The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

achillies

Re: The *Official* ANDROID/GOOGLE Thread

Postby achillies » February 11th, 2011, 1:53 am

Dont even think u should pay attention to that guy anymore, its obvious he has no clue about android, if he did, he would know that since android 2.1, its recommended that u dont use a task killer, i have the slowest phone in here and i have not used a task killer since January OF LAST YEAR.

All of his comments speak of utter incompetence on his part, seeing as the Hummingbird Processor found in the Galaxy line of devices are 1 of the FASTEST processors available, these processors are running 3D intensive games 'LAG' and yet it cant run the OS itself, (that is probably making sense to WP7 user)

i have seen reviews by professionals (people that receive and buy devices for a living for the main purpose of reviewing) that describe Android phones as Screamers (people who actually puts the phone through its paces and sometimes compare it to other phones) when it comes to speed, at this rate RASC is a shame to WP7 users

Jon4Lakers is one of the top tech reviewers out there and he himself puts all these android devices up against the iphone 4 and he stated that all the android devices he has tested so far are faster than the iPhone 4, and he is a Apple fanboy, but he is always fair.

Case in point

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pt6vD8QuT6E

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjhF1xZQ ... ure=relmfu

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KgCIF-G1 ... r_embedded

achillies

Postby achillies » February 11th, 2011, 2:09 am

Oh, and by the way, the reason we side load roms is because we can, my HTC magic came with 1.5 and was released in 2009 yet i am running 2.2.1 and i have all the features of current android phones and more, wait, My 2 year old phone can go feature for feature against any WP7 we have out there, i will just be slower

there are things my phone can do and WP7 cant, rom developers are able to create their own features and add it to an OS, when WP7 has that kind of appeal where two years down the road i am not forced to buy a new phone because of lack of features, u holla, okay son.

And in order for a WP7 to keep up with android, U WILL HAVE TO HACK it in some form or fashion, Android is developed in such a way so that anyone who knows a bit about Linux can do their own rom cooking. The manufactures are the ones who are trying to lock down android and stop all the hacking, hence the Nexus 1 and the new galaxy S devices that makes the hacking easy and foolproof. Remember while MS and Apple control the hardware< google does not, thats why they have the Nexus line, a phone that google has some input on the hardware. U dont understand the android ecosystem and therefore shoul stay away from it, U will get lost as u already have

U relax and educate yourself a lot before u decide to put rice in front of real performance and control.
Last edited by achillies on February 11th, 2011, 2:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

achillies

Postby achillies » February 11th, 2011, 2:13 am

RASC wrote:I've used nexus, galaxy s and droid x extensively. All compared to wp7 were laggy. On their own if you've never tried ms new os are great. After you play or use a wp7 for the first time you'll see what I'm talking about. That's all I'm trying to say. Overall I think Android is more powerful... But for what matters to me most...navigation speed, response time etc WP7 Crushes Android, in even its most up to date none dual core devices.

and those things stated are what matters most for YOU, you are not making sense because if u really wanted easy Navigation fastest speed and response time, u should get a nokia 1100. that model has your name written all over it right about now

achillies

Postby achillies » February 11th, 2011, 2:21 am

RASC wrote:I find it very hard to believe that you guys are experiencing absolutely zero lag on your stock devices. I just went through over twenty threads and YouTube videos of users from all over the globe showing fixes to their lag issues on these aforementioned devices. How is it these XDA and HOWARDFORUMS ppl have small issues,but an entire band of ppl in tiny TT are the only ones with completely lag free experiences. I purposely looked at all the STOCK devices straight from Google and they all had issues. There's a special rom for this and a special rom for that... When I say lag, I'm referring to micro seconds here... Not seconds or freezes. So maybe its not getting to you here. Feel free to blast me- I'll provide proof in a while. Sorry for the lack of paragraphs...

I know not what u speak of because the only phones available with stock android is the G1 and the Nexus line, all other model have been touched by the Manufacturer in some form or fashion, the G2 is also stock android and those run faster than a nexus 1,

When i'm on XDA i am in the Development froums, not the general forums where the newbs like u will populate. I have a slower device than the nexus one but i dont see any forums dedicated to fixing lag issues on my phone

Now I am seeing why cyanogen and other developers stopped posting on the XDA forums, people like you come in and try to ruin the whole experience of android with stupid uneducated whining instead of trying to figure out an issue yourself

Android is just to complicated for u mayn

Postby RASC » February 11th, 2011, 4:30 am

A mixture of both pure google and non-pure google phones.

ALL LAGGY!

/fin

Postby RASC » February 11th, 2011, 4:33 am

You know what's the best way to prove my point to you guys? Simple...have a gallery browsing showdown with the current crop of single core Android phones. Instant embarrassment.

Thas what allyuh call snappy? :? :arrow: :lol:

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » February 11th, 2011, 6:18 am

Stop feeding the troll guys.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 11th, 2011, 12:24 pm

Samsung Galaxy S2 full specifications leak, pre-MWC style

Many of the rumors about Samsung putting a dual-core processor in the Galaxy S2 rendered true, but according to Expansys it won’t be Sammy’s dual-core 1Ghz “Orion” processor, based on the ARM Cortex A9 architecture. Instead, under the hood the Galaxy S2 will feature a Qualcomm 8260 SoC with dual-core Snapdragon CPU, clocked at 1.2Ghz, which is not that bad of an alternative (though we find it hard to believe).

The main party piece of the Samsung Galaxy S will be its Super AMOLED Plus capacitive touchscreen. It’s slightly larger than the original Galaxy S and measures at 4.27-inches with a WVGA resolution of 800x480 pixels.

At the back there’s an 8MP auto-focus camera with LED flash and digital zoom, capable of 1080p HD video recording and at the front there’s a 2MP one for video calling. As far as RAM is concerned, we are a bit disappointed, as Expansys suggests it’s going to be the same as the Galaxy S - 512MB.
The storage options are the same as well – 16GB with a support for a microSD card support. The usual Wi-Fi b/g/n/, Bluetooth 3.0, A-GPS, and microUSB port are present, as well. Near Field Communications chip is also confirmed.

Operating system information doesn't appear anywhere in the specs, but we are certain it's going to be Android 2.3 Gingerbread. In any case, we are going to see for ourselves at MWC in 2 days whether these details are the real deal.
Here's the full specifications list of the Samsung Galaxy S2, as it appeared on Expansys.

GSM Arena

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 11th, 2011, 12:27 pm

Samsung preparing a 10.1-inch Galaxy Tab 2 with Honeycomb for this Sunday?

Samsung's MWC 2011 presentation is this Sunday, at 6PM Central European Time (midday for those on the American east coast). We already know it will feature a dual-core evolution to the Galaxy S smartphone and we know for a fact there'll be at least one new tablet on show. Pocket-lint is today filling in some details about said Tab successor by identifying it as a 10.1-inch Android 3.0 device. That means Samsung is stepping right up to Motorola, whose Xoom still looks likely to be the first Honeycomb tablet to ship, and saying it can do better. It might just be able to do it, too, as the new and unnamed Tab is said to be physically smaller than Apple's iPad in spite of having a slightly larger display. Somewhat less believable is the mention of a dual-core Qualcomm processor as the thing to power Samsung's new tablet -- can you really see Samsung undermining the future success of its Orion / Exynos chip by using a competitor's hardware? Then again, weirder things have happened.

Engadget

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » February 12th, 2011, 5:14 am

Wow Sammy using a snapdragon?! hehe

Anyway it has come to that time again for me to poke my phone with a stick.

About to install the latest CM7 test (Gingerbread), goodbye to 2.2.1.

Live Wallpaper is : https://market.android.com/details?id=fishnoodle.clouds

You guys should post some screenshots too!

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » February 12th, 2011, 6:40 am

^which weather widget is that?

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » February 12th, 2011, 7:08 am

Superclock by Beautiful Widgets

I've got Gingerbread installed now and restoring my apps with Titanium Backup :)

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 12th, 2011, 8:19 am

Samsung Galaxy S 2 and 10.1-inch Honeycomb tablet leaked on Korean website? (Update: high res press shot!)

Uh oh, looks like someone got the wrong date for Samsung's MWC keynote. The above screenshot (now placed after the break) is captured by the eagle-eyed folks at Moveplayer, who spotted what appears to be an embargoed article about the Galaxy S 2 (or Galaxy S II) over at Korean news site Paran. While the offending press shot has since been removed, the text remains intact with the following specs: Android 2.3 Gingerbread, 4.3-inch display, 1GHz dual-core processor, HSPA+, Bluetooth 3.0, and 802.11 a/b/g/n WiFi. Additionally, Paran says that this new handset weighs 116g (4.09 ounces) and is 8.49mm thick -- which is close to, if not the, thinnest smartphone device we've heard of yet. (For the record, the Xperia Arc is 8.7mm at its thickest point.)

The article also mentions that 10.1-inch Honeycomb tablet that we heard of yesterday, confirming it will pack a 1GHz dual-core processor, 8 megapixel camera with "full HD" video recording, and dual surround sound speakers. Sounds promising, but only time will tell whether all this is true or simply a matter of lost in translation.

Update: OK, so we've done some spying and can confirm that both devices are very real, and their specs look legit.

Update 2: Oh snap! Samsung Hub managed to get hold of a high res press shot of the Galaxy S 2 before it got pulled off the Korean sites. It sure resembles the Infuse 4G with an extra home button. We've posted the pic above for your pleasure.

Engagdet

~*SiLvA MeRa*~

Postby ~*SiLvA MeRa*~ » February 12th, 2011, 10:18 am

Wolfie, i am still waiting for bmobile to call me to come pick up my phone, they estimate another month, i really should have waited before sending it in....

Wolfie wrote:Wow Sammy using a snapdragon?! hehe

Anyway it has come to that time again for me to poke my phone with a stick.

About to install the latest CM7 test (Gingerbread), goodbye to 2.2.1.

Live Wallpaper is : https://market.android.com/details?id=fishnoodle.clouds

You guys should post some screenshots too!

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » February 12th, 2011, 11:35 am

WTF another month?!

They building the parts over from scratch or what?

Yeah you should have waited.

You should find out if anything was done to it or what exactly they plan to do.

~*SiLvA MeRa*~

Postby ~*SiLvA MeRa*~ » February 12th, 2011, 8:55 pm

:evil: those damn counter reps know nothing, all they can say is its still at the repair centre and we will call you when its back, i hadda salt till whenever yes...

Wolfie wrote:WTF another month?!

They building the parts over from scratch or what?

Yeah you should have waited.

You should find out if anything was done to it or what exactly they plan to do.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » February 12th, 2011, 10:50 pm

gonna attempt a downgrade to 2.2 from 2.2.1 followed by permanent root so i can get 2.3 cyanogenmod version

zcarz

Postby zcarz » February 13th, 2011, 12:40 am

this is harder than i thought, i have to now create a goldcard... this is gonna take 2 hrs at least

zcarz

Postby zcarz » February 13th, 2011, 2:51 am

goldcard created, i don't know what to do with it...
Last edited by zcarz on February 13th, 2011, 3:57 am, edited 2 times in total.

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » February 13th, 2011, 3:35 am

noice

This Gingerbread off screen animation is so cool :mrgreen:

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » February 13th, 2011, 8:33 am

^what rom is that?

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » February 13th, 2011, 9:02 am

The cm7 test rom for the sgs.

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » February 13th, 2011, 9:09 am

just want to find out someting how much would a moto droid (1st gen) go for and are there any updates for it cause reading a while back motorola didnt want to release an update for that phone because it would force people to buy the droid 2.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 13th, 2011, 2:16 pm

Samsung Galaxy S II official: dual-core 1GHz CPU, 4.3-inch Super AMOLED Plus, coming this month (hands-on with video)

One of the worst-kept secrets of MWC this year -- the Galaxy S II -- is finally official, and we'd say it definitely lives up to its name as a proper successor to the original Galaxy S that lit the Android marketplace on fire last year. Major (and largely expected) features include a 4.27-inch 800 x 480 Super AMOLED Plus display, an 8 megapixel primary camera with 1080p video capture accompanied by a 2 megapixel cam up front, Gingerbread with TouchWiz 4.0, integrated NFC support (on some versions), and a shell measuring just 8.49mm thick, making it likely the thinnest smartphone ever to roll off an assembly line -- in fact, it's over 0.2mm slimmer than the Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc's thinnest point.

We were originally told that the Galaxy S II would be using an NVIDIA Tegra 2 SOC, but have been informed that was incorrect -- the phone will indeed have a Samsung chip, and quite possibly the Exynos.

We were able to spend a little bit of time with the Galaxy S II today, and we can conclusively say that this is one gorgeous device. It shares the Infuse 4G's aspirations as an ultra-thin Android device and arguably shares most of its industrial design elements, but interestingly, the Infuse steps down from 4.5 to 4.3 inches -- either a nod to the fact that 4.5 is too big for a mainstream smartphone, or a sign that the 4.5-inch Super AMOLED Plus component simply isn't ready yet. You totally notice how ridiculously thin the phone is as it rests in your hand, and the effect is amplified by the fact that it's got so much surface area -- the screen-to-edge ratio is off the charts. Though we still prefer the stock Android experience, TouchWiz 4.0 (as it's being called) on top of Gingerbread is clearly Samsung's most refined custom Android skin to date; a new Game Hub in ROM has potential to do battle with Sony's PlayStation Suite and allows developers to bypass the download size limits of the Android Market, but we weren't able to test it on the preproduction unit we were given.

Owing to a lack of time and connectivity, we weren't able to put the phone through a suite of speed tests, but the entire UI felt perfect fast and smooth, a testament to the processor's chops. As at CES, we were blown away by the clarity and brightness of the Super AMOLED Plus display -- picture the already-excellent Super AMOLED technology amped up on steroids, and you'll have a good sense of what we're talking about here. All told, this seems like a great upgrade to the Galaxy S; if anything, we're a little concerned that it's going to be a smidge too big for people that were perfectly happy at the 4-inch tier, but odds are good Samsung will continue to crank out smaller devices for those folks. It'll be on the market in parts of Europe and Asia as soon as this month; no word on North America, but as always, there's little doubt Samsung has some plans in the works. Follow the break for our quick video and the full press release.

Engadget

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 13th, 2011, 2:22 pm

Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 official: Tegra 2, Honeycomb, dual cameras (hands-on with video)

Geez, it's been a long weekend of almost incessant Galaxy Tab II teasing, but the time has come: Samsung's finally releasing the official details of its 10.1-inch, Android Honeycomb tablet to the world. Contrary to the leaks, the tablet is called the Galaxy Tab 10.1 -- grabbing its moniker from the screen size, obviously -- and like the rest of the upcoming Android 3.0 tablets it's powered by a dual-core Tegra 2 processor, will be available with 16GB or 32GB of storage, and has a front-facing 2 megapixel camera as well as a 8 megapixel imager around back. That's just the tip of the iceberg, but we've got the nitty-gritty too -- find specs, full impressions and even some video of the slate in action after the break! Oh, and don't forget to stop by the galleries below to see the new Tab 10.1 up close and then face off with Sammy's original Tab, not to mention the Apple iPad.

Engadget

achillies

Postby achillies » February 13th, 2011, 8:15 pm

Hands on with the Samsung Galaxy S II

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 13th, 2011, 8:20 pm

think i just found my upgrade phone...

zcarz

Postby zcarz » February 13th, 2011, 8:21 pm

^that looks like it has everything one could ask for at this point

achillies

Postby achillies » February 13th, 2011, 8:22 pm

mitch wrote:think i just found my upgrade phone...

even with Touchwiz on it

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 13th, 2011, 8:24 pm

Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc preview (video)

Sony Ericsson's MWC presser today may have been all about its new Play, Pro and Neo members of the Xperia family, but the CES debutant we know and love as the Arc was out in force as well. So, we thought, why not throw together our thoughts on this phone and splice them with a gallery of delicious new images plus some video action to boot? The first thing to note is that the Xperia Arc will be shipping globally in March and Sony Ericsson is aiming for the broadest possible operator coverage. Focusing on the handset itself, we've been wildly impressed by its design since first laying eyes on it, there's something fundamentally attractive about the Arc's look, something less tangible than its ridiculously slim profile. Sony Ericsson has used a similar plasticky material on the back as it does in the Neo, which doesn't overwhelm us with any sensations of reassurance or quality, but seems to do the job. Guess some corners had to inevitably be cut along with the fat on this phone's body.

The 4.2-inch screen is bright and lucid, though we'd warn against expecting too much from the Bravia Reality Display marketing. As we've mentioned before, the display enhancements only kick in when you're consuming multimedia. Still, general performance looks more than satisfactory. Hard buttons around the body are well arranged and designed, a contrast from the fiddly keys we found on the Xperia Pro. What was consistent with the rest of Sony Ericsson's Xperia crew, however, was the Arc's inability to execute its pinch-to-zoom widget summary screen. It's an ambitious function -- gathering all your widgets from each screen into one cohesive overview -- but, basically, it's laggy as hell. Aside from that, general UI responsiveness could also stand some improvement, but we like where Sony Ericsson is going with the whole thing. If it keeps up its promise to repent from last year's sins with relation to Android updates, the company has a very good chance of striking it rich with the Xperia Arc. It's a phone that can truly get by on its looks alone. Video after the break!

Engadget