National Strike updates/ watch/ News

Re: National Strike updates/ watch/ News

Postby Hook » March 17th, 2013, 3:25 pm

Because every time this happens, people panic buy for a day or two, then it's business as usual at the pumps.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 17th, 2013, 5:51 pm

I feel dey do this to cause panic buy and so increase income to make up for some kinda quota or something....

Postby rfari » March 17th, 2013, 6:36 pm

And that's the thing. Mid week the comms person at petrotrin said that there is no shortage and no panic buying and the union gave a quick rebuttal saying the opposite. Like he just wanted to spark the chaos. I didn't observe long lines or anything of the sorts in the north.

Postby pete » March 17th, 2013, 7:03 pm

Maybe people are starting to get smarter about the alleged gas shortages. If every few months they have this protest action people are going to realise that the gas isn't going to run out and they don't need to panic. Union fail.

Postby Kenjo » March 17th, 2013, 7:10 pm

i went unipet st augustine for diesel around 2 am yesterday and lo and behold that hour a tank was supplying gas there!
diesel containers for storage of fuel is yellow coded , does anyone know how long diesel can be stored for?

Postby rfari » March 17th, 2013, 7:12 pm

I hope thats the case. Time for petrotrin management to put a spin on it and demonise the union. Its ridiculous that police has to protect the tankers from these workers. Madness!

Postby pioneer » March 17th, 2013, 7:28 pm

gas normal here

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » March 17th, 2013, 11:13 pm

yea..heard central ppl was going tizik with panic buying this morning...was passing by brentwood unipet bout 4pm and saw noone..i stop and filled up just in case.. OWTU really crying wolf every 3 months. lol... owtu really fail

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » March 18th, 2013, 10:47 am

pete wrote:Maybe people are starting to get smarter about the alleged gas shortages. If every few months they have this protest action people are going to realise that the gas isn't going to run out and they don't need to panic. Union fail.

The sheep are catching on to what i said over a decade ago with all the strike bs panic buying. I have 1/4 tank and have a meeting in el socorro around 12.. i'll fill up at the new unipet chaguanus side on my way back down.

Postby UML » March 19th, 2013, 6:49 am

I tort the petrotrin protest was about variable pay, which mr hassanali said there was no signed agreement for, and
HSE issues?!!! How come the excuse change to hiring practices now?!!! :|

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 19th, 2013, 7:35 am

UML wrote:I tort the petrotrin protest was about variable pay, which mr hassanali said there was no signed agreement for, and
HSE issues?!!! How come the excuse change to hiring practices now?!!! :|

It never changed. You just can't keep up. There are a list of issues. Never just was about one issue. You just found out some of the rest of them.

wing

Postby wing » March 19th, 2013, 7:52 am

What about the approx. 2000 persons employed in the Malcolm Jones era (PNM) who are financial members of the union? Where were the protests. Do we fire them now?
With respect to the variable pay issue , this is the link to the financial reports .Judge for yourselves.
http://www.petrotrin.com/Petrotrin2007/ ... rchive.htm

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 19th, 2013, 9:01 am

^^^ Looks like a loss for the year in question there.

Postby nemisis » March 19th, 2013, 9:09 am

Question is did no one get it or only those higher up the food chain get bonuses

wing

Postby wing » March 19th, 2013, 9:52 am

The question is : why protest for a payment based on a profit when the auditors show a loss? Whose word do workers take as true? Whose word is true based on the law? Auditors or Ancel Roget? Is he an auditor? Does the union have any auditors to examine the financial statements for irregularities?
Here's one: How can workers be fired but reinstated with a suspension if they did nothing wrong?
Has a deal been made to accept the workers back? What does the union give up to get them back? Why does the company suddenly be in a position to pay but suddenly refuse after the reinstatement of the workers? Is this non payment part of the deal?
And why does the focus shift from variable pay to hiring practices?
Also why is there no panic buying or shortages? Has the company gotten so used to these shenanigans that things have been put in place for such an occurrence so that workers just losing money for no reason?
Lastly, why cut this years variable pay to fight for something from 2009/2010? Isn't it better to secure this years payment first?
Another one: What's happened to the TCL issue? Why Roget is silent on this?

Postby nemisis » March 19th, 2013, 10:07 am

Why they don't have provision when the union instigates a strike upper management do not get paid for the duration of said strike so as to show solidarity with said workers they represent.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 20th, 2013, 9:29 pm

industrial court...interesting...

Postby cinco » March 21st, 2013, 11:55 am

fellow tuner people
please remember Petrotrin has a contractual agreement to supply Unipet with gasoline
they wont ever break that contract due to the cost incurred so by hook or by crook Unipet will ALWAYS have gas
the panic buying is just boolsheet

Postby 1UZFE » March 21st, 2013, 12:09 pm

Just saw some Pensioners protesting outside TTEC on Fredrick and Park St...
Pay d people dey money...

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 21st, 2013, 11:13 pm

pensioners striking?

Postby X2 » March 21st, 2013, 11:26 pm

What good is panic buying a product that we pretty much HAVE to buy anyway... it's just bulking up sales for a few days that will eventually level out anyway.

Can someone explain this concept ?

I mean if gas literally 'ran out', there would be riots and madness in the streets....so it would eventually happen anyway right... panic buy or not...so...well... lets get to the point...

Postby De Dragon » March 22nd, 2013, 3:46 pm

wing wrote:The question is : why protest for a payment based on a profit when the auditors show a loss? Whose word do workers take as true? Whose word is true based on the law? Auditors or Ancel Roget? Is he an auditor? Does the union have any auditors to examine the financial statements for irregularities?
Here's one: How can workers be fired but reinstated with a suspension if they did nothing wrong?
Has a deal been made to accept the workers back? What does the union give up to get them back? Why does the company suddenly be in a position to pay but suddenly refuse after the reinstatement of the workers? Is this non payment part of the deal?
And why does the focus shift from variable pay to hiring practices?
Also why is there no panic buying or shortages? Has the company gotten so used to these shenanigans that things have been put in place for such an occurrence so that workers just losing money for no reason?
Lastly, why cut this years variable pay to fight for something from 2009/2010? Isn't it better to secure this years payment first?
Another one: What's happened to the TCL issue? Why Roget is silent on this?

Lazy mofos will take any reason to down tools and skin c0ck for a week with pay. I never see Roget or OWTU offering any MC auditing services so I dunno WTF they disputing. Iz like ah old mangy dog who does bark every now and then tuh show yuh he could.

Postby joker » March 24th, 2013, 7:05 pm

brace for more protests in the comming weeks ppl

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » March 25th, 2013, 9:09 am

oh noes.. more protests...

What if I told the sheep I have a device that will not only ensure you will get gas, food, water..etc no shortages ever(10 year warranty). Could get a raise for being a genius at work, women will be instantly attracted!....

Just remember to always bring a towel!!

.....foil hats for sale!! $1000.00 cash only.

Postby joker » April 21st, 2013, 5:36 am

^^ lol

joker wrote:this is just the beginning ....

see wat happens this week ... {not with electricity and gas }

my best bet is communications...

and after that water ....
'

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=494843&hilit=communications&start=300

http://m.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-04-06 ... urt-matter
http://www.newsday.co.tt/business/0,175847.html

believe in me now ? there is truth to everything i post !

For those of you working in the Pt Lisas area .... try to reach to work @ least by 6:30 AM this WHOLE week. ...

Postby wagonrunner » April 21st, 2013, 10:35 am

joker wrote:^^ lol

joker wrote:this is just the beginning ....

see wat happens this week ... {not with electricity and gas }

my best bet is communications...

and after that water ....
'

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=494843&hilit=communications&start=300

http://m.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-04-06 ... urt-matter
http://www.newsday.co.tt/business/0,175847.html

believe in me now ? there is truth to everything i post !

For those of you working in the Pt Lisas area .... try to reach to work @ least by 6:30 AM this WHOLE week. ...

do you read what you post?
Retirees from the Telecommu-niciations Services of Trinidad and Tobago (TSTT) are asking the company for a greater equity when it comes to their monthly pension.

The retirees held a protest outside TSTT’s offices on Edward Street yesterday calling on the company to meet with them, so a deal can be worked out where both parties benefit

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 21st, 2013, 8:39 pm

get rid of fkn unions yes!!!!! privatize everything!

Postby joker » April 24th, 2013, 9:08 am

everything was settled in point lisas .... protest called off!!!

yes wagonrunner i read what i post ... but i cannot post exactly what will take place!

Postby joker » April 25th, 2013, 8:37 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:get rid of fkn unions yes!!!!! privatize everything!

THIS is under heavy discussion .

AVOID CIRCULAR ROAD SANDO ON MAY 1ST . FROM 8:20 AM!

MARCH BEING HELD ON THAT DAY!

Postby rfari » October 23rd, 2013, 6:36 am

68 np workers fired for apparently illegal strike action