick, I saw a whole set on 11th May, I happened to pass back on the 18th and realized there were like 10 more remaining (if so much). I pulled the trigger, when I picked up mine another oldish dude picked up one also. Got it at chaguanas pricesmark.

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 25th, 2013, 6:18 pm

I am going to be in the market for a large compressor.

Anywhere around 5 Hp, 60-80 Gal, 18+ SCFM @90 PSI

I am leaning towards a multi cylinder single stage unit, however, can anyone say what the real world advantages of a dual stage unit are?

I won't be using anything at 175 PSI possible on a dual stage and the single stage tends to have a higher SCFM than dual stage of equivalent power rating.

Sanctifier, i know you usually say dual stage, what's your reasoning and/or advantages that i may not have considered.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » May 25th, 2013, 11:44 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:I am going to be in the market for a large compressor.
Anywhere around 5 Hp, 60-80 Gal, 18+ SCFM @90 PSI

I am leaning towards a multi cylinder single stage unit, however, can anyone say what the real world advantages of a dual stage unit are?
I won't be using anything at 175 PSI possible on a dual stage and the single stage tends to have a higher SCFM than dual stage of equivalent power rating.

Sanctifier, i know you usually say dual stage, what's your reasoning and/or advantages that i may not have considered.

its more efficient (cheaper electricity bill), air pressure builds back up quicker (cheaper electricity bill), it has a higher supply pressure (cheaper electricity bill) and probably be the last compressor you will buy
You'll find that most single-stage ads are a rip-off... Totally misleading. Always comparing "apples & oranges" to fool the customer.

More important, two-stage units are usually built to a much higher (industrial) standard than single-stage units.
Whichever you buy, stay away from alloy pumps... CAST-IRON ONLY!
Also you don't run any equipment that I know of (at least at DIY level) at 175 psi. You set the compressor's output with a pressure regulator set at 80 psi (or whatever the OEM advises) for the air-tool being used.
if you buy too small a compressor, you will regret it every time you use it.
These links will give you much more expert advise than my novice's opinion...
Link--> Single vs 2 stage air compressors?.

Link--> Compressor - Single vs. Dual Stage.

Their $0.02¢ :wink:

BTW my compressor is finally being installed as we speak... The specs will give you a guide when comparing other units.
MANUFACTURER: CompAir.
MAKE: ............ Kellog American.
DESCRIPTION: ... 5 HP / 2-Stage (175 psi) / 80 gallon Vertical Receiver.
MOTOR: .......... Baldor 5 HP / 230 volt / Single Phase.

PUMP:.............. Number of Cycles: ....... 2
...................... Bore LP / HP: ............ 4.75 & 2.5
...................... Stroke: .................... 3
...................... HP Range: ................ 3 - 5
...................... Speed RPM -1750 Motor: 418 / 810
...................... PSI: ........................ 60 to 200
...................... Normal Free CFM: ...... 10.1 / 20

. . . Image

Remember... eBay is your friend! Just be careful who you buy from. Their seller status is often a good guide.

My $0.02¢
Last edited by Sanctifier on May 2nd, 2015, 4:47 am, edited 6 times in total.

Postby Chimera » May 26th, 2013, 9:43 am

I have some 32" TV's without vesa mounting holes

does anyone know of a mounting plate that would make them vesa compatible?

I guess something to hold the top and bottom and then have the holes for a vesa mounting bracket?

saw this, $110 US but looking for a cheaper option

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » May 26th, 2013, 10:49 am

Sanctifier, that's a beast of a compressor.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » May 26th, 2013, 12:52 pm

Ent! that compressor is sweet!

In a few months I'll be in the market for a dust collection and air filtration system. I need it to filter particles down to one micron.

So far I've been looking at JET's offerings.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » May 26th, 2013, 12:55 pm

Thanks riot.
Sanctifier wrote:Yup, it's a 2nd-hand unit... Yup, I was lucky, it's in GREAT condition... Yup it only cost US $520.00 then... but US in-land freight and int'l shipping charges to T&T was a killer!...
It was a "local pickup only" sale (No shipping!)... I had to work some SERIOUS MAGIC to get it from one end of Florida to the other... all while staying in T&T!

Total Landed Cost was still only about US $1,300 five years ago...At that time eBay compressors were selling for about US $800-$900.00. Back then, a local equivalent was around TT $35-$40,000!

Yup, it should be around for my great grandchildren to use. :lol:
...but still I wish I had bought a 7.5 hp two-stage compressor back then when prices were MUCH lower. :lol:

My $0.02¢
Last edited by Sanctifier on May 26th, 2013, 2:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » May 26th, 2013, 1:37 pm

[X]~Outlaw wrote:Ent! that compressor is sweet!
In a few months I'll be in the market for a dust collection and air filtration system. I need it to filter particles down to one micron.

So far I've been looking at JET's offerings.
Hi, outlaw.
one micron... Yup! microscopic sawdust particles are a B!TCH on your lungs! Silicosis, emphysema and lung cancer are no joke! My wife has asthma, so I can't expose my family to that crap in the ToyRoom either.
Sanctifier wrote:BTW the traditional single and double bag Dust Extractors are a TOTAL WASTE OF TIME as they offer LITTLE PROTECTION from microscopic sawdust particles.
Bill Pentz is THE expert in this field... and also a victim of microscopic sawdust particles!
Link--> BillPentz.com

I just scored a '325' frame motor on eBay to restore my Dad's DeWalt Radial Arm Saw...

When the DeWalt is finished (it'll take awhile) I'll need a Cyclone Dust Collector for woodworking projects too.
I'm looking at a 3 HP Grizzly. It's rated at 0.2–2 Micron filtration... Image
Link--> Grizzly G0441 3HP Cyclone Dust Collector.

Here's a comparison of their 3 and 5 HP models...

What I need it a BIG Lotto! :mrgreen:

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » May 26th, 2013, 6:10 pm

Yup..I'm going to be working with composites alot. My system will have a dust collector hooked up to the cutting tool as we as an ambiant air filter to catch anything that got away.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 26th, 2013, 6:57 pm

GODDAMN!!!! I liking that table there man pios....don't expect to see anymore though.... :cry: