the right to bear arms

Re: Right to bear arms

Postby rspann » September 14th, 2019, 7:11 am

Of course holders of FUL knows their rights and responsibilities especially an old retired senior cop. It's just typical Trini mentality that takes over and who not gallerying with it shooting behind escaping targets. Even the police shoot behind men who are not threat to them or those who are fleeing.

You feel men who bussing their gun in Trincity mall and One Woodbrook Place don't know they not suppose to do that. Were their FUL taken away? I have a customer who wears his firearm in a pouch slung around his shoulder, and his hand always in the pouch. That making sense? If I was a bandit and saw that I would know exactly what the scene is. He doesn't even realize he's making himself a target because a bandit seeing that would probably shoot first.

Nobody should know you are carrying. Old man got the drop on the bandit because of the element of surprise. A good bandit suppose to hold everybody at bay and search them first .

Postby Redman » September 14th, 2019, 7:32 am

Of course holders of FUL knows their rights and responsibilities especially an old retired senior cop.

You really believe that?

Postby rspann » September 14th, 2019, 7:41 am

Yes. They know. It's just that they don't abide. You really believe that pops doesn't know he not supposed to fire at a fleeing target? But he is a star boy in everybody eyes.

Postby eliteauto » September 14th, 2019, 8:27 am

So lemme get this straight, an armed man with intent to do you harm is met with equal or superior force and if he turns his back during a confrontation you guys would cease the discharge of your firearm? Ok then. Btw backdrop selection is a dynamic thing by the person involved, no camera can show you what the shooter was seeing.

Postby alfa » September 14th, 2019, 9:08 am

eliteauto wrote:So lemme get this straight, an armed man with intent to do you harm is met with equal or superior force and if he turns his back during a confrontation you guys would cease the discharge of your firearm? Ok then. Btw backdrop selection is a dynamic thing by the person involved, no camera can show you what the shooter was seeing.

That's why I was saying potential FUL users need to be educated about the law regarding these things and not just taught weapons manipulation and marksmanship. I don't know what the law says about shooting a man in the back, however if someone had a gun to your head it is suicide to try to draw your firearm at that moment. From a tactical perspective it is much better to wait for a window of opportunity when they focused on the loot and have their back turned and then to respond. Similarly with a fleeing bandit.

Postby rspann » September 14th, 2019, 9:34 am

eliteauto wrote:So lemme get this straight, an armed man with intent to do you harm is met with equal or superior force and if he turns his back during a confrontation you guys would cease the discharge of your firearm? Ok then. Btw backdrop selection is a dynamic thing by the person involved, no camera can show you what the shooter was seeing.

What does the law require? Are any police officers before the courts for murder/ manslaughter with respect to these types of shooting? Btw, did the other bandit have a gun? If no, does this change the conversation?

Postby rspann » September 14th, 2019, 9:36 am

Can you post the questions used for the psychometric test? One of the questions is applicable here.

Postby maj. tom » September 14th, 2019, 9:46 am

is defend the good boys that some of allyuh trying to word out here? In this time of rampant criminal ruthlessness and careless murders, allyuh suddenly become Israel Khan? Cop didn't harm anyone but the good boys, let's move on. This is Rio de Janeiro wild west reality we dealing with now.

Postby Redman » September 14th, 2019, 10:31 am

maj. tom wrote:is defend the good boys that some of allyuh trying to word out here? In this time of rampant criminal ruthlessness and careless murders, allyuh suddenly become Israel Khan? Cop didn't harm anyone but the good boys, let's move on. This is Rio de Janeiro wild west reality we dealing with now.

Until some one Rio de Janeiro you or yours-then you expect the rules to apply.

And this is the mentality that will prevent progress.
Questioning the shooter is not a defense of the criminal.
Society has evolved beyond that.

Just because its emotionally satisfying to you to see the robbers dead,doesn't change the responsibility to set standards of behavior.

Isnt it the same lack of standards that has us where we are?

Postby rspann » September 14th, 2019, 10:34 am

If you think a murder charge is easy to face just to shoot a good boy in his back, think again. Nothing wrong in shooting a bandit, but you have to do it the right way otherwise upset your whole life ,and your family's while you in jail for being hero. Right now five police in jail for murder while a police woman turn state witness because she didnt want to join them. Two others were recently charged for murder too. All were for killing good boys. I would have thought this was a mature discussion and my point would have been understood. I'm sure the ones who disagree are not holders of FUL.

Postby maj. tom » September 14th, 2019, 11:02 am

Of course I don't disagree with the rules you need to apply as a responsible concealed carry FUL. But this case right here is what i'm taking about and I don't see that the Police did anything wrong in a combat situation here. The bandit was the one wildly firing at every direction like Rio. The retired officer carrying his weapon at all times was surely well trained and it seems that he was firing his weapon with full awareness of the rules of weapons discharge in combat. This case with video evidence, if an innocent person was hurt, would be called to answer in front a jury. Why would you think I would disagree with responsible carry and proper training?

Postby rspann » September 14th, 2019, 11:11 am

Walking out in the road shooting after a fleeing felon is a no no. He was no immediate threat to the ex-cop. Police will have a little more latitude but still are called to account if someone is killed. Either the suspect or a bystander. While he was in the combat situation everything was ok, after the situation de-escalated and they ran, that's where I see a problem .

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 14th, 2019, 11:29 am

so if a man shoot at you and then runs away can't he at any time turn and shoot again?

Postby rspann » September 14th, 2019, 11:36 am

If he is running away and shooting backwards ,yes. You can return fire in that case . That's why sometimes people say that the police shoot them in their back. Again, my point is ,you have to defend yourself if you are in fear for you life or if you are in danger. When there is no immediate threat, wdyd? When you apply for a FUL, that is a question asked.

Postby Redman » September 14th, 2019, 11:45 am

this is all fine until a by stander is killed.

What are the rules then.

If you are the shooter-what protects you from the civil suite that will come.
What of criminal charges-

These need to be fleshed out-not dependent on a sympathetic public

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 14th, 2019, 11:48 am

so he has a gun and has already shot at you and is now running away you have to wait until he shoots again before you shoot

Man you could be a dead man

Postby maj. tom » September 14th, 2019, 11:57 am

Every situation will be different, completely different. Yes, as it stands right now, it really is all fine until an innocent bystander gets injured or killed. There really cannot be a set-in-stone precedent, which is why it will be tried by a jury and not by a single judge quoting from a law book. Presenting the evidence whichever way will be on the terms of the prosecutor. And all juries are always sympathetic to the politics and biased mood climate of the day, so that's another variable that would account for the outcome of a particular case today, but not the same result as one 20 years ago.

Everything is life is not black and white with right and wrong answers to be given just based on the written law or the way we have always traditionally looked at a particular crime. Everything is complicated and hence the well established process of a jury. Whether it should be a jury of our (stupid) peers, or a jury of competent professionals in the field in question could be debatable.

Postby pugboy » September 14th, 2019, 12:18 pm

Alexander and he armory cops padnas does alway bawl the key word is “imminent” danger

As Spann say a man who running away down the road may not be such situation.

Postby Redman » September 14th, 2019, 2:03 pm

Ok so where are the laws that govern this incident?

Just the Firearms Act?

Postby sMASH » September 14th, 2019, 11:37 pm

In the video, Alexander was relishing the moment, how Pappy was taking out the pess.
And that was quite misleading, fir him to do, for the cautious reasons already posted previously.

TECHNICALLY, pess was running away, and one can say that the threat was not there any more.
A backside police could charge u fir shooting at the pess when he was no longer a threat. Pess end up dead, so now is manslaughter Pappy facing.

A whole sheit show.

If the case call soon and gets thrown out, all well and good, but Trinidad will drag it on.

In Trinidad, the laws and those who enforce it, dint like u to defend ur self strongly. They will jam u for being excessive.

That needs to change to give people more Lee way.

But not fir Pappy, he do sheit there, didchstnihg in public

Postby redmanjp » September 16th, 2019, 12:37 pm

sMASH wrote:i agree with u. not just clarity, but also laws that encourage self defense. so that in the moment, a citizen doesnt have to be distracted by what the law will or will not like, and just defend them selves and families

Like the 'Stand your Ground' laws in the US

Postby rspann » September 16th, 2019, 12:44 pm

Michael Drejka was still found guilty of manslaughter for standing his ground. A FUL is a good thing, but wrong use and interpretation could end up in serious problems.

Postby 16 cycles » September 16th, 2019, 1:04 pm

of all the bars robbed in the recent past, how many had gaming machines vs no gaming machines?

Postby Ben_spanna » September 16th, 2019, 1:09 pm

rspann wrote:If he is running away and shooting backwards ,yes. You can return fire in that case . That's why sometimes people say that the police shoot them in their back. Again, my point is ,you have to defend yourself if you are in fear for you life or if you are in danger. When there is no immediate threat, wdyd? When you apply for a FUL, that is a question asked.

The spike in gun related crimes being committed daily... we need to revise our laws.
Allow police to shoot dem MC in their backs...... im in full agreement with that, firetruck away with criminals, they have NO rights.............
and if their families vex..jail dem MC all too..............

Postby 88sins » September 16th, 2019, 1:40 pm

16 cycles wrote:of all the bars robbed in the recent past, how many had gaming machines vs no gaming machines?

i noticed that comment alexander made, it have some merit to the idea that roulette machines attract bandits, but bars was always routinely getting hit from ever since. Gas stations too. & the reason most bandits are attracted to bars is simple

Alcohol is expensive, and in the vast majority of the small bars on this island, most patrons tend to pay with cash, that is kept in very specific location, usually in a register or whatever behind the bar. Gaming machines just make it a little more attractive to hit these places.

Postby sMASH » September 16th, 2019, 2:25 pm

redmanjp wrote:
sMASH wrote:i agree with u. not just clarity, but also laws that encourage self defense. so that in the moment, a citizen doesnt have to be distracted by what the law will or will not like, and just defend them selves and families

Like the 'Stand your Ground' laws in the US

the same attitude that GG has when 'his' officers take down a good boy, the same treatment the courts should should greet a person defends them self against a miscreant
yes our laws need modifying.

Postby rspann » September 16th, 2019, 2:48 pm

The mindset is what's important. You have to learn to think and act in a fraction of a second. Adrenalin could affect judgement
One wrong move and your life is changed forever.

Postby Ben_spanna » September 17th, 2019, 9:41 pm

Wonderful example,of what we need here. Georgia man shoots and Kills 3 teens armed and masked themselves while attempting to rob them and his neighbors. this is what we need here, no matter how “old or young” these good boys are, if you going to rob anyone and are armed with an illegal,firearm, is level lead in your worthless MC, want more of these pests killed and disposed of.

VII

Postby VII » September 18th, 2019, 10:02 am

Span I get you but those guys were fair game for death..and one ran and fired..they should be stopped at any given opportunity,some have killed already and will kill again,and the ones that get away will eventually kill..Cover, backstop,opportunity and ++P hollow-point for any bandit in the act.. It must never be at the expense of bystanders,plenty good men have that covered doh worry..

And I know very well about the daddy boys discharging guns inside clubs etc..they are the problem...but poor daddy always seems to fix things for the little bed-wetters..

One leave he gun by Hilton after champagne for breakfast,one left it in a park,one in a hour rate hotel,one fired a shot in 51 degrees and all his ass lickers thought it was way cool and not worth talking about or condemning,that's when I personally stepped back and asked myself if these are the people I wanna be around...smelling cordite in the club is a weird experience ..and the thought of a possible ricochet off a steel beam into someone's head was terrifying ..

Punks are punks, daddy-rich or ghetto-poor...

Postby Slartibartfast » September 18th, 2019, 11:19 am

16 cycles wrote:of all the bars robbed in the recent past, how many had gaming machines vs no gaming machines?

i noticed that comment alexander made, it have some merit to the idea that roulette machines attract bandits, but bars was always routinely getting hit from ever since. Gas stations too. & the reason most bandits are attracted to bars is simple

Alcohol is expensive, and in the vast majority of the small bars on this island, most patrons tend to pay with cash, that is kept in very specific location, usually in a register or whatever behind the bar. Gaming machines just make it a little more attractive to hit these places.

I addition to what you said, many small bars only accept cash because they don't want to pay bank fees. If they not paying bank fees in a lot of cases they not paying for security (or good security anyway) so they make themselves a prime target.

With the roulette machines; the bar needs to have a certain amount of cash on hand to be able to pay out winnings so you sure they always have at least a few thousand cash on them. The people that go there are normally people that 1. Enjoy gambling 2. Don't want to have to obey a dress code to go to a actual casino to play.