*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 5th, 2010, 6:12 pm

^ but wait doesnt the 7.1 card have a LFE out?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 5th, 2010, 6:29 pm

^ the card doh have a 2.1 mode? 2eh?

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » October 5th, 2010, 6:38 pm

My Monster surge protector shows up my voltage usually fluctuating between 111 and 114.
What's the acceptable range?(upper/lower)

Also duane, the AV cables you mentioned in an earlier post(auvio?), you're using those with your standard Flow cable box, with an input to your receiver?

Was contemplating using AV cables vs coaxial when i get this in a few weeks:
http://www.amazon.com/Onkyo-HT-S3300-5-1-Channel-Theater-Receiver/dp/B003BEDQR6/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1286318261&sr=8-1-fkmr0

and seeing how good the quality on the cable TV is..if better at all.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 5th, 2010, 7:53 pm

pioneer wrote:These are the settings

LOL @ Prego Porn

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 5th, 2010, 7:56 pm

crazychinee wrote:
Also duane, the AV cables you mentioned in an earlier post(auvio?), you're using those with your standard Flow cable box, with an input to your receiver?
yes

the regular flow digital cable box only has composite out - so you have to use a good quality composite cables and connect it to a receiver that can upscale an analog 480i signal to 720p or 1080p. Some channels look pretty good, like almost DVD quality with some noticeable compression.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 5th, 2010, 8:26 pm

yuh trying to do a ratch and yuh worried about signal drop?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 6th, 2010, 12:00 am

get three Ys
that will work

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 6th, 2010, 12:42 am

^ Y not?

two to split the left and right and the the 3rd one to pair them back up into one signal for the sub. Unless your sub has stereo inputs

Yeo

Postby Yeo » October 6th, 2010, 10:32 am

pioneer wrote:why 3 Ys?

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ Y not?

Postby crazybalhead » October 6th, 2010, 10:58 am

LOL @ Prego Porn

HCCA

Postby HCCA » October 6th, 2010, 7:03 pm

Just set the speaker configuration on 4/4.1 or Quadrophonic in your case.

Use the green output jack for your full range stereo/multichannel setup and use the black jack for you subwoofer. Is a second stereo output just like the front output jack so it should be the same output voltage.

Humes

Postby Humes » October 8th, 2010, 10:08 pm

LOL @ Prego Porn

pioneer you is ONE ass boy :lol: :lol:

Postby Kenjo » October 9th, 2010, 6:44 pm

this is my firs time venturing down the home audio system so what do you guys know about this system JVC QP-F80AL.reading most of the pages in this thread has confused enough.the idea with this is to actually build a room around the system as much as possible

700 watts total system power
DR-M10 DVD DVD-RAM/-RW/-R Video Recorder
RX-F10S Home Theater Control Receiver
DVD Audio/Video Ram/RW
Digital Direct Progressive Scan
Dolby Digital EX, dts-ES, Dolby Prologic II
3D Phonic
Smart Surround Set-up Ver 2.0
Hybrid Feedback Digital Amplifier
Super VCD
Express Play Start
AV Compu Link
Floor Standing Speakers
Bass Reflex Design Speakers and Subwoofer
High Efficiency PWM Digital Amplifier (100w RMS) with auto-on and standby
6 5/16" Cone Subwoofer Driver, Magnetically Shielded
Color-coded speaker terminals and cable tags for easy set up
Playable formats: DVD-A, DVD-V, DVD-RAM, DVD-RW, DVD-R, CD, SVCD, VCD, CD-R/RW, WMA, MP3, JPEG
192kHz/24-bit Audio D/A Converter
High-Resolution Graphic User Interface
DVD Multi-Channel Audio Compatible (5.1 Channel Inputs)
Virtual Surround Back
Stereo: 100 watts x 2, 6 ohms, from 40Hz to 20kHz with 0.8% THD
Surround: 100 x 6, 6 ohms, from 40Hz to 20kHz with 0.8% THD
3D Headphone
DSP Digital Equalizer
Recordable Formats: DVD-RAM, DVD-RW(VR and Video Formats), DVD-R
Motion Active Progressive Scan Output(for Video Source)
Digital Direct Progressive Scan Output(for film source)
"Undo Finalization" Capability (DVD-RW)
Linear PCM Audio Recording (XP Mode Only)
Super MPEG Post Processor: Block Noise Reduction Circuit, Color DigiPure and Hadamard Noise Reduction System
8 Hour DVD Recording
Library Database DVD Navigation
DVD Navigation with Animated Thumbnail (DVD-RAM, DVD-RW, VR Format)
On-Disc Timer Programming (DVD-RAM, DVD-RW VR Format)
Live Memory (Simultaneous Recording & Playback (DVD-RAM)
Instant Replay, Quick Slip, Live Check
MTS Decoder
High Enery Neodymium Magnets
Ultra Slim Enclosure made from Extruded Aluminum
Twin Direct Drive Speaker Units for each Channel
87[2].jpg
87[2].jpg (6.78 KiB) Viewed 3131 times

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » October 9th, 2010, 6:54 pm

Kenjo wrote:this is my firs time venturing down the home audio system so what do you guys know about this system JVC QP-F80AL.reading most of the pages in this thread has confused enough.the idea with this is to actually build a room around the system as much as possible

700 watts total system power
DR-M10 DVD DVD-RAM/-RW/-R Video Recorder
RX-F10S Home Theater Control Receiver
DVD Audio/Video Ram/RW
Digital Direct Progressive Scan
Dolby Digital EX, dts-ES, Dolby Prologic II
3D Phonic
Smart Surround Set-up Ver 2.0
Hybrid Feedback Digital Amplifier
Super VCD
Express Play Start
AV Compu Link
Floor Standing Speakers
Bass Reflex Design Speakers and Subwoofer
High Efficiency PWM Digital Amplifier (100w RMS) with auto-on and standby
6 5/16" Cone Subwoofer Driver, Magnetically Shielded
Color-coded speaker terminals and cable tags for easy set up
Playable formats: DVD-A, DVD-V, DVD-RAM, DVD-RW, DVD-R, CD, SVCD, VCD, CD-R/RW, WMA, MP3, JPEG
192kHz/24-bit Audio D/A Converter
High-Resolution Graphic User Interface
DVD Multi-Channel Audio Compatible (5.1 Channel Inputs)
Virtual Surround Back
Stereo: 100 watts x 2, 6 ohms, from 40Hz to 20kHz with 0.8% THD
Surround: 100 x 6, 6 ohms, from 40Hz to 20kHz with 0.8% THD
3D Headphone
DSP Digital Equalizer
Recordable Formats: DVD-RAM, DVD-RW(VR and Video Formats), DVD-R
Motion Active Progressive Scan Output(for Video Source)
Digital Direct Progressive Scan Output(for film source)
"Undo Finalization" Capability (DVD-RW)
Linear PCM Audio Recording (XP Mode Only)
Super MPEG Post Processor: Block Noise Reduction Circuit, Color DigiPure and Hadamard Noise Reduction System
8 Hour DVD Recording
Library Database DVD Navigation
DVD Navigation with Animated Thumbnail (DVD-RAM, DVD-RW, VR Format)
On-Disc Timer Programming (DVD-RAM, DVD-RW VR Format)
Live Memory (Simultaneous Recording & Playback (DVD-RAM)
Instant Replay, Quick Slip, Live Check
MTS Decoder
High Enery Neodymium Magnets
Ultra Slim Enclosure made from Extruded Aluminum
Twin Direct Drive Speaker Units for each Channel

No Blu ray?
No Hdmi?

Why not pickup a system for around the same price...without the dvd player.

I picked up:
http://www.amazon.com/Onkyo-HT-S3300-5- ... 856&sr=8-1
Will get it in a few weeks.
It will allow you to plug in all your consoles/blu ray, and even TV to it.

Postby Kenjo » October 9th, 2010, 7:00 pm

the connectors were exactly what i was querying about.i guess i have to do some more research then.thanks crazychinee.oh could you put the entire link it is truncated and not opening

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » October 9th, 2010, 7:57 pm

Kenjo wrote:the connectors were exactly what i was querying about.i guess i have to do some more research then.thanks crazychinee.oh could you put the entire link it is truncated and not opening

Just go on amazon.com and type Onkyo HTS3300
It's costing me $3000TT w/6 month warrenty.

There are alot of entry level stuff, for me it was advantageous to have a receiver with a few hdmi inputs, and 1 output.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 11th, 2010, 10:44 am

Your receiver is the HEART of your home theater setup - make sure you get a good one.

HDMI is a MUST when buying a new receiver
make sure you get one with HDMI 1.4 so it will be 3D ready and offer audio return.

Also make sure the receiver can support DTS Master Audio and Dolby TrueHD audio. Dolby Pro Logic II and IIz are helpful. THX on very high end receivers is good, on lower end stuff its just a marketing ploy.

A receiver with a microphone for doing automatic setup will save you alot of time and effort in calibrating your setup and speakers. Look for Audigy or MCAAC as some of the brands of auto calibration.

You can ignore things like Stadium, Cathedral, Concert Hall, Classical etc etc - they are a waste of time anyway.

Look for receiver brands like Pioneer, Anthem, Yamaha, Denon, Marantz, Onkyo.

Postby Kenjo » October 11th, 2010, 4:40 pm

Duane this is my 1st attempt at getting one of these systems so i am trying to be very careful because this is a house hold system that i believe will last very long.Your advice actually would help anyone starting off because searching both locally and online there is a ton of systems available.Thanks for the advice cause i am really trying to narrow down to the best system and only warranty wise and shipping weight will be the main determining factors when i confirm which system i get. The other posts are great but we are finally helping out some of the guys that are making a fresh start a i am

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » October 11th, 2010, 5:22 pm

Kenjo wrote:Duane this is my 1st attempt at getting one of these systems so i am trying to be very careful because this is a house hold system that i believe will last very long.Your advice actually would help anyone starting off because searching both locally and online there is a ton of systems available.Thanks for the advice cause i am really trying to narrow down to the best system and only warranty wise and shipping weight will be the main determining factors when i confirm which system i get. The other posts are great but we are finally helping out some of the guys that are making a fresh start a i am

Search online and then contact Raptor.
He brings in stuff regularly, and usually gives warranty .

Postby Kenjo » October 11th, 2010, 5:36 pm

yeah i know about raptor because by my skybox i will get sorely raped with shipping charges due to the weight.definitely getting some headway with respect to narrowing down to an exact system.The one you highlighted seems to be at a good price for an entry level system that encompasses the requirements Duane gave a couple posts above.if only i didnt hate waiting!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 11th, 2010, 7:36 pm

^ sea freight is the best option, Raptor can help you with that.
I brought in all my stuff in a barrel (except the TV of course)
I hate waiting too but remember this is the heart of your system and everything you watch and listen to and connect to it in the future will depend on the receiver - a lil patience will help

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 11th, 2010, 7:43 pm

now this is sweet!

Samsung unveils new 55-inch LCD with ultraslim bezel, invites DIY video walls

Remember the world's thinnest bezel separation touted by Sharp just this past June? Forget about it. Samsung has bested its Japanese competitor with the unveiling of a new 55-inch Digital Information Display panel that features bezels of 3.8mm on the top and left edges and 1.9mm on the bottom and right, leading to a positively svelte 5.7mm distance between the content of neighboring displays. That good stuff is augmented with Full HD resolution and a blinding 700 nits of brightness. There'll also be a 46-inch model that offers a 7.6mm separation (hint: that's still pretty damn thin), though we've yet to learn on when and where aspiring home cinema nuts might be able to obtain either screen.

http://goo.gl/7HE6

Postby Kenjo » October 11th, 2010, 7:48 pm

Yeah i messaged raptor a few minutes ago actually,i will call him tomorrow if i don't hear anything from him by midday tomorrow but i am most definitely going though with this to get a system in place.No rush for real and this system seems like it will be viable for years to come!

Postby bushwakka » October 11th, 2010, 7:51 pm

on a slightly different note, i listened to ' DJ tiesto - he's a pirate' on my z5500 the other......it was painful......very garbled and everything is lumped together and it actually hurts ur ears......ewwww

i wish altec lansing was still making 5.1 systems

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 11th, 2010, 11:48 pm

pioneer wrote:music was meant to be played in stereo...
I agree, except that we were talking about HD movie audio which is done in 7.1 and 5.1.

As much as you may like to listen to audio recorded in stereo in its original format, it is kinda pointless to go and buy a entry/mid level stereo only receiver. For a little more money you can get a 5.1 or 7.1 receiver and be able to get good audio for movie watching.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 12th, 2010, 12:33 am

^ you plan to connect which source to this then?
Do you plan to use the processing on the stereo receiver or do you plan to listen to radio?
why not just buy a good quality stereo amplifier?

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 12th, 2010, 12:44 pm

I agree. Get a good amp and connect to your source and you good for stereo. Eg. Cd player > Stereo Amps > speakers + subs. My reference stereo system is setup this way.

On the other hand, for those who want movies from it as well, it would also be a good idea to invest in a better receiver. The receivers will switch to stereo mode based on the source, and most have subwoofer outputs so you can actually get 2.1.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » October 12th, 2010, 7:51 pm

pioneer wrote:Oh well yeah a stereo amp was an option too, the reason i looking at a receiver is cuz of the multiple inputs, i could jus connect everything to it

How many inputs does an amp have?

buy this and done nah

only 3k with 6mts warranty

Onkyo HT-S3300 5.1-Channel Home Theater Receiver/Speaker Package

order now and it should make shipment next week

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » October 12th, 2010, 7:53 pm

RapToR wrote:
pioneer wrote:Oh well yeah a stereo amp was an option too, the reason i looking at a receiver is cuz of the multiple inputs, i could jus connect everything to it

buy this and done nah

So i getting mines next week? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » October 12th, 2010, 7:58 pm

crazychinee wrote:
RapToR wrote:

buy this and done nah

So i getting mines next week? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

shipment leaves next week as the rest of the Onkyo HT-S3300 comes in

a few other ppl ordered it also