While we looking to increase prices...Barbados dropping
IMG-20220315-WA0020.jpg
IMG-20220315-WA0019.jpg

timothymcdavid

Re: Gas prices to raise, again.

Postby timothymcdavid » March 15th, 2022, 12:00 pm

Barbados dropping from what to what remember those prices quoted in Bajan dollars eh ... Them bajan taking real lar in them bumsee yes.

1USD = 2 BAJAN dollars = 6.8TTD

1 BAJAN = 3.4TTD
Last edited by timothymcdavid on March 15th, 2022, 12:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » March 15th, 2022, 12:01 pm

to be fair $1Bajan =$3.36TT

so $3.99 Bajan = $13.41 ?

Postby adnj » March 15th, 2022, 12:02 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:While we looking to increase prices...Barbados dropping

They're lowering VAT. Fuel is TTD13.50/L. You think that's better than TTO?

Postby Chimera » March 15th, 2022, 12:04 pm

and thats per liter as well

in the USA , at the new record high its 4.43 USD per GALLON (3.78 liter)

barbados paying 13.41 TTD per liter

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » March 15th, 2022, 12:05 pm

Trini dont know how good them got it ... Everyone thinks is a bed of roses elsewhere ... this is a country is run on subsidies ... you want ketch ur rass go run to elsewhere see the real value of things ... electricity is another thing in this country that is extremely heavily subsidized.

Postby Redman » March 15th, 2022, 12:21 pm

timothymcdavid wrote:Trini dont know how good them got it ... Everyone thinks is a bed of roses elsewhere ... this is a country is run on subsidies ... you want ketch ur rass go run to elsewhere see the real value of things ... electricity is another thing in this country that is extremely heavily subsidized.

This.

Water Electricity Fuel, Nat Gas to Manufacturing sector, free waste disposal

We have a complicated mess of distorted costing, and usage as a result of these.

And I think the abject lack of innovation in all of the above sectors is a direct result of the heavily subsidises costs.

Postby aaron17 » March 15th, 2022, 12:33 pm

Let's hope trinidad don't follow.

Postby sMASH » March 15th, 2022, 12:39 pm

how does removing those subsidies now, gonna stimulate economic activity and growth?

Postby Redman » March 15th, 2022, 12:57 pm

@smash
Well they not going to help in the short term.Short term its pressure.
Medium term we will use less of all of the above, the utilities may become more modernized,improving service.
Maybe we get a decent public transport system out of this.
Less cars on the road cuz now the true cost of galavanting is higher.

Long term we will benefit because there is money to support innovation, and there is economic pressure to improve and innovate, to do things differently.

So if we paid market rates for electricity, a MSW to electricity plant may make sense in the Beetham- Hell it might make sense to truck sorted garbage from the other dumps to the Beetham.
Maybe a MSW to Liquids in Tobago? Probably combine biomass from the seaweed(dried and pelleted).
Solar/wind would make more sense.

Postby toyolink » March 15th, 2022, 1:18 pm

I am not in support of inefficiency and wasteful spending.
The question at this time is how much more can the average citizen bear?
The lack of a comprehensive plan to deal with short term shocks and medium to long term recovery spells real trouble and the state thus far goes after those who can be easily targeted.
Undoubtedly, our gov't has not demonstrated creative fiscal capacity and developmental astuteness and has instead opted for increases in every aspect of our day to day life essentials.
The justification of increases always come from suggestions that we have been guilty of enjoying more than we should and this approach is really nonsense for many who are struggling to stay afloat.

Postby sMASH » March 15th, 2022, 1:40 pm

Redman wrote:@smash
Medium term we will use less of all of the above, the utilities may become more modernized,improving service.

Long term we will benefit because there is money to support innovation, and there is economic pressure to improve and innovate, to do things differently.

So if we paid market rates for electricity, a MSW to electricity plant may make sense in the Beetham- Hell it might make sense to truck sorted garbage from the other dumps to the Beetham.
Maybe a MSW to Liquids in Tobago? Probably combine biomass from the seaweed(dried and pelleted).

pnm improving anyting? their idea of transport hub is a bus shed they charge how much, a 100k, that could be built for 5k, or imported from china at 10k...

u tink we is dumies... rowley, a geologist, decided to spend 250m on the lng tr1 tar... when the exploration companies said there was no gas.

when govt make the wind fall on the crude sales now, they pocketing all that excess forex. then pass on teh fuel price hike to the citizens.

we not like other countries, teh nat gas we use come from our own soil. we dont have to import it. the fuel we get is off set by the crude we sell to some extent.

so to compare out current rates to places that import fuel, is disingenuous

Postby pugboy » March 15th, 2022, 1:41 pm

when they get serious about not renting empty buildings for their friends and family is when we will know they serious about using money to
improve things

Postby sMASH » March 15th, 2022, 1:44 pm

i spoke to a pnm supporter who like to forward roda barat shows and screen grabs.... i dont understand how pnm people like to apply verbal vasaline to pnm c0ck.
u all can say 'NO' sumtimes... u dont have to take it and pretend u like it, evvvry sinnngle timee.

is like every single thrust.
*it not dattt bad...
it not datttt bad. *

Postby hover11 » March 15th, 2022, 1:47 pm

timothymcdavid wrote:Trini dont know how good them got it ... Everyone thinks is a bed of roses elsewhere ... this is a country is run on subsidies ... you want ketch ur rass go run to elsewhere see the real value of things ... electricity is another thing in this country that is extremely heavily subsidized.
This....

Do trinis ever pay the FULL price for anything ? Anything at all?

K_J_R

Postby K_J_R » March 15th, 2022, 1:49 pm

hover11 wrote:
This....

Cars.

we pay inflated base prices and mvt and vat on top that.

Postby hover11 » March 15th, 2022, 1:50 pm

K_J_R wrote:
hover11 wrote:
This....

Cars.

we pay inflated base prices and mvt and vat on top that.
Which is a waste of forex as well, that's why they are taxed so much
Last edited by hover11 on March 15th, 2022, 1:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby adnj » March 15th, 2022, 1:55 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:and thats per liter as well

in the USA , at the new record high its 4.43 USD per GALLON (3.78 liter)

barbados paying 13.41 TTD per liter
The published average fuel prices for the United States are the prices paid at the pump. The pump price includes an average of about USD 0.55 in tax per gallon.

The US consumer pays about USD1.02 per liter before taxes.

Postby Redman » March 15th, 2022, 2:20 pm

sMASH wrote:

pnm improving anyting? their idea of transport hub is a bus shed they charge how much, a 100k, that could be built for 5k, or imported from china at 10k...

u tink we is dumies... rowley, a geologist, decided to spend 250m on the lng tr1 tar... when the exploration companies said there was no gas.

when govt make the wind fall on the crude sales now, they pocketing all that excess forex. then pass on teh fuel price hike to the citizens.

we not like other countries, teh nat gas we use come from our own soil. we dont have to import it. the fuel we get is off set by the crude we sell to some extent.

:D

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 15th, 2022, 2:23 pm

Fuel prices across the Caribbean Region - March 2022

1d5ecaad-4b68-43ff-af4d-4dda76341754.jpg

Postby sMASH » March 15th, 2022, 2:39 pm

compare that to crude exports...

when u compare electricity, compare to how much they pay to generate it.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 15th, 2022, 2:59 pm

govt should make a profit after removing all subsidies on liquid fuel. it will stop all them men on FB who want to buy car but have a $25K and all them sunday "leh we go for a drive" drivers. less car on the road. increase the driving age to 21 years an include the driver must have 5 CXC passes to weed out all them kants that feel they bad on the road with they nissan tida , b14/15 and wingroad. regulations exam should be taken everytime a driver has to renew the permit and put cost to all this to weed out the men from the boys. driving should be a privilege not a right. taxi men should be registered with inland revenue and to renew taxi badge all taxes must be up to date. insurance also must be removed from cars and instead a liability document signed in that you damage your car, someone else car or property you have to fix it out your own pocket or face jail.

Postby j.o.e » March 15th, 2022, 3:12 pm

IMG_5694.JPG

Y’all go by Mia nah.

Postby Redman » March 15th, 2022, 3:53 pm

sMASH wrote:compare that to crude exports...

when u compare electricity, compare to how much they pay to generate it.

The difference is less than you think.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » March 15th, 2022, 4:12 pm

j.o.e wrote:IMG_5694.JPG

Y’all go by Mia nah.

lol be careful, Mia is plenty tuner queen and princess on here.

Postby st7 » March 15th, 2022, 4:32 pm

allyuh keep calling for all the subsidies get removed.

allyuh gonna stop govt from thiefin too, or ask them to replace the money they thief?

lolllll

Postby j.o.e » March 15th, 2022, 4:42 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:

Y’all go by Mia nah.

Let them go by MC Mia

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/03/15/new ... emic-levy/

“Where an individual receives an income of more than $6,250 per month or $75,000 per year, the individual shall contribute one per cent of his monthly earnings as a pandemic contribution levy on his income for only 12 months… We estimate that this levy will raise just about $15 million over the course of the 12 months,” the Prime Minister said.

Postby hover11 » March 15th, 2022, 5:09 pm

j.o.e wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:

Y’all go by Mia nah.

Let them go by MC Mia

“Where an individual receives an income of more than $6,250 per month or $75,000 per year, the individual shall contribute one per cent of his monthly earnings as a pandemic contribution levy on his income for only 12 months… We estimate that this levy will raise just about $15 million over the course of the 12 months,” the Prime Minister said.
They went through an entire pandemic where tourism is their main source of GDP how else pray tell do you expect them to compensate for the shortfall in revenue ?

Postby j.o.e » March 15th, 2022, 6:00 pm

hover11 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:

Y’all go by Mia nah.

Let them go by MC Mia

They went through an entire pandemic where tourism is their main source of GDP how else pray tell do you expect them to compensate for the shortfall in revenue ?

I’m not against their tax. I’m against greedy trinis who like gimme gimme pretending they like Mia governance.

Postby De Dragon » March 15th, 2022, 10:11 pm

sMASH wrote:

You asked Colos for an answer, but seemed upset at the typical Colos type "it eh de LFD RFD PNM" answer :roll: