$100M Cocaine bust at Port of Norfolk, VA linked to Trinidad

Re: $100M Cocaine bust at Port of Norfolk, VA linked to Trin

Postby UML » September 4th, 2014, 12:35 pm

will you buy a car that not working properly? and the dealer say he go get the mechanic to fix it for you within a year?

would you purchase something faulty?

would you spell billions for the same?

what sense is buying something and waiting a year before you can use it?...my bad i forgot you support a party they spent millions on a boat that never sailed once...MV Su :roll:

if ppl really listen tuh allyuh OPV Tabanca you go really think we have a coast guard without a boat. :|

Postby Habit7 » September 4th, 2014, 1:12 pm

Nobody is tabanca a over the OPV, you brought it up.

An OPV is not mass produced like a car. The Airbus A380 and Boeing 787 had delays to, but canceling one's order will send one to the back of the line. 5 years later we are at the back of the line looking on Zulfiqar for RORO "longshore patrol vessels"

Postby 16 cycles » September 4th, 2014, 1:44 pm

how much vessels are in the existing coast guard fleet that are operational?

Postby UML » September 4th, 2014, 2:01 pm

Habit7 wrote:Nobody is tabanca a over the OPV, you brought it up.

An OPV is not mass produced like a car. "

you trying to prove me right or wrong? :?

hence the reason you have to invest wisely.

so will you spend billions on something you cannot use for one year?

Postby RASC » September 4th, 2014, 2:02 pm

I can't imagine that UML is seriously defending NOT having OPVs. We have basically become a Narco State-yet he does not see Drugs entering via sea as a TOP priority.

Amazing.

Postby UML » September 4th, 2014, 2:04 pm

RASC wrote:I can't imagine that UML is seriously defending NOT having OPVs. We have basically become a Narco State-yet he does not see Drugs entering via sea as a TOP priority.

Amazing.

where did i say that? u really are a fruity drama queen :rainbowafro:

Postby RASC » September 4th, 2014, 2:06 pm

Now its name calling.
Typical: Highly Emotional Behaviour

Postby Habit7 » September 4th, 2014, 2:11 pm

UML wrote:you trying to prove me right or wrong? :?

hence the reason you have to invest wisely.

so will you spend billions on something you cannot use for one year?

No I prefer to reject the 3 years of manpower and expectancy because the OPV that can do all else but shoot while moving 4km away.

I prefer to beg China for one all while Mervin Cordner allegations that submarines operating in Trinidad is vindicated by its discovery in nearby Guyana.

Postby UML » September 4th, 2014, 2:41 pm

how much drugs we find with the 360 degree radar?

we cah even stop bird smuggler much less a narco sub :lol: :lol:

lets stop conveniently using specifics of this and state the real facts

contract signed in April 2007.

BAE failed to meet with the OPVs, the lack of information and transparency provided to T&T as a customer, as well as ways in which BAE sought to compensate this country for their inability to keep to the terms of the contract signed in April 2007.

RFPs (request for proposals) were first issued by the PNM government, it was very specific in what it wanted: "We wanted an armament capable of firing both 'aim to miss' and 'aim to hit' rounds, for which purpose accuracy was important."

Mere months after the execution of the contract, BAE informed the Joint Programme Board meeting (which handled the OPV matter) of a delay in delivery of two interim vessels.

Since 2008, the PNM government was aware of the late delivery of the interim vessels, as well as the push back of delivery of the OPVs.

"I recall also that in its report on June 17, 2008, the MOD (British Ministry of Defence) was critical of BAES and its lack of openness and transparency, and its failure to share information and details of its build programme, which was inconsistent with the principles of the partnership agreement that I had signed in October 2007. The MOD also noted there were discrepancies in what BAES was stating to be the cause of the delay and also what it was reporting as to the precise extent of the delay," stated Best.

BAE failed to meet their own deadline targets in 2009 for delivery of OPV 1 and OPV 2.

Best said on 16 May, 2009, the Trinidad and Tobago government issued a notice of default in respect of BAE's failure to deliver OPV 1 by the contractual delivery date. However, a month after, BAE insisted it could meet the OPV schedule as previously forecast—OPV 1 on February 24, 2010, OPV 2 on May 15, 2010 and OPV 3 on November 15, 2010.

During the course of late 2009 and 2010, in consequence of these delays and BAE's consequent default under the contract, giving rise to a right to terminate the contract with the government, BAE proposed re-setting the delivery dates for the three OPVs

But the company then experienced another problem with the combat systems.

A major cause of concern was that the guns were not done to specifications and whether they could be effective—it could not successfully hit a moving target unless done manually, which would not be practical on the high seas, and could only fire within a 4 km and not a 6 km radius, which was specified in the contract.

BAE's reluctance to provide further trials and tests to satisfy its customer was difficult to understand," said Best.

"BAES was asking us to accept the vessel without having demonstrated any effective capability of the main armament in the mode in which it was primarily intended to be operated. We had no data on the performance of the armament and no visibility on how it would perform after the problems had been resolved.

n an e-mail to me of May 18, 2010, commenting on the letter, Captain Huggins (also of the T&T Coast Guard) observed: "It is clear that this vessel would not be able to defend itself if attacked when up against current technology. I would not like to sound or appear facetious, but in terms of a naval vessel, our attempts of an upgrade has more or less resulted in a downgrade...we are back to using mechanical sights."

T&T OPV 1 had been offered up for acceptance "with a degraded combat system and a number of relatively minor outstanding issues/defects throughout the ship".

Added to this history of delay was the future ongoing delays in delivering the OPVs, the continuing uncertainty over future timescales for rectification, the uncertain prognosis upon rectification and the risks that Government would be taking in accepting the OPVs in these circumstances

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/OPV ... 31481.html

so what is the difference paying billions for opvs when they have the same capability as our current fleet of ships....cat in bag or MV Su2? :roll:

cornfused

Postby cornfused » September 4th, 2014, 2:47 pm

OPV's we cancelled because of supposed faulty gunnery , yet still the second largest Navy in the Americas took them , why we are that special . Training of more than a few service men on operations and maintenance for almost a year , down the drain , why we are that special . To answer why these things happened , the current AG who is making Ramesh look like a star by the way , needs to state that we won arbitration matters . Meanwhile some reports internationally say otherwise or just point to a cancelled contract and resale to Brazil and Thailand . 5 years on what has been the replacement ? Or more importantly the effect on securing our borders and coastal areas ? Most of us are not in a position to comment on any faults with the 90meter but certainly the use of all the three that we ordered by a much larger Navy says something . Who gets kickbacks ...........

Postby UML » September 4th, 2014, 3:00 pm

well brazil technologically advanced to us they build cars and buses...hosts world cups and olympics.....maybe they got it for a bess price since it already built? maybe they could solve the issues themself....i cant see how you could even think about comparing brazil to t&t....das like an opv and a pirogue...literally.

but will you buy a car from a dealer with one year promise to fix?

imagine the drug cartel which always better armed and one step ahead...take on these opvs who cah shoot straight. :lol: :lol:

Postby pete » September 4th, 2014, 3:10 pm

What role does the government play in the operations of the coast guard that any more equipment would be put to proper use anyway?

Why haven't the CG requested for a base to be built in either Guayaguayare, Icacos or anywhere along the south coast for them to have vessels stationed in the area for routine patrolling? Can the government order the Coast Guard to do more patrolling or is it the Coast Guard who are just allowing all the drugs to come into the country?

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » September 4th, 2014, 3:18 pm

i.didnt even kno it was all.that drama

a contract was made,BAE breached why must we take sumn we didnt pay for???

Postby Habit7 » September 4th, 2014, 3:18 pm

UML wrote:how much drugs we find with the 360 degree radar?
the largest find ever http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,29684.html

UML wrote:so what is the difference paying billions for opvs when they have the same capability as our current fleet of ships....cat in bag or MV Su2? :roll:
Which member of our current fleet can a Sikorsky S-76 land and refuel on? Before you recall the MV Su, why not recall the faulty TTS Nelson purchase by the UNC and the reason why proper OPVs were sought.

Postby UML » September 4th, 2014, 3:25 pm

Habit7 wrote:

you really ah jack@ss oui...the radars were installed in 2006.

..article writeen in 2005 :|

:pwned:

btw i think only one person in jail for that the watchman :|

Postby UML » September 4th, 2014, 3:28 pm

^^^aye das why allyuh does have to full COSTAATT

allyuh cyah make d grade bai..das why PNM had to tamper with the entry requirements of COSTAATT

Postby eliteauto » September 4th, 2014, 3:48 pm

UML what about my question?

Postby Habit7 » September 4th, 2014, 3:51 pm

The Advanced Coastal Surveillance Radar deal began since 2003, it was implemented in stages.
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,48253.html

You still ain't answer which vessel we have that a chopper can land and refuel on.

Postby pete » September 4th, 2014, 5:33 pm

Why does the helicopter need to land and refuel on a vessel? Why not make an arrangement with /build a heliport in galeota to do refuelling? How far offshore do you think they should go?

Postby The_Honourable » September 4th, 2014, 5:39 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Nah! Old school radar yuh mean cause the 360 degree radar didn't have anything to do with that bust :lol:

The 360 degree radars were built in 2005 and around March 2006 it became operational. I remember the one on San Fernando Hill was built around Sept 2005 since i live close by.

Curtis Williams Article - Wednesday 24th August, 2005

"Manning has also promised within the next few months the country will have 360 degree radar coverage."

Source: http://legacy.guardian.co.tt/archives/2 ... news3.html

Lennox Grant Article - Sunday 8th January, 2006.

"In October 2004, Mr Manning said the radar should be “fully operational by the end of (that) year”. In his September 28, 2005 Budget, he said it “will be available in the next few days.”

Last week, he said the radar screens are finally up and swivelling full-circle as advertised. We may never know for sure.

Meanwhile, Government spokesmen are putting out their own self-protective stories, spinning like the alleged radar screens.

National Security Minister Martin Joseph credited the August drug bust on Monos Island to “improved technology which I don’t want to identify.”

We now know, however, the “improved technology” wasn’t that of the Sky Dragon “blimp” which, Brigadier Joseph last week reported, had never performed. Nor could it be the 360-degree radar which, Mr Manning said —- two months after the Martin Joseph claim —- would be available only “in the next few days.”

Source: http://legacy.guardian.co.tt/archives/2 ... ennox.html

Postby eliteauto » September 4th, 2014, 5:54 pm

actually radar had nothing to do with that bust, what is the status of the radar system now?

nismoid

Postby nismoid » September 4th, 2014, 6:04 pm

eliteauto wrote:actually radar had nothing to do with that bust, what is the status of the radar system now?

Someone switched it off so the sub could pass.
Didn't you get the memo?

Postby The_Honourable » September 4th, 2014, 6:11 pm

nismoid wrote:
eliteauto wrote:actually radar had nothing to do with that bust, what is the status of the radar system now?

Didn't you get the memo?

Yuh understand?

The one on sando hill need WD40.

Postby Habit7 » September 4th, 2014, 7:08 pm

it probably didnt, who knows...

The only reason we got here is UML's attempt to deflect from the PM's error in policy in stating that the war is on land and not on sea. If Mervin Cordner is right, drug subs operating here with impunity for a while now.

Postby joker » September 4th, 2014, 7:23 pm

narco subs , how much fo dat in sub way?

Postby shogun » September 4th, 2014, 7:25 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
nismoid wrote:

Didn't you get the memo?

Yuh understand?

The one on sando hill need WD40.

Steups :lol:

Postby Habit7 » September 4th, 2014, 7:33 pm

joker wrote:narco subs , how much fo dat in sub way?
these days...$50 :?

Postby joker » September 4th, 2014, 7:44 pm

hadda carry mih padna sonar to eat sum subs...

Postby brams112 » September 4th, 2014, 9:59 pm

pete wrote:Why does the helicopter need to land and refuel on a vessel? Why not make an arrangement with /build a heliport in galeota to do refuelling? How far offshore do you think they should go?

I am sure he can't answer that one,the coast guards need to do their jobs properly that is all,anyways we don't have a huge maritime border to warrant a ship capable of servicing or transporting a chopper ent?Most narco subs travel close to the surface because the drug lords are yet to get guys to build a submarine to make the full journey up to now.Recently a fully built submarine was discovered in a jungle almost ready for its maiden trip.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » September 4th, 2014, 10:54 pm

nismoid wrote:

Didn't you get the memo?

those radars cant detect sub even if they on