What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Re: What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Postby desifemlove » April 12th, 2016, 7:02 am

desifemlove wrote:for me good governance is in part about continuity. You'll see i've called out BOTH parties for not diversifying, with Kamla as the most recent example. Kamla is disavowing any responsibility for the current situation, which for me is dotishness, hence the licks here from me.....i doh care if UNCs ent like it, as both an econ and poli sci graduate, i see it from that angle.

Yes, but we need not hear it every 2 minutes, we get it, you blame UNC for everything wrong with the society.

cos it ruffles you up? because this is how governance and life does wuk, nothing Kamla did in office has any lasting effects?? i say it since it my view, don't be blinded cos i criticising yuh leader... if the USA entered a recession as soon as Trump win, is it his fault or Obama's? it's how economics does work, but again yuh leader beyond scrutiny.

Postby desifemlove » April 12th, 2016, 7:06 am

and when did i say everything?? i think i really touched a nerve, but not my problem. i only "blame" UNC for this economic issue, both parties as bad as each other.

Postby zoom rader » April 12th, 2016, 7:50 am

Reading this entire chead and I yet to see a plan that benefits citizens and not PNM financiers

Postby j.o.e » April 12th, 2016, 8:56 am

zoom rader wrote:Reading this entire chead and I yet to see a plan that benefits citizens and not PNM financiers

That's because you have an infatuation with Syrians and you are still hurt because you couldn't get thru with one of their daughters. Your shoulder ain't big enough to carry that huge chip.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » April 12th, 2016, 9:19 am

zoom rader wrote:Reading this entire chead and I yet to see a plan that benefits citizens and not PNM financiers

UNC financiers need to hold strain 4 bout 6 years...

Postby DVSTT » April 12th, 2016, 7:58 pm

Quick question, what's the issue with the casinos and lottery workers with respect to the new.budget? Was there new sanctions introduced that applied to them in the budget?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 12th, 2016, 8:11 pm

Most of the super rich in this country does finance both parties ... You hadda be real dottish not to butter your bread on both sides in this flip flopping political climate.

Is only SIS and ZR does feel they hadda give money to one side only.

Postby eliteauto » April 12th, 2016, 8:28 pm

DVSTT wrote:Quick question, what's the issue with the casinos and lottery workers with respect to the new.budget? Was there new sanctions introduced that applied to them in the budget?

no contrary to all the old talk the only thing said was "Better collections of taxes due from the Gaming and Gambling Industry under existing legislation"

Postby shogun » April 12th, 2016, 8:29 pm

DVSTT wrote:Quick question, what's the issue with the casinos and lottery workers with respect to the new.budget? Was there new sanctions introduced that applied to them in the budget?

Heard nothing about "sanctions." As far as I remember the minister mentioned that of the 250 casinos, only 3 were currently paying taxes and they were seeking to correct that fact.

Postby DVSTT » April 12th, 2016, 8:47 pm

eliteauto wrote:

no contrary to all the old talk the only thing said was "Better collections of taxes due from the Gaming and Gambling Industry under existing legislation"

shogun wrote:

Heard nothing about "sanctions." As far as I remember the minister mentioned that of the 250 casinos, only 3 were currently paying taxes and they were seeking to correct that fact.

So does that 250 figure encompass all the bars and lotto booths that house roulette/ slot games, or is it just limited to dedicated casinos?

Postby shogun » April 12th, 2016, 8:57 pm

Believe those were only dedicated casinos/gambling halls, but I think he did mention the number of lotto machines/slot games popping up at bars etc

Looking for the vid as we speak. Will post it if I find it

Postby shogun » April 12th, 2016, 9:14 pm

shogun wrote:Believe those were only dedicated casinos/members clubs, but I think he did mention the number of lotto machines/slot games popping up at bars etc

Looking for the full vid as we speak. Will post it if I find it

Postby DVSTT » April 12th, 2016, 9:21 pm

shogun wrote:Believe those were only dedicated casinos/gambling halls, but I think he did mention the number of lotto machines/slot games popping up at bars etc

Looking for the vid as we speak. Will post it if I find it

Thanks bro.
Another question, who is it that's supplying the machines? Are bar owners buying the machines or leasing from local companies? It seems that the games have found their way into every hawk and spit bar in the country.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » April 12th, 2016, 9:24 pm

The whole issue with collection is what got me.

Shouldn't we try to improve the way we go about collecting revenue before raising the amount we intend to collect. I mean we could raise it as high as we want but if the revenue collection service is poor then we still won't get the benefits/revenue that is intended.

Postby De Dragon » April 12th, 2016, 10:36 pm

desifemlove wrote:and when did i say everything?? i think i really touched a nerve, but not my problem. i only "blame" UNC for this economic issue, both parties as bad as each other.

Yet I've never seen you call Manning, Panday, Rowley by name. You'd be more credible if you didn't sound like a one track record.

Postby desifemlove » April 13th, 2016, 8:17 am

desifemlove wrote:and when did i say everything?? i think i really touched a nerve, but not my problem. i only "blame" UNC for this economic issue, both parties as bad as each other.

Yet I've never seen you call Manning, Panday, Rowley by name. You'd be more credible if you didn't sound like a one track record.

because she is the immediate past PM.....sorry, but then i can see you doh like opinions...

ingalook

Austerity - why are we doing this?

Postby ingalook » April 13th, 2016, 9:06 pm

Austerity is failing all over the world - its is well publicized, it is well documented - why do we think that it will benefit T&T?

Re: Austerity - why are we doing this?

Postby S_2NR » April 13th, 2016, 9:59 pm

The pnm makes decisions in a vacuum

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 13th, 2016, 10:05 pm

Manufactured crisis = PNM heros when they "saved the economy"

Postby desifemlove » April 13th, 2016, 10:14 pm

because comparing the Eurozone to T&T, a small economy with fossil fuels as half of its GDP, does mek good sense.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 13th, 2016, 10:17 pm

Let me just start off with saying I do not support the PNM and the UNC and I am of the opinion that they are both parasitic organizations.

That being said the current situation is not one of austerity, the Last budget by the PNM had spending in excess of 60 billions TTD. That is in line with the last PP/UNC budget spending, what the PNM is trying to do is to continue to spend but they do not have the money. So that is why they are raising taxes and trying to find money in the short term to cover this continued trend. I honestly think that we should be cutting back, we have the same yearly expenditure as Dubai and what do we have to show for it? Billions are squandered and the wastage and inefficiency needs to be cut out. They plan to do this with CPEP/URP, Gate and fuel subsidy cuts.
But the real problem is is the lack of foresight as to how to grow the economy with the non oil and gas sector and the continued corruption (ie wasting money on parliment, stadium's, luxury cars and squashing of the investigation into the GTL plant).

Postby eliteauto » April 13th, 2016, 10:29 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Manufactured crisis = PNM heros when they "saved the economy"

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » April 13th, 2016, 11:09 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Manufactured crisis = PNM heros when they "saved the economy"

How long do we have to wait until we are " saved " ??? :drinking:

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 13th, 2016, 11:30 pm

desifemlove wrote:because comparing the Eurozone to T&T, a small economy with fossil fuels as half of its GDP, does mek good sense.

What exactly you mean here?

Are you saying that Austerity will work here when it fails everywhere? Why??? God iz ah Trini?

Postby De Dragon » April 14th, 2016, 12:15 am

ingalook wrote:
desifemlove wrote:because comparing the Eurozone to T&T, a small economy with fossil fuels as half of its GDP, does mek good sense.

What exactly you mean here?

Are you saying that Austerity will work here when it fails everywhere? Why??? God iz ah Trini?

He is one of the PNM diehards, the only difference is his weak attempts to appear neutral by saying both UNC/PP and PNM are equally culpable. Look at every statement that comes from him and there is a pro-PNM slant every time. I have no problem with measures taken to save money, but when MY money is being frittered away on Tarouba stadium, Benz, the millionth Eric Williams shrine/memorial, then I draw a line. There seems to be an unholy haste to push every single measure down the populace's throat, with fakery about "consultation" now being exposed as a giant sham.

Postby De Dragon » April 14th, 2016, 3:43 am

desifemlove wrote:

because she is the immediate past PM.....sorry, but then i can see you doh like opinions...

Sorry two track record :roll:

Daran

Postby Daran » April 14th, 2016, 6:05 am

The world has conducted a massive macro-economic experiment since the cataclysm of 2008. In Europe, the fans of austerity have had their chance, and the results have been a disaster. Eliot Spitzer

Past experience with fiscal austerity at home and overseas strongly suggests that it is best for the economy's long-run performance to restrain government spending rather than raise taxes. Mark Zandi

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » April 14th, 2016, 6:40 am

Exorbitant feasibility studies is the new scam. Its an easy way to demonstrate a legitimate paper trail for no work done. PNM hoodwinks the population while tiefing... err... mismanaging by accident.

Postby eliteauto » April 14th, 2016, 8:09 am

OP could you list some of the austerity measures being implemented?

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » April 14th, 2016, 9:15 am

novastar1 wrote:

How long do we have to wait until we are " saved " ??? :drinking:

until you really, truly want to be saved.. and acknowledge the saviour

:bday: