The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

trinitachi

Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby trinitachi » November 17th, 2013, 12:18 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:does anyone here have a xperia Z1 phone?

I am curious to know more about your experience with the 20MP camera

this looks unbelievable

It works as advertised.. Awesome stuff I must say.. I love this phone.. Would recommend it over any current Samsung.. Just saying...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 17th, 2013, 3:09 pm

^ doh make joke

This thing real tempting boy.

Check the ad for the design part of it nah. Sony could real make commercials yes

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » November 17th, 2013, 3:50 pm

Only issue I actually have is that once it goes under water, touch screen becomes buggy.. It will make sense to start recording or using camera outside of water and use the physical shutter button to control what you want recorded .

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 17th, 2013, 4:00 pm

^ it is said the way a touch screen works in relation to a human hand this process is cut off under water regardless of what technology they invent. Its the laws of physics I guess.

That ain't a downside luckily lol

how much years you think the battery in this phone will last? and if it must be sent back to sony how do you avoid customs charging you vat again when it re enters the country.

Imagine you buy a phone for $5k and out of that you pay $2k vat.

Something happens or maybe the battery loses charge over the years and you decide to have sony put in a new battery and when it lands in this country they charge another $2000 vat LOL

I could just be paranoid about this also. I assume the battery can be changed down here also right? if you order it off Ebay. Or maybe by then I would have sold it and buy a new one but I don't see myself selling a phone like that in 2 years.

ninjabilly

Postby ninjabilly » November 17th, 2013, 4:07 pm

2k vat you being ripped of kid

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 17th, 2013, 4:15 pm

^ the phone is almost $700 US on amazon

Its not $2k but $1700
but this isn't the point. There should be some sort of service center down here to fix these devices.

Like say screen replacement and mainboard etc. You don't even see or hear about people doing this locally the most they can do is replace black berry screens and motherboard etc.

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » November 17th, 2013, 4:24 pm

Agreed.. Trinidad in my opinion have very few people who can deal with these kinds of devices.. I however have always been lucky enough to never have to send back any phones.. *knocks on wood*

Postby Morpheus » November 17th, 2013, 4:32 pm

Like the Z1 but it's rather large. Nice device though...

Postby desifemlove » November 17th, 2013, 4:38 pm

my step-dad got a Blu 4.1 phone and it good! lol.. this is why Android is so far ahead, so many manufacturers making decent phones. and why BB is so shitty lol.. if Blu, a SMALL player compared to Samsung and HTC and they, can make a good phone why can't BB?

Postby Morpheus » November 17th, 2013, 4:38 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ the phone is almost $700 US on amazon

Its not $2k but $1700
but this isn't the point. There should be some sort of service center down here to fix these devices.

Like say screen replacement and mainboard etc. You don't even see or hear about people doing this locally the most they can do is replace black berry screens and motherboard etc.

Look for username LE55ONS on youtube. Indepth teardowns of phones in HD and great, clear explanations. Not sure if he already did the Z1 bit you can check.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 17th, 2013, 4:52 pm

what kind of heat gun is required for removing these glass plates in these phones?

can this work?

http://www.amazon.com/Wagner-Power-Prod ... s=heat+gun

i watched a video tear down of the xperia Z and Z1 replacing the battery. It looks like something I can do myself if necessary. From the videos all you need is aplastic opening tool, heat gun, suction ting and phone screen tape.

Its actually not difficult.

Postby Ted_v2 » November 17th, 2013, 5:07 pm

i love those Z.

Postby ismithx » November 17th, 2013, 5:55 pm

desifemlove wrote:my step-dad got a Blu 4.1 phone and it good! lol.. this is why Android is so far ahead, so many manufacturers making decent phones. and why BB is so shitty lol.. if Blu, a SMALL player compared to Samsung and HTC and they, can make a good phone why can't BB?

quoted for truth.... BB issa dead horse tho...

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » November 17th, 2013, 6:21 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ it is said the way a touch screen works in relation to a human hand this process is cut off under water regardless of what technology they invent. Its the laws of physics I guess.

how much years you think the battery in this phone will last? and if it must be sent back to sony how do you avoid customs charging you vat again when it re enters the country.

Something happens or maybe the battery loses charge over the years and you decide to have sony put in a new battery and when it lands in this country they charge another $2000 vat LOL

I could just be paranoid about this also. I assume the battery can be changed down here also right? if you order it off Ebay. Or maybe by then I would have sold it and buy a new one but I don't see myself selling a phone like that in 2 years.

Most people who buy these type of phones don't keep them for years.

Postby S_2NR » November 17th, 2013, 6:23 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ it is said the way a touch screen works in relation to a human hand this process is cut off under water regardless of what technology they invent. Its the laws of physics I guess.

this and maybe you have too much time on your hands.

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » November 17th, 2013, 6:25 pm

Ya true.. I usually sell my fone by September and buy a new one in October.. Sometimes earlier.. 1 year max.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 17th, 2013, 6:57 pm

^ you know I actually do the very same thing.

I say to myself its time to sell this before the value goes down and I sell to get $3000 etc for a phone and I put the extra $1500 or $2000 and get a new one.

Doubt I ever kept a phone more than a year so I really paranoid over nothing yes. lol

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » November 17th, 2013, 7:52 pm

Exactly.. My problem now is most people just know Samsung dis and Samsung dat.. People who recently came to Android thought android only came with Samsung.. So I hope when I decide to sell I get what I asked for.. And I doh sell my phones on tuner.. Reason is obvious.. "bess price" people. Some people in here think bargain means "cut asking price in half" yes

Postby Stephon. » November 17th, 2013, 10:46 pm

I just got the 4.3 update and it's a wee bit faster but all the toggles on the top aren't there anymore like wtf. I have to use the double finger swipe down to get all the toggles, I don't get it.

Also they said it's supposed to have a predictive number feature thingy but I don't see the option to put it on.

I'm bored of 4.2/4.3 tbh I'm ready for 4.4

OH I like how the new Play Music looks but it is no longer responsive with my headphones so fail.

Postby Stephon. » November 17th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Why can't I see my sexy sig wtf happened?

Postby nervewrecker » November 17th, 2013, 10:51 pm

Sigs disabled awhile now sweetie.

Welcome back btw

Postby Stephon. » November 17th, 2013, 11:00 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Sigs disabled awhile now sweetie.

Welcome back btw

No no one is gonna see this?

DANCE SEX ARTPOP!

I'm leaving again.

Skuld

Postby Skuld » November 17th, 2013, 11:06 pm

Stephon. wrote:No no one is gonna see this?

DANCE SEX ARTPOP!

I'm leaving again.

Noo babe don't go. I'm sure they'll re-enable it sometime in the future so all can see your rainbow sig.

But I digress...Nexus 5 is pretty badass.

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » November 17th, 2013, 11:34 pm

Got the Z nice phone but it absolutely needs a screen protector and I wish I could of gotten the magnetic charging instead of the 2 pogo pins, anyways its a really nice device. Would recommend to anyone over a s3 or s4 simply design-wise, My next upgrade will definitely be the z1.

Postby nervewrecker » November 18th, 2013, 7:43 pm

Alright guys, budget around $2k for a new android.

Good camera, flash for camera are a must. Size on par with nexus 4

Average specs.

Saw a blu on digicel site with a 1.2ghz processor and about 2gb ram or I think was 1gb which is still great. What else is out here?

Its for a smartphone newb btw

Postby Ted_v2 » November 18th, 2013, 7:44 pm

Why you upgrading from the nexus so fast?

Postby nervewrecker » November 18th, 2013, 7:46 pm

See last line, post was edited.

Those digicel / alcatel phones any good?

Postby Ted_v2 » November 18th, 2013, 8:02 pm

For 600$ you cannot go wrong.
Dual cameras. Jelly bean. Pretty snappy little phone

Postby nervewrecker » November 18th, 2013, 8:07 pm

Kinda iffy on those

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » November 18th, 2013, 8:36 pm

nervewrecker check out the motorola moto g - available from january 2014

The Moto G will cost $179 (USD) for 8GB of storage off-contract, $199 for 16GB and Motorola says some retail partners may even offer it for less.

http://www.motorola.com/us/consumers/mo ... g-pdp.html