2024 United States Presidential Elections - Donald Trump historic comeback!

Who in your opinion, not who you prefer, will win the 2024 US presidential elections?

Harris
46%
Trump
54%

Total votes: 50

Re: 2024 United States Presidential Elections - Donald Trump historic comeback!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 2nd, 2025, 6:51 pm

Donald Trump unveiled a sweeping new tariffs regime during his "Liberation Day" press conference.
The announcement includes reciprocal tariffs on all foreign nations, a 25% tariff on all automobiles manufactured outside the U.S., and a blanket 10% tariff on all imported goods.

In simple terms, prices are about to increase. From groceries and lumber to toys, clothing, and particularly cars, almost every imported product will be affected. It's still uncertain whether any countries or sectors will be exempt. Trump indicated that the new tariffs will come into effect at midnight tonight.

Here is a list of many reciprocal tariff rates:
- 25% tariff on South Korea
- 36% tariff on Thailand
- 31% tariff on Switzerland
- 49% tariff on Cambodia
- 10% tariff on Brazil
- 20% tariff on European Union
- 34% tariff on China
- 46% tariff on Vietnam
- 26% tariff on India
- 24% tariff on Japan
- 10% tariff on United Kingdom

Postby paid_influencer » April 2nd, 2025, 7:10 pm

10% tariff on benne balls and chubby (??)

Postby pugboy » April 2nd, 2025, 7:37 pm

so how this affecting the avg trini online shopper via skybox?

Postby bluefete » April 2nd, 2025, 7:46 pm

pugboy wrote:so how this affecting the avg trini online shopper via skybox?

Oh gosh pugboy, you smarter than that.

The cost of anything you buy online will escalate.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 2nd, 2025, 7:48 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Donald Trump unveiled a sweeping new tariffs regime during his "Liberation Day" press conference.
The announcement includes reciprocal tariffs on all foreign nations, a 25% tariff on all automobiles manufactured outside the U.S., and a blanket 10% tariff on all imported goods.

In simple terms, prices are about to increase. From groceries and lumber to toys, clothing, and particularly cars, almost every imported product will be affected. It's still uncertain whether any countries or sectors will be exempt. Trump indicated that the new tariffs will come into effect at midnight tonight.

Here is a list of many reciprocal tariff rates:
- 25% tariff on South Korea
- 36% tariff on Thailand
- 31% tariff on Switzerland
- 49% tariff on Cambodia
- 10% tariff on Brazil
- 20% tariff on European Union
- 34% tariff on China
- 46% tariff on Vietnam
- 26% tariff on India
- 24% tariff on Japan
- 10% tariff on United Kingdom

Semi conductors from Taiwan have their own carve out. They may be mad but they're not craxy

Postby pugboy » April 2nd, 2025, 8:16 pm

hehe
yankee goods gonna go up by 10-15% min
add on the trini taxes
skybox stuff will jump from 25-35% to 55%

bluefete wrote:

Postby st7 » April 2nd, 2025, 8:21 pm

where the men who was praising trump on the tariffs claiming 'he know what he doing'?

short-sighted idiots who are coincidentally election party zealots.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 2nd, 2025, 9:37 pm

bluefete wrote:

US importers pay the tariffs, not T&T importers

A US 10% tariff on T&T means that any products the US imports from T&T will be charged 10% extra to be paid for by the US importer. So all the methanol, natural gas and urea that T&T exports to the US will now cost the US more - T&T does not pay the tariff, the US does - the idea is to force US production of those products giving US companies more sales rather than buying it cheaper from T&T or elsewhere.

a063ee52-648a-4baf-ad53-3cce91f7d2ca.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 2nd, 2025, 9:40 pm

pugboy wrote:hehe
add on the trini taxes

bluefete wrote:

that's not how a tariff works

what will cause the price of skybox products to go up in T&T is that there is a tariff to be paid by Amazon for example when they import items into the US that we eventually buy, so the item on Amazon will go up and so we will eventually pay more for it.

Look at this video for an explanation

Postby Dizzy28 » April 2nd, 2025, 10:14 pm

An under mentioned rule from today is that Trump also removed the de minimis rule.
That allowed shein, temu and all those Chinese brands to escape paying importation taxes into the US.

Postby pugboy » April 2nd, 2025, 10:25 pm

sorry, I meant basically anything coming into US will incur at least 10-15% tariff

read my calculation again

$1usd item will now be costing some seller on amazon at least $1.15 to sell
times 1.2 (20% trini duty) times 1.125 (12.5% trini vat) comes out to 1.55

prior landed trini calculation on item costing $1 without extra 15% tariff works out to 1.35

this is of course a very rudimentary calaculation since it doesnt take into account the amazon vendor is marking up a $1.15 product instead of $1, so in fact likely to be more than starting with $1.15......

pugboy wrote:hehe
add on the trini taxes

bluefete wrote:

that's not how a tariff works

what will cause the price of skybox products to go up in T&T is that there is a tariff to be paid by Amazon for example when they import items into the US that we eventually buy, so the item on Amazon will go up and so we will eventually pay more for it.

Look at this video for an explanation

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 2nd, 2025, 10:44 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:An under mentioned rule from today is that Trump also removed the de minimis rule.
That allowed shein, temu and all those Chinese brands to escape paying importation taxes into the US.

Yes it has been removed. So where products from China that were valued under US$800 didn’t pay the tariff they will now have to pay all applicable duties.

The White House claims de minimis has been stopped to help curb opioid import into the US
https://www.whitehouse.gov/fact-sheets/ ... id-crisis/

Postby Chimera » April 2nd, 2025, 11:54 pm

well look how that gonna firetruck up a good bit of small businesses/hustlers locally who ship from china to their skybox in the US

and also gonna cause major delays because you would now have to find USD to pay whatever taxes are applicable in the US before they deliver to your skybox...you probably going to have to hire a broker too in some circumstances

i hope Trinis realize this and dont get caught surprised

Postby bluefete » April 3rd, 2025, 12:38 am

bluefete wrote:

A US 10% tariff on T&T means that any products the US imports from T&T will be charged 10% extra to be paid for by the US importer. So all the methanol, natural gas and urea that T&T exports to the US will now cost the US more - T&T does not pay the tariff, the US does - the idea is to force US production of those products giving US companies more sales rather than buying it cheaper from T&T or elsewhere.

Duane, this is a global tariff at varying rates. The US producer / consumer pays initially but any goods for export from the USA which contains imported components of any kind will cost more. So if you buy a laptop from the USA that is essentially made in China - guess what?

And who is to say that made in USA will eventually be cheaper?

Postby bluefete » April 3rd, 2025, 12:55 am

Postby pugboy » April 3rd, 2025, 5:01 am

this tariff nonsense will have to be reversed
the american ppl won’t accept paying increased prices so
just can’t work, look at what it will do to car prices

Postby Dizzy28 » April 3rd, 2025, 6:21 am

These tariffs could be a precursor to something big in the future geopolitically. The Russian war in Ukraine has shown good ole manufacturing is still needed. Big guns don't shoot ppt presentations or code r.e..knowledge economy. America lags behind China on most manufacturung fronts and Trump could be preparing the American economy for self sufficiency in the event of all out global war in a few years.

It's what makes sense of all scenarios. It's also frightening

screwbash

Postby screwbash » April 3rd, 2025, 6:34 am

what allyuh beating up over. the tariff is goods ENTERING the USA not goods you buy online or goods leaving the usa. the only way made in USA goods can go up is if yuh chinese prime minister decide to raise tariff on american goods entering TT. doh get tie up on all the bs idiots talking.

BUT IT GOOD FOR ALL THEM BUSH PEOPLE THAT WANT THEY CHIEF CURRY AND CHINEE MANGO WHILE LIVING IN THE USA. Trump should watch all them who buying that and deport they MC

Postby Chimera » April 3rd, 2025, 6:37 am

screwbash wrote:what allyuh beating up over. the tariff is goods ENTERING the USA not goods you buy online or goods leaving the usa. the only way made in USA goods can go up is if yuh chinese prime minister decide to raise tariff on american goods entering TT. doh get tie up on all the bs idiots talking.

BUT IT GOOD FOR ALL THEM BUSH PEOPLE THAT WANT THEY CHIEF CURRY AND CHINEE MANGO WHILE LIVING IN THE USA. Trump should watch all them who buying that and deport they MC
List the last 10 things you buy online and see how much of it was made in the usa

Postby pugboy » April 3rd, 2025, 7:57 am

tell dem
ppl only studying how trinidad get a low tariff rate but ain’t studying the other direction

Chimera wrote:
screwbash wrote:what allyuh beating up over. the tariff is goods ENTERING the USA not goods you buy online or goods leaving the usa. the only way made in USA goods can go up is if yuh chinese prime minister decide to raise tariff on american goods entering TT. doh get tie up on all the bs idiots talking.

List the last 10 things you buy online and see how much of it was made in the usa

Postby pugboy » April 3rd, 2025, 8:09 am

the revocation of de minimus rule could be a mess for skybox companies receiving goods from temu for transshipment to trinidad
unless the skybox company has a bonded warehouse to ensure the goods doesn’t leave the premises and go onto us soil

Postby matr1x » April 3rd, 2025, 8:29 am

What's a bush people?

Postby hover11 » April 3rd, 2025, 8:40 am

Lemme ask allya something......all these tarrifs if the latest IPhone drop TODAY for 5000US men jumping out they money.....the inelastic goods will remain the same.Trump is smart

Sent from my SM-N986U1 using TriniTuner mobile app
Last edited by hover11 on April 3rd, 2025, 8:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby timelapse » April 3rd, 2025, 8:46 am

Higher tariffs on sky boxes will deter people from importing random nonsense, thus easing up some of our forex issues. This could be a good thing.Buy local

Postby bluefete » April 3rd, 2025, 8:51 am

pugboy wrote:the revocation of de minimus rule could be a mess for skybox companies receiving goods from temu for transshipment to trinidad
unless the skybox company has a bonded warehouse to ensure the goods doesn’t leave the premises and go onto us soil

Absolutely. The increased taxes going into the US are significant. We will all feel it.

https://www.whitehouse.gov/fact-sheets/ ... id-crisis/

Postby Chimera » April 3rd, 2025, 10:34 am

The headache to just pay taxes on something landing In the US gonna kill alot of small businesses locally.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 3rd, 2025, 10:42 am

bluefete wrote:

Duane, this is a global tariff at varying rates. The US producer / consumer pays initially but any goods for export from the USA which contains imported components of any kind will cost more. So if you buy a laptop from the USA that is essentially made in China - guess what?

And who is to say that made in USA will eventually be cheaper?

I didn't say it will be cheaper. I said the idea the US administration has is that the goods will be made in America instead, bringing more jobs to Americans and American factories. An "idea" doesn't mean it will work.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 3rd, 2025, 11:33 am

Donald Trump is a genius.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » April 3rd, 2025, 11:55 am

Chimera wrote:

I stop buying online long time an also from facebook marketplace. I fed up not get exactly what i want. I have to see it an make sure it is what i want b4 i buy. Once a year i go up buy what i want if i want something. This online stores to too much scamps even amazon.

Postby MaxPower » April 3rd, 2025, 12:09 pm

Never had an issue really with Amazon, just be careful with which sellers you buy from which is a no brainer for any online seller.

The most common is delayed packages.

Their customer service and return policy is excellent.

Trinis just love to by items, use it, then bad talk it and then plenty skybox offering free returns…..amazon then refunds.

Online shopping is the way to go.