COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 243 cases, 8 deaths, 135 discharged in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » August 8th, 2020, 3:49 pm

pugboy wrote:well the curve certainly not flat right now

how many more days if double digit cases before we run out of beds and need to press the panic button?

We flattening it boy, just vertically instead.

Postby redmanjp » August 8th, 2020, 4:08 pm

Trinispougla wrote:

how many more days if double digit cases before we run out of beds and need to press the panic button?

Well people could stop that....if the healthcare system overloads, its not gortt or the doctors fault. The disease can be mitigated by wearing a mask, proper hygiene and social distancing

One thing that was highlighted today and I'm glad they did it-

Ppl think that if they are only with coworkers, extended family or friends they safe so no need to wear a mask- but this is how it is spreading so the NO MASK NO SERVICE message has made ppl think they only need to wear it when going into a business place. but that was only a measure to force ppl to wear it- it doesn't mean you doh need to wear it otherwise- d virus doh care what your relationship to the other person is- your pardna, cousin, in-laws, coworkers can give it to you just as much!!

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 8th, 2020, 5:25 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:

Well people could stop that....if the healthcare system overloads, its not gortt or the doctors fault. The disease can be mitigated by wearing a mask, proper hygiene and social distancing

Ppl think that if they are only with coworkers, extended family or friends they safe so no need to wear a mask- but this is how it is spreading so the NO MASK NO SERVICE message has made ppl think they only need to wear it when going into a business place. but that was only a measure to force ppl to wear it- it doesn't mean you doh need to wear it otherwise- d virus doh care what your relationship to the other person is- your pardna, cousin, in-laws, coworkers can give it to you just as much!!

You are far more likely to get from a co-worker or at house limes than bars, restaurants and groceries.

Like I said I know people (mostly women) who wiping down groceries with Lysol but having house limes and games nights with friends and family. Steups.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » August 8th, 2020, 5:49 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:

Well it have plenty trinis on the pseudo-science vybz. My cousin is an engineer and she was on site with an architect who was not wearing a mask. And she asked him to put on his mask as everyone on site had one. This dude went into a whole diatribe about how he read de mask doh provide protection blah blah blah. And this is an educated dude eh

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » August 8th, 2020, 6:42 pm

Gone to 32 cases

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 8th, 2020, 6:44 pm

I say add 23...not 32...lolll

Postby redmanjp » August 8th, 2020, 6:46 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I say add 23...not 32...lolll

so these 32 cases are a batch of cases too or what? like they trying to play down the numbers
Last edited by redmanjp on August 8th, 2020, 7:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

assassin

Postby assassin » August 8th, 2020, 6:49 pm

Clearly since last week the authorities were aware of 70 positive cases but delayed the release of results
Campaigning affi run

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 8th, 2020, 6:54 pm

Backlog..these ppl jokey yes
IMG-20200808-WA0028.jpeg

Postby The_Honourable » August 8th, 2020, 7:00 pm

32 cases between this morning's update and now, 50 cases in 24hrs...

So 300+ by tomorrow?
Last edited by The_Honourable on August 8th, 2020, 7:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby paid_influencer » August 8th, 2020, 7:01 pm

dat graph pointing straight up to heaven, because this is God punishing we for being dotish. :drinking:
Last edited by paid_influencer on August 8th, 2020, 7:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 8th, 2020, 7:01 pm

I now see on one of my group chats a girl test positive today but she waiting for results since Monday and even though she was told to self quarentine she lives with 6 others 3 of whom are working.

Postby paid_influencer » August 8th, 2020, 7:04 pm

assassin wrote:Clearly since last week the authorities were aware of 70 positive cases but delayed the release of results
Campaigning affi run

bad news is best delivered on a weekend.

wonder if this 50 cases going to make the front page. All these dotish newspapers only carrying MC politics dotish MC newspaper. this is God punishing we for our dotishness

Postby st7 » August 8th, 2020, 7:05 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
assassin wrote:Clearly since last week the authorities were aware of 70 positive cases but delayed the release of results
Campaigning affi run

bad news is best delivered on a weekend.

wonder if this 50 cases going to make the front page. All these dotish newspapers only carrying MC politics dotish MC newspaper. this is God punishing we for our dotishness

it obvious they held back these numbers until the weekend before election cause who can do anything when numbers are high with election day right there.

hadda love this cuntry's govt yes

Postby paid_influencer » August 8th, 2020, 7:10 pm

st7 wrote:it obvious they held back these numbers until the weekend before election cause who can do anything when numbers are high with election day right there.

you with this dotish MC poltics again. Just like the dotish MC Minister of Health that couldn't make it to the daily briefing today because he had to ride on a dotish MC motocade that probably pull down some MC T&TEC post because we dotish MC doh need current and God laughing at we.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 8th, 2020, 7:12 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
st7 wrote:it obvious they held back these numbers until the weekend before election cause who can do anything when numbers are high with election day right there.

you with this dotish MC poltics again. Just like the dotish MC Minister of Health that couldn't make it to the daily briefing today because he had to ride on a dotish MC motocade that probably pull down some MC T&TEC post because we dotish MC doh need current and God laughing.

Don't forget the MC traffic. At least after Monday we no longer have to listen to this MC on TV.

PNM has screwed us over with Covid-19 so badly it ain't funny.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 275 cases, 8 deaths, 135 discharged in T&T

Postby goalpost » August 8th, 2020, 7:13 pm

I think they changed their wording of the release of the results. Maybe all the positive cases before were also from testing that happened a few days before, we just assumed it was over the past 24 hours. Now they've decided to put time periods to the testing.

Postby goalpost » August 8th, 2020, 7:14 pm

Doesn't matter though, because we clearly are seeing a massive increase in cases, especially the unknowns.

Postby pugboy » August 8th, 2020, 7:17 pm

So backlog batching is the new way to soften down the curve

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 8th, 2020, 7:19 pm

Where Ed ... Wonder if he still singing the same tune

Postby paid_influencer » August 8th, 2020, 7:20 pm

goalpost wrote:I think they changed their wording of the release of the results. Maybe all the positive cases before were also from testing that happened a few days before, we just assumed it was over the past 24 hours. Now they've decided to put time periods to the testing.

apparently the UWI lab was testing and getting positives, but these samples had to be sent to CARPHA for verification. The samples were sent from UWI to CARPHA in "a batch", so all those positive cases from July 30 to Aug 5th were not reflected in the figures until today (when CARPHA verified they were indeed positive).

Count at Aug 05 should have been 249, instead of 199 as reported previously.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 8th, 2020, 7:21 pm

The thing with this is I personally know some one that got tested a lil over a week ago and was told they wud get the results in two days. They got the results today. Yes he was quarantined at home. However he lives with his parents an siblings. An they have been out an about. Work, supermarket etc.

Postby MaxPower » August 8th, 2020, 7:23 pm

Its like the Govt feel the date and time of testing matters?

Cases are cases regardless of when the people test positive.

But great job so far Trinis, great job.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » August 8th, 2020, 7:28 pm

I have lost all confidence in MOH. Our classification as sh*thole country is now restored. Either they are incompetent or it was politics at play here. You mean UWI lab had 50 cases that tested positive and waited 1 week for the CARPHA lab to verify the positives to tell the persons? That UWI lab should have been certified months ago.

Postby bluefete » August 8th, 2020, 7:29 pm

Trinispougla wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:

Well it have plenty trinis on the pseudo-science vybz. My cousin is an engineer and she was on site with an architect who was not wearing a mask. And she asked him to put on his mask as everyone on site had one. This dude went into a whole diatribe about how he read de mask doh provide protection blah blah blah. And this is an educated dude eh

Pardner was telling me that he went to a take out catering place, in one of the back streets of Curepe, yesterday. He said that while waiting for the food, a young gyal came in with NO MASK, DID NOT WASH HER HANDS and proceeded to talk to the attendant.

There were 2 signs saying "Please wear mask"

While talking to the attendant, my pardner noticed that the gyal was talking directly over two brown paper bags containing food.

Covid is spread though nasal and mouth drops.

The food in the brown paper bags was what he ordered and he did not know it because it took them over an hour to make it.

That young gyal should have been put out for not wearing a mask.

Additional 50 cases today or however they want to put it says a lot.

He sent an e-mail to the owner since Friday afternoon and has heard nothing from them.

Postby sMASH » August 8th, 2020, 7:30 pm

4000 persons again and they reach 1%. when they reach 32000 persons tested, then they get 3%. only then will a reliable picture be obtained for the spread. we only really now start to count. just like ballot box counting on election night, the first set of boxes dont determine the total number.
remember, they testing the people that definitely contacted people who had it, so there is a high likely hood that these persons will test positive. these groups being tested, does not represent the whole country. its highly skewed. u mayyy get a lull period again, if they go back to community testing.

that being said, if was really in sabga dem territory that so many cases were obtained, what they doing to have it cycle up in their neck of the woods?

Postby bluefete » August 8th, 2020, 7:30 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:I have lost all confidence in MOH. Our classification as sh*thole country is now restored. Either they are incompetent or it was politics at play here. You mean UWI lab had 50 cases that tested positive and waited 1 week for the CARPHA lab to verify the positives to tell the persons? That UWI lab should have been certified months ago.

What is the point in having UWI do this if the results still have to go to CARPHA?

Is this what was happening all the time?

Postby bluefete » August 8th, 2020, 7:32 pm

Max boy I will give you this.

You have been totally consistent with your warnings and advice. All the time. But no one is taking it on.

MaxPower wrote:Its like the Govt feel the date and time of testing matters?

Cases are cases regardless of when the people test positive.

But great job so far Trinis, great job.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » August 8th, 2020, 7:40 pm

bluefete wrote:
neilsingh100 wrote:I have lost all confidence in MOH. Our classification as sh*thole country is now restored. Either they are incompetent or it was politics at play here. You mean UWI lab had 50 cases that tested positive and waited 1 week for the CARPHA lab to verify the positives to tell the persons? That UWI lab should have been certified months ago.

What is the point in having UWI do this if the results still have to go to CARPHA?

Is this what was happening all the time?
Exactly, it just adding delays. With that surge is cases more drastic measures needed to be taken. The fact is after two weeks they were not able to determine the source of the positives so they cannot do targeted measures to reduce the spread. MOH proving to be as incompetent as police service in detecting and solving these new COVID cases.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » August 8th, 2020, 7:40 pm

Seeing that the results were from a week ago, why not hold it for another 2 days until after elections. Bad political move by the government.... or is it. Makes you wonder how much they holding back for next Tuesday.