mero wrote:What is UNC coming with??
Knock it on dem?
zoom rader wrote:Why focus on UNC its not like u or the rest of guntas will vote for themmero wrote:What is UNC coming with??
Knock it on dem?
paid_influencer wrote:i trying to figure out why rowley would talk about cutting CDAP drugs during an election year.
poor sickly old people is the #1 demographic for voter turnout
PM slams Kamla for misleading citizens'No plans to cut CDAP, increase VAT'
Kay-marie Fletcher
June 8, 2024
Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley has debunked all claims made by Opposition leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar that the Government plans to cut social programmes like the Chronic Disease Assistance Programme (CDAP).
However, the Government’s ability to maintain CDAP’s soaring hundreds of millions of dollars in costs is another issue.
Following Finance Minister Colm Imbert’s mid-year budget view presentation in the House of Representatives yesterday, Rowley said the circumstances surrounding the origin of the CDAP programme, to which he was privy while in cabinet at the time, was quite different to that of the present day.
He added that CDAP was not an entitlement but rather created out of the need to assist those individuals dealing with chronic illnesses.
As such, the Prime Minister did not see an issue with possibly cutting the programme’s cost in half if it were to come to that.
Rowley said, “If it is that our circumstances don’t permit us to carry a $400 million programme but we can carry a $200 million or a $250 million programme, what is wrong with that? And even when the Minister of Finance did not say that we are going to do that.
“I know of no intention in this Government as policy to cut the social programmes… All social programmes are based on the Government having or expecting to get revenue and they offer it to the people who are least able to look after themselves. And this Government’s record is, in the most difficult times, we have maintained probably the best social programme packages in the Commonwealth.”
He added, “In the middle of a pandemic, when the economy was literally close to being shut down except for the energy sector, the Government maintained a commitment to get food in people’s houses, to put cash in people’s pockets so they can be purchasers, to maintain jobs, to make sure small businesses were operational, so when the virus was no longer with us, you could open your door and jobs could still be there. But they’re (Opposition) talking from both sides of their neck.”
Firing back at the Opposition, Rowley also questioned what policies the UNC followed when they created social programmes such as Colour Me Orange and “the murderous” life sport.
Rowley also condemned Persad-Bissessar for her “attempt to deliberately mislead the public” when it came to her claims that more Value Added Tax (VAT) is on the way.
“Where did the Opposition leader get that from? I can tell you without fear of contradiction, nowhere in the corridors of the pews in this Government that I lead, is VAT increase a discussion, nowhere. As a matter of fact, one of the first things we did in our first administration was to cut VAT by 15 per cent to 12.5 per cent. What we did do was to put VAT on luxury items, and we make no apologies for that,” he said.
“You want to bring in strawberries, you want to bring in caviar, you want to bring in so and so, those are not priorities and, therefore, you pay VAT on it if you want to bring it in. And our irresponsible colleagues, who have nothing to be irresponsible for, will go on a platform and say we will remove VAT for 7,000 items. What are these 7,000 items that we are engaged in now that they will remove VAT from? Champagne, vodka, caviar and sturgeon eggs?
“They will remove VAT from 7,000 items so the people of Tobago, in a very difficult period, have no VAT on all the basic food items. They have a whole huge list of zero VAT items. Somebody finds you need 7,000 more items from which VAT should be removed, so that the people won’t be oppressed.”
Something good happening in T&T
Continuing to quash claims made by the Opposition leader, Rowley also assured the public there was no such thing as “presumptive tax”.
According to the IMF, presumptive taxation involves the use of indirect means to ascertain tax liability, which differ from the usual rules based on the taxpayer’s accounts
Rowley said, “What is presumptive taxation? I am advising the country now, every time you see this Government bring on presumptive tax, you pay it with a presumptive cheque.”
While admitting there were some areas that Government will have to suppress financially, Rowley said based on the International Monetary Fund’s (IMF) latest report, something good is happening in the country.
Rowley said, “As we go forward to the end of the fiscal year, nothing extra-dramatical will happen except that the Ministry of Finance will have to, in some areas suppress certain things, in other areas prioritise certain things.
“We are, in fact, going through and have been going through a very difficult period. As head of the Government, I more than everybody else, I know what a difficult period is. The fact that we’re aware of where we are today and getting an assessment by the IMF, a report like we just got, even though difficulties are still with us and that there are challenges and pitfalls ahead, for the country to have got a report like that, it tells us that something good is happening in Trinidad and Tobago.”
https://www.cnc3.co.tt/pm-slams-kamla-f ... rease-vat/
As such, the Prime Minister did not see an issue with possibly cutting the programme’s cost in half if it were to come to that.
paid_influencer wrote:I trying to figure out how Kamla cause Rowley to say nothing wrong with cutting CDAP by half
how kamla even reach in this
With our rates of NCDs the CDAP user base probably younger than you think.Chimera wrote:Win win situation if they cut cdap tho. Elderly people who on pension and can't afford meds will die. Less pension and nis payout.
Habit7 wrote:. These are the hard decisions that have to be made no matter who is in govt because it is not sustainable. Don't increase retirement to 65, NIS will go bankrupt. Don't increase electricity tariffs, natgas will run out faster, T&TEC $9B debt will grow, and last increase was quite 17yrs ago. T&T uses the most water at the cheapest rates than anyone else in the region and still the majority doesn't have 24/7 water. Either we maintain the status quo, or meter up, pay normal rates and fund WASA so that they can afford to pave back roads too. We haven't paid property tax in 15yrs, you can't want more paving, cleaning drains and garbage collection for free.
You have to be an idiot to believe that the wicked [flash=]PNM wants to do all this[/flash]. But if you vote UNC, NIS won't bankrupt and T&TEC and WASA rates won't increase. The same UNC that campaign Axe the Tax said remixed it and was bring the same tax. It is easy to oppose tough decisions in Opposition but if they can't articulate a detailed alternative, you will get the same policy position with a different colour.
death365 wrote:3. PNM only using taxes to get $$$
Yeah u "hear"mero wrote:zoom rader wrote:Why focus on UNC its not like u or the rest of guntas will vote for themmero wrote:What is UNC coming with??
Knock it on dem?
Real monsters voting for UNC doh get it twisted uncle. The amount a promises to gangsters I hear floating around once UNC win and Kamla come back in power is a lil frightening.
NIS cant keep up so kill ole n-gg-e-rspaid_influencer wrote:i trying to figure out why rowley would talk about cutting CDAP drugs during an election year.
poor sickly old people is the #1 demographic for voter turnout
Citizens are not seeing there Tax dollars at work.Habit7 wrote:death365 wrote:3. PNM only using taxes to get $$$
What a horrible thing to do with taxes!
Vote UNC so that taxes will be abolished.
zoom rader wrote:Citizens are not seeing there Tax dollars at work.Habit7 wrote:death365 wrote:3. PNM only using taxes to get $$$
mero wrote:Real monsters voting for UNC doh get it twisted uncle. The amount a promises to gangsters I hear floating around once UNC win and Kamla come back in power is a lil frightening.
Leave Mero nah, hes tuner bobolee.bluefete wrote:mero wrote:Real monsters voting for UNC doh get it twisted uncle. The amount a promises to gangsters I hear floating around once UNC win and Kamla come back in power is a lil frightening.
And these monsters not voting for the PNM as well.
How do you know that Balisier headquarters did not already make election deals with gangsters?
Why do you think Chris Hughes had to come and make the PNM government look dotish?
It does not matter if is PNM or UNC in office - BOTH of them are in bed with gangsters.
What gutter garbage u speaking ?Habit7 wrote:zoom rader wrote:Citizens are not seeing there Tax dollars at work.Habit7 wrote:death365 wrote:3. PNM only using taxes to get $$$
Except for:
CDAP
T&TEC (unchanged rates in 17yrs)
WASA (lowest in the region)
Healthcare (5 new hospitals in the last 9yrs)
PTSC (fares unchanged since 1991)
Tobago ferries (3 new ferries)
Tobago flights
GATE
Fuel subsidies
LPG subsidy
and many more that you would deny anyways
All of these were mostly funded by the taxes of IOCs and downstream industries. As gas production is dropping we need to start learning to depend less on their taxes. And with our best prospects of new gas production in shared border and cross border gas with Venezuela. How is UNC going continue negotiations with Venezuela when they are antagonistic against them? Are they bringing a secret gas field that could be producing by 2026?
Anyways PNM has no plan. UNC has a plan for all this but we need to vote them in to find out.
bluefete wrote:mero wrote:Real monsters voting for UNC doh get it twisted uncle. The amount a promises to gangsters I hear floating around once UNC win and Kamla come back in power is a lil frightening.
And these monsters not voting for the PNM as well.
How do you know that Balisier headquarters did not already make election deals with gangsters?
Why do you think Chris Hughes had to come and make the PNM government look dotish?
It does not matter if is PNM or UNC in office - BOTH of them are in bed with gangsters.
Direct ur UNC questions to themHabit7 wrote:Yes, yes, all is bad, PNM is horrible. It hasn't worked from 2011 until now but in 2025 that will be the message to drive them out.
How dare I ask what is UNC's plans to increase gas production.
Griffith: Opposition promised $ to criminals in return for political help
Griffith told the committee there was intelligence that the Opposition promised some $42 million to criminals, to be paid via two state contracts, if they helped get the Opposition back into power.
During his time before the JSC Griffith said there was a man with a serious criminal record that appeared on a UNC political platform.
“Links between politicians and gang leaders have proven to be the catalyst towards homicides in this country” the report stated adding that there was a planned meeting of two gangsters to be held at the constituency office of an opposition MP.
Griffith, however, said there was no evidence that the December 31 shooting had any political connections and while there were intelligence of criminals meeting politicians and criminals wanting to increase the murder toll, the two were not connected.
The report, dated February 26 stated that Young went before the committee on January 29. According to the report, an unnamed deputy political leader of the Opposition was telephoned by an incarcerated Carapo man and told that another Carapo man should be selected to represent the area in the December local government elections. This conversation took place on September 5, Young told the committee.
Young said he was told on November 14 last year that on November 8 an Opposition MP met with criminals at Hyatt Regency Hotel and paid a bill of $580 for the men after the men became rowdy and police had to be called in. This was confirmed by Griffith.
Moonilal defends himself.
Following the removal, Moonilal, in a WhatsApp response to Newsday said Young owed police an apology for abusing confidential reports.
“Minister Young must apologise to the police for abusing purported confidential reports and information for political purposes in an election year. This is diabolical, not even Martin Joseph would have done that. The Minister also admitted that he is spying on the Police Commissioner in the report. How did the Minister know where the CoP is meeting anyone?"
He added: “Minister Young must go on these grounds alone, he has abused his office and used the police to promote a diabolical political plot. (The Government) suspended the standing orders, tabled a motion without notice, and refused to debate the report only to throw me out. It is the stuff that political suicide is made off.”
In a minority report signed by Hosein and Moonilal, the opposition MP claimed Hinds was biased against Moonilal. He submitted that he was denied the opportunity to question Griffith on what he presented and there were factual inconsistencies with the report. The minority report stated that none of the comments made by Young were supported with documentary evidence.
https://newsday.co.tt/2020/02/29/moonilal-kicked-out/
They use the PNM gangsters to terrorise voting families in high voter turn out areas .Habit7 wrote:Why would PNM need to agree with gangsters to secure the elections? Most gangs are in urban areas which are majority PNM. Laventille East, Laventille West, POS South all have low voter turnout. PNM doesn't need "the gangster vote" to tip them over otherwise UNC will win. That is foolish.
However, this is what GG said in 2020Griffith: Opposition promised $ to criminals in return for political help
Griffith told the committee there was intelligence that the Opposition promised some $42 million to criminals, to be paid via two state contracts, if they helped get the Opposition back into power.
During his time before the JSC Griffith said there was a man with a serious criminal record that appeared on a UNC political platform.
“Links between politicians and gang leaders have proven to be the catalyst towards homicides in this country” the report stated adding that there was a planned meeting of two gangsters to be held at the constituency office of an opposition MP.
Griffith, however, said there was no evidence that the December 31 shooting had any political connections and while there were intelligence of criminals meeting politicians and criminals wanting to increase the murder toll, the two were not connected.
The report, dated February 26 stated that Young went before the committee on January 29. According to the report, an unnamed deputy political leader of the Opposition was telephoned by an incarcerated Carapo man and told that another Carapo man should be selected to represent the area in the December local government elections. This conversation took place on September 5, Young told the committee.
Young said he was told on November 14 last year that on November 8 an Opposition MP met with criminals at Hyatt Regency Hotel and paid a bill of $580 for the men after the men became rowdy and police had to be called in. This was confirmed by Griffith.
Moonilal defends himself.
Following the removal, Moonilal, in a WhatsApp response to Newsday said Young owed police an apology for abusing confidential reports.
“Minister Young must apologise to the police for abusing purported confidential reports and information for political purposes in an election year. This is diabolical, not even Martin Joseph would have done that. The Minister also admitted that he is spying on the Police Commissioner in the report. How did the Minister know where the CoP is meeting anyone?"
He added: “Minister Young must go on these grounds alone, he has abused his office and used the police to promote a diabolical political plot. (The Government) suspended the standing orders, tabled a motion without notice, and refused to debate the report only to throw me out. It is the stuff that political suicide is made off.”
In a minority report signed by Hosein and Moonilal, the opposition MP claimed Hinds was biased against Moonilal. He submitted that he was denied the opportunity to question Griffith on what he presented and there were factual inconsistencies with the report. The minority report stated that none of the comments made by Young were supported with documentary evidence.
https://newsday.co.tt/2020/02/29/moonilal-kicked-out/
Habit7 keeps posting hismatix wrote:If it’s one thing, you all provide me with good reading material while I’m on the toilet.