Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Rebelb14

Postby Rebelb14 » December 7th, 2009, 9:01 pm

Skanky wrote:So I have a problem of a different kind.

I have concrete ponds/tanks in which I keep my fish.There is a brown egret looking bird with a long yellow beak that keeps stealing my fish.Same size and build as an egret except brown.

Shooting is out of the question since most likely if I miss I will hit the house water tanks.

Not to mention everytime they grab one of my fish they fly off and make this loud sound almost as if to tell me they got another one!

How do I kill these bastards?

lol i thought i had it hard..yuh hadda go stealth on he mudda ass, full camo gear and hide up in the tanks and in one movement Jason Bourne Style grab slit throat .lmao

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » December 7th, 2009, 9:03 pm

Skanky wrote:So I have a problem of a different kind.

I have concrete ponds/tanks in which I keep my fish.There is a brown egret looking bird with a long yellow beak that keeps stealing my fish.Same size and build as an egret except brown.

Shooting is out of the question since most likely if I miss I will hit the house water tanks.

Not to mention everytime they grab one of my fish they fly off and make this loud sound almost as if to tell me they got another one!

How do I kill these bastards?

take some ripe fig...put some kinda poison in or on the fig...and put it on ur wall where u know the birds those be.........

Postby UML » December 8th, 2009, 9:23 am

Fish Enthusiasts!!!

WTB Aquarium Cover

Preferably used but willing to buy it new also

48" x 18" in size

where can i get it? who has? location? how much?

Regards

8-)

Fishman

Postby Fishman » December 8th, 2009, 9:34 am

What type of coral? Like I said cost varies greatly depending on the type of coral.

At a minimum you need a chiller and some lights.
A chiller for that size aquarium should be around 4 to 5 thousand.
Lights like I said depends on the type of coral you want to keep.

francis1979 wrote:I am interested in coral and fish.

What is the minimum cost

Fishman wrote:
francis1979 wrote:What is the approximate cost to set up a marine aquarium approximataley 36" x18" wide x 24" high.

Fish, coral, equipment, tank and stand

and maintenance cost per month

If you are looking at coral, it depends on what type of coral you want to keep too (Soft, LPS, SPS)

When you get into coral you need more equipment like, chiller, good skimmer, lighting system, good water turn over. Softies are lower demanding on light but once you look at LPS and SPS you need a very good lighting system like halides or many T5's. Also if you get into SPS or even a high load of LPS you will need some sort of calcium suplimentation (calc. reactor, kalk reactor, two part dosing etc.)

As you can see it begins to cost alot of money.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » December 8th, 2009, 8:30 pm

UML, i say i wudda check out d price of d cover for u but wen i got to d store in grand bazaar dey was closed...i see dat dey had plenty boxes an was unpacking, lookin like a new shipment of fish...

link

Postby link » December 8th, 2009, 10:27 pm

ryan99tt wrote:UML, i say i wudda check out d price of d cover for u but wen i got to d store in grand bazaar dey was closed...i see dat dey had plenty boxes an was unpacking, lookin like a new shipment of fish...

I goin' in dey 'tail' tomrr
tks info

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » December 8th, 2009, 10:53 pm

link, let me no wat dey get, so i guh see if i cud make ah pass...

link

Postby link » December 8th, 2009, 11:15 pm

that;s a roger

Postby UML » December 9th, 2009, 8:22 am

UML wrote:Fish Enthusiasts!!!

WTB Aquarium Cover

Preferably used but willing to buy it new also

48" x 18" in size

where can i get it? who has? location? how much?

Regards

8-)

Also interested in making one....who can? how much?

....already have a simple design for one

cornfused

Postby cornfused » December 10th, 2009, 8:18 pm

TRDcorolla wrote:
SHARIFF wrote:
cornfused wrote:i am looking for 3 smallish around one inch body length orandas , any suggestions on quality suppliers , i went to chai's recently an was not impressed , suggestions welcome

check lal in bamboo he is in one of last streets on d right

temple street

to start the story why i am looking for fish is that 2 of my "big" orandas died

this one here Image
died from dropsy

The other died from "Cotton" disease

so i eventually made my way down to temple st.

That man knows his stuff , he gave me a completer 40 min tour and concepts in his farm and told me the fish which i bought from ch were genetically flawed. What to look for in buying orandas and maintaining ph water quality without chemicals and proper oxygen for fish and then some

Believe me i have over 15 years experience with fish but this man was a professor to a student ( well ok maybe a MSc level student but..)

i eventually bough some orandas and ryukin

not a great pict but these are some what i got , he said that i knew what i was looking for clearly but when i asked him he was helpful

I now i have found a good supplier in the east now
:D thanks fellas

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » December 10th, 2009, 8:20 pm

cornfused does he have any chiclids

cornfused

Postby cornfused » December 10th, 2009, 9:27 pm

i did not see any , but Oscars, angels some very pretty ones too, albino Oscars , painted mollys and fan tailed hillaries , some pink zebras but in short i don't think so but his contact info is in your in box

link

angels

Postby link » December 11th, 2009, 10:10 am

cornfused wrote:i did not see any , but Oscars, angels some very pretty ones too, albino Oscars , painted mollys and fan tailed hillaries , some pink zebras but in short i don't think so but his contact info is in your in box

need breeding pairs of angels (abt 15)........can u pls pm me the ctc info also ??
tks
rgds

cornfused

Postby cornfused » December 11th, 2009, 10:32 am

pm sent link , i think he has those

link

Postby link » December 11th, 2009, 10:35 am

tks........qk resp...rgds

Rebelb14

Postby Rebelb14 » December 12th, 2009, 11:10 am

Heading Temple Street Today for sure..... :shock:

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » December 12th, 2009, 2:02 pm

link, wat d guy got in grand bazaar?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » December 12th, 2009, 3:47 pm

^i was now wondering the same thing...

link

Postby link » December 12th, 2009, 4:17 pm

not reached GB yet.......got TWO huge ruykin pairs & setting up to breed......angels guarding abt 500 fry , so changed 50% water & topped with 20% 'green' water for free-swimming stage in abt 2days...
sludged out bio-filter, so good for 6mths again, but adding 2nd 400gal bio-filter tank in sequence to optimise recirculated water quality
:D :D

altec

Postby altec » December 12th, 2009, 5:05 pm

What would you guys recommend for a startup? From the tanks i've seen I don't like the 12x12x24. Taller tanks look better to me. I need hardy fish since the last time I kept fish in a fish bowl (lil boy thing) they got fungus.

Postby UML » December 13th, 2009, 12:43 am

link wrote:
ryan99tt wrote:UML, i say i wudda check out d price of d cover for u but wen i got to d store in grand bazaar dey was closed...i see dat dey had plenty boxes an was unpacking, lookin like a new shipment of fish...

I goin' in dey 'tail' tomrr
tks info

i went that dat and it was still closed :cry:

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » December 13th, 2009, 9:14 am

^they have Xmas sale on now...20% off selected items :shock: :shock:

JM

Postby JM » December 13th, 2009, 11:38 am

^ u serious?!
last week they din have anything much
blue dolphins, a few discus left, some sickly looking columbian sharks, 'glo fish' green price went up, angels.....i want to say he had dragon fish....but i not sure...

i hear Fishy bizniz selling the stuff from his tuff tanks now...so large sharks and kois probably selling...

JM

Postby JM » December 13th, 2009, 11:47 am

djblademan wrote:YEAH!!!

k so it have anyone here besides me & agentroro that into discus?

*raises hand...

but i havent seen any good breed in...a while...

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » December 13th, 2009, 1:28 pm

JM wrote:^ u serious?!
last week they din have anything much
blue dolphins, a few discus left, some sickly looking columbian sharks, 'glo fish' green price went up, angels.....i want to say he had dragon fish....but i not sure...

i hear Fishy bizniz selling the stuff from his tuff tanks now...so large sharks and kois probably selling...

yeh those columbian sharks looked like they needed food.

Did they still have the clown loaches in the CShark tank?

hot blue

Postby hot blue » December 13th, 2009, 2:22 pm

fishy bizniz selling his large sharks for $500

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » December 13th, 2009, 2:32 pm

hot blue wrote:fishy bizniz selling his large sharks for $500

where is fishy bizniz

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » December 13th, 2009, 6:39 pm

i sold a large shark a wile back, he was probably 2ft for $300...an d guy sold it back for $1400 bout 2 yrs later to SONGS great wall...so i still get to see him...anybody get chance to check grand bazaar yet? i mite go thursday wen i get sum time...

link

discus

Postby link » December 13th, 2009, 7:38 pm

JM wrote:

*raises hand...

Nature's World , Mucurapo St. opp San F'do market

JM

Re: discus

Postby JM » December 14th, 2009, 7:58 am

link wrote:
JM wrote:

*raises hand...

Nature's World , Mucurapo St. opp San F'do market

Pal, when school finally decide to close i will head home southside and check fo sure! but wont they both have the same source!? and is that source still the man from fyzo?!

I think GB still has the loaches...