Re: Anybody into watches?

Postby Chris24Bauer » October 6th, 2015, 8:11 am

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 6th, 2015, 11:17 am

Val wrote:
Swisha wrote:The Moto 360 is the most customizable. May look into getting one now that Android Wear, although limited, is on the iPhone
but is it as integrated into the phone and watch OS as an Apple Watch with an iPhone?

Yes it is, but it doesn't work as well. With the latest 5.1.1 update the 360 works well enough, not as smooth as the apple watch, but after using both of them side by side the apple watch is better (obviously). Is it worth twice as much? I don't think so, but the remote handsfree is nice on the apple watch.
I bought the 360 just to try it, needless to say after a week I put it down and haven't really worn since. It's most useful if you have to take or make calls while driving, you just talk to it, and it's more convenient than the bluetooth in your car.
If you get a lot of emails and messages while in meetings where it's impolite to pull out your phone, it's good for that too. You really don't pull out your phone as much when you use the phone, but I think it's just like a tablet, an unnecessary device.
thanks!

Now that watchOS 2.0 is out I think I'll get the Apple Watch

Postby dougla_boy » October 6th, 2015, 1:53 pm

http://covair-interchangeable-watches.myshopify.com/

i not a fan of expensive watches...just unusual...

Postby Redman » October 8th, 2015, 6:19 pm

I need some help.

I own a Swiss Army Victorinox Divemaster Model # 241264.....

http://winegiftsonline.info/product/186 ... dial+watch

my issue is that I lost the battery ...and I would like to replace it...

The company discontinued the Divemaster so the site is a dead end and thus far Ive not been able to find anything online....

Can any one suggest something..????

Postby S_2NR » October 9th, 2015, 12:00 pm

Getting the new orange monster..Any thoughts from owners? Watch has really grown on me

Sent from my SGP312 using Tapatalk

Val

Postby Val » October 12th, 2015, 1:13 pm

Redman wrote:I need some help.

I own a Swiss Army Victorinox Divemaster Model # 241264.....

http://winegiftsonline.info/product/186 ... dial+watch

my issue is that I lost the battery ...and I would like to replace it...

The company discontinued the Divemaster so the site is a dead end and thus far Ive not been able to find anything online....

Can any one suggest something..????

Battery? Isn't that automatic.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Val

Postby Val » October 12th, 2015, 1:15 pm

S_2NR wrote:Getting the new orange monster..Any thoughts from owners? Watch has really grown on me

Its best value for money in an automatic watch. There is the older 7s26 movement version, and the newer 7r36 I think which offers hacking and handwind.

It's very tough and doesn't show scratches very easily.

Postby Redman » October 12th, 2015, 1:27 pm

No all three that I have are electronic but this the earliest model has a different battery to the other two..

There are other models of divemasters that are automatic.

Val

Postby Val » October 21st, 2015, 7:56 am

Redman wrote:No all three that I have are electronic but this the earliest model has a different battery to the other two..

There are other models of divemasters that are automatic.

Send it to the NYC watch company, had good experience with them.

Postby S_2NR » October 21st, 2015, 9:01 am

Val wrote:
S_2NR wrote:Getting the new orange monster..Any thoughts from owners? Watch has really grown on me

Its best value for money in an automatic watch. There is the older 7s26 movement version, and the newer 7r36 I think which offers hacking and handwind.

It's very tough and doesn't show scratches very easily.

Got it. Black monster.

Very impressive lume and accuracy.
Comfortable bracelet. My everyday beater for the while. Next buy is a Rolex submariner. Who services these in Trinidad in terms of lubrication of moving parts after a few years in particular? Or am I restricted to when I go abroad. First automatic btw. Tips and tricks appreciated

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » October 21st, 2015, 9:16 am

Seiko lower end movements go a long long time without servicing. General consensus on most watch forums is to just wear is and not worry about getting it serviced.

A new 7s26 or 4r36 is around $50USD. You can even use the HN35 movement which is a little cheaper. It's an unbranded 4r36.

Postby S_2NR » October 21st, 2015, 9:42 am

Manual says service after 5 years. 4r36 movement

Val

Postby Val » October 21st, 2015, 9:43 am

I never serviced mine and have it 4 years now. Locally I would only go to Karmodys. I have another 7s26 about 9 years now and its totally fine, just the reserve capacity is a bit lower.

Val

Postby Val » October 21st, 2015, 9:44 am

A good cheap alternative to the submariner is the steinhart

Postby S_2NR » October 21st, 2015, 9:50 am

Thank you. I resized it myself as I find local watch places man handle your time piece. Will check karmody in future

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » October 21st, 2015, 9:58 am

bought the citizen nighthawk wr200, but not a fan of the stainless steel bands, so imma swap them for leather replacements

4CupMan

Postby 4CupMan » October 21st, 2015, 10:46 am

Where is karmodys and what kinda watches do they sell. Or do they just service watches.

Postby S_2NR » October 21st, 2015, 3:13 pm

I don't know either. I Google them. Somewhere down south

Val

Postby Val » October 29th, 2015, 10:32 pm

They have the basic casio, Seiko and q&q. They are best for service in Trinidad, but I wouldn't take a mid range or high end timepiece there. They in south on high street.

Postby Trini Hookah » October 29th, 2015, 11:20 pm

Found a new Timex for my everyday beater.

Sent from my XT1032 using Tapatalk

moses_boss12
Location: The Beautiful Hills of.................... Hellshire!!

Postby moses_boss12 » November 7th, 2015, 11:11 pm

Ok guys so found this among some of grandfather's stuff

Any encounters with this
1446952249218.jpg

Val

Postby Val » November 8th, 2015, 5:29 pm

Never seen a Breitling like that before. Breitling itself makes luxury tool watches.

Postby zoom rader » November 10th, 2015, 10:32 pm

moses_boss12 wrote:Ok guys so found this among some of grandfather's stuff

Any encounters with this

Yeah its a Real Breitling , Sould be worth about $4000US . But you gonna need the cert to prove or take it in to a Breitling dealer. Dont let these trini clowns service it, its goona need Breitling agents to service it.

Postby r3iXmann » November 20th, 2015, 9:52 am

20151120_174620.jpg

20151120_174356.jpg

watch.jpg

Huawei watch. Feels pretty solid so far. If you have larger hands, you might struggle with it. It fits my small wrist quite snug and the band doesn't seem that accomodating to larger hands. :mrgreen:

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » November 20th, 2015, 3:46 pm

That Huawei is sweet. I couldnt splurge as much so I ended up getting a first gen moto 360.

I use it as my daily driver now.

Postby supercharged turbo » November 21st, 2015, 11:28 am

Where can I get a clock repaired?Professional places or people only that reasonable.Not men who wah try ah thing.

Postby eliteauto » November 21st, 2015, 1:13 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:Where can I get a clock repaired?Professional places or people only that reasonable.Not men who wah try ah thing.

Steven Low Charlotte St

konartis

Postby konartis » November 30th, 2015, 7:04 pm

Just a few watches that I use for work wear, nothing too fancy. I love my G-Shocks tho...like the big watch look.
1448924630533.jpg
Last edited by konartis on December 1st, 2015, 12:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » November 30th, 2015, 8:51 pm

Anyone have experience with Skagen watches? I know they are owned by fossil so quality should be atleast half decent. Interested in them cause of how slim they are, my wrist is not big.

Postby S_2NR » November 30th, 2015, 9:37 pm

Want to buy an omega seamaster 300m. Any owners here?