PNM in Gov't(2015-2020)

Re: PNM in Gov't -AH WHOLE 4 AND 5/8THs YEARS LATER!!!!!

Postby De Dragon » June 9th, 2020, 11:07 pm

Redman wrote:Yep it only the PNM. :roll:
Who is defending?

Politicians say anything All of them.
All them vocalize that their party is the only good one, that their PM is the only one.
Maxie Cuffie isn't anyone that deserves being taken seriously.

It's clear that he talk crap, a weak attempt to get woke...as allyuh younger folk say.

If people weak enough to allow him to influence them....then so be it.

Again, post if you have an equivalent shamelessly racist statement by a sitting MP from a non-PNM party. You are defending, then defending defending, by saying it's not defending? :?
I'm pretty sure that I'm older than you :roll: , so that urban, slangy, hipness is not something I care, or strive for, besides it sounds stupid, and makes no sense.

Postby The_Honourable » June 9th, 2020, 11:18 pm

Ethnic insanity

The Express editorial yesterday (Monday) was surprising for calling out Maxie Cuffie for his letter published on Sunday, since applying choke-holds to facts is how he did journalism from the days of “Chutney Rising” at the Guardian so long ago (1996) and the TnT Mirror more recently.

But the letter was more than an individual statement. Cuffie is a sitting MP and a former member of Cabinet. It must be read as an official position. It also illustrates the way Trinidad/PNM blackness culturally appropriates American and British blackness. This means Afro-Trinidadian racial opportunists use emotive responses to racism in the US and UK to fuel claims of racism in Trinidad and Tobago. The Trinidadian claims are largely hysteria against Indo-Trinidadians, as Cuffie displayed, inserting the UNC in his letter.

He’s not alone. Theodore Lewis and Selwyn Cudjoe (and many more, less prominent) routinely channel ethnic rage from the US into Trinidad, ostensibly on behalf of Trinidad blacks, against Indians. And it works: many black Trinidadians are angry, and believe themselves to be racially oppressed by Indo-Trinidadians.

Many Afro-Trinidadians seem willing to suspend disbelief that Trinidad isn’t the US or UK, and Afro-Trinidadians are not African-Americans, or black British, and have never experienced this kind of racism in Trinidad. Racism is based on state and majoritarian power, and Trinidad blacks are neither politically nor numerically a minority. (African and mixed populations, which by US definitions are all black, sum to about 60 per cent of our population.)

Black men and women in Trinidad have been brutalised by the police, the State, and the society generally. From the numbers of the institutional (prison) population, they are treated this way more than other citizens. But the police, government, judiciary, and civil service are not only majority black, they’re designed, managed, and controlled by black people. This is not racism; it’s another social problem.

Apropos, many black Trinidadians might not realise they, and PNM nationalism, have much more in common with white nationalism than they do with the Black Lives Matter movement. Afro-Trinidadians are a majority population with a minority attitude.

This absurdity has lived in plain sight since 1970. Black Power rhetoric is obsessed with the “liberation” of black people. But how could a black state, ruled by a black government, and a formidable black intellectual who campaigned as a black messiah, have enslaved black people? To avoid this question, black Power keeps going in circles. This gap in consciousness allows opportunists like Cuffie to sling their own interpretations. The most popular is that racism is the UNC’s fault. The UNC doesn’t even have to have existed. Cuffie locates them in the 1980s (the party formed in 1989, their first election was 1991), so pushing them back to 1970 is not a leap.

The result? Many black people believe the UNC’s two terms in office destroyed 50 years of PNM achievement in education, healthcare, economic growth, and social integration, and destroyed black Trinidadians. This, again, mirrors the American majority fear of the minority: as white America projects its paranoia onto Black Americans, Afro-Trinidadians project their fears onto Indo-Trinidadians.

These practices are enabled by a few things and people other than politicians/journalists like Cuffie. Other enablers are media houses who uncritically broadcast and publish this relentless stream of idiocy; academics and prominent spokesmen/surrogates who either tacitly support, or endorse the enormity; and Indians who remain silent.

The media at least have a reason: it’s better to know what the racial agonists are thinking rather than to not know. However, when does presenting all views become enabling hate speech?

The PNM is more multi-racial now than it’s ever been. But Cudjoe (who, presumably, speaks for all Afro-Trinidadians) complains it’s deserting its Black base. In a column in this newspaper (September 16, 2019, “Misplaced philanthropy”), he writes: “It is legitimate that Afro-Trinidadians should expect nay, demand, that a PNM government look after their interests…. Promoting the group’s interest is not necessarily incompatible with promoting the national interest.”

That might be acceptable if the group were an oppressed minority. But Afro-Trinidadians are not a minority here. I can only assume Cudjoe makes these statements (as in his current laughable “debate”, in these pages, about Williams’ use of the term “hostile and recalcitrant” in 1958) to get attention.

And finally, what about the Indians, for whom this whole performance of racial rage and oppression is being staged? The Indian community seems incapable of coherent speech on this. A few “Indian” columnists comment, and pander to mainstream pangloss-ism. That is, saying anodyne things to the effect that all o’ we is one. When in power, the Partnership/UNC used this strategy. They accepted the PNM discourses on race, citizenship and nationalism. They seemed unwilling to control the symbolic and cultural machinery of the State, as they were entitled to do.

So what’s the solution? One cure for this ethnic insanity is education, which The UWI is paid to do. But where are the statistics, analyses, history, theory and facts about the ethnic situation in Trinidad and Tobago? I can’t find them, and I look.

No help from The UWI, then. A good start to improving Trinidadian lives is for the black majority to admit they are not African-Americans, this isn’t the US, they’re not a minority, and Indians aren’t the oppressors.

Raymond Ramcharitar

Source: https://trinidadexpress.com/opinion/eth ... 5944f.html

Postby zoom rader » June 9th, 2020, 11:39 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Ethnic insanity

The Express editorial yesterday (Monday) was surprising for calling out Maxie Cuffie for his letter published on Sunday, since applying choke-holds to facts is how he did journalism from the days of “Chutney Rising” at the Guardian so long ago (1996) and the TnT Mirror more recently.

But the letter was more than an individual statement. Cuffie is a sitting MP and a former member of Cabinet. It must be read as an official position. It also illustrates the way Trinidad/PNM blackness culturally appropriates American and British blackness. This means Afro-Trinidadian racial opportunists use emotive responses to racism in the US and UK to fuel claims of racism in Trinidad and Tobago. The Trinidadian claims are largely hysteria against Indo-Trinidadians, as Cuffie displayed, inserting the UNC in his letter.

He’s not alone. Theodore Lewis and Selwyn Cudjoe (and many more, less prominent) routinely channel ethnic rage from the US into Trinidad, ostensibly on behalf of Trinidad blacks, against Indians. And it works: many black Trinidadians are angry, and believe themselves to be racially oppressed by Indo-Trinidadians.

Many Afro-Trinidadians seem willing to suspend disbelief that Trinidad isn’t the US or UK, and Afro-Trinidadians are not African-Americans, or black British, and have never experienced this kind of racism in Trinidad. Racism is based on state and majoritarian power, and Trinidad blacks are neither politically nor numerically a minority. (African and mixed populations, which by US definitions are all black, sum to about 60 per cent of our population.)

Black men and women in Trinidad have been brutalised by the police, the State, and the society generally. From the numbers of the institutional (prison) population, they are treated this way more than other citizens. But the police, government, judiciary, and civil service are not only majority black, they’re designed, managed, and controlled by black people. This is not racism; it’s another social problem.

Apropos, many black Trinidadians might not realise they, and PNM nationalism, have much more in common with white nationalism than they do with the Black Lives Matter movement. Afro-Trinidadians are a majority population with a minority attitude.

This absurdity has lived in plain sight since 1970. Black Power rhetoric is obsessed with the “liberation” of black people. But how could a black state, ruled by a black government, and a formidable black intellectual who campaigned as a black messiah, have enslaved black people? To avoid this question, black Power keeps going in circles. This gap in consciousness allows opportunists like Cuffie to sling their own interpretations. The most popular is that racism is the UNC’s fault. The UNC doesn’t even have to have existed. Cuffie locates them in the 1980s (the party formed in 1989, their first election was 1991), so pushing them back to 1970 is not a leap.

The result? Many black people believe the UNC’s two terms in office destroyed 50 years of PNM achievement in education, healthcare, economic growth, and social integration, and destroyed black Trinidadians. This, again, mirrors the American majority fear of the minority: as white America projects its paranoia onto Black Americans, Afro-Trinidadians project their fears onto Indo-Trinidadians.

These practices are enabled by a few things and people other than politicians/journalists like Cuffie. Other enablers are media houses who uncritically broadcast and publish this relentless stream of idiocy; academics and prominent spokesmen/surrogates who either tacitly support, or endorse the enormity; and Indians who remain silent.

The media at least have a reason: it’s better to know what the racial agonists are thinking rather than to not know. However, when does presenting all views become enabling hate speech?

The PNM is more multi-racial now than it’s ever been. But Cudjoe (who, presumably, speaks for all Afro-Trinidadians) complains it’s deserting its Black base. In a column in this newspaper (September 16, 2019, “Misplaced philanthropy”), he writes: “It is legitimate that Afro-Trinidadians should expect nay, demand, that a PNM government look after their interests…. Promoting the group’s interest is not necessarily incompatible with promoting the national interest.”

That might be acceptable if the group were an oppressed minority. But Afro-Trinidadians are not a minority here. I can only assume Cudjoe makes these statements (as in his current laughable “debate”, in these pages, about Williams’ use of the term “hostile and recalcitrant” in 1958) to get attention.

And finally, what about the Indians, for whom this whole performance of racial rage and oppression is being staged? The Indian community seems incapable of coherent speech on this. A few “Indian” columnists comment, and pander to mainstream pangloss-ism. That is, saying anodyne things to the effect that all o’ we is one. When in power, the Partnership/UNC used this strategy. They accepted the PNM discourses on race, citizenship and nationalism. They seemed unwilling to control the symbolic and cultural machinery of the State, as they were entitled to do.

So what’s the solution? One cure for this ethnic insanity is education, which The UWI is paid to do. But where are the statistics, analyses, history, theory and facts about the ethnic situation in Trinidad and Tobago? I can’t find them, and I look.

No help from The UWI, then. A good start to improving Trinidadian lives is for the black majority to admit they are not African-Americans, this isn’t the US, they’re not a minority, and Indians aren’t the oppressors.

Raymond Ramcharitar

Source: https://trinidadexpress.com/opinion/eth ... 5944f.html
How many fvcking years I telling all yuh this?

Black government in power since 1956 and black folk oppressed .

What a jackarse country we live in.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » June 10th, 2020, 12:01 am

Notice that Rowley never distanced himself from Cuffie’s words. Clearly he is in agreement with such nasty propaganda.

Postby De Dragon » June 10th, 2020, 12:41 am

toyota2nr wrote:Notice that Rowley never distanced himself from Cuffie’s words. Clearly he is in agreement with such nasty propaganda.

Epitomizing what Richard Ramcharitar wrote in that excellent opinion piece posted above. Clearly not willing to make the remarks himself, but JUHN Scarfy does seem willing to capitalize on them. It just a repeat of "Calcutta ship" which was made in his presence btw, "murky lagoon" and the PNM Family Day rape skit where he never said a word of condemnation or distance.

Postby Gladiator » June 10th, 2020, 12:51 am

IndianLivesDontMatter bro.... at least not in Trinidad to the PNM. There have been severe racist actions by the PNM towards the indian community over the decades but their followers wont even admit it worse yet understand it.

That race skit with the Monkeys disrobing the woman in the sari was disgusting. Rowley repeatedly said to the public that he saw nothing wrong and it was all in good humor. After a couple weeks he apologized after Rohan had his say...

Allyuh want race talk... Anil good yes!!!

toyota2nr wrote:Notice that Rowley never distanced himself from Cuffie’s words. Clearly he is in agreement with such nasty propaganda.

Epitomizing what Richard Ramcharitar wrote in that excellent opinion piece posted above. Clearly not willing to make the remarks himself, but JUHN Scarfy does seem willing to capitalize on them. It just a repeat of "Calcutta ship" which was made in his presence btw, "murky lagoon" and the PNM Family Day rape skit where he never said a word of condemnation or distance.

Postby zoom rader » June 10th, 2020, 8:24 am

Elitecorolla think otherwise, remember when corolla tryed to defend fake rass Hinds on tuner.

Years now I telling tuner PNM is filled with a bunch of racist and their voters lap up everything that told to them.

Black government in power since 1956 and we hear is that black folk are oppressed.

Yet still black folk get inside treatment when it comes to social services funds housing, jobs, education thought the back door and contracts.

PNM is racist as fvck

Postby eliteauto » June 10th, 2020, 12:04 pm

ZR you and your kind can try to twist words to suit your narrative how many times it matters not

You're preaching to the choir

The choir cannot win an election

You're running the congregation away

When they leave you'll burn down the church and blame the congregation.

Postby zoom rader » June 10th, 2020, 12:19 pm

eliteauto wrote:ZR you and your kind can try to twist words to suit your narrative how many times it matters not

But your church leader is Cuffie and his kind. Lots of folk listen to him

Who twist an entire black population to vote PNM?

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » June 10th, 2020, 7:42 pm

Cuffie talk total tootz there, but I will silently agree with him and still vote PNM.

After all, Panday said put the X by the Balisier.

Postby De Dragon » June 10th, 2020, 11:00 pm

eliteauto wrote:ZR you and your kind can try to twist words to suit your narrative how many times it matters not

What do you mean by this? Is that your equivalent of "you people" for Indos?

Postby eliteauto » June 11th, 2020, 12:11 am

you people desperate yes

Postby De Dragon » June 11th, 2020, 4:23 am

eliteauto wrote:

you people desperate yes

You wouldn't have said that if it was an Afro-Trini asking now would you? :wink: Search deeply within yourself before you come with one of your famously sub-standard replies.

Postby eliteauto » June 11th, 2020, 8:41 am

eliteauto wrote:

you people desperate yes

You wouldn't have said that if it was an Afro-Trini asking now would you? :wink: Search deeply within yourself before you come with one of your famously sub-standard replies.
You're doubling down on revealing yourself? K

Postby maj. tom » June 11th, 2020, 8:45 am

OPPOSITION Senator Wade Mark has questioned why communications specialist Rhoda Bharath was hired by the National Lotteries Control Board (NLCB), on the advice of the Finance Ministry, for $20,000 per month.

He said though the NLCB has a communications department, without any public advertisement, the NLCB, acting on the advice of the Finance Ministry, recruited Bharath for $20,000 a month. “You could recruit who you want but you must do it properly.”

He said there was no evidence that any advertisement went out so the public could respond and get an equal chance. Mark reported that he had the board minutes of the corporate secretary concerning the engagement of Bharath and how it was done.

He said she was recruited without advertisement “to do damage control” as they claim. He reported according to the agreement before him, Bharath was receiving $750 per hour, is allowed to work for 20 hours a month and any work exceeding 20 hours will be charged at an hourly rate of $750.

Mark also spoke about a letter dated November 20, 2019 and addressed to NLCB financial controller Wendy Dwarika. He explained the letter has to do with the appointment to act as director and the letter is from the Finance Ministry and signed by the Permanent Secretary.

He read: “I am to inform you that you have been appointed to act as director, NLCB, for a period of two weeks from November 20, 2019.”

Mark commented that there are appeared to be an attempt by the Government through the Ministry of Finance to take upon itself responsibilities that ought to be properly executed by the SASC.
https://newsday.co.tt/2020/06/10/mark-r ... e-control/

Postby zoom rader » June 11th, 2020, 9:31 am

maj. tom wrote:
OPPOSITION Senator Wade Mark has questioned why communications specialist Rhoda Bharath was hired by the National Lotteries Control Board (NLCB), on the advice of the Finance Ministry, for $20,000 per month.

He said though the NLCB has a communications department, without any public advertisement, the NLCB, acting on the advice of the Finance Ministry, recruited Bharath for $20,000 a month. “You could recruit who you want but you must do it properly.”

He said there was no evidence that any advertisement went out so the public could respond and get an equal chance. Mark reported that he had the board minutes of the corporate secretary concerning the engagement of Bharath and how it was done.

He said she was recruited without advertisement “to do damage control” as they claim. He reported according to the agreement before him, Bharath was receiving $750 per hour, is allowed to work for 20 hours a month and any work exceeding 20 hours will be charged at an hourly rate of $750.

Mark also spoke about a letter dated November 20, 2019 and addressed to NLCB financial controller Wendy Dwarika. He explained the letter has to do with the appointment to act as director and the letter is from the Finance Ministry and signed by the Permanent Secretary.

He read: “I am to inform you that you have been appointed to act as director, NLCB, for a period of two weeks from November 20, 2019.”

Mark commented that there are appeared to be an attempt by the Government through the Ministry of Finance to take upon itself responsibilities that ought to be properly executed by the SASC.
She's was hired cause she's a PNM, simple.

These ppl have all the insider illegal benefits, yet still they say they are oppressed.

Still think the army is not a back door job for PNM ppl?

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » June 11th, 2020, 9:34 am

maj. tom wrote:

wtf that insane

Postby zoom rader » June 11th, 2020, 9:36 am

Kewell35 wrote:
maj. tom wrote:

wtf that insane
That's normal behaviour with PNM ppl

Redman and elite won't talk about these back door jobs.

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 11th, 2020, 11:54 am

It doesn't matter how far we continue to debate PNM vs UNC, some people eg. elite will always be pro PNM. They may have had 48+ years of leadership and wasted the majority of it in corruption and nepotism but there are families and individuals who stand to benefit from this one sided way and it appears he is one of them.

Our argument cannot be which is the better party for development of country, we've past that now. We know it can never be PNM. But which party magnifies the status quo of mediocrity and we know that is definitely PNM. Some people are slaves to their very own thinking and as such never emancipated themselves from mental slavery.

Another day, I'll make a contribution concerning the PNM and public sector jobs. ZR alluded something but if I do so with facts, chances are I might be putting myself in some trouble.
Last edited by agent007 on June 11th, 2020, 11:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Redman » June 11th, 2020, 11:54 am

Last back door job I was offered was under the UNC...if you must know.

Postby rspann » June 11th, 2020, 12:10 pm

Kewell35 wrote:wtf that insane

Not even if she was plying for hire down Woodbrook by pugboy .

Postby zoom rader » June 11th, 2020, 12:15 pm

Redman wrote:Last back door job I was offered was under the UNC...if you must know.
Then you should have exposed them then and there.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 11th, 2020, 12:16 pm

Redman wrote:Last back door job I was offered was under the UNC...if you must know.

arranged by Barry Padarath no doubt?

Postby zoom rader » June 11th, 2020, 12:23 pm

agent007 wrote:It doesn't matter how far we continue to debate PNM vs UNC, some people eg. elite will always be pro PNM. They may have had 48+ years of leadership and wasted the majority of it in corruption and nepotism but there are families and individuals who stand to benefit from this one sided way and it appears he is one of them.

Our argument cannot be which is the better party for development of country, we've past that now. We know it can never be PNM. But which party magnifies the status quo of mediocrity and we know that is definitely PNM. Some people are slaves to their very own thinking and as such never emancipated themselves from mental slavery.

Another day, I'll make a contribution concerning the PNM and public sector jobs. ZR alluded something but if I do so with facts, chances are I might be putting myself in some trouble.
Bro share it.

I get the worst treatment on tuner for sharing stuff here .

Yesterday elite cuss me up and its no biggy cause I support free speech.

Whatever you share it can't be that bad.
Last edited by zoom rader on June 11th, 2020, 12:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » June 11th, 2020, 12:24 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

Nah hoss dat too far.

Postby eliteauto » June 11th, 2020, 12:27 pm

agent007 wrote:It doesn't matter how far we continue to debate PNM vs UNC, some people eg. elite will always be pro PNM. They may have had 48+ years of leadership and wasted the majority of it in corruption and nepotism but there are families and individuals who stand to benefit from this one sided way and it appears he is one of them.

Yuh done know 8-)

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 11th, 2020, 12:32 pm

Sorry that's the notion I got based on general feedback from the forum. If I got it wrong then truly I am sorry but my contribution would remain largely for those who continue to defend the PNM as a means forward despite evidence of 48years to the contrary.

Postby zoom rader » June 11th, 2020, 12:38 pm

agent007 wrote:Sorry that's the notion I got based on general feedback from the forum. If I got it wrong then truly I am sorry but my contribution would remain largely for those who continue to defend the PNM as a means forward despite evidence of 48years to the contrary.
Don't be sorry bro

Any new tuner will see that elite is a pure PNM stooge

Postby pugboy » June 11th, 2020, 12:44 pm

Woodbrook is big Marlene country eh

rspann wrote:
Kewell35 wrote:wtf that insane

Not even if she was plying for hire down Woodbrook by pugboy .

Postby Redman » June 11th, 2020, 12:53 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

:D :D