The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Swisha

Re: The *Official* ANDROID/GOOGLE Thread

Postby Swisha » February 9th, 2011, 7:51 pm

RASC wrote:Stueps...allyuh men not even realising the same issues WRT Android is the SAME thing that doomed Windows Mobile.

Look at allyuh selves... side loading ROMS, Flashing, Rooting just to get the phone without the lag issues :?

I was the first one to blast Apple with their closed mentality...but in actuality it has proved to be their biggest asset. SMOOTH, seemless error free loading, streaming and navigation. Being techy, hacking etc, losses it's appeal quickly and I waiting for allyuh on the next side-WP7-lemme know when you ready to join the revolution of just powering your handset and actually doing stuff without fear of crashing and having to reboot, or worse bricking your phone.

i dont get what ur saying. i have never rooted or flashed any ROM on my phone and it works fine, on par with the iPhone4 and better than any previous iPhone.

the 'lag' u may be talking about might be because of the stupid skins manufacturers slap over stock Android.

have u taken a look @ this thread lately and seen the variety of 'techy' and hacking available?
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=353005&hilit=wp7

if any OS is made for being hacked and techy, then it's any Windows OS. mobile or otherwise.

Android doesnt NEED to be hacked to run smoothly. it's an open platform for a reason. ppl jus choose to do a million different things with it

Postby Greypatch » February 9th, 2011, 7:52 pm

Nokia plans to announce it will be building WP7 phones.

its a win win for both sides

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » February 9th, 2011, 8:48 pm

You don't have to do anything to most stock Android phones.

If you're talking about the lag you got with your Galaxy, well that was Sammy's fault with their early implementation of the RFS file system. Later 2.2 and 2.2.1 roms fix the rfs problem and you don't even have to change the file system if you don't want to.

I don't know about crashing or reboots, as i have never had these problems.

I side load roms because i like it and i have a phone with an intentionally open bootloader so i don't have to worry about bricking once i leave the bootloader alone.

I think you probably had a bad experience with the models you bought that's all.

And if you think Android is going the way of Windows Mobile you'd be dead wrong.
Just look at the growth statistics.

At the end of the day if you're happy with a company telling you what your experience should be with a closed operating system then by all means go that route. Enjoy the cat and mouse games between the unlockers/jailbreakers and the manufacturers.

We'll see how far WP7 gets. :mrgreen:

RASC wrote:Stueps...allyuh men not even realising the same issues WRT Android is the SAME thing that doomed Windows Mobile.

Look at allyuh selves... side loading ROMS, Flashing, Rooting just to get the phone without the lag issues :?

I was the first one to blast Apple with their closed mentality...but in actuality it has proved to be their biggest asset. SMOOTH, seemless error free loading, streaming and navigation. Being techy, hacking etc, losses it's appeal quickly and I waiting for allyuh on the next side-WP7-lemme know when you ready to join the revolution of just powering your handset and actually doing stuff without fear of crashing and having to reboot, or worse bricking your phone.

achillies

Postby achillies » February 9th, 2011, 9:28 pm

Now i dont know what phone u have but i have been using my HTC magic for over a year now and i have never experienced lag, and what u dont know is that android is for ppl who want to have TOTAL control over their phone and its for ppl who are into hacking, flashing and the rooting. in essence what you call Apple's strength is a strength to you, to me its their biggest weakness, because i have had my phone for a pretty long time and it has not gotton old to me atall.

so before you talk rememeber, your opinion is just that, yours, and being a previous Iphone user myself, there is no way i can go back to using that OS. I used the Iphone 4 for one day and I honestly cannot take it.

I'm switching between 2.2.1 and 2.3 and i'm just waiting for a non CDMA Android phone to catch my eye and its mine.

And just for good measure, u should take a read and see just how much ppl out there like the hacking and the side loading and rooting. http://goo.gl/qfFGR

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 9th, 2011, 11:53 pm

me eh know who RASC waiting on d other side for nah. it look like it go be one long lonely wait till he ready to come running back to Android :lol:

Postby RASC » February 10th, 2011, 12:26 am

Have any of you used WP7.extensively?

Postby RASC » February 10th, 2011, 12:33 am

I've used nexus, galaxy s and droid x extensively. All compared to wp7 were laggy. On their own if you've never tried ms new os are great. After you play or use a wp7 for the first time you'll see what I'm talking about. That's all I'm trying to say. Overall I think Android is more powerful... But for what matters to me most...navigation speed, response time etc WP7 Crushes Android, in even its most up to date none dual core devices.

Postby RASC » February 10th, 2011, 8:52 am

I find it very hard to believe that you guys are experiencing absolutely zero lag on your stock devices. I just went through over twenty threads and YouTube videos of users from all over the globe showing fixes to their lag issues on these aforementioned devices. How is it these XDA and HOWARDFORUMS ppl have small issues,but an entire band of ppl in tiny TT are the only ones with completely lag free experiences. I purposely looked at all the STOCK devices straight from Google and they all had issues. There's a special rom for this and a special rom for that... When I say lag, I'm referring to micro seconds here... Not seconds or freezes. So maybe its not getting to you here. Feel free to blast me- I'll provide proof in a while. Sorry for the lack of paragraphs...

Postby RASC » February 10th, 2011, 9:10 am

To you user above who said he had a HTC magic and never experienced lag you are lying. The HTC magic is a lag monster. I've used it and even in the online reviews when it first came out it lags tremendously. If you have a bone stock non rooted magic without lag, you're totally fabricating that one. Look at phonearenas review...as soon as he opens the main menu...lag! That has a stupid HTC sense skin on it so that's expected... But when you see the same lag on freshly booted nexus' and galaxy s' that shows their is something wrong. Who is to be blamed... The manufacturers for rushing to market or Google themselves. I dunno...

Humes

Postby Humes » February 10th, 2011, 10:04 am

I have my eye on WP7. I like the idea of tooling around in Android, and their phones look great, but at the end of the day I want a phone that is smooth, fast and well-organised.

Postby RASC » February 10th, 2011, 10:28 am

The time is now half 10 Trini time. I am going to attempt a slow down of my phone today. I put every single app to refresh in the quickest time. Changed all my emails to push. Loaded all apps and menus onto the home screen. Turned on Bluetooth, WiFi,3G, GPS permanently. I will now also put 10 gigs of music and movies on my phone. I will report any lag, slow down or crash for you guys. I will also be streaming podcasts from Engadget and. Music from slacker. Lets see if it crashes once.

Postby M_2NR » February 10th, 2011, 5:34 pm

BTW note for you android guys. I needed a cheap alternative for a iPhone headset. So i tried this:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003OE ... 169BV7IDIU

An EVO 4G headset. The pause play button works so... in case u ever had an iPhone or you are switching to Android or either way... the headsets should work for normal use. Next/Previous doesnt work on the other hand.

What im pissed about android for you guys also is that... WHERE D PHOQ IS D GINGERBREAD?! is overcooking in d oven?

Yes you can say that iOS 4.3 eh hitting 3G and 2G ever in life... but... wtmc.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 10th, 2011, 7:03 pm

RASC wrote:The time is now half 10 Trini time. I am going to attempt a slow down of my phone today. I put every single app to refresh in the quickest time. Changed all my emails to push. Loaded all apps and menus onto the home screen. Turned on Bluetooth, WiFi,3G, GPS permanently. I will now also put 10 gigs of music and movies on my phone. I will report any lag, slow down or crash for you guys. I will also be streaming podcasts from Engadget and. Music from slacker. Lets see if it crashes once.

Like yuh HD7 couldn't hold up? The time is now 7pm Trini time and we ain't hear from yuh yet. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

I'm finally leaving the office now to go check out the phones you've suggested. Hoping to make a final decision by tonight! :D

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 10th, 2011, 7:45 pm

Twitter updates Android app, we go hands-on in more than 140 characters

If you're an avid Twitter user and an avid Android smartphone user, you've been waiting for this day. The day where those developers at Twitter's headquarters man up and release a Twitter app that can seriously compete with the likes of TweetDeck, Twidroid, and HootSuite. Well, fellow tweeters, it appears that time has come -- the official Twitter Android 2.0 app just hit the Market and it includes a pretty drastic UI overhaul, some bug fixes, and a few more key features.

Naturally, we hit the update button as soon as it popped up on our Droid 2 Global, and we have to say the first thing we noticed was the speed increase -- our feed loaded quickly and jumping over to the different columns was snappy. Speaking of those columns, Twitter wiped the previous, overly-cutesy main homepage for four tabs that run along the top of the screen -- there's your regular feed, mentions, direct messages, and lists. It feels more like the iOS app, which definitely isn't a bad thing. You can still pull-to-refresh and swipe left or right over a particular tweet to respond, retweet, or favorite it. So, what's the best improvement? Besides the tidied up interface, we have to say it's the auto-complete for usernames -- punch in the @ symbol and start typing a name and you'll get a list of suggested names. Twitter's also improved the search functionality, but we'd suggest checking that out yourself. It won't cost you a penny, we just hope you're running Android 2.1 or higher.

Engadget

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 10th, 2011, 7:51 pm

M_2NR wrote:What im pissed about android for you guys also is that... WHERE D PHOQ IS D GINGERBREAD?! is overcooking in d oven?

Yes you can say that iOS 4.3 eh hitting 3G and 2G ever in life... but... wtmc.

seems as though they are updating Gingerbread for compatibility with dual core apps b4 any major release...

Android 2.4 reportedly coming in April, headed to ViewSonic ViewPad 4?

Last we heard at CES, Viewsonic's ViewPad 4 handset was on track to launch with Android 2.2 in mid-June, but it now looks like there might be a pretty significant change of plans. Pocket-lint is reporting that it's heard from a source at Viewsonic who says the ViewPad 4 is now set to launch in April... with Android 2.4. According to the source, however, that update will not be dubbed "Ice Cream" as some had suspected, but will instead simply still be called Gingerbread. So what does the update bring if not a name change? Compatibility with dual-core apps designed for Honeycomb, primarily, which Pocket-lint speculates is one of the main reasons we've yet to see many Android 2.3-based devices hit the market (Nexus S, aside).

Engadget

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 10th, 2011, 7:56 pm

oh btw RASC, can u copy and paste on ur HD7? or do u need to jailbreak and hack it to get that basic function? :poke:

Postby RASC » February 10th, 2011, 8:16 pm

still got all got all those things on...still no lag. No crash :) copy and paste is coming with the update later this month. Hardly even use it tho...so kinda not missing it to be honest. How yuh phone hold up today Mitch...reset/power cycle much? :drinking: Posting from mine. What size memory card are you running? Does the class speed really effect your performance?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 10th, 2011, 8:24 pm

RASC wrote:still got all got all those things on...still no lag. No crash :) copy and paste is coming with the update later this month. Hardly even use it tho...so kinda not missing it to be honest. How yuh phone hold up today Mitch...reset/power cycle much? :drinking: Posting from mine. What size memory card are you running? Does the class speed really effect your performance?

lol funny. u sounding just like the iPhone users back in the day when they "didnt need" copy and paste but had a nerdgasm when el Steve-o announced it would be coming in an update.

and no i cant remember the last time my phone powered off.

memory card? seriously? u trying to imply having room to expand ur memory is a bad thing?
geez WP7 fanboys are worse than iPhone's :?

Postby RASC » February 10th, 2011, 8:50 pm

I asked you a genuine and simple question wrt memory card. I don't see what the attitude is about. Is one thing if we going back and forth about Android v wp7, but resist the urge when I'm being serious nah. Thanks.

achillies

Postby achillies » February 10th, 2011, 9:08 pm

RASC wrote:To you user above who said he had a HTC magic and never experienced lag you are lying. The HTC magic is a lag monster. I've used it and even in the online reviews when it first came out it lags tremendously. If you have a bone stock non rooted magic without lag, you're totally fabricating that one. Look at phonearenas review...as soon as he opens the main menu...lag! That has a stupid HTC sense skin on it so that's expected... But when you see the same lag on freshly booted nexus' and galaxy s' that shows their is something wrong. Who is to be blamed... The manufacturers for rushing to market or Google themselves. I dunno...

LOL, My phone does not lag, it may be slower than WP7, it is definitely slower than a Nexus and all the other phones u have mentioned, but this shows that u are not really ready for android.

I rooted my magic 2 months after i got it and i put 1.6 on it, and that shyt was DE BOMB, i then went to Cyanogenmod mod 5, Again the bomb, no lag, i was on Cyanogenmod 6 till they started to include some features that i didn't like and in my opinion, just mine, it was becoming a bit to bloated for me.

i then change my radio and SPL so that i could run Sense UI, and that is when i experienced lag, but that was understandable so reverted my radio and SPL and i was running a 2.3 rom from EZTERRY, it was in alpha stages and i was using it as a daily driver, but it is alpha, so i am back running an EZTERRY 2.2.1 rom and this is sweet. Absolutely no lag whatsoever

If you want to run WP7 u go right ahead, but if you just dont have what it takes to setup your phone properly and and have it running smoothly then dont blame android, blame yourself. And all the phones u have used are alot more powerful than mine.

U really do not know what lag is, U are getting caught up in the eyecandy of WP7 and confusing it with speed, i admit android is not as pretty as WP7, and i wouldn't even consider using a WP7 phone, but what can I say, some people like real performance and some people just love rice. but dont come to the performance shop and wanna boast bout how white your rice is.

I'm sure if i tell u that i that right now my battery is at 80% percent after having GPS on at all times and using WiFi moderately and with a few texts and phone calls, I''d probably be lying too

And for a laggy OS it sure seems to be selling alot, Numbers do not and will not lie.

I have nothnig against iOS and WP7, but i love android, and so does everyone else in here, so come ask questions and discuss, dont come with, this OS laggy and this other 1 better, yuh only fooling yourself.
Last edited by achillies on February 10th, 2011, 9:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RASC » February 10th, 2011, 9:18 pm

So you had to root? End of discussion. I'll be waiting for a Google branded dual core, that can actually handle the os in stock form before jumping on board. Right now I'm simultaneously browsing 3 threads on xda with guys trying to figure out fixes for their sluggish nexus s' SMH

achillies

Postby achillies » February 10th, 2011, 9:31 pm

Yea but seriously, how come u have to wait for dual core to handle android in its stock form when it have single cores that running android and sense UI smoothly, like u bought all your phones from TSTT brand new awa

Postby RASC » February 10th, 2011, 9:49 pm

achillies wrote:Yea but seriously, how come u have to wait for dual core to handle android in its stock form when it have single cores that running android and sense UI smoothly, like u bought all your phones from TSTT brand new awa

Re read my comments and try again. All androids, even the bone stock nexus is laggy. You need to be constantly using app killer. Turn off flash. And make sure nothing is syncing in the background to get things on the level of fluidity of an iphone4 or wp7 device.I love the extra functionality,but if it comes at the expense of rapid actions and none hanging issues, I'll just wait until the dual core flood the market to jump back onboard. As of right now not even the single core 1Ghz can't handle he load. Even with 512ram. Sad... Ill be back in around Q4 2011. Till then home allyuh having fun rooting, sideloading andtweeking just to get your devices flying seamlessly.

Postby RASC » February 10th, 2011, 9:56 pm

My friend working the bar down the street has an evo4g. I gonna ask her to borrow it, log on and try to post the same way I've been posting all day. In case you haven't been realizing, with the lack of paragraphs I've been using my phone. Lemme see how easy it is to replicate this rapid type of typing , page rendering of chuna and posting. Brb

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 10th, 2011, 10:23 pm

So because u using ur phone u can't use paragraphs?

ROFL. My laggy Nexus1 laughs at ur uber fast wp7.

*posted from my laggy android phone*

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » February 10th, 2011, 11:54 pm

lol Rasc if yuh happy with your windows phone good going man.

Is there a thread for that? (hint hint). :idea:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 11th, 2011, 12:06 am

^yeah but it's a lot lonely up in that thread :lol:

then again, the posts in that thread might be too technical for him. after all he did say
Being techy, hacking etc, losses it's appeal quickly

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » February 11th, 2011, 12:23 am

Samsung announces the Exynos line of CPUs
Posted on Thursday, Feb 10, 2011 by Jerry Hildenbrand

Samsung has sent out a press release about something we all love -- fast CPUs for mobile products. They will be changing the name of their product line to "Exynos" -- from the Greek smart (exypnos) and green (prasinos). This fits in well with their new strategy of producing powerful, yet energy efficient processors for mobile devices.

An interesting fact from the press release is that the chip we've all been calling the Orion will be the first chip with the new name, the Exynos 4210. It's a dual-core beast clocked at 1 GHz, scheduled to begin production next month. This puts a bit of a damper on hopes to see it in devices like the Galaxy S 2 soon, but if they can provide the performance they have hinted at yet keep power requirements low to conserve battery, it will be worth waiting for. Read the full press release after the break.

http://www.androidcentral.com/samsung-a ... -line-cpus

Postby r3iXmann » February 11th, 2011, 12:33 am

RASC wrote:
achillies wrote:Yea but seriously, how come u have to wait for dual core to handle android in its stock form when it have single cores that running android and sense UI smoothly, like u bought all your phones from TSTT brand new awa

Re read my comments and try again. All androids, even the bone stock nexus is laggy. You need to be constantly using app killer. Turn off flash. And make sure nothing is syncing in the background to get things on the level of fluidity of an iphone4 or wp7 device.I love the extra functionality,but if it comes at the expense of rapid actions and none hanging issues, I'll just wait until the dual core flood the market to jump back onboard. As of right now not even the single core 1Ghz can't handle he load. Even with 512ram. Sad... Ill be back in around Q4 2011. Till then home allyuh having fun rooting, sideloading andtweeking just to get your devices flying seamlessly.

that's not true :?

had an xperia mini pro and i never experienced any of the 'lag' u talking about except if i was trying to push the device..i only rooted to explore the phone a bit more

also, installed 2 builds of froyo on a nokia n900 yesterday, one ran a bit laggy (the older build) like you're describing but the other ran PERFECTLY

and the two devices in question have 600Mhz CPUs,so why would it lag on a more powerful phone?

Postby tr1ad » February 11th, 2011, 12:54 am

never even installed any task killer for my stock nexus one
never froze, never experienced this"lag" you speak of though
had gtalk,. gmail, yahoo, facebook, twitter, and ms exchange running all the time

android is full of win

if you want to compare
what is the period for this extensive use?