Why the book grant get slash?
Why the forex so hard to get?
Why the property tax come back?

The country is booming Mr speaker!

Re: Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby Habit7 » March 26th, 2024, 6:15 pm

pugboy wrote:the data is what i said, not paying back our debts to civil servants and vat refunds
mind you ferris fadda in law does get he rent paid on time

plus continuous debt budgets aside

you can’t buy groceries with a credit rating afaik…

Habit7 wrote:
pugboy wrote:if our debt paying ability so good
why public servants police can’t get paid yet and vat refunds take forever ?
like them rating agency doh know bout that or wha?

The rating agencies can show the data that made them give their rating.

What is the data that made you express your concern about our debt?

There are no debts to civil servants. The TTPS back pay has been paid to the majority of police. The outstanding amount is a function of the TTPS admin, not MoF.
VAT refunds are just $6B in $100B+ the govt owes all its debt. The government will not prioritise paying it off because it is a relatively low interest rate and the majority of entities that it owes are large businesses.

Last budget was our smallest deficit budget, expect more balanced or surplus budgets as it would be a campaign point for 2025.

Credit ratings are a more objective CV way to judge the debt situation in the country than just sticking your finger in the air and sensing that things rel bad.

Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby Habit7 » March 26th, 2024, 6:27 pm

sMASH wrote:Why the fuel subsidy gone?
Why the gate get slash?
Why the book grant get slash?
Why the forex so hard to get?
Why the property tax come back?

The country is booming Mr speaker!

So the sign of a good economy is welfare?
Forex hard to get since 2014, the only way to make it easier is to devalue the TTD
Property tax is not coming back, it is the law since 2009. It is the responsible way to sustainably fund local govt whether we have money or not.

Responsible governance is not having unending subsidies and no taxes because of the hope that oil & gas revenue will cover it. Responsible governance is to cut subsidies and have expenditure ties to revenue like what Norway is doing and the gulf states are starting to implement. What you want is more Argentina and Venezuela type of governance, and even Argentina recently got fed up of this.

Postby pugboy » March 26th, 2024, 7:47 pm

filling your financiers pockets with rent money can also be considered a form of welfare

Postby sMASH » March 26th, 2024, 9:48 pm

The sign of good economics is not cutting back the goodies while ur election margins narrow.
Tha was practically a white wash until the recount let pnm get a consolation seat.
Local elections closer to split than sure win the previous election.

BTW, why gortt issuing soooo much national bonds and borrowing soooo much from the CAF?
Why can't it repay the VAT?
The vat reimbursements is not welfare... At least not to the business class.

Remember how school transport and cepep workers get late pay...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 26th, 2024, 10:45 pm

Great is the pnm where we pay a water bill, don't get water but if you pay property tax you would get water: colm imbuttt

Thats the kinda gobar people does defend in here?

Postby pugboy » March 26th, 2024, 10:48 pm

allyuh hear rowlee talk tonight
man say he only want a certain number of ppl to get ful per year

Postby alfa » March 26th, 2024, 11:09 pm

pugboy wrote:allyuh hear rowlee talk tonight

Ehhh I missed that speech, but its no surprise he and Heinz are pulling Erla's strings. Lawyers gonna eat a good food this rounds.

Postby pugboy » March 26th, 2024, 11:14 pm

he say it is not in the constitution
doh be surprised if they try to change the law to remove ful in general

Postby sMASH » March 26th, 2024, 11:30 pm

pugboy wrote:allyuh hear rowlee talk tonight
He name earla?

The CoP not supposed to be instructed by PM.

That is corruption

Postby sMASH » March 26th, 2024, 11:30 pm

pugboy wrote:he say it is not in the constitution
doh be surprised if they try to change the law to remove ful in general
The slow trot to dictatorship.

Postby 88sins » March 27th, 2024, 4:06 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Great is the pnm where we pay a water bill, don't get water but if you pay property tax you would get water: colm imbuttt

Pretty much.

On another note...

I know more than a few former party-card-toting, dyed red in the wool, diehard "pnm till ah dead" fanatics. Keyword there is former.
Their people done fed up of them and ready to vote them out.

wing

Postby wing » March 27th, 2024, 5:08 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Great is the pnm where we pay a water bill, don't get water but if you pay property tax you would get water: colm imbuttt

Pretty much.

On another note...

I know more than a few former party-card-toting, dyed red in the wool, diehard "pnm till ah dead" fanatics. Keyword there is former.
"Small update.
Whole clan gt. Who eh get Canadian pr get their multiple entry visas & super visas.

All I studying now, is when to say "we moving on ××/××, allyuh pack allyuh bag"
I just want to finish this phase of my construction project before I decide"

You ain't leave yet? The 40k not enough to pay property taxes in Canada? You seem real interested in the PNM still.

You could go ahead and start insulting now...

Postby 88sins » March 27th, 2024, 6:04 pm

wing wrote:

Pretty much.

On another note...

"Small update.
Whole clan gt. Who eh get Canadian pr get their multiple entry visas & super visas.

All I studying now, is when to say "we moving on ××/××, allyuh pack allyuh bag"
I just want to finish this phase of my construction project before I decide"

You ain't leave yet?The 40k not enough to pay property taxes in Canada? You seem real interested in the PNM still.

You could go ahead and start insulting now...

I'd ask if you were a chicken wing, a pigeon wing, or corbeau wing, but like u too deep in yuh feelies to even figure that out.

In any regard, since u asked.
For the moment, yes miss, I'm still here.
However
If you had a modicum of an ability for the comprehension direct sentences made of words in simple English, you'd realize, in your own post, you answered your own question. :lol:

buh I know better than to expect so much from some people :lol:

Postby 88sins » March 27th, 2024, 6:33 pm

After some short consideration, & some Chivas, I have decided.

You are no longer to be known as "wing"
I dub thee "wing-nut, the un-threaded"

Go ye forth, forevermore proving thine self an arse until the end of eternity :lol:

wing

Postby wing » March 27th, 2024, 7:14 pm

88sins wrote:After some short consideration, & some Chivas, I have decided.

Go ye forth, forevermore proving thine self an arse until the end of eternity
I want to be known as 89sins, just a little bit better than you.

dogg

Postby dogg » March 27th, 2024, 7:39 pm

even now, a Kamla led UNC cannot dethrone Rowley. I dislike the PNM, but I'll still quicker vote for them over Kamla.
Change leadership, and I'm all ears.

Postby 88sins » March 27th, 2024, 7:47 pm

wing wrote:
88sins wrote:After some short consideration, & some Chivas, I have decided.

Go ye forth, forevermore proving thine self an arse until the end of eternity
I want to be known as 89sins, just a little bit better than you.

Too late shall be thy cry, for thou hast proven thineself an ass :lol:
You are now officially wing-nut, the un-threaded. Bear true, and keep to thine namesake, proving thyself evermore to be as useless as a fart in a hurricane

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » March 27th, 2024, 7:51 pm

dogg wrote:even now, a Kamla led UNC cannot dethrone Rowley. I dislike the PNM, but I'll still quicker vote for them over Kamla.
Change leadership, and I'm all ears.

Once you name on the list, you can vote however you want

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » March 29th, 2024, 12:27 am

https://newsday.co.tt/2024/03/27/pm-off-to-ireland-on-vacation/
PM off to Ireland on vacation

Sounding like a swinger's club

Postby zoom rader » March 29th, 2024, 5:56 am

Mmoney607 wrote:
https://newsday.co.tt/2024/03/27/pm-off-to-ireland-on-vacation/
PM off to Ireland on vacation

Sounding like a swinger's club
Most likely is

wing

Postby wing » March 31st, 2024, 11:19 am

Facts, fiction and freedom of information
Kevin Ramnarine

A range of allegations has flown from the People’s National Movement (PNM) as it relates to the energy sector in the period under my watch as energy minister. These allegations have gone largely unchecked for the last nine years. In the face of this onslaught, I chose to remain largely silent in the knowledge that the right people knew the truth.
On Friday, March 15, 2024, while he was assailing the former chairman of Republic Bank, Ronald Harford, Stuart Young predictably resuscitated his stock of claims against the People’s Partnership government’s tenure in the energy sector. The time has come to deal with these allegations. For now, I will deal with the issue of the NGC and its contractual relationships in 2015.

The NGC has contracts with upstream companies that supply it with natural gas, and it has contracts to supply natural gas to its customers. For the last nine years I have heard it said that the PNM, upon coming into office, found all these contracts expired or that there was a failure to renew or re-negotiate any contracts.

This is a vile attack on the dedicated professionals at the NGC. Moreover, it is illogical and betrays either a total lack of understanding of how the sector works or a deliberate attempt to diminish the achievements of the period 2010 to 2015.

It may be surmised that the attack on Ronald Harford was an attempt to deflect from the many woes afflicting the energy sector, including the collapse of natural gas production, the death march of the oil industry, the 56% decline in the number of persons with jobs in the sector, a now-­decaying refinery and the pellucid industrial decline of the last nine years.

The facts are that in 2015 the NGC had ten contracts with its suppliers, none of which had expired when I demitted office. This fact was further corroborated by written reply from the NGC to Fishermen and Friends of the Sea (FFOS), dated October 3, 2023, under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).

The facts are as follows:

1. Of the ten contracts that NGC had with its upstream suppliers, nine were due to expire between 2017 and 2024, with the largest one expiring in 2018. It would be illogical for any of the parties to consider renewing any such contracts which still had years to run. Should the NGC in 2014/2015 have renewed contracts that were expiring in 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, etc?

2. One of the aforementioned ten contracts was due to expire in December 2015 but was not renewed because of the failure of the Starfish development.

Furthermore, is Stuart Young saying BP, BG, EOG and BHP (the suppliers of natural gas to the NGC) were content to sit idly by and allow their businesses in Trinidad to collapse? Is he accusing the vice-presidents and managers at the NGC of simply doing nothing? Could it be they understood what he failed to appreciate, the contracts still had years before expiring? Is he saying that in 2015, BP, BG, EOG and BHP conspired with the NGC and me to not ­renew their own contracts that were expiring from 2017 to 2024? Do you see how that makes absolutely no sense?

It gets even stranger. At a local government campaign meeting in Tunapuna on July 13, 2023, the Prime Minister, in full hyperbolic flight, said the PNM found in 2015 that “the vast majority of the Point Lisas contracts... had come to the end of their life”. He further added that many of the Point Lisas companies were on a “month to month” arrangement.

By letter dated August 30, 2023, the NGC indicated to FFOS that on August 31, 2015, there were 20 such contracts, of which only two were on a month-to-month basis. This month-to-month arrangement was put in place for contracts that expired and for which negotiations for renewals were incomplete. Two out of 20 is not a “vast majority”.

With regard to the upstream suppliers, there was no pressure from any of them to renew their contract that early, as this would be tantamount to their making a commitment to supply natural gas for which projects had not yet been fully developed or were being planned. Additionally, at that time the Ministry of Energy was finalising the Natural Gas Master Plan (completed in August 2015), which would have provided an informed view on the road ahead.

The accelerated capital ­allowances of 2014 (which the then-PNM opposition voted for) are yet another issue that the PNM does not seem to understand. I have explained the mathematics of capital allowances ad nauseum for the past nine years. In summary, they had no impact on Government revenue.

The low Government revenue in 2016-2017 was due to a collapse in prices and falling production. However, it is incontrovertible that without these incentives there would be no Juniper, Angelin, Matapal and Cypre, and the economy would have long collapsed.

Given the true state of the energy sector, it is reasonable that Mr Harford would question what the plans for natural gas and oil production are. If there is a plan it isn’t working and by my prediction, and that of the NGC at a seminar last January, natural gas production will continue to struggle, with huge consequences for the inflow of foreign currency.

Postby 88sins » March 31st, 2024, 1:06 pm

bruh, all that says, is politicians lie, and pnm politicians does lie till the can't even lie down :lol:

Postby bluefete » March 31st, 2024, 1:47 pm

All that is nice and fine - but Ramnarine must tell us if the PP drained ALL the profits and retained earnings from NGC under his watch.

Postby 88sins » March 31st, 2024, 2:09 pm

bluefete wrote:All that is nice and fine - but Ramnarine must tell us if the PP drained ALL the profits and retained earnings from NGC under his watch.

ahm, yeah, about dat...

dat eh happening in a hurry.

Reasons being, last time PP was in a position of authority where it could possibly influence the NGC was 9 years ago. Mpre recently, under PNM watch, an entity was paid $1M for 20 wooden ladders for the fire service to use to fight fires, less than 2 years ago it came to light, and who you see try to justify it?

before the population gets that s3. question answered, you will see a yard fowl with teeth, going by the dentist, and a pig with wings that can fly on it's own looking to land on thw airport runway, and God face bandaged like He have mumps

Postby Habit7 » March 31st, 2024, 3:03 pm

RAMNARINE’S ATTEMPT TO REWRITE HISTORY

Kevin Ramnarine has once again illustrated and confirmed his lack of vision, understanding and ability to manage Trinidad and Tobago’s energy sector.

In today’s Sunday Express newspaper Kevin Ramnarine puts forward a feeble attempt to defend the UNC’s tenure of the energy sector from 2010-2015.

Firstly, the attempt to shift the blame for non-negotiation of gas supply contracts to NGC and its officers is disingenuous as he as Minister of Energy ‘forced’ the NGC into the only contract that he negotiated which has turned out to be a loss making contract to the tune of billions of dollars. The record reflects that both NGC officers and public servants advised Ramnarine, in writing, not to enter into the CGCL contract and he still forced same. The country would also do well to be reminded that it was under Ramnarine’s tenure as Minister of Energy that the UNC bled billions of dollars in cash from NGC and had NGC build the Beetham Waste Water plant and even refurbish and build recreational grounds in hand picked UNC constituencies. These examples, and there are many more, illustrate what Kevin Ramnarine’s misplaced focus was with respect to NGC.

Secondly, to suggest that in the energy sector one does not begin negotiating future gas supply or gas sales contracts way in advance of their expiry is a telling admission of incompetence. One cannot wait until the expiry of a gas supply contract to negotiate a new one as a gas production project takes years to bring to fruition. This thesis and/ or explanation provided by Kevin Ramnarine has confirmed why Trinidad and Tobago’s energy sector was in rapid decline in terms of both oil and gas production by the time Ramnarine and the UNC left office in September 2015 and why both gas supply and gas sales contracts expired without being renewed as same were never discussed or negotiated between 2010-2015.

The PNM government and NGC have between 2016-2023 negotiated and re-negotiated scores of gas supply and gas sales contracts on behalf of the people of Trinidad and Tobago. Perhaps one of the best examples of not waiting for the expiry of a contract to renegotiate same is the restructuring of Atlantic LNG (ALNG). The restructuring was done way in advance of the expiry of the licences and contracts that govern ALNG. Additionally, within the past few years NGC has negotiated future gas supply contracts with bp and Shell before expiry of the current contracts ensuring terms and conditions for future gas supplies.

Thirdly, Kevin Ramnarine’s continued attempt to defend the UNC’s poor energy policy of accelerated capital write offs in the manner that he did does not change the fact that this policy resulted in the largest gas supplier informing this government in 2015/2016 that as a result Trinidad and Tobago would receive no revenue for gas from that entity from 2015 to 2024. Fortunately, this government took steps to reverse this and secured billions of dollars in revenue for our gas.

The irrefutable facts are that under the tenure of Kevin Ramnarine and the UNC between 2010-2015, both oil and gas production declined significantly and they negotiated no new gas supply contracts, they used over $14 billion dollars of cash from NGC on projects not related to increasing gas production or improving the energy sector, the single energy project they negotiated has costs the taxpayers of Trinidad and Tobago billions of dollars in losses, they had NGC rolling contracts for gas supply to Petchem plants on a month to month basis rather than on a long term basis and they left NGC in a weakened position.

The period of 2010-2015 was a very dark and destructive one for Trinidad and Tobago’s energy sector and it has taken years to rebuild same due to the nature of the energy sector and the fact that even after negotiating contracts it takes years for production to commence. Accordingly, the population must consider who they want to manage this important industry for us going forward.

Those who are responsible for clearing NGC’s coffers of over $14 billion in cash and negotiating a loss making contract which has cost NGC billions in losses, under the tenure of Ramnarine as Minister of Energy have much to account for.

Stuart R. Young, M.P.

Minister of Energy and Energy Industries and Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister

March 31, 2024

https://www.facebook.com/share/p/PHeVjBXgUpERgfUz/

Postby zoom rader » April 1st, 2024, 5:31 am

wing wrote:Facts, fiction and freedom of information
Kevin Ramnarine

A range of allegations has flown from the People’s National Movement (PNM) as it relates to the energy sector in the period under my watch as energy minister. These allegations have gone largely unchecked for the last nine years. In the face of this onslaught, I chose to remain largely silent in the knowledge that the right people knew the truth.
On Friday, March 15, 2024, while he was assailing the former chairman of Republic Bank, Ronald Harford, Stuart Young predictably resuscitated his stock of claims against the People’s Partnership government’s tenure in the energy sector. The time has come to deal with these allegations. For now, I will deal with the issue of the NGC and its contractual relationships in 2015.

The NGC has contracts with upstream companies that supply it with natural gas, and it has contracts to supply natural gas to its customers. For the last nine years I have heard it said that the PNM, upon coming into office, found all these contracts expired or that there was a failure to renew or re-negotiate any contracts.

This is a vile attack on the dedicated professionals at the NGC. Moreover, it is illogical and betrays either a total lack of understanding of how the sector works or a deliberate attempt to diminish the achievements of the period 2010 to 2015.

It may be surmised that the attack on Ronald Harford was an attempt to deflect from the many woes afflicting the energy sector, including the collapse of natural gas production, the death march of the oil industry, the 56% decline in the number of persons with jobs in the sector, a now-­decaying refinery and the pellucid industrial decline of the last nine years.

The facts are that in 2015 the NGC had ten contracts with its suppliers, none of which had expired when I demitted office. This fact was further corroborated by written reply from the NGC to Fishermen and Friends of the Sea (FFOS), dated October 3, 2023, under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).

The facts are as follows:

1. Of the ten contracts that NGC had with its upstream suppliers, nine were due to expire between 2017 and 2024, with the largest one expiring in 2018. It would be illogical for any of the parties to consider renewing any such contracts which still had years to run. Should the NGC in 2014/2015 have renewed contracts that were expiring in 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, etc?

2. One of the aforementioned ten contracts was due to expire in December 2015 but was not renewed because of the failure of the Starfish development.

Furthermore, is Stuart Young saying BP, BG, EOG and BHP (the suppliers of natural gas to the NGC) were content to sit idly by and allow their businesses in Trinidad to collapse? Is he accusing the vice-presidents and managers at the NGC of simply doing nothing? Could it be they understood what he failed to appreciate, the contracts still had years before expiring? Is he saying that in 2015, BP, BG, EOG and BHP conspired with the NGC and me to not ­renew their own contracts that were expiring from 2017 to 2024? Do you see how that makes absolutely no sense?

It gets even stranger. At a local government campaign meeting in Tunapuna on July 13, 2023, the Prime Minister, in full hyperbolic flight, said the PNM found in 2015 that “the vast majority of the Point Lisas contracts... had come to the end of their life”. He further added that many of the Point Lisas companies were on a “month to month” arrangement.

By letter dated August 30, 2023, the NGC indicated to FFOS that on August 31, 2015, there were 20 such contracts, of which only two were on a month-to-month basis. This month-to-month arrangement was put in place for contracts that expired and for which negotiations for renewals were incomplete. Two out of 20 is not a “vast majority”.

With regard to the upstream suppliers, there was no pressure from any of them to renew their contract that early, as this would be tantamount to their making a commitment to supply natural gas for which projects had not yet been fully developed or were being planned. Additionally, at that time the Ministry of Energy was finalising the Natural Gas Master Plan (completed in August 2015), which would have provided an informed view on the road ahead.

The accelerated capital ­allowances of 2014 (which the then-PNM opposition voted for) are yet another issue that the PNM does not seem to understand. I have explained the mathematics of capital allowances ad nauseum for the past nine years. In summary, they had no impact on Government revenue.

The low Government revenue in 2016-2017 was due to a collapse in prices and falling production. However, it is incontrovertible that without these incentives there would be no Juniper, Angelin, Matapal and Cypre, and the economy would have long collapsed.

Given the true state of the energy sector, it is reasonable that Mr Harford would question what the plans for natural gas and oil production are. If there is a plan it isn’t working and by my prediction, and that of the NGC at a seminar last January, natural gas production will continue to struggle, with huge consequences for the inflow of foreign currency.
A whole load of nothing

Postby zoom rader » April 1st, 2024, 5:33 am

bluefete wrote:All that is nice and fine - but Ramnarine must tell us if the PP drained ALL the profits and retained earnings from NGC under his watch.
Profits were used wisely.

U rather borrow?

Those profits belong to citizens and not PNM or UNC.

PNM is too borrow and put debt on citizens
UNC is to save and limit borrow, the old injun way of banning ur belly. Ole ni@@ers don't understand how to save

Postby 88sins » April 1st, 2024, 7:13 am

Calm down zoom bai, yuh go raise yuh presha.

From what I see, pnm, unc, all other comers, all unfit as potential leaders in government. Because to put it simply, they are all corrupt and generally don't care about the development and advancement of this nation or its people.
pnm will tax and squeeze the life blood out of the people for their benefit and try to convince the simpletons that it's they who will gain from their suffering. unc will line their pockets and drop a few coins here and there and do things that look like it's in the best interest of the people but really is a way for unc and their financiers to eat a food.
And it's like this for a singular reason.
Because the people accept it. They've accepted it for 50+ years, and they will accept it for another half century.

Postby pugboy » April 1st, 2024, 9:08 am

spot on

88sins wrote:Calm down zoom bai, yuh go raise yuh presha.

From what I see, pnm, unc, all other comers, all unfit as potential leaders in government. Because to put it simply, they are all corrupt and generally don't care about the development and advancement of this nation or its people.
pnm will tax and squeeze the life blood out of the people for their benefit and try to convince the simpletons that it's they who will gain from their suffering. unc will line their pockets and drop a few coins here and there and do things that look like it's in the best interest of the people but really is a way for unc and their financiers to eat a food.
And it's like this for a singular reason.
Because the people accept it. They've accepted it for 50+ years, and they will accept it for another half century.