PNM in Gov't(2015-2020)

daxt0r

Re: PNM in Gov't -AH WHOLE 4 AND 5/8THs YEARS LATER!!!!!

Postby daxt0r » May 30th, 2020, 8:33 am

everytime truth like da is posted, according to d late lame fadda of d nation eric used to say, not a damn PNM dog bark.
Lap up the lies good doggies in d supporter base an get yuh pittance while everyone else gets d real meat.

Postby De Dragon » May 30th, 2020, 4:08 pm

Gladiator wrote:Is there anything that mofo Rowley don't lie about....fadda lord help he nah.

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_ ... =578621119
Chin: I initiated offer to pick up Bissoon in The Bahamas

Businessman Derek Chin has said the Government did not ask him to pick up Krissa Bissoon from The Bahamas.

He said he was the one who initiated the offer, from the goodness of his heart.

Chin, the owner of MovieTowne, rebutted Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley’s comments that he (Chin) was told he could return to Trinidad only if he picked up Bissoon, who is a cancer patient.

Chin broke his silence on the issue via a social media post yesterday, which stated: “I initiated the offer to bring the lady stuck in Bahamas. Do you really believe the Govt on its own would be able to put together such without me making the offer?

Does this pathological liars' behaviour really surprise anyone anymore? Now he's gone from indefensible lies, to attacking the media for fact-checking his lying arse. Beware any person who starts to talk about "interests" and "agendas" when trying to defend their record. So according to this immense dunce JUHN Scarfy, Mondello, Reuters, The Economic Times of India, the Aruban Government (just to name a few) also have "interests" and "agendas?" What a shameful episode, but after EMailGate should we really be surprised?

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » May 30th, 2020, 4:51 pm

I think we should severe all ties with the US

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » May 30th, 2020, 6:28 pm

Not a bad idea.
Ent trinis like Biskrem biscuit and Dimes juice?
And trinis and turkish have a lot in common.

death365

Postby death365 » May 30th, 2020, 6:33 pm

Hmmmm me likes Turkish coffee
Blaze d Chalice wrote:Not a bad idea.
Ent trinis like Biskrem biscuit and Dimes juice?
And trinis and turkish have a lot in common.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » June 7th, 2020, 9:49 am

antlind

Postby antlind » June 7th, 2020, 10:40 am

Cantmis wrote:http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/40-millionplus-wasted-on-tobago-hotels-6.2.1131538.10814f45f7

Another waste. Would anyone know who was responsible for starting these projects?

Postby Rovin » June 7th, 2020, 11:36 am

buh tobagonians love it so ...

Postby De Dragon » June 7th, 2020, 1:17 pm

antlind wrote:
Cantmis wrote:http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/40-millionplus-wasted-on-tobago-hotels-6.2.1131538.10814f45f7

Another waste. Would anyone know who was responsible for starting these projects?

Hold on, the real t'efin eh start yet. Like with JUHN Scarfy Tobago residence, they'll "have to" demolish those hotels and build them from the ground up due to "neglect" between 2010 and 2015 :roll:

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » June 7th, 2020, 8:52 pm

This makes the ring bang concert in Shaw park worth it I guess.

Postby 16 cycles » June 8th, 2020, 8:01 am

CUFFS FOR CUFFIE

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 62fd7.html

what going on with cuffie?

Postby Dizzy28 » June 8th, 2020, 8:14 am

16 cycles wrote:
CUFFS FOR CUFFIE

what going on with cuffie?

Showing his true colour just like Chauvin did

Postby maj. tom » June 8th, 2020, 8:35 am

Damn. That was a really stink piece there that Cuffie wrote. I'm appalled that there are such people among us, far less for in high office! No comment from the PM distancing himself from such ideas expressed by a PNM party member sitting in government.
And what hypocrisy! Wtf he means "come up for air" when the PNM is the one who has been stifling this country since 1956?

Cuffie’s words

CComing up for air
JUNE 06, 2020
When I fell seriously ill in September 2017 and my family felt I would not be able to breathe for long if I had stayed in Trinidad, I was quite happy to be transferred to a rehab hospital in Washington DC in the United States of America.

The events now unfolding across the US bring back memories of the streets and locations I perused by taxi and when I spent nine months being holed up in recovery and rehabilitation, for which I am eternally grateful. But I should not be surprised at the events being played out across the great USA. Washington DC, with protesters defying armed soldiers and policemen, looks more and more every day like Donald Trump’s description of a “s---hole country” in the throes of revolution.

As I travelled the streets of Washington DC back then, the writing was already on the wall, literally graffiti-style. The signs saying different versions of “F--- Trump” were ubiquitously emblazoned on walls, and even road signs bore similar graffiti instead of giving traffic warnings. They instead suggested the direction in which the country was heading. The signs all spoke to a deep-seated resentment that the murder of George Floyd has laid bare for all the world to see. That was the nature of political discourse in the US.

I worry for the several Trini and Trini-American friends I left in DC. One of them, an American lawyer, born of a Trini father, made contact last week to inform that he was encouraging all his siblings to seek to obtain their Trinidad and Tobago passports, thereby activating their entitlement to dual citizenship since it was now clear that the American dream was turning into a nightmare for many of them. They looked back at our display of exemplary leadership in the handling of the Covid-19 pandemic and our treatment of racial issues that have ensured every creed and race truly aspiring to hold an equal place in the rat race of Trini life.

I had previously explained to my Trini-American friend our history of revolt and insurrection through 1937, 1970 and 1990 that informs the Trini psyche. We have been able to overcome them through the visionary leadership of men like Tubal Uriah “Buzz” Butler and Adrian Cola Reinzi, who created the Oilfields Workers’ Trade Union, and Dr Eric Williams, Winston Mahabir and Kamaluddin Mohammed, who not only formed but helped sustain an institution like the People’s National Movement (PNM) that has played an enduring role in giving us breathing room, even when the knee of the United National Congress (UNC) threatens to stay on our throats.

I had to explain to my Trini-American friend that the PNM’s visionary leadership, under Dr Keith Rowley, although new to him, is not a new phenomenon. He was born in the US because of the forced migration of his father during the 1980s when the “one-love” dream that gave the UNC its first taste of power soured.

Despite this, we have always been able to nurture institutions like the PNM that have always given the society the breathing room required at critical times in our history. I feel happy to have been part of a Government whose greatest accomplishment has been keeping the knees of the UNC off our throats and their hands out of our pockets, thereby maintaining social peace. We need to be vigilant since, like a recurring bad dream, they are threatening to return again.

Whenever the country needed to come up for air, like in 1956, 1971 and, 1991, and most recently in 2015, it found a ready, willing and capable PNM to come to its assistance. As it will again in 2021, post-Covid-19, after the next election is held as scheduled. We cannot be moved by the murder rate locally and be unmoved by the murder of George Floyd. They both stem from the same place. A general disrespect for human life in all its forms that is not peculiar to Americans.
https://trinidadexpress.com/opinion/let ... cc38c.html

Former mayor Yousef has, in the meantime, called on the PM to relieve Cuffie of his seat in the Parliament, saying, “What madness is this?”

Yousef condemned Cuffie’s remarks, saying: “How is this country ever going to move forward when a Government minister believes and states that whenever there is any Government in power besides the PNM, it is a ‘knee’ on the necks of the people, stifling them and they cannot breathe.”

Yousef said there was no relation between the two situations and accused Cuffie of being ungracious to taxpayers who footed his medical bills.

Yousef said Cuffie’s remarks were misplaced and unfortunate in the face of the movement sparked by Floyd’s death. He said Rowley must immediately make it clear that this belief is not reflected by him or his Cabinet.

“The Prime Minister must reject this at once,” Yousef said. “Silence is backing it.”

A number of citizens were equally aghast, with one man writing to Cuffie via Facebook: “Your words are highly inflammatory, used to cause incitement and totally unbecoming of a so-called patriot.”
Last edited by maj. tom on June 8th, 2020, 9:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby maj. tom » June 8th, 2020, 9:15 am

The Express released a statement. So i corrected my post about the editor allowing such rubbish to be printed.

Maxie Cuffie’s offensive nancy story

As the space reserved exclusively for readers’ issues and comments, this newspaper’s letters pages are open to a very broad range of opinion. To publish or not to publish is an ongoing debate in the exercise of editorial judgment when balancing freedom of expression versus responsible comment.

Yesterday, the Sunday Express published a letter submitted by MP Maxie Cuffie which has provoked heated and intense public reaction for its conspicuous absence of responsible comment. As an elected member of parliament the publication of Mr Cuffie’s words is more than just a matter of giving rein to freedom of expression; it is in the public interest that people know where this MP and former cabinet minister stands on public issues.

Regrettably, what MP Cuffie revealed by his words was a warped sense of political allegiance to his party and a shocking willingness to play fast and loose with historical fact.

We take no joy in saying these words about a former editor-in-chief of this newspaper and a man who is still recovering from a debilitating stroke. However, having continued to hold his position in parliament, ill health offers no protection from the consequences of his opportunistic and divisive use of George Floyd and the US Black Lives Matter protests to glorify his party, the People’s National Movement, while criminalising the Opposition.

In praising his party, Mr Cuffie saw no irony in saying that he went to a rehab hospital in Washington DC in the United States because his family felt he “would not be able to breathe for long” if he had stayed in Trinidad. By his own admission, he was failed by the health system for which his Government is responsible and over which the PNM has presided for close to 50 years. Unlike most citizens, however, Mr Cuffie had the privilege of foreign medical care underwritten by taxpayers, not just PNM taxpayers but all taxpayers, including those from among the Opposition.

The most offensive aspect of his letter, however, was Mr Cuffie’s blatant attempt to exploit the killing of George Floyd for partisan political ends by casting the PNM as the national saviour in times of social upheaval, “even when the knee of the United National Congress (UNC) threatens to stay on our throats”.

In this year, the 50th anniversary of T&T’s Black Power Revolution of 1970, Maxie Cuffie’s historical mishmash is an embarrassing denial of the facts surrounding the revolt of black youth against the PNM for the party’s failure to create space for them in independent T&T. Mr Cuffie rewrites history when he says that the PNM was there, ready and able when “the country needed to come up for air” in 1971. The fact is that in 1971 the PNM was the object of a massive boycott by a disillusioned electorate which resulted in its re-election with a voter turnout of 33 per cent and no opposition.

Mr Cuffie’s statement was a cheap attempt to use the historic developments in the US for party propaganda in an election year. His opportunistic nancy story is a disservice to the facts and to the reality of T&T’s own troubled relationship with power and the challenge of change.
https://trinidadexpress.com/opinion/edi ... 55998.html

Postby Dizzy28 » June 8th, 2020, 9:17 am

maj. tom wrote:Damn. That was a really stink piece there that Cuffie wrote. I'm appalled that there are such people among us, far less for in high office! Surprised that the editor had allowed such rubbish in their newspaper. No comment from the PM distancing himself from such ideas expressed by a PNM party member sitting in government.
And what hypocrisy! Wtf he means "come up for air" when the PNM is the one who has been stifling this country since 1956?

I glad the Express publish it. Lets us see the thinking of these Politicians. And the silence of the rest of the party also shows where their compatriots minds are as well.

rebound

Postby rebound » June 8th, 2020, 9:18 am

Cuffie blew the whistle hard boy....Healthy guy now..... I hope society through education, move away from our old style of politics....It seems to be going in that direction (fingers crossed)

Postby Gladiator » June 8th, 2020, 10:39 am

This is the Trinidad and Tobago history that 99% of PNM supporters don't even know... I overheard a heated argument the other day when someone was trying to tell an afro-trinidadian man that black power in Trinidad was a revolt against Eric Williams and his PNM. The man refused to believe it...

In this year, the 50th anniversary of T&T’s Black Power Revolution of 1970, Maxie Cuffie’s historical mishmash is an embarrassing denial of the facts surrounding the revolt of black youth against the PNM for the party’s failure to create space for them in independent T&T. Mr Cuffie rewrites history when he says that the PNM was there, ready and able when “the country needed to come up for air” in 1971. The fact is that in 1971 the PNM was the object of a massive boycott by a disillusioned electorate which resulted in its re-election with a voter turnout of 33 per cent and no opposition.

Postby Rovin » June 8th, 2020, 11:08 am

if according to maxiepad his pnm govt did such an incredible job giving d country new life\breath : when he got sick why didnt he stay here in mt hope or sando or POS like how all of us has to do when we get sick

nah he hop ah plane cause taxpayers footing d bill & gone merica for 2+yrs doh mind it cost d state 2-3mil

dem fellers doh count their lucky stars after recovering from life threatening illness, jes like guy smiley too , humble ymc & bow out of politics to enjoy what little life u have left , buh nah is literally pee nm til ah dead ...

Postby Redman » June 8th, 2020, 12:30 pm

like it have any minister in any party that doesnt believe that all the other parties are filled with lying thieving oppressors. They all believe that his or her party has a monopoly on integrity and vision.

Maxi eh say anything tha ZR eh saying since forever.

My only surprise is that ANY one here would expect ANYTHING else to come out of Maxi mouth.

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 8th, 2020, 12:45 pm

The PNM is an established cult. They will literally vote Lucifer as their leader to oppress them for another 48+ years if they found out that he was black.

Again I say, the list of opposing entities are too busy crabbing up each other in a pig bucket that the more they divide themselves into more party groups, it raises the chances of a return of PNM oppression. Chant BLM but they will continue to have the establishment oppress them and use them as political pawns.

Get prepared for anarchy.

Postby 16 cycles » June 8th, 2020, 1:22 pm

link maxi's article pls?

Postby Dizzy28 » June 8th, 2020, 1:32 pm

16 cycles wrote:link maxi's article pls?

When I fell seriously ill in September 2017 and my family felt I would not be able to breathe for long if I had stayed in Trinidad, I was quite happy to be transferred to a rehab hospital in Washington DC in the United States of America.

The events now unfolding across the US bring back memories of the streets and locations I perused by taxi and when I spent nine months being holed up in recovery and rehabilitation, for which I am eternally grateful. But I should not be surprised at the events being played out across the great USA. Washington DC, with protesters defying armed soldiers and policemen, looks more and more every day like Donald Trump’s description of a “s---hole country” in the throes of revolution.

As I travelled the streets of Washington DC back then, the writing was already on the wall, literally graffiti-style. The signs saying different versions of “F--- Trump” were ubiquitously emblazoned on walls, and even road signs bore similar graffiti instead of giving traffic warnings. They instead suggested the direction in which the country was heading. The signs all spoke to a deep-seated resentment that the murder of George Floyd has laid bare for all the world to see. That was the nature of political discourse in the US.

I worry for the several Trini and Trini-American friends I left in DC. One of them, an American lawyer, born of a Trini father, made contact last week to inform that he was encouraging all his siblings to seek to obtain their Trinidad and Tobago passports, thereby activating their entitlement to dual citizenship since it was now clear that the American dream was turning into a nightmare for many of them. They looked back at our display of exemplary leadership in the handling of the Covid-19 pandemic and our treatment of racial issues that have ensured every creed and race truly aspiring to hold an equal place in the rat race of Trini life.

I had previously explained to my Trini-American friend our history of revolt and insurrection through 1937, 1970 and 1990 that informs the Trini psyche. We have been able to overcome them through the visionary leadership of men like Tubal Uriah “Buzz” Butler and Adrian Cola Reinzi, who created the Oilfields Workers’ Trade Union, and Dr Eric Williams, Winston Mahabir and Kamaluddin Mohammed, who not only formed but helped sustain an institution like the People’s National Movement (PNM) that has played an enduring role in giving us breathing room, even when the knee of the United National Congress (UNC) threatens to stay on our throats.

I had to explain to my Trini-American friend that the PNM’s visionary leadership, under Dr Keith Rowley, although new to him, is not a new phenomenon. He was born in the US because of the forced migration of his father during the 1980s when the “one-love” dream that gave the UNC its first taste of power soured.

Despite this, we have always been able to nurture institutions like the PNM that have always given the society the breathing room required at critical times in our history. I feel happy to have been part of a Government whose greatest accomplishment has been keeping the knees of the UNC off our throats and their hands out of our pockets, thereby maintaining social peace. We need to be vigilant since, like a recurring bad dream, they are threatening to return again.

Whenever the country needed to come up for air, like in 1956, 1971 and, 1991, and most recently in 2015, it found a ready, willing and capable PNM to come to its assistance. As it will again in 2021, post-Covid-19, after the next election is held as scheduled. We cannot be moved by the murder rate locally and be unmoved by the murder of George Floyd. They both stem from the same place. A general disrespect for human life in all its forms that is not peculiar to Americans.
https://trinidadexpress.com/opinion/let ... cc38c.html

Postby The_Honourable » June 8th, 2020, 2:21 pm

Gladiator wrote:This is the Trinidad and Tobago history that 99% of PNM supporters don't even know... I overheard a heated argument the other day when someone was trying to tell an afro-trinidadian man that black power in Trinidad was a revolt against Eric Williams and his PNM. The man refused to believe it...

Black youths don't know what "father" Eric Williams did to Kwame Ture.

Postby sMASH » June 8th, 2020, 2:31 pm

sooo, uncle kwame could have said that the black power movement was in support of the govt? or that the govt supported them???

Postby Gladiator » June 8th, 2020, 5:22 pm

The problem is that Maxi is a sitting MP... And ZR is ...well...ahhhmm...Just ZR
Redman wrote:like it have any minister in any party that doesnt believe that all the other parties are filled with lying thieving oppressors. They all believe that his or her party has a monopoly on integrity and vision.

My only surprise is that ANY one here would expect ANYTHING else to come out of Maxi mouth.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 8th, 2020, 6:23 pm

Zoom commands a tuner following of a few. Maxi represents a seat of 26,000 and countless more as a sitting member of parliament within the ruling party. Surely you jest
Redman wrote:like it have any minister in any party that doesnt believe that all the other parties are filled with lying thieving oppressors. They all believe that his or her party has a monopoly on integrity and vision.

Postby Redman » June 8th, 2020, 6:45 pm

Agreed...but ultimately a distorted vocalizing of the PNM contribution is par for the course.
As is the ‘fact’ that the 2001 UNC save the country from the PNM.
And then Manning’s PNM ‘save’ us from Bas

Etc etc etc.

The people that take this seriously are the TIL ah dead crew on both sides, see ZRs posts

Do you guys take what your MP says seriously....in a similar context?

Propaganda is propaganda..

Maxie talking sheit cuz he have nuttin of value else to say.

Postby De Dragon » June 9th, 2020, 1:00 am

Redman wrote:Agreed...but ultimately a distorted vocalizing of the PNM contribution is par for the course.
As is the ‘fact’ that the 2001 UNC save the country from the PNM.
And then Manning’s PNM ‘save’ us from Bas

Etc etc etc.

The people that take this seriously are the TIL ah dead crew on both sides, see ZRs posts

Do you guys take what your MP says seriously....in a similar context?

Propaganda is propaganda..

Maxie talking sheit cuz he have nuttin of value else to say.

With all due respect. Shush.
There is no defending this cheap and disgusting attempt to play off of a man's death to score political points. Show me where such naked profiteering was done so shamelessly and publicly by anyone but the PNM. Just like "Calcutta ship", "murky lagoon" and even their own (Patrick Manning's stroke), the PNM top leadership shows no tendency to even distance themselves from nasty, fear mongering and racist statements by their moronic "star boys"

Postby Redman » June 9th, 2020, 4:24 am

Yep it only the PNM. :roll:
Who is defending?

Politicians say anything All of them.
All them vocalize that their party is the only good one, that their PM is the only one.
Maxie Cuffie isn't anyone that deserves being taken seriously.

It's clear that he talk crap, a weak attempt to get woke...as allyuh younger folk say.

If people weak enough to allow him to influence them....then so be it.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 9th, 2020, 6:57 am

Well Laurel Lezama has distanced the PNM from the letter but Maxie remains unapologetic.

Once an muffler bearing always an assahole I guess
https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... ium=social