*** The OFFICIAL Soca Warriors Football Thread***

joel

Postby joel » March 20th, 2009, 2:11 pm

i actually think K. Jones is the most overrated player by TRINIS.

monstas23

thoughts on the football!

Postby monstas23 » March 29th, 2009, 11:53 am

well ah look at the match, T & T versus Honduras.......... we could play better than that...we didnht have no support in the mid field.... hope the next game go be better

haterforever

Postby haterforever » March 29th, 2009, 12:03 pm

trinidad didn't play withe their full potential, like they really lookin for another movielike qualification

Postby pugboy » March 29th, 2009, 12:08 pm

USA game was drawn also
the group is still wide open,
except our 2 "easy" games have gone with only 2 pts

Paradoxx

Postby Paradoxx » March 29th, 2009, 12:45 pm

Team needs to work on finishing. and we need to get someone to properly support Carlos Edwards.......d man cah be doing all d damn work on d field

aR&D

Postby aR&D » March 29th, 2009, 12:58 pm

Well said Paradoxx, x.2!

Postby Cjruckus » March 29th, 2009, 1:26 pm

Postby Sky » March 29th, 2009, 1:30 pm

haterforever wrote:trinidad didn't play withe their full potential, like they really lookin for another movielike qualification

Terran

Postby Terran » March 29th, 2009, 2:49 pm

We seem to be throwing caution to the wind early on - as we normally do. It was truly disappointing after leading 2-0 away to El Salvador that we could not hold on for the win. And then scraped through against Honduras last night - a team with GREAT potential and clearly not on their best day. The away match is going to be much tougher, and given that our remaining matches of the "first round" are against the toughest teams, I can see us having a LOT of work to do from the instant we face El Salvador again at home.

I was totally surprised to hear that the USA scraped through their encounter in El Salvador's back yard. Against T&T on Wednesday, I expect they'd be picking up the pace once more. Poor us. We're going to FEEL those 4 pts we've already dropped.

TK!

Postby TK! » March 29th, 2009, 7:23 pm

we shitty.. talk done

/thread

wing

Postby wing » March 29th, 2009, 8:36 pm

truer words have never been written

Postby Maserati » March 29th, 2009, 8:55 pm

lol we didn't play all that well..esp. at home we should be picking up all 3 points..if we grab a point against the USA it'll be a good result..beating the yanks in the states always very very hard.

TK!

Postby TK! » March 29th, 2009, 9:05 pm

i thought that the boys played a lot better against el salvador. despite they lack of ability to focus for a full 90, they did have a tighter game (first half).

against honduras, our skill level was really not where it can be. i AM pleased to see more shots at goal being taken. however, in the same breath, i would like to see them shoot ON TARGET more often. our strikers need to practice like 100 shots at goal per day. thats the only way to get good at it. they also need to learn some basic skills like passing and line plays. i see some real primary school footbal yesterday. :-(

finally .. as said above.. midfield support is weak. adding to that, i'd say that our defense like a strainer. but i leave this point for discussion. lemme hear what allyuh tink.. cause it have varied opinions on that.

oh.. i tink the goal we scored was not only dumb luck but also offside. anybody else feel dat way?

TK!

Postby TK! » March 29th, 2009, 9:07 pm

Maserati wrote:lol we didn't play all that well..esp. at home we should be picking up all 3 points..if we grab a point against the USA it'll be a good result..beating the yanks in the states always very very hard.

yes and yes.. i praying for a draw.

dem lost points can come back to haunt us. ah doh wah see we relying on mathematics to qualify!

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » March 29th, 2009, 9:56 pm

^6Also remember the playoff game won't be against Bahrain and dem again eh.

Is South America in we MC :shock: :shock:

Postby Team Loco » March 29th, 2009, 9:58 pm

Carlos Edwards played boss. but them new boys need to get composed man. they not focused

Postby Maserati » March 29th, 2009, 10:50 pm

TK! wrote:dem lost points can come back to haunt us. ah doh wah see we relying on mathematics to qualify!

for real, best we get the job done and not have to rely on any external forces!

Morpheus23 wrote:^6Also remember the playoff game won't be against Bahrain and dem again eh.

Is South America in we MC :shock: :shock:

yeah that = pressure real pressure!! not a situation we want to end up in

Smokey

Postby Smokey » March 29th, 2009, 11:14 pm

alyuh doh forget honduras is a much better side than el salvador (who we really should be have beaten).

TnT played sheit, never really settled, made endless passing errors, did not take advantage of good plays and really lacked finishing touches as we always do.

The best I tink we can do is scrape a draw with the US. However, the US after drawing with the weakest team in the group (el salvado) will want to come out strong and WIN against TnT. The odds are really stacked against us and I really doutb we'll get anything on wednesday against them.

We need to look to beat Costa Rica, El Salvador and Mexico at home.....and try to draw as much away games as possible.....the group is wide open, but in the end it always ends up with a big fight for 3rd place with Mex & US on top.

3rd place will most likely be between TnT, CR & Hon.....with Hon being the best of those teams IMO.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » March 30th, 2009, 12:09 am

carlos still needs to learn to make a proper cross/ corner. kion daniel needs to learn some ball control. dwight should teach stern how to chest trap a ball. theobald should not play ever. they should have left on scotland b/c i think he would play a lot better with latapy as he seems to do well when the ball is played to his feet

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » March 30th, 2009, 2:04 am

dwight should teach stern how to chest trap a ball

^^Agreed

theobald should not play ever

^^Totally agree. i dunno how dat man play EVERY game of the World Cup. Steups

Paradoxx

Postby Paradoxx » March 30th, 2009, 7:54 am

I fedup hear men badtalk Theobald......d man had a good game for the time that he was on the field on saturday. And as for Carlos, why is there almost NO ONE supporting him, maybe if he had some fackin support on his side then he would cross better. As I said before the only real problem we faced in that game was finishing. We missed quite a bit of opportunities to score. Since dem young fellas like shooting from outside d box so much(i hav no problem with this), somebody teach dem to figgin hit d goal an not over please.

Muddacnut out
0X

Terran

Postby Terran » March 30th, 2009, 10:57 am

Paradoxx wrote:And as for Carlos, why is there almost NO ONE supporting him, maybe if he had some fackin support on his side then he would cross better.

Because Cyd Gray has not played since the game against Guatemala in Guatemala City. You would notice how much support Carlos has when Cyd Gray is working the right back position, and you may recall how effective that was in the same game against Guatemala.

TK!

Postby TK! » March 30th, 2009, 2:21 pm

Smokey wrote:We need to look to beat Costa Rica, El Salvador and Mexico at home.....and try to draw as much away games as possible.....the group is wide open, but in the end it always ends up with a big fight for 3rd place with Mex & US on top.

yes, agreed. take advantage of we home advantage!

and ah begging the fans to make some noise even when we are down! that's what crowd support and playing at home means!

Postby UML » March 30th, 2009, 4:13 pm

Stern FTL

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » March 30th, 2009, 10:40 pm

TK! wrote:
Smokey wrote:We need to look to beat Costa Rica, El Salvador and Mexico at home.....and try to draw as much away games as possible.....the group is wide open, but in the end it always ends up with a big fight for 3rd place with Mex & US on top.

yes, agreed. take advantage of we home advantage!

and ah begging the fans to make some noise even when we are down! that's what crowd support and playing at home means!

^^Totally Agree!! It does be embarassingly quiet in that stadium. Fans only cheer when a man "beats" someone or when we score. Dat is totally poor. One setta band-wagonnists!!

I see a woman wearing some kinda outfit dey. Is a frickin fete?? Stop taking up space.U knows nothing about football!!

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » March 30th, 2009, 10:45 pm

and ah begging the fans to make some noise even when we are down! that's what crowd support and playing at home means

next game at home, who up for a tuner lime at the game??

Postby Maserati » March 30th, 2009, 11:16 pm

*shrug* that is how it is in T&T..I don't think Trini fans are they type you would see in S. America or Europe...the singing chanting etc not in the culture.

sure there would be some noise when a man pull off a move or a steups when a goal score against us or the noise and celebration when we score which lasts only a couple minutes..it just not part of the culture to be making noise for 90mins and creating an intimidating atmosphere.

at best is the rhythm section and that is it lol

drunkenscorpion

T&T vs USA

Postby drunkenscorpion » April 1st, 2009, 12:57 pm

What's your predictions for tonights game?

I say we going for the upset and taking the game 2-1

equal2zero

Re: T&T vs USA

Postby equal2zero » April 1st, 2009, 1:00 pm

drunkenscorpion wrote:What's your predictions for tonights game?

I say we going for the upset and taking the game 2-1

Yuh shooting high dey boi. I go be happy with a 0-0 :lol:

nick1323

Postby nick1323 » April 1st, 2009, 1:01 pm

after i see how T&T play in d last game we goin to lose 2-0 maybe more