The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Jonathan_337

Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Jonathan_337 » November 2nd, 2013, 8:06 am

ZeroOne wrote:I see the camera firmware was updated on the S4 with 4.3 anyone who updated noticed a difference in the camera?

Slight. The rotation animation was removed which makes it seem a little faster as well, but still not as fast as the s4 active or s3. Still disappoints me.

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » November 2nd, 2013, 8:46 am

Captain Awesome wrote:So where are the Nexus people? Big phone launch, place real quiet!

http://www.engadget.com/2013/10/31/goog ... s-nexus-5/

Ordered myself a 32gb black. Can't wait for it to reach. N4 up for sale soon!

You're in Trinidad? Did you order it from the play store? I want to order it soon, but I'll have to wait for Amazon to start selling it since I can't access the Google store from here. :(

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » November 2nd, 2013, 8:49 am

Dan, VPN and ah USGoogle account and yuh on.. Dats what I did...

Postby Sky » November 2nd, 2013, 9:47 am

^^vpn to where? Who's network?

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » November 2nd, 2013, 9:51 am

I used TunnelBear.

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » November 2nd, 2013, 10:55 am

Will definitely check this out!

Postby stev » November 3rd, 2013, 8:20 pm

After listing Nexus 5 at an outrageous $799, Best Buy settles for $100 markup

Google Play ftw

http://www.theverge.com/2013/11/2/50580 ... f-contract

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » November 3rd, 2013, 10:49 pm

Wth....thats really insane. I'm hoping to get a 32gb white monday. I'll just wait till someone is coming down to get it cuz I aint paying that ridiculous customs duty on a phone.

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 3rd, 2013, 11:03 pm

Oh, nexus 5 was launched?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 4th, 2013, 1:38 am

Sky wrote:^^vpn to where? Who's network?
or use a service like unblockus.com

There is a free trial that you can use to buy from Google and appear to be in the US.

I was able to buy a Nexus 4 for $199 on Google.com/nexus a few months ago using unblockus.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 4th, 2013, 1:39 pm

Postby Greypatch » November 4th, 2013, 2:18 pm

So the Samsung Nexus just became obsolete on Nov 1st, 2013.

Postby nervewrecker » November 4th, 2013, 2:26 pm

Nexus 8 soon come.

Google giving similar hints like they did with the N5

Postby pete » November 4th, 2013, 2:34 pm

Greypatch wrote:So the Samsung Nexus just became obsolete on Nov 1st, 2013.

How so?

Which one is that, i9250?

Postby Greypatch » November 4th, 2013, 3:04 pm

basically the Nexus 3...its 2 years old and will not get the OTA 4.4 update.

Salt

Postby M_2NR » November 4th, 2013, 5:27 pm

Word is that because some of the parts are from Texas Instruments, driver support is a bit obsolete for it. However, it fell out of the 18 month support cycle too :lol:

I am disappoint concerning that review. Expected it but still saddened a bit.

Postby pete » November 4th, 2013, 6:02 pm

I still want one.

Postby honda hoe » November 4th, 2013, 6:27 pm

Think I'll pass...

Postby M_2NR » November 4th, 2013, 10:36 pm

God. the camera takes horrid pictures stock. You'd need HDR+ on all the time.
https://plus.google.com/+BrentRose/posts/H7QGpcj3jp1
accompanying review:
http://gizmodo.com/nexus-5-a-pure-googl ... 1445522531

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » November 4th, 2013, 11:59 pm

I'm reading alot of reviews about the poor camera. Thing is, in terms of the performance the phone has some of the best tech out right now, and I'm not willing to spend almost 1k on a phone. For the price point, it should serve as a fine replacement for me at least.

In the review swisha posted, they said the problems with the cam was software rather than the actual hardware and they are already working on a fix for it. I dont think the cam alone is enough to dissuade me from getting the phone tho.

Postby stev » November 5th, 2013, 1:29 am

no good reviews on the nexus 5 yet IMO...even android central or the verge are still 'iffy' on certain aspects.

ninjabilly

Postby ninjabilly » November 5th, 2013, 5:17 am

Yup saw some good things about the camera, but so far the battery life post show there was minimal improvement over the N4

Postby desifemlove » November 5th, 2013, 5:36 am

anybody sells S4 unlocked in Trini?

And seems most people have Androids now. was only a few years ago most had Blackberrys lolol..

Blackberry going to sheit, but I ent care..

WM_Tuner

Postby WM_Tuner » November 5th, 2013, 7:19 am

https://hola.org/
If you need to, you can install the extension hola, it works well in chrome, it will let it look like you are in the states and you should be able to access google store as well as some other sites that are US based only. It doesn't work for all web pages but you can give it a try. And its free.

Postby SmokeyGTi » November 5th, 2013, 7:54 am

anybody running custom roms on their s4?
if so what kernel and what rom?

Postby DFC » November 5th, 2013, 8:26 am

Just installed kit kat.

Mmm
Tasty.
1383656152315.jpg

Postby desifemlove » November 5th, 2013, 9:06 am

lulz... nice free advertising for Nestle.

Postby gastly369 » November 5th, 2013, 9:23 am

SOooooo friend installed a new touch screen as his last one shattered and everything works fine except the X-axis and the back button and option button is inverted(back is options, options is back) :\

any help or someone who can fix it i was thinking a custom firmware with custom inputs mabe?
atm the phone is original
already tried factory reset etc no dice

Postby Spitfir3 » November 6th, 2013, 11:02 am

so switching away from phones for a sec anyone here owned or ever used an ouya?
im thinking of bringing one in OR getting one of those mini android stick\pc things
purpose, mainly for watching\streaming movies and playing games
can someone recommend which is the better way to go?
and as for the android stick i notice there's like a lot to choose from with most having nearly similar specs, kinda confusing for a first time buyer of these devices

Postby ismithx » November 7th, 2013, 5:57 am

IT'S HAPPENING GUYS!!!!

so apparently google is trying to fix one of the biggest issues with android, which is the inefficient dalvik runtime. it makes development easy, but uses more resources and power when apps are executed. Project ART in Kitkat promises to solve this.

http://www.engadget.com/2013/11/06/new- ... _truncated

Now i just gotta wait (im)patiently for the kitkat update