Re: Ministers enjoy tax exemptions on cars

Postby pugboy » October 7th, 2020, 5:54 pm

man put blame on src
steups

Postby maj. tom » October 7th, 2020, 5:58 pm

is fb as lit up on this issue as Trinituner? Is this a national discussion?

Postby bluefete » October 7th, 2020, 6:02 pm

maj. tom wrote:is fb as lit up on this issue as Trinituner? Is this a national discussion?

It certainly is.

Re: Foreign used car industry to collapse says TTADA

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 7th, 2020, 6:12 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Dookeran from 2006 - 2015 bought one car and not even a Euro (He wasn't there from 2007 - May 2010 though)
He comes to temple with that Camry so I assume it's still his main driver.

Glad to have called this man my MP!!

That's what happens when you study economics. You see the world differently. These clowns never study subject so. This gov't doesn't even have one economist in its cabinet.

That's the same bulletproof reliability Toyota Camry that shut down on the highway when he was going to the airport to meet his Honourable Prime Minister Kamala Persad-Bissessar? Poor man had to flag down a patriotic individual to give him a ride to the airport. Best he had buy a Euro.

Postby MaxPower » October 7th, 2020, 6:31 pm

Trinis still fighting down MPs and their tax exemptions?

Work hard and honest enough to buy your own vehicles and stop toting because most ah allyuh driving Tiida and Axio.

You petty Trinis beat up over this every single single time.

Get productive T&T.

Re: Foreign used car industry to collapse says TTADA

Postby pugboy » October 7th, 2020, 6:35 pm

doh feel all euro reliable either eh
padna of my used to work for the double kidneys
many a time after hours i would carry him in my eco box to rescue a customer

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Dookeran from 2006 - 2015 bought one car and not even a Euro (He wasn't there from 2007 - May 2010 though)
He comes to temple with that Camry so I assume it's still his main driver.

Glad to have called this man my MP!!

That's what happens when you study economics. You see the world differently. These clowns never study subject so. This gov't doesn't even have one economist in its cabinet.

That's the same bulletproof reliability Toyota Camry that shut down on the highway when he was going to the airport to meet his Honourable Prime Minister Kamala Persad-Bissessar? Poor man had to flag down a patriotic individual to give him a ride to the airport. Best he had buy a Euro.

Postby Ben_spanna » October 7th, 2020, 8:05 pm

Because the other side of the St Anns hill. Is Morvant/laventille so what the fvk you expect? You don't see him anytime during the year, the people there roads like sheit and wasa almost never have wata in the pipes but stupidity abundant in that area so you could have put a blind one eyed kitten for the seat and it would win....
maj. tom wrote:The most appalling thing about it all is how he was voted back as member for POS North/St. Ann's West by 9,475 out of 11,685 voters. The people living there definitely approve of this man and all that he has done for them.

But as zoom would say...

Postby nervewrecker » October 7th, 2020, 10:14 pm

I browsed and at a glance the PM has the cheapest vehicle. I'd say at least he lead by example.

Postby RedVEVO » October 7th, 2020, 10:30 pm

MaxPower wrote:Trinis still fighting down MPs and their tax exemptions?

Work hard and honest enough to buy your own vehicles and stop toting because most ah allyuh driving Tiida and Axio.

Get productive T&T.

:D :D :D

People will riot if they know that MPs have an expense account , credit cards , a diplomatic passport
and first class air travel to conduct business abroad :lol: :lol:

Ministers enjoy tax exemptions on cars

Postby MaxPower » October 7th, 2020, 10:46 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

Get productive T&T.

People will riot if they know that MPs have an expense account , credit cards , a diplomatic passport
and first class air travel to conduct business abroad

Hello RedVEVO,

Thats very true.

My question is why all the fight down for their PERKS?

Ok sooo, fine, let’s take it away from them and also take away the benefits that public servants have.

All those managers and directors with vehicle allowance, let’s put a stop to that.

Ent Trinis?

Smh, always fighting down someone else with something they cannot afford or someone who has a better deal in life than them.

Trinis dont care about how their tax dollars are spent, they are simply jealous of others.

Postby 88sins » October 7th, 2020, 11:20 pm

Glad to see eyes opening up to realize that all the talk of tighten that belt, pay those taxes, is only so you can effectively work till yuh dead so an educated overdressed jackass can pound on a table like a trained ape and live an opulent lifestyle off your back while you ketch yuh royal cunny.

Where the usual rally cry of great is d Piss oN theM?

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 7th, 2020, 11:50 pm

Why tote? Just trade forex with IML and eventually you will buy a Porsche too. Just holla the oil man for a free consultation.

FULL RISK DISCLOSURE: Trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing financial security or life style. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is no guarantee of future results.

Postby matr1x » October 8th, 2020, 1:13 am

Get productive T&T.

Because ministers are not doing their fair share.

But keep being a house pet.

Postby RedVEVO » October 8th, 2020, 3:48 am

matr1x wrote:

Get productive T&T.

Because ministers are not doing their fair share.

But keep being a house pet.

What exactly would you like Minsters to do so that you agree with their PERKS ?

You should know that Minsters write policies and then pass it on to be implemented .

You think PERKS should be available only to "fair share" working MPs ?

Similar to PERKS in private business - enterprise ?

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » October 8th, 2020, 4:01 am

nervewrecker wrote:I browsed and at a glance the PM has the cheapest vehicle. I'd say at least he lead by example.

On the table, saw purchases Kia cerato for $111k and Honda Fit $112k.

pugboy wrote:man put blame on src
steups

Deyalsingh tied up himself there, Faine was direct with her questioning.

Based on responses from PM and Minister of Finance, the exemptions will remain. If justification is based on SRC, and they recommend that exemptions be capped, you can't use that as a justification. One would think farmers are only allowed tax exemptions on vehicles that can be used for their profession.

Rowley: Part of the pay package
PM defends tax exemptions for luxury vehicles
https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 89a21.html

Excerpt
The Express reached out to all Government officials who were named, pointing out there was public concern over tax exemptions afforded ministers for purchase of luxury vehicles and whether given the state of the economy these purchases were necessary.

The Express additionally asked the Prime Minister via WhatsApp whether any decision will be taken to halt the purchase of luxury cars by Government officials during these times.

The Prime Minister stated that there is really no “public concern”.

“The real ‘public concern’ is that public officials are not stealing public money through engaging in corrupt practice as was widespread under an earlier regime.

“The tax exemptions that you are focusing on here are an integral part of the terms of employment as it relates to certain specific officers,” he stated.

Rowley noted that there have been no changes to their terms of employment.

“We have not made ANY (his emphasis) changes to the terms of employment of any group of officers but I know that you enjoy trying to create this ‘concern’ since it isolates ministers and other parliamentarians,” he stated.

The Prime Minister added that he was informed that there are other “concerns”.

“One, is that there should be a pay cut. 2. that MPs should work for free for the privilege of doing stressful public service and 3. that such officers so selected should pay for the opportunity to serve.

These are all options but the Government has chosen the option, so far, to maintain, and even improve, the terms of employment of All Govt employees and have not introduced pay cuts for any group,” he stated.

“We hope never to have to do that, but if it ever comes to that we would be the first to inform the public and would not leave it up to the propagation of any selective ‘concerns’,” he added.

Imbert: No budget link

In response to questions from the Express via WhatsApp, Imbert stated there is no link between allowances that form part of a compensation package and have formed part of compensation packages for thousands of travelling officers and policy interventions designed to suppress the demand for foreign exchange.

“Prior to 2016, there was no wide range of exemptions on hybrid cars or electric cars. We introduced those measures as a policy tool at that time to encourage people to buy fuel-efficient cars. But prior to that time, even though cars were taxed across the board, Government officials, other officeholders under the SRC (Salaries Review Commission), thousands of travelling officers, and REGISTERED FARMERS (his emphasis) accessed tax exemptions on cars. Now we have another policy tool that is intended to save foreign exchange,” he stated.

According to the documents, Government members who benefited from tax exemptions this year were Cummings and Al-Rawi.

Several ministers obtained over $1 million in exemptions on the purchase of vehicles.

Postby j.o.e » October 8th, 2020, 5:02 am

RedVEVO wrote:

Get productive T&T.

Hello RedVEVO,

Thats very true.

Ok sooo, fine, let’s take it away from them and also take away the benefits that public servants have.

All those managers and directors with vehicle allowance, let’s put a stop to that.

Ent Trinis?

Smh, always fighting down someone else with something they cannot afford or someone who has a better deal in life than them.

Trinis dont care about how their tax dollars are spent, they are simply jealous of others.

Wtf I just agreed with MaxPower

Postby zoom rader » October 8th, 2020, 7:33 am

j.o.e wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Get productive T&T.

Hello RedVEVO,

Thats very true.

Ent Trinis?

Wtf I just agreed with MaxPower

Yes Joe,

See why we live in Stupid country .

Perks are there to attract the best people in a job.

These same people will cry down perks but never complain when their red government does wrong or gross mismanagement .

Throw some lil rum, fete, wine and carnival and the red government is the best ting ever.

Meanwhile Arse wari collects his rent for nothing

death365

Postby death365 » October 8th, 2020, 8:03 am

whaaaaaaaaaaaaa yuh joking right !!! its Public servants do all the research and work all the Minister does is sign on the dotted line an show up to boast about it to the press.

from clerks to PS work does be done ; the minsters are a well paid rubber stamp.

RedVEVO wrote: You should know that Minsters write policies and then pass it on to be implemented .

Postby Rovin » October 8th, 2020, 11:32 am

yall ever heard of a famous saying "LET THEM EAT CAKE"

if not, google it ...

Postby pugboy » October 8th, 2020, 12:00 pm

google is fine but you need some brain cells to comprehend the meaning and context

Rovin wrote:yall ever heard of a famous saying "LET THEM EAT CAKE"

if not, google it ...

Sundar

Postby Sundar » October 8th, 2020, 1:05 pm

Exactly!!!!
death365 wrote:whaaaaaaaaaaaaa yuh joking right !!! its Public servants do all the research and work all the Minister does is sign on the dotted line an show up to boast about it to the press.

from clerks to PS work does be done ; the minsters are a well paid rubber stamp.

RedVEVO wrote: You should know that Minsters write policies and then pass it on to be implemented .

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 8th, 2020, 6:27 pm

Only a pnm minister would say a tax free porsche costs less than a toyota...ah mean pnmites chupid no mc and they would swallow that bullsheit

Postby pugboy » October 8th, 2020, 6:40 pm

dont forget the other perks of the pnm job eh
- fertility treatments
- weaves
- roaming fone charges
- hearing surgery for ears
and the list goes on

Postby Gladiator » October 8th, 2020, 8:45 pm

pugboy wrote:dont forget the other perks of the pnm job eh
- fertility treatments
- weaves
- roaming fone charges
and the list goes on

-Brain surgery
-Guaranteed rental deals for your empty building
-Sexual Harassment case payouts
-Sale for your obsolete drive in cinema

Postby bluefete » October 8th, 2020, 9:21 pm

Tuner CSI's. Is this real? The bottom right looks suspicious.

Also the address is a Lodge address - St. Andrews Lodge #4-6 Ruth Avenue, San 'Do.

Last edited by bluefete on October 8th, 2020, 9:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » October 8th, 2020, 9:26 pm

yes i forgot extended stay at walter reed hospital
top military hospital

Gladiator wrote:
pugboy wrote:dont forget the other perks of the pnm job eh
- fertility treatments
- weaves
- roaming fone charges
and the list goes on

-Brain surgery
-Guaranteed rental deals for your empty building
-Sexual Harassment case payouts
-Sale for your obsolete drive in cinema

wingnut

Postby wingnut » October 8th, 2020, 9:43 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Only a pnm minister would say a tax free porsche costs less than a toyota...ah mean pnmites chupid no mc and they would swallow that bullsheit
Faris say he needed 3 Porsche to do constituency work

Meanwhile we should be grateful they didnt outright ban foreign used vehicles as they were considering it cause it using up all d US$

Ah yes Grate is d pnm

Postby Chimera » October 8th, 2020, 10:06 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Only a pnm minister would say a tax free porsche costs less than a toyota...ah mean pnmites chupid no mc and they would swallow that bullsheit

https://www.guardian.co.tt/article-6.2. ... b5c268c148

One of the first issues that soon-to-be-appointed Housing Development Corporation (HDC) chairman Rabindra Moonan will have to deal with is whether he will approve the extension of a lease on a Range Rover for Minister of Housing Dr Roodal Moonilal.Moonilal currently enjoys the use of a black Range Rover leased by the HDC for $289,800 a year.

The Range Rover HSE, which carries the licence plate PCR 5656, has been leased from Furness Car Rentals.The T&T Guardian has confirmed that the HDC pays a monthly bill of $24,150 for the vehicle, while the total lease agreement for the three-year period is $869,400.Sources say the lease took effect on February 2011 and ends in February 2014.The Range Rover has been customised to include blue police strobe lights in the centre of the grill at the front and back. A police siren has also been installed.

Questions have been raised about why such a vehicle has been leased for the minister, and also why a state enterprise is financing the lease, given that the ministry that Moonilal heads has several vehicles which can be used for official government business.Apart from this, sources say other vehicles could have been leased at a much cheaper rate.Sources say when vehicles are leased, the ministers do not pay for the vehicles' maintenance or operational costs. These costs as well as the leases are borne by taxpayers.

At the time of the approval, the HDC board was chaired by Henckle Lall and included Douglas Johnson, Gunness Sudama, Graig Davis, Reyna Kowlessar, Naddia Ali and James Lambert.Efforts to contact those board members were unsuccessful.Last year, a slew of criticism was levelled against then Food Production Minister Vasant Bharath over the purchase of a $400,000 duty-free Porsche Cayenne as the official vehicle for his ministry.

Bharath defended the purchase, saying it was not extravagant.Contacted on the matter, a government minister said if a request to lease the Range Rover had been made to Cabinet there would have been strong objection.Since the People's Partnership government took office, ministers are now entitled to use a ministry vehicle for official purposes.This entitlement was put in place after Sport Minister Anil Roberts was involved in an accident on October 6, 2010.

Minister replies

In response to several text messages sent by the T&T Guardian, Moonilal yesterday responded by defending the use of the leased vehicle.He wrote: "The Rover is very sturdy. The vehicle was provided as a lease vehicle in keeping with (the) practice before to provide vehicle to minister."I also use other vehicles depending on work requirements.

"As for choice, Rover is strong and equipped for the terrain. You seldom see a Rover in highway crash."He added that Cepep also provided transport support when needed.The T&T Guardian then pointed out that such a high-maintenance vehicle "puts a strain on taxpayers, given there are other options," to which Moonilal repled: "But Rover is very good vehicle, you should buy one if possible."

The T&T Guardian repeated its initial question on whether Moonilal had approached the HDC board to ask it to lease the Range Rover. He is yet to respond.Asked whether he had received permission from the acting Commissioner of Police or Transport Commissioner to use the blue lights and siren on the Range Rover, Moonilal said he did not comment on matters of security.

"The devices are matters under the purview of security authorities, I don't comment on security issues. Suffice to say we act according to the law at all times," he texted.

Flashback

On January 17, 2012, Moonilal denied claims that his ministry had purchased a Range Rover for his use. Speaking during a Parliament debate, Moonilal said MPs are entitled to concessions on cars and most take advantage of these, using their personal funds.He said while in opposition he purchased a BMW X53 but subsequently sold it and bought a Range Rover for his personal use, using his personal funds.

Moonilal also said the Environment Ministry planned to buy two hybrid vehicles at a total cost of $600,000. To date, sources say this is yet to happen.

More info

According to the Salaries Review Commission Web site, the last pay hike for ministers and MPs was in 2006. The Prime Minister's salary was increased to $48,000 a month; Cabinet ministers' salaries increased to $33,000 a month and non-Cabinet ministers to $27,000.The Leader of the Opposition moved to $23,800, MPs (non-ministers) increased to $14,000 and senators (non-ministers) $10,500.Among the allowances given to government ministers are transport facilities. These include:

(i) A maximum loan of $350,000 at a six per cent per annum repayable over six years for the purchase of either:

(a) a new vehicle with full exemption from motor vehicle tax, VAT and customs duty; or

(b) a used vehicle with full exemption from special motor vehicle tax, VAT and customs duty.

(ii) A loan to cover the cost of car insurance at a rate of interest of six per cent per annum.

(iii) A maximum loan of $20,000 at a rate of interest of six per cent per annum for repairs to a vehicle.

(iv) A transportation allowance of $4,700 per month.

(v) A personal chauffeur

Postby MaxPower » October 8th, 2020, 10:07 pm

Trini Jellys,

While allyuh at it and digging up,

how much Faris, Stewie, Imbert, Rowley, Terrance etc jockey shorts cost?

How much lobster and grapes they buy monthly?

If their grocery bill is $15,000 a month allyuh vex?

How much they spend on property maintenance?

They does use Amazon? What items in their cart?

Oh...credit card statements from them and family...what they buying so?

For heavens sake T&T, get allyuh lazy ass to work and be productive: