COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

ST Auto

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 275 cases, 8 deaths, 135 discharged in T&T

Postby ST Auto » August 8th, 2020, 10:23 pm

You ever see me mention anything about unc or pnm in my post. You clearly need to get urself checked. All that nonsense you keep repeating every day making u delusional. Go dig a hole somewhere.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
ST Auto wrote:You take long to post ur nonsense tonight

Maybe because i was busy in the plantation all day attending to my crops?

What you feel i have a salary and comission based on posting nonsense on tuner? Or that i have nothing to do all day like you?

Atleast I am not a forever die hard UNC like you and for that i thank almighty god for showing me the light of the PNM

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 8th, 2020, 10:25 pm

Why the didn't go point Fortin an take a picture today. It was like borough day today. An zero mask was worn. Right now politicians using covid as a campaign strategy an it's disgusting. We going good. Covid isn't raging in Trinidad.
K74T wrote:
20200808_220438.jpeg

Smh

carluva

Postby carluva » August 8th, 2020, 10:28 pm

Not cool man. You shouldn't wish this upon anyone. Agreed that there are stupid people here in T&T, but it's the same elsewhere in the world.

jhonnieblue wrote:I want Covid to decimate this stupid county. It deserves it. Hopefully we get a10% mortality rate.

Stupid country with even more stupid people.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 8th, 2020, 10:31 pm

Trinis have no discipline. I going home from work last night around 11pm passing all the bars, closed of course yet ppl who I'm assuming was in the bar seem to think it's necessary to continue the lime in the carpark. Have they cooler an music an no masks of course. We surely reach. Only a matter of time.

Postby paid_influencer » August 8th, 2020, 10:32 pm

Kewell35 wrote:I agree but which newspapers this was on? I just wanted to see if they really say that or the media twisting it again.

boss, I am summarizing the national mood as I interpret it. I do not claim to quote any particular politician.

But here are some references:

He said, "The virus is not raging in Trinidad and Tobago. That is the type of language the population holds on to. There is a difference between raging virus and the cases we are seeing, so as exemplars and opinion leaders we have to be careful in how we term what is happening now".

Trinidad Express, August 3

This combined with the refusal to rollback phases has given the population the false impression this thing is controlled.

The only way out of this is to hit the reset button. The big red "LOCKDOWN" button until the population gets the message.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » August 8th, 2020, 10:40 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Kewell35 wrote:I agree but which newspapers this was on? I just wanted to see if they really say that or the media twisting it again.

boss, I am summarizing the national mood as I interpret it. I do not claim to quote any particular politician.

He said, "The virus is not raging in Trinidad and Tobago. That is the type of language the population holds on to. There is a difference between raging virus and the cases we are seeing, so as exemplars and opinion leaders we have to be careful in how we term what is happening now".

First you say "UNC proclaimed COVID was not a threat." I ask you to link to where they say that and you then you say you "summarizing the national mood as you interpret it"?

Also, I didn't see anywhere in the link where UNC proclaimed that. Come nah man.

Postby paid_influencer » August 8th, 2020, 10:44 pm

Kewell35 wrote:First you say "UNC proclaimed COVID was not a threat." I ask you to link to where they say that and you then you say you "summarizing the national mood as you interpret it"?

Also, I didn't see anywhere in the link where UNC proclaimed that. Come nah man.

take win, I apologize.

Postby zoom rader » August 8th, 2020, 11:09 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
jhonnieblue wrote:I want Covid to decimate this stupid county. It deserves it. Hopefully we get a10% mortality rate.

Stupid country with even more stupid people.

that is a stupid post. people could dead on a scale we have never seen in this country.
It's not stupid.

Jah destroyed people and nations .in bible a few times because cause they disobeyed him and not did not take heed.

Trinis are indeed very stupid and primative people.

Postby zoom rader » August 8th, 2020, 11:13 pm

K74T wrote:
20200808_220438.jpeg

Smh
PNM media houses

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » August 8th, 2020, 11:26 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

This combined with the refusal to rollback phases has given the population the false impression this thing is controlled.

The only way out of this is to hit the reset button. The big red "LOCKDOWN" button until the population gets the message.

GORTT not going to lock down again......you saw how much they borrowed to keep public sector workers on the payroll. They doh have money to do it a second time. Which is why MOH, CMO and the doctors at the pressers were at pains to emphasize personal responsibility. But no, TTO ppl want to blame venez although only one case can be linked officially to a migrant, instead of wearing a mask, want to congregate, want to go to work when they're sick. But then again, it would be unfair to single out trinis.....the virus showing us the world just dont want to obey instructions and adhere to proper hygiene

Postby zoom rader » August 8th, 2020, 11:30 pm

Trinispougla wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

GORTT not going to lock down again......you saw how much they borrowed to keep public sector workers on the payroll. They doh have money to do it a second time. Which is why MOH, CMO and the doctors at the pressers were at pains to emphasize personal responsibility. But no, TTO ppl want to blame venez although only one case can be linked officially to a migrant, instead of wearing a mask, want to congregate, want to go to work when they're sick. But then again, it would be unfair to single out trinis.....the virus showing us the world just dont want to obey instructions and adhere to proper hygiene
Anyhow you take it kams will get the blame as they have already stated on the bandwagon.

Stupid country filled with stupid people

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 8th, 2020, 11:33 pm

Trinispougla wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

We screwed up this lockdown bad, when we didn't need to lockdown hard we did, now that we do, we can't afford. And in 4 months we've not prepared our hospitals, added much quarentine spaces no improved testing rates and access. We even have 3000+ stranded trinis that we should have brought in a controlled manner.

Now we screwed, in 2-3 weeks hospitals and quarentine facilities will be maxed out. And this will continue for at least 2-3 months.

And now we'll eventually have to bring back stranded trinis many of whom will be bringing covid back into the country continuing the spread.

But yea, vote a government that controlled Covid-19 and prepared us well for the eventual outbreak.

Just remember Palm Beach country in FL has roughly the same population as T&T and they have 30,000 cases and 1000 deaths.....and this was just over the last 2.5 months.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » August 8th, 2020, 11:44 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

We screwed up this lockdown bad, when we didn't need to lockdown hard we did, now that we do, we can't afford. And in 4 months we've not prepared our hospitals, added much quarentine spaces no improved testing rates and access. We even have 3000+ stranded trinis that we should have brought in a controlled manner.

Now we screwed, in 2-3 weeks hospitals and quarentine facilities will be maxed out. And this will continue for at least 2-3 months.

And now we'll eventually have to bring back stranded trinis many of whom will be bringing covid back into the country continuing the spread.

But yea, vote a government that controlled Covid-19 and prepared us well for the eventual outbreak.

Just remember Palm Beach country in FL has roughly the same population as T&T and they have 30,000 cases and 1000 deaths.....and this was just over the last 2.5 months.

Yes we did. Can you imagine if we had left the borders opened? The cruise ship that was stuck in Martinique had 34 cases of covid, four of whom died, one which i knew . Imagine we had let that loose on a population with one of the highest rates of pre-existing conditions in the world(diabetes, heart disease, asthma etc). We would have had over a thousand deaths by now because those are the people who get violently ill. Most of the cases total cases are still imported cases. Imagine if they had been let loose on the population. TTO still only has 273 cases in total. Jamaica has over 1000, singapore recorded 243 two days ago. Barbados recorded 24 in one day. Guyana smaller in size and less densely populated has 554 cases, of which only 189 have recovered. I know it is difficult for trinis but you have to give government(and a great public servant in Dr Parasram) the credit for their management of the disease. The thing only starting to spread because citizens got complacent. At the end of the day, you should have to tell or coerce people to wear a mask or even worse, wash their hands. You will tell ppl the hadda wash their hands of face 6 months in prison and a 50,000 dollar fine. Height of absurdity

Postby K74T » August 8th, 2020, 11:52 pm

ImageImage

Postby Ted_v2 » August 9th, 2020, 12:11 am

heard sando general has 17 people held for testing, not a credible source

Postby The_Honourable » August 9th, 2020, 12:13 am

So after being tested, the fool didn't stay home and quarantine himself until the results come back...

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » August 9th, 2020, 12:27 am

The_Honourable wrote:So after being tested, the fool didn't stay home and quarantine himself until the results come back...

Nope........this is the behavior that causes the virus to spread..........a jail sentence should be awaiting him after

Postby redmanjp » August 9th, 2020, 12:46 am

tobago go want the air and sea bridge shutdown- leave covid in trinidad

Postby stev » August 9th, 2020, 2:51 am

but ah have on ah mask!!! wah happen to u???

...says all those dumb shits with their noses exposed....

PS: JTA C3 today

Postby adnj » August 9th, 2020, 3:27 am

The most effective mask tested was the fitted N95. Three-layer surgical masks and cotton masks, which many people have been making at home, also performed well.

Valved N95 masks offer less protection to the people nearby than a simple cotton mask.

Neck fleeces, were the least effective. In fact, wearing a fleece mask resulted in a higher number of respiratory droplets because the material seemed to break down larger droplets into smaller particles that are more easily carried away with air.

Folded bandanas and knitted masks also performed poorly and did not offer much protection.

------------

Low-cost measurement of facemask efficacy for filtering expelled droplets during speech

We compared a variety of commonly available mask types and observed that some mask types approach the performance of standard surgical masks, while some mask alternatives, such as neck fleece or bandanas, offer very little protection. Our measurement setup is inexpensive and can be built and operated by non-experts, allowing for rapid evaluation of mask performance during speech, sneezing, or coughing.

https://advances.sciencemag.org/content ... d3083.full

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » August 9th, 2020, 6:10 am

Seems present gov't not taking any chances, pandemic leave has returned.

Cabinet approves covid19 back pay for public servants

Public servants and temporary and casual government workers will benefit from unexpected back pay, as the Cabinet approved retroactive pandemic leave on Thursday, mere days before the general election.

An unspecified number of people will benefit, but the decision will likely impose a significant wage bill on the State.

It will pay the full salaries of several groups who could not work for a number of reasons.

These are: workers who contracted covid19, were unable to work because of parental obligations, could not return to work because of closed borders, were sent home by their employer because of flu-like symptoms, were quarantined by a health or state authority, voluntarily decided to self-isolate, were not rostered to work or could not work remotely.

A circular from the acting Chief Personnel Officer, Darryl Dindial, dated August 7, was sent to permanent secretaries, heads of department, the chief administrator of the Tobago House of Assembly, and heads of statutory authorities, which govern regional corporations, among other organisations.

It said the retroactive leave is effective from March 16-June 21 – the period covering the lockdown of public institutions to prevent the possible spread of covid19.

All absences during that period related to covid19 must now be reclassified.

Labour Minister Jennifer Baptiste-Primus broached the idea of pandemic leave in mid-March, when the first cases of covid19 were detected in TT.

She said then that the new category of leave was being proposed to deal with the absence from duty of a broad spectrum of workers in various state agencies.

Dindial had been working on the proposal to accommodate parents who had no support systems to care for their children, as schools and daycare centres were all closed.

Those workers who would have exhausted all their sick leave would first take extended sick leave before being entitled to apply for pandemic leave.

But a month later, the Prime Minister said in Parliament that the idea of pandemic leave was premature, as public servants and other state employees were ordered to remain home as part of the fight against covid19.

He said, “The concern that generated pandemic leave in its fullness is no longer with us. The matter of whether or not you have some element of it still being considered is there, but there is no pandemic leave as was initially envisaged to take care of any person who may be away from work more than their 14 days’ sick leave.”

Rowley said the government’s decision to allow state employees to stay at home for almost three and a half months superseded any talk of an additional pandemic leave.

With the rapid recent climb in the number of new covid19 cases and the possibility of yet another lockdown after Monday’s general election, Rowley has already broadcast that the first lockdown cost the government billions and there was simply not enough money to do it again.

Sunday Newsday contacted Public Administration Minister Allyson West for clarification on and additional details of the new category of leave, but was referred to the Labour Minister, who like other ministers, was travelling across various parts of the country in motorcades in the final stages of the election campaign.

Messages sent to Public Services Association president Watson Duke, who is contesting the Tobago West seat, were not returned.

Deputy UNC leader and Oropouche East candidate Dr Roodal Moonilal said, “That is nothing more than a transparent election gimmick. It will not and cannot work.

“No one has confidence in this government that they will deliver anything. This is their last stand on the way out.”

What is pandemic leave?

The circular on pandemic leave sent out by the CPO says it is a new category of leave in the public service for employees who are absent from work as a consequence of circumstances associated with the covid19 pandemic.

Cabinet minute no 1390, dated August 6, approved the national policy guidelines on preparing workplaces for covid19, its objective being to minimise the spread by keeping employees safe and well at work.

The CPO told state employers to implement the provisions of the leave in keeping with specific criteria identified in a specific form which provides for approval or non-approval of special sick leave, pandemic leave with full pay.

The categories of workers who would be entitled to such leave include: permanent or temporary public officers; employees of regional corporations; hourly, daily and weekly rated workers; part-time monthly-paid workers, including those who are employed on a seasonal basis; fixed-term contract workers; and short-term contract employees such as OJTs.

Those workers will be eligible to be authorised to have been absent from work between March 16 and June 21, the stay-at-home period.

If any employee in those groups has tested positive for covid19, he or she may be eligible for special sick leave.

“No worker, employee, office holder shall suffer any loss in the calculations of his or her pension, acting allowance, gratuity, or incremental duties payments or any other benefit or leave entitlement based on the classification of leave in accordance with this circular,” it noted.

Department heads were told they must review the list of employees who were absent during the lockdown period, and review and reclassify their reason for being absent in keeping with the provisions of the new category of pandemic leave.

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/08/09/cabine ... -servants/

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 9th, 2020, 6:15 am

anyone know anybody with actual covid 19 this rounds or is it just we know people who know people ? i hearing it is just a hoax for the elections to keep unc people inside.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 9th, 2020, 6:20 am

What about the pnm people? They immune to the virus

Postby pugboy » August 9th, 2020, 7:09 am

where gg and all he health ordinance chest beating ?

Postby aaron17 » August 9th, 2020, 7:33 am

https://www.facebook.com/KamlaPersadBis ... 093562065/

Now is the time ...to get covid
Steups. And the same ppl going to vote.

Postby pugboy » August 9th, 2020, 8:31 am

that would be a real joke if one of them politician ketch it for sure

Postby paid_influencer » August 9th, 2020, 9:03 am

aaron17 wrote:https://www.facebook.com/KamlaPersadBissessar/videos/670272093562065/

Now is the time ...to get covid
Steups. And the same ppl going to vote.

now is the time ... for elbow space :o

Postby matr1x » August 9th, 2020, 9:08 am

Gary is a joke. Worst CoP of all time

Postby paid_influencer » August 9th, 2020, 9:17 am

blame doh fix coronavirus.

the only proven thing we have to remove COVID is ... lockdown. Hope to God whoever gets into office after August 10 sees the light and is willing to make the sacrifice.

If the status quo is allowed to continue, start preparing for mass deaths.

Postby pugboy » August 9th, 2020, 9:24 am

lorse real stripes, absolute failure
only like the limelight

when tree fall down by the savannah he spend the whole morning in short pants and slippers directing traffic

shut down sauce in the earlies and make up all kinda threat how he could shutdown businesses

yet with these blatant overcrowding not doing one artse

matr1x wrote:Gary is a joke. Worst CoP of all time