COVID-19 Vaccine Tracker (News and Updates) (Poll added)

Are you taking the COVID-19 Vaccine?

Yes, I am already vaccinated.
67%
Yes, I am awaiting vaccination.
10%
No, I don't want it.
16%
I am not sure.
7%

Total votes: 121

Re: COVID-19 Vaccine Tracker (News and Updates)

Postby RedVEVO » June 1st, 2021, 7:06 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
gastly369 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Day 3 pfizer vaccine: fever, headaches continue, shortness of breath like every 2 hours or so, lots of body pain. This is the 1st shot. Bro has been hearing about all kinda madness after the 2nd shot. He is undecided atm
Check reddit on pfizer... For those that got vaccinated... Search and take a read..

r/PfizerVaccine <---- Search that

Read it, seems everything is consistent with what he's experiencing. I'd give day 4 update later.

Moms gonna take first jab of AZ today

Sinopharm does have have blood clots as a side effect .

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 1st, 2021, 7:18 am

RedVEVO wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
gastly369 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Day 3 pfizer vaccine: fever, headaches continue, shortness of breath like every 2 hours or so, lots of body pain. This is the 1st shot. Bro has been hearing about all kinda madness after the 2nd shot. He is undecided atm
Check reddit on pfizer... For those that got vaccinated... Search and take a read..

r/PfizerVaccine <---- Search that

Read it, seems everything is consistent with what he's experiencing. I'd give day 4 update later.

Moms gonna take first jab of AZ today

Sinopharm does have have blood clots as a side effect .

But its not as common as the AZ

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 1st, 2021, 9:45 am

It's been a week for me. The symptoms were little to mild.
I'm also fairly active, so that may make a difference. I usually spend 5-6 hours per week cycling.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 1st, 2021, 11:04 am

Both parents took the AZ this morning. Would update accordingly.

Postby redmanjp » June 1st, 2021, 4:07 pm

Just got my 1st AstraZeneca shot.

Postby paid_influencer » June 1st, 2021, 4:19 pm

redmanjp wrote:Just got my 1st AstraZeneca shot.

congrats man. At least we have a weapon to fight this thing.

Postby gastly369 » June 1st, 2021, 5:23 pm

Sooooo we getting sinovac too?

Postby redmanjp » June 1st, 2021, 5:33 pm

gastly369 wrote:

Sooooo we getting sinovac too?

who knows. but govt have a choice between the two. if sinovac even less effective it would be pointless to go with it.

sinovac is what about 50% ?

Postby Habit7 » June 1st, 2021, 5:39 pm

Guyana to receive Johnson & Johnson vaccine
By Stabroek News June 1, 2021

Guyana is expected to receive approximately 150,000 doses of the Johnson & Johnson single-shot COVID-19 vaccine next month.

This is according to Minister of Health, Dr. Frank Anthony who stated during his daily COVID-19 update yesterday that the government’s policy is to acquire as many vaccines as possible from multiple sources. The health minister went on to say that the procurement of these vaccines is being facilitated through a deal between CARICOM and the African Union (AU).

In February, Anthony had said in the National Assembly that through this arrangement the AU has set aside some 1.5 million doses of vaccines for the Caribbean. He had subsequently reported that the doses were not going to be free.

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2021/06/01 ... n-vaccine/

The PM was purposefully vague last Saturday on the source of the vaccines he was being so optimistic about. But it seems in Guyana they let the cat out of the bag. If they are getting vaccines out of the Africa Medical Supplies Platform which the entire Caricom went into agreement with, then we should receive AMSP vaccines too.

Postby paid_influencer » June 1st, 2021, 5:52 pm

redmanjp wrote:who knows. but govt have a choice between the two. if sinovac even less effective it would be pointless to go with it.

WHO knows :lol:

here's the WHO interim data on Sinovac.

https://apps.who.int/iris/bitstream/han ... .1-eng.pdf

It supposedly has 100% efficacy against severe disease (ehh...).

It is being WHO approved explicitly so they can put it into COVAX arrangement, so we will likely get it available here. Sinovac uses the same technology as Sinopharm so I wouldn't expect a huge difference between them tbh. Just Sinovac has more widespread use and more data on it (for better or worse).

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 1st, 2021, 6:02 pm

Day 4 pfizer update: all is well and back to normal

All is well with my folks, they took the AZ this morning. Would give a 24hr update tomorrow

Postby Kenjo » June 1st, 2021, 6:05 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
redmanjp wrote:who knows. but govt have a choice between the two. if sinovac even less effective it would be pointless to go with it.

WHO knows :lol:

here's the WHO interim data on Sinovac.

https://apps.who.int/iris/bitstream/han ... .1-eng.pdf

It supposedly has 100% efficacy against severe disease (ehh...).

It is being WHO approved explicitly so they can put it into COVAX arrangement, so we will likely get it available here. Sinovac uses the same technology as Sinopharm so I wouldn't expect a huge difference between them tbh. Just Sinovac has more widespread use and more data on it (for better or worse).

That specific to severe disease , if you get corona you don’t end up on icu or dead ? Is that what you are questioning ?

Postby paid_influencer » June 1st, 2021, 6:06 pm

Kenjo wrote:That specific to severe disease , if you get corona you don’t end up on icu or dead ? Is that what you are questioning ?

who? who is questioning

not me, that's who

cornfused

Postby cornfused » June 1st, 2021, 6:08 pm

Got my first dose of Sinopharm today.

12 hours since mild tiredness.

Could not believe that persons coming to the clinic were attempting to come to the vaccine tent without washing their hands.

Postby redmanjp » June 1st, 2021, 7:42 pm

remember u have virtually zero immunity for the first 2 weeks after the first shot. u are just as likely to get infected or get severe covid as an unvaccinated person.

about the 3rd to 4th week u start to produce antibodies

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 1st, 2021, 7:47 pm

I trying to get an appointment for my 60+ mother since they announce Sinopharm and nothing. Whatsapp the numbers, nothing, go to health centers, they tell you to whatsapp.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » June 1st, 2021, 8:10 pm

Which one is the best one to get if you had the chance? Pfizer?

Postby redmanjp » June 1st, 2021, 9:52 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:I trying to get an appointment for my 60+ mother since they announce Sinopharm and nothing. Whatsapp the numbers, nothing, go to health centers, they tell you to whatsapp.

whatsapp it in dey face and and ask them to respond. look and see if they have d phone in some corner ignoring it.

Postby redmanjp » June 1st, 2021, 10:13 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:Which one is the best one to get if you had the chance? Pfizer?

perhaps or moderna

otherwise AZ. but if sinopharm is the only one u can get take it- 79% or even 50% efficacy is better than 0%.

with hundreds of ppl testing +ve each day it may not be a matter of if, but when u get infected

since i had sign up for mine 3 weeks ago till today when i got the 1st dose 2 ppl in my office went into quarantine, and i know at least 1 said he was +ve. not sure about the other. the +ve one sits 7 feet away from me and hardly wears a mask at work except coming in and going out. good thing we were on rotation for d past few weeks oui.
also last week my mom heard of 2 ppl who died from covid -one was an old retired coworker of hers and the other my cousin-in-law father.

i would have like pfizer but i eh waiting on dat. because if i waited covid might likely get me b4 i get dat shot.

doh pay attention to all of them who say it has a 99% survival rate- sure but it's not all about death either. it's about what can happen to your lungs or other organs. would u want to spend the next several months being short of breath by simply going up a few stairs? or just walking? or not being able to exercise as normal ? ppl fraid clots from d AZ vaccine but u more likely to get it from covid itself.

Postby gastly369 » June 1st, 2021, 10:18 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Day 4 pfizer update: all is well and back to normal

All is well with my folks, they took the AZ this morning. Would give a 24hr update tomorrow
Cool

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 1st, 2021, 10:36 pm

IMG_4614.JPG

Postby pugboy » June 1st, 2021, 10:40 pm

that graph not making sense

Postby pugboy » June 1st, 2021, 10:40 pm

u got to choose between az and sino?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 2nd, 2021, 12:06 am

WHO approves Sinovac, but while more vaccines are great. These Chinese vaccines certainly underperforming in many countries.

Look at Bahrain, 40% of people fully vaccinated but they're having an outbreak as big as trinidad.

Will our Ministry of Health provide people with a 3rd boost of Sinopharm?

CleanShot 2021-06-02 at 12.01.38.png

CleanShot 2021-06-02 at 12.01.50.png

Postby redmanjp » June 2nd, 2021, 1:14 am

pugboy wrote:u got to choose between az and sino?

No. Govt Ministries got AstraZeneca. I told my boss I was interested.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 2nd, 2021, 5:32 am

pugboy wrote:u got to choose between az and sino?

Unless you have a link...no! They telling you, yuh get a WHO approved vaccine. If you want to get the sinopharm, I could arrange in Arima hospital.

Postby Redman » June 2nd, 2021, 6:12 am

Dohplaydat wrote:WHO approves Sinovac, but while more vaccines are great. These Chinese vaccines certainly underperforming in many countries.

Look at Bahrain, 40% of people fully vaccinated but they're having an outbreak as big as trinidad.

How many of the deaths have been vaccinated?

Postby adnj » June 2nd, 2021, 6:12 am

Dohplaydat wrote:WHO approves Sinovac, but while more vaccines are great. These Chinese vaccines certainly underperforming in many countries.

The problem is not the vaccines.

Bahrain announces record COVID-19 deaths as cases surge

RIYADH: Bahrain announced on Monday 24 deaths from COVID-19 - the highest figure since the pandemic began.

The number of cases in the kingdom has increased sharply during May, with 3,177 new infections reported on Sunday.

The latest victims were aged between 33 and 72 and included both expatriates and Bahraini nationals.

The kingdom has announced a number of measures to try and stop the spread of the coronavirus.

Travelers from “red-list” countries including India, Pakistan and Bangladesh were banned from entering the country from Monday. Citizens and residents are exempt but need to present a PCR test before travel and quarantine for 10 days on arrival.

Quarantine was also reintroduced for arrivals from all other countries if the traveler has not been vaccinated.

Last week, the kingdom introduced restrictions for public places for those who have not been vaccinated.

The increase in cases has been blamed on large gatherings during Ramadan and Eid.

https://www.arabnews.com/node/1864081/middle-east
Last edited by adnj on June 2nd, 2021, 6:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » June 2nd, 2021, 6:25 am

how many were persons already jabbed?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 2nd, 2021, 6:43 am

24hr update for the AZ

Moms: very tired and joint pain
Dad: fever last night....ok this morning

They were advised to drink saffron tea to avoid blood clots. Fever grass and ginger tea on standby as well