BlueIce

Re: 2NR Bodybuilding/Fitness/Diet/ Elite Physique Seekers

Postby BlueIce » September 26th, 2013, 12:19 pm

so guys ...i need some help

I have been putting on lean mass for over a yr now ...using the IIFYM diet

however i am a hindu and since i started fasting from meat I have begun to lose weight rapidly....i was 165 (8-10% bf) a month ago and im down to 155....

i am losing weight rapidly because i dont know what to eat as a "vegetarian" ...i am trying desperately to keep my cals stable at around 3000 but i am still losing weight.

What do you vegetarians eat to maintain size?

Edit : dem proteinz bruh ...i needz dem proteinz :(

marlener

Postby marlener » September 26th, 2013, 12:23 pm

Soy products are good,lentils,sweet potatoes,provisions,eggs,milk,go with the whole foods and research an appropriate protein if you need to.Almonds,avocados are also good.

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » September 26th, 2013, 12:27 pm

marlener wrote:Just started back lifting after 7 month away. The muscle soreness is the worst part. Jumbo if what was stated is true,then a lot of the really big brands don't have them listed.Beast had it but not a couple of the other recommended brands though.

Yeah that's what disturbs me, I know marketing and placebo plays a big part in a protein product's popularity but if this is true then ON Gold Standard, Combat powder, Dymatize etc all are guilty parties.

Postby dougla_boy » September 26th, 2013, 12:27 pm

greek yoghurt and cottage cheese has lotsa protein..........

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » September 26th, 2013, 12:31 pm

It's not just the protein he's missing but the calories. If he's losing weight so rapidly then it's obvious that he's operating on a caloric deficit. Go for dem provisions, eat like a tobagonian and you will see the weight return. And lentils dawg, can't go wrong with them

marlener

Postby marlener » September 26th, 2013, 12:34 pm

Saw that Jimbo but didn't want to call any names.but combat works talking from experience. At least it worked for me.BlueIce try getting more rest as well,this is something I hardly hear discussed on this thread but it is as important and supplementing or even training. The benefits of sleep is underrated.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » September 26th, 2013, 12:35 pm

Avoid abusing Soy...lots of oestrogen.

Have an ital diet...level peas and beans...supplement the difference.

Postby dougla_boy » September 26th, 2013, 12:42 pm

u talking about MP Combat?
took it for about 3 months or so.....and it works great........may not buy it this month.......as i havent decided what i want as yet......

thinking bout this

supposed to give u energy, suppress appetite and heat the body to increase fat loss

wah dat cuts for the xmas into carnival

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » September 26th, 2013, 12:46 pm

Blueice you ever considered tracking your macros? This would be the sure fire way to keep your weight steady. I've personally used ON hydrowhey, MP Combat and now trying Serious Mass (not same category I know). I not too sure how to tell how effective the protein is or not though :/
One thing that really impresses me is MP Recon though, I'm so much less sore after drinking this post workout.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » September 26th, 2013, 12:48 pm

Jimbo wrote:Blueice you ever considered tracking your macros?

BlueIce wrote:so guys ...i need some help

I have been putting on lean mass for over a yr now ...using the IIFYM diet ...

Postby 16 cycles » September 26th, 2013, 12:51 pm

BlueIce, if you not opposed to it, supplement with a decent whey and some casein..

look for protein rich sources....e.g. there's a soy burger that sells in Price Plaza - 19g protein per burger...

greek yogurt 100cal / 13g protein - yoplait vanilla

tofu & soy

quinoa (sp) rel easy to prepare...could just boil, strain and eat...

watch the carbs and fats in prayers food......look for a balance when hitting macros...

oh yeah....watch the sources of the whey supps...e.g. carnivore supposed to be beef based IIRC
Last edited by 16 cycles on September 26th, 2013, 1:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby dougla_boy » September 26th, 2013, 12:53 pm

where u getting quinoa? i have never seen it in the grocery.......or anywhere

marlener

Postby marlener » September 26th, 2013, 12:55 pm

For weight gain the serious mass works wonders,especially if you add some peanut butter and use milk instead of water,but as he is fasting he will want to watch the content of his supps.Can stimulate his appetite with some B complex or some peritol(OTC) appetite stimulant.

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » September 26th, 2013, 12:56 pm

Conrad wrote:
Jimbo wrote:Blueice you ever considered tracking your macros?

BlueIce wrote:so guys ...i need some help

I have been putting on lean mass for over a yr now ...using the IIFYM diet ...

Lol sorry boss I missed that like voosh.

But since going 100% vegetarian I assumed he's stopped tracking his macros esp with that kind of rapid weight loss.
Quinoa as stated above as another great non meat protein source, albeit a bit expensive but damn it's so good

Postby 16 cycles » September 26th, 2013, 1:04 pm

dougla_boy wrote:where u getting quinoa? i have never seen it in the grocery.......or anywhere

hi-lo or any store that carries waitrose products...

Postby AllTrac » September 26th, 2013, 1:26 pm

blue Ice i fasting now cause everyone fasting and I have to eat what is made. So i eat lots of beans (pinto, red beans, lentils etc) plus a couple scoops of whey, cottage cheese etc.
Im able to hit 180-184g of protein daily while fasting from meat. Fast finishes on Sat.
As for not hitting your macros, concentrate on hitting your protein macro then continue a dirty bulk to get your carbs and fats up to your macro requirement, lots of junk food out there to fill carbs and fats up quickly.

Postby dougla_boy » September 26th, 2013, 1:44 pm

so any thoughts on this?

Postby AllTrac » September 26th, 2013, 1:53 pm

nah, dont know about it, but i heard putting these guys down get you shredded as furk

Postby dougla_boy » September 26th, 2013, 2:00 pm

trac............i eat clean and have just started the IIFYM......about 10mins ago i signed up.......but i was looking for a pre workout as stated a few pages aback and came across this....

Conrad

Postby Conrad » September 26th, 2013, 2:06 pm

^How many supplements you're on?

Postby dougla_boy » September 26th, 2013, 2:08 pm

at the moment....none........used to take just MP Combat......but it finish......

Postby AllTrac » September 26th, 2013, 2:20 pm

my pre is coffee

Postby A172 » September 26th, 2013, 3:20 pm

BlueIce just curious but how do you know you're 8-10%bf? Was this tested? Reason I'm asking is take this for example:

this guy is 6', 163lbs, 9%bf(DEXA scan tested)

if you look anything like that bro then gjdm

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 26th, 2013, 6:38 pm

AllTrac wrote:my pre is coffee

I tried it already, It's all you need really, add some real cocoa powder and you have a rel good natural pre-workout that won't mess you up as much.
I try not to rely on it doh.

Question doh, if you all need a preworkout to get maximum performance, what will happen if for some reason trinidad cudnt import preworkouts for some reason, or it done and you brokes?

Don't rely on too much things to bring out your strength, strength should come from within you.

Norton12005

Postby Norton12005 » September 26th, 2013, 6:43 pm

I got a digital bodyfat caliper can check body fat for anyone if needed..........

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » September 26th, 2013, 9:52 pm

6 oz coke and a shot of instant coffee = HYPHY MUD! boarrrrr mode!

if vega take dat, man yuh buss down that bush brisk brisk and stil have fyaz tuh do shoulders after in le gym...

marlener

Postby marlener » September 26th, 2013, 10:02 pm

Desperate to get a boost,I took chain up and tried two teaspoons of Assault with some Monster.Didn't sleep for over 30 hours straight even after doing legs.I stay clear of pre workouts since.

Postby sharkman121 » September 26th, 2013, 10:40 pm

Norton12005 wrote:I got a digital bodyfat caliper can check body fat for anyone if needed..........

Wanna check mine, when where can I check u?

Is it the omron?

Postby Ted_v2 » September 26th, 2013, 10:41 pm

I always wanted to try that assault.

marlener

Postby marlener » September 26th, 2013, 10:44 pm

Try getting a sample from someone to see how your body responds to it rather than buying a whole container.