COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - New name "COVID 19"

Postby redmanjp » March 4th, 2020, 6:35 pm

on TTT news - You can be detained or jailed under quarantine laws if you breach isolation requirements.
Last edited by redmanjp on March 6th, 2020, 4:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hydroep » March 4th, 2020, 6:40 pm

What's the situation with respect to sick leave?

Right now in the UK they trying to work out the logistics of that. Any time over 7 days requires a medical but they telling people to self isolate for 14 days which includes NOT visiting the family doctor or other medical institutions to obtain said document. And if yuh eh send in the medical that is grounds for job abandonment.

They eh start to talk yet about employees who would "advantage the situation" by claiming they're sick just to get time off...:|

Postby sMASH » March 4th, 2020, 6:42 pm

tHeY hAvE tO dEtEcT u FiRsT

Postby sMASH » March 4th, 2020, 6:56 pm

hydroep wrote:What's the situation with respect to sick leave?

Right now in the UK they trying to work out the logistics of that. Any time over 7 days requires a medical but they telling people to self isolate for 14 days which includes NOT visiting the family doctor or other medical institutions to obtain said document. And if yuh eh send in the medical that is grounds for job abandonment.

They eh start to talk yet about employees who would "advantage the situation" by claiming they're sick just to get time off...:|

if i was in health ministry, dedicate a few vehicles and staff, with good PPE, and set up a number for people who suspect they have the corona, to call, while they are isolated, and the crew plan a route, and go round the people, collect samples, and test for the virus.

so, is like first day self isolation, second day test swabs, lab do tests during the night, and third day, they inform the people that they dont have it and issue them a medical for precautionary quarentine for those days, or roll out the military to take them into custody.

Postby redmanjp » March 4th, 2020, 7:02 pm

yeah Health Minstry should produce a report to the employer

then there's the issue of ppl with no leave like daily paid workers who might actually come out to work and risk exposing everyone- govt should have a emergency fund to pay them or their employer-. it cost money but not doing it will cost far more when d whole office infected and have to be quarantined.

Postby redmanjp » March 4th, 2020, 7:04 pm

sMASH wrote:tHeY hAvE tO dEtEcT u FiRsT

if we only have imported cases yes, but if there's community spread already happening it means we can't wait for a test to be done to isolate someone who is showing symptoms

Postby paid_influencer » March 4th, 2020, 7:05 pm

we should really set up a ministry hotline to call for possible cases. if people have travel history and symptoms, the guidance internationally is to self-quarantine and not go to a doctor or hospital.

the hotline could presumably do other functions, such as documenting sick leave, school absence, etc.

Postby sMASH » March 4th, 2020, 7:37 pm

redmanjp wrote:
sMASH wrote:tHeY hAvE tO dEtEcT u FiRsT

if we only have imported cases yes, but if there's community spread already happening it means we can't wait for a test to be done to isolate someone who is showing symptoms

u cant quarantine suspected cases with confirmed cases, not even other suspected cases, just in case it is not the corona, u risk infecting a non infected person.

if u say u pass it off as a dry cough, and then spread it, u havent been detected and flying under the radar, spreading it like a caroni plane. by the time u coughing out ur lungs, is then they would want to try to isolate u and test and what not.

they have to urge people to self isolate, and PREVENT them from going to the hospitals and heath centers. cause that woudl spread it even more, potentially. send people to them to test and confirm.

Postby aaron17 » March 4th, 2020, 7:51 pm

Can we hand sanitise money?

Re: Novel Coronavirus - New name

Postby sMASH » March 4th, 2020, 7:59 pm

aaron17 wrote:Can we hand sanitise money?

that might be wasting sanitizer, for the sheer quantity of money. might be more effective to wash hands and rub sanitizer regularly, might even look into the rub on gloves thing.

Postby paid_influencer » March 4th, 2020, 8:10 pm

US approves $8.3 Billion to fund coronavirus response

the equivalent per capita in T&T would be 175 Million TTD. but so far no additional funds allocated by the govt.

Postby redmanjp » March 4th, 2020, 8:30 pm

sMASH wrote:

that might be wasting sanitizer, for the sheer quantity of money. might be more effective to wash hands and rub sanitizer regularly, might even look into the rub on gloves thing.

ent d new polymer could wash?

Postby sMASH » March 4th, 2020, 8:47 pm

redmanjp wrote:
sMASH wrote:

ent d new polymer could wash?
well, we know it laundered, lol

Postby pugboy » March 4th, 2020, 8:52 pm

Heat to 150f for a few mins to kill the germs
That should not melt the polymer
A person can withstand around 160f touch

Postby aaron17 » March 4th, 2020, 9:09 pm

So how not to infect a sanitizer bottle? Use a napkin and press or squeeze?

Postby K74T » March 5th, 2020, 11:42 am

BBC News: First case detected in South Africa.

Postby matr1x » March 5th, 2020, 11:59 am

Let's enjoy the death toll. I call 50 mil.

Postby nemisis » March 5th, 2020, 12:28 pm

Does it matter if bottle infected?
aaron17 wrote:So how not to infect a sanitizer bottle? Use a napkin and press or squeeze?

Postby 88sins » March 5th, 2020, 1:33 pm

nemisis wrote:Does it matter if bottle infected?
aaron17 wrote:So how not to infect a sanitizer bottle? Use a napkin and press or squeeze?

technically no, once nobody eh open it & hawk phlegm & sneeze in it.

Postby aaron17 » March 5th, 2020, 1:39 pm

Went in the grocery today...saw no sanitizer but lots of lysol spray. I checked the label and it says around 50 percent alcohol... maybe that is why.

Postby nemisis » March 5th, 2020, 2:18 pm

That's what I know but i feel like it have some secret way of washing hands or using hand sanitizer i don't know about. It may involve licking the the bottle first I dunno...

technically no, once nobody eh open it & hawk phlegm & sneeze in it.

Postby redmanjp » March 5th, 2020, 3:15 pm

matr1x wrote:Let's enjoy the death toll. I call 50 mil.

WHO say it might be as high as 3%. of course those are of CONFIRMED cases. the flu is only about 0.1%. so 30 times more whatever the flu kills. IN T&T that would be 1200 for the same period that they measure the flu numbers with.

in the next few months if you doh die at least make peace with your grand parents and other high risk members of your family.

Postby matr1x » March 5th, 2020, 6:01 pm

If a midget dead, is that considered 1/2 person?

Postby SMc » March 5th, 2020, 6:31 pm

matr1x wrote:If a midget dead, is that considered 1/2 person?

If a life is lost regardless of whether they were male, female, child,midget, dwarf, invalid, granny, LBGT+ or anything in-between- its still a lost life.

How is that hard to comprehend?

Postby matr1x » March 5th, 2020, 6:39 pm

Not all lives have equal value. A drug pushing youth is less than a medical student from tabaquite

screwbash

Postby screwbash » March 5th, 2020, 6:43 pm

live yuh life , drink yuh rum, smoke yuh weed, bull yuh hoes, eat the best an enjoy yuh short time left on the earth. those who survive will be better off with less strain on the natural resources of the world. we will all have to adapt in the new world.

Postby SMc » March 5th, 2020, 6:56 pm

matr1x wrote:Not all lives have equal value. A drug pushing youth is less than a medical student from tabaquite

So you saying if a medical student dies (for whatever reason) that is 1 life is lost, but if a drug pusher dies (for the same whatever reason) that is less than one life lost?

I don't get it

Postby aaron17 » March 5th, 2020, 6:56 pm

Which one to use ..isopropyl /rubbing or methylated spirits for hands?

Postby redmanjp » March 5th, 2020, 8:18 pm

Postby redmanjp » March 5th, 2020, 8:22 pm

once u rup the sanitizer on your hands after perhaps not- unless u touch it after